Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election of Group I- Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Interpretation
2. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Forming Unit” in claim 1 line 3. “Forming” is a function, “unit” is a generic placeholder, and the claims do not add structure to perform said function. Structure is found in pg. 11 lines 29-31 of Applicant’s Specification filed 07/24/2024 as a “forming drum” and will be interpreted as such and equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2, and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (CN 112972120A; hereafter Gong) in view of Jönegren et al. (US 2021/0251814; hereafter Jonegren) and Tabuchi (US 6,234,229).
Regarding claim 1, Gong teaches an apparatus for producing an absorbent sanitary article (pg. 2 lines 1-2) comprising a support surface (surface of material forming concave roller- 4) that is part of a forming unit (material forming concave roller 4 and material forming convex roller 3), whereon a multilayer web of an absorbent sanitary article is formed (pg. 9 lines 28-34). Several compression rollers adjacent with the support surface with cylindrical outer surfaces (composite heat sealing rollers I, II, III labelled as 6, 7, and 8; pg. 10 lines 7-13) compress said multilayer web on said support surface as seen in Figure 1.
It is not clear if the support surface and compression rollers of Gong are slick. Jonegren teaches that rollers should have slick (noted as smooth) surfaces for complete bonding ([0075]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention that the support surface and outer surfaces of the compression rollers are slick as suggested by Jonegren for the advantage of complete bonding.
Gong does not teach of a glue dispenser. Tabuchi teaches of glue dispenser (slip-preventing-adhesive applying unit- 110 in conjunction with overlaying unit- 120) that dispenses a liquid glue onto the back sheet web (col. 11 lines 17-50). The advantage of this glue dispenser is that the final product now has adhesive on back sheet web that adheres to the user’s underwear to prevent slippage (col. 1 lines 26-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to add the glue dispenser of Tabuchi in the apparatus of Gong for the advantage of having a non-slip product.
The multilayer web, sheets, cores, and glue are considered material or article worked upon by an apparatus. Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). See MPEP 2115. In Gong, the absorbent core could have already been placed in material line 1 or 2, in which case the forming unit would be capable of performing the functions claimed. Further, Tabuchi’s glue dispenser uses a nozzle (col. 11 lines 21-22) in which case the glue can be a liquid glue. As such the combined references teach all of the structural limitations of claim 1, and thus render it obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Gong teaches that the compression rollers are provided with adjusting components to adjust the distance between the compression roller and support surface (pg. 5 lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1, Gong teaches of two compression rollers (composite heat sealing rollers I and II- 6 and 7), which as seen in Figure 1 both are adjacent to the support surface and the second compression roller is downstream of the first compression roller.
Regarding claim 5, Gong teaches that the pressure of each compression roller gradually increases with each successive compression roller (pg. 14 lines 4-6). This is accomplished by the second distance of the second roller from the support surface being less than the first distance of the first roller from the support surface. Further, as mentioned in the rejection of claim 2, the distances are adjustable, in which case this limitation is merely a manner of operating a device, which would not differentiate over the prior art- "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP 2114.II.
Regarding claim 6, the support surface of Gong is the cylindrical outer surface of the material forming concave roller 4, which is a supporting drum.
Regarding claim 7, Gong does not teach of a contact surface or sealing roller downstream of the support surface. Tabuchi teaches of a downstream contact surface (anvil roller-61) configured to a multilayer web (sanitary napkin sheet- 1S) with an adjacent sealing roller pressed therein (heat-sealing roller- 62; col. 8 line 58- col. 9 line 22; see Figure 5). The sealing roller comprises a cylindrical bottom surface (nonheating portion- 63) and a raised surface (heating portion- 64). The raised portion is the periphery (col. 9 lines 1-2), while the bottom surface is the cylindrical roller of the heat-sealing roller and is noted as a recess (col. 8 lines 64-37). Consequentially, the cylindrical bottom surface has a first radial distance less than the second radial distance of the raised surface as both have the same rotational axis. The advantage of Tabuchi’s downstream heat-sealing unit is that it establishes a shape for the multilayer web (col. 8 lines 64-67) so that it can be sent to a cutout unit for individualizing products (col. 10 lines 5-21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to include both the downstream heat-sealing unit and cutout unit of Tabuchi in the apparatus of Gong for the advantage of having individualized products.
It is not clear if the contact surface and raised surface of Tabuchi are slick. Jonegren teaches that rollers should have slick (noted as smooth) surfaces for complete bonding ([0075]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention that the contact surface and raised surface of Tabuchi’s heat-sealing unit are made slick for the advantage of complete bonding.
5. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong, Jonegren, and Tabuchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deng et al. (US 2024/0024171; hereafter Deng).
Regarding claim 3, Gong does not teach of a scraper adjacent to the cylindrical outer surface of the at least one compression roller. Deng teaches the inclusion of online roll cleaning equipment for rollers, including a scraper, for the advantage of clearing off fractured material from rollers ([0092]). With the scraper being online, in the context of Gong the scraper would be adjacent to the cylindrical outer surface of the compression rollers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to include scrapers adjacent to the cylindrical outer surface of the compression rollers for the advantage of clearing off fractured material.
6. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong, Jonegren, and Tabuchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brisebois et al. (US 2005/0206038; hereafter Brisebois).
Regarding claim 8, in applying Tabuchi as in claim 7, as seen in Figure 5 Tabushi only teaches of a first region that is externally delimited by the raised surface. Brisebois teaches sealing roller (die roller- 600) shown in Figure 7 wherein the raised surface is only on specific parts of linear fields ([0049]-[0050]; see Figure 6), where the raised area externally delimits the a second region of the bottom surface, and the first region of the bottom surface delimits the raised surface, this is being shown as the sealing roller creates only a peripheral seal ([0060]-[0061]). Brisebois explicitly states that this improved die surfacing can be used in conventional sealing rollers ([0061]), specifically showing Tabuchi’s sealing roller configuration as prior art in Figure 2, which establishes modification compatibility. The advantage of Brisebois’ improved sealing roller is even pressure application that prevents puncture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to use improved sealing roller of Brisebois in the technique of Tabuchi for the advantage of even pressure application that prevents puncture.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER S WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745