DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant provides the argument that CN110126658 fails to disclose the aspect of modules/sub-modules and doesn’t convert high voltage DC to low voltage DC. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the argument about modules/sub-modules, there is nothing discloses that differentiates modules/sub-modules from any components/sub-components of the various devices throughout the system. Therefore, any component/sub-component of devices in the system are considered equivalent to any module/sub-module.
Regarding the argument that CN110126658 does not disclose converting high voltage DC to low voltage DC, the voltage output of the DC/DC converters are discussed on page 8 of the Translation which states “the output voltage is 2V” in one mention. This is clearly a low voltage DC. Further, Steimer (US 2023/0352934) also discloses reducing the voltage in paragraphs 0059-0060]. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN110126658 in view of US 2023/0352934 by Steimer et al. (Steimer hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, CN110126658 discloses a power conversion system, comprising: a solid-state transformer [see at least Figure 1, PWM Rectifier and DC/DC Converters]; and a low voltage (LV) switchgear [see at least Figure 1, switches connected to the DC/DC Converters; translation, page 5, paragraphs 1-4]; wherein the solid-state transformer comprises a first module and a second module [see at least Figure 1, PWM Rectifier and DC/DC Converters]; wherein the first module is configured to convert a HV alternating current (AC) signal into a HV direct current (DC) signal [see at least Figure 1, PWM Rectifier]; wherein the second module is configured to connect to an output of the first module and convert the HV DC signal from the first module into at least one LV DC signal [see at least Figure 1, DC/DC Converter]; wherein the second module comprises at least one sub-module [see at least Figure 1, plurality of DC/DC Converters]; wherein each sub-module is configured to convert the HV DC signal from the first module into an LV DC signal [see at least DC/DC Converter]; wherein the LV switchgear is configured to connect to an output of the solid-state transformer [see at least Figure 1, PWM Rectifier to DC/DC Converter]; wherein the LV switchgear is configured to connect to applications or devices and disconnect from applications or devices [see at least Figure 1, DC/DC Converter to Battery], wherein the LV switchgear comprises a plurality of switches, and wherein each of the plurality of switches is connected to an application or device [see at least Figure 1, switches connected to the DC/DC Converters; translated, page 5, paragraphs 1-4]; and wherein the LV switchgear is configured to connect the at least one LV DC signal from the second module to one or more of the plurality of applications or devices [see at least Figure 1, switches connected to the DC/DC Converters; translated, page 5, paragraphs 1-4].
CN110126658 fails to disclose a high voltage (HV) switchgear; wherein the HV switchgear is configured to connect to an HV network and disconnect from the HV network; wherein the HV switchgear is configured to connect to an input of the solid-state transformer; switchgear is configured to connect to a plurality of applications or devices. However, Steimer discloses a HV [see at least paragraph 0057] network [see at least Figure 5] with switchgear [see at least Figure 5, (1); Figure 9] connected to a plurality of devices [see at least Figure 5, “DC loads_1_to_L”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to include a HV network branch along with the LV network branch in order to power a plurality of LV devices and HV devices. Thus, expanding the number and type of devices that can be powered by the same system simplifying installation.
Regarding claim 2, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1.
Steimer discloses wherein each sub-module comprises a DC to AC converter [see at least Figure 6, (11)], a medium frequency transformer [see at least Figure 6, (12)] and an AC to DC converter [see at least Figure 6, (13)], wherein the DC to AC converter is configured to convert the HV DC signal from the first module into an HV AC signal, wherein the medium frequency transformer is configured to convert the HV AC signal from the DC to AC converter into an LV AC signal, and wherein the AC to DC converter is configured to convert the LV AC signal from the medium frequency transformer into the LV DC signal [see at least Figure 6; paragraph 0063].
Regarding claim 3, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1.
Steimer discloses wherein the second module comprises a plurality of sub-modules, and wherein the LV switchgear is configured to connect the LV DC signal from each sub-module to one or more of the plurality of applications or devices [see at least Figure 5, various outputs].
Regarding claim 4, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1.
Steimer discloses wherein the second module comprises a plurality of sub-modules, and wherein the LV switchgear is configured to connect the LV DC signal from each sub-module to the plurality of applications or devices [see at least Figure 5, various outputs].
Regarding claim 5, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1.
Steimer discloses wherein the HV switchgear comprises a plurality of protection or safety device configured to prevent excessive signals from the HV or MV network or fault signals from being exposed to the solid-state transformer or to personnel [see at least Figure 8, (6)].
Regarding claim 6, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1.
Steimer discloses wherein the LV switchgear is configured to connect to two or more applications or devices of the plurality of applications or devices to connect the two or more applications or devices to each other [see at least Figure 5, (DC Storage_1_M) to (DC loads_1_to_L)].
Regarding claim 7, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 6.
Steimer discloses wherein the LV switchgear is configured to disconnect power from/to the solid-state transformer [see at least paragraph 0017].
Regarding claim 8, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 7.
Steimer discloses wherein the LV switchgear is configured to connect the two or more applications or devices to each other [see at least paragraph 0017].
Regarding claim 11, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1.
Steimer discloses wherein the solid state transformer in combination with a directly connected battery storage is configured to provide power back-up functionality for the other connected loads and applications [see at least Figure 5, (DC Storage_1_M); paragraph 0067].
Regarding claim 12, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1.
Steimer discloses wherein the system is configured to receive AC auxiliary power, wherein the AC auxiliary power is provided by one or more of: a voltage transformer located inside the HW switchgear, a voltage transformer connected to the HV or MV network, a voltage transformer connected to a nearby HV or MV line, a nearby LV line, an external AC energy generation device [see at least Figure 5, transformer before (5)].
Regarding claim 13, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1.
Steimer discloses wherein the system is configured to receive AC auxiliary power from an energy storage device connected to the LV switchgear or directly to a DC side of AC/DC converter and its AC voltage being connected to a separate winding within one of the medium frequency transformers for galvanic insulation [see at least Figure 5, (AC loads or source_1_to_P); paragraph 0066].
Regarding claim 14, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 13.
Steimer discloses wherein the system is configured to receive AC auxiliary power through specific winding of medium frequency transformer connected to additional voltage transformer for further voltage scaling and/or frequency converter for frequency adaptation [see at least paragraph 0066].
Regarding claim 15, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1.
Steimer discloses wherein the solid state transformer further comprises a voltage transformer powered from HV AC side and being used for AC auxiliary power supply [see at least Figure 5, multiple (5)].
Regarding claim 16, CN110126658 in view of Steimer the power conversion system according to claim 1.
CN110126658 discloses wherein the LV switchgear is configured to connect to an output of the at least one sub-module of the second module of the solid-state transformer [see at least Figure 1, PWM Rectifier to DC/DC Converter].
Regarding claim 17, CN110126658 in view of Steimer the power conversion system according to claim 1.
Steimer discloses wherein the first module is configured to convert the high voltage alternating current "HV AC" signal from the high voltage or the medium voltage "HV or MV" network into the high voltage direct current "HV DC" signal [see at least Figure 5, (5); paragraph 0057].
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN110126658 in view of US 2023/0352934 by Steimer et al. (Steimer hereinafter) in further view of US 2020/0136370 by Loder et al. (Loder hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1.
CN110126658 in view of Steimer fails to explicitly disclose wherein the solid state transformer comprises an embedded monitoring and diagnostic system or features, in order to provide actual information of its health status. However, Loder discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0025]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize health/fault monitoring of the converter to ensure correct operation and supply of power. Thus, preventing catastrophic failure and destruction of components.
Regarding claim 10, CN110126658 in view of Steimer teaches the power conversion system according to claim 1.
CN110126658 in view of Steimer fails to explicitly disclose wherein the solid state transformer comprises integrated protection and safety functions to protect itself as well as connected DC loads and applications. However, Loder discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0025]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize health/fault monitoring of the converter to ensure correct operation and supply of power. Thus, preventing catastrophic failure and destruction of components.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836