DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because the lines are crowded too closely together, making reading difficult. Substitute claims with lines one and one-half or double spaced on good quality paper are required. See 37 CFR 1.52(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C, 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (l.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
With regard to the present claims 1-20, these claim recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a process, and ultimately, is statutory.
In addition, the claim recites a judicial exception. The claims as a whole recite a method of “Mental Processes”. The claimed invention is a method that allows for access, analysis, update and communication of electronic parcel records, which are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). The mere nominal recitation of a generic computer/computer network does not take the claim out of the “Mental Processes” grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Furthermore, the claims are not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of accessing, analyzing, updating and communicating parcel information in a computer environment. The claimed computer components are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform an existing parcel records update process. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea.
Finally, the claims do not recite an inventive concept. As noted previously, the claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of accessing, analyzing, updating and communicating information related to parcel records in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6-10, 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCAROLA et al (GB 2483142 A), and further in view of VILLARREAL et al (AU 2012202915 A1), and further in view of TORRES et al (US 20150186840 A1).
As per claim 1, SCAROLA et al discloses:
a parcel receptacle comprising a containment portion to store the parcel and a lid for accessing the containment portion, (One or more embodiments of the reclamation receptacle 16 are provided in FJGS. 2-6, which each illustrate a different view and/or portion of an example reclamation receptacle 16. Beginning first with FJG. 2, the reclamation receptacle 16 includes a lid portion 30 and a containment portion 32, referred to as the lid 30 and the bin 32, respectively. The bin 32 may be suitable for containing one or more REID tags 14 deposited into the reclamation receptacle 16, and the lid 30 may be suitable for covering and/or sealing one end of the bin 32 when the reclamation receptacle 16 is in a closed configuration); and
a security system comprising a locking system...the locking system comprising one or more locking mechanisms configured to releasably lock the lid, Furthermore, in some embodiments, openings of the reclamation receptacle 16 may include a lock. For example, a lock may be employed to remove the bin 32 from the lid 30 or to pull out a drawer from the remainder of the reclamation receptacle 16. Jn some embodiments, a sensor may be coupled to the lock, such that unlocking the lock may result in deactivating the JR transmitter, and locking the lock may result in activating the JR transmitter 56.
SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however VILLARREAL et al discloses:
a security notification unit, (VILLARREAL et al: Abstract, For example, a connector can include security locking mechanisms for engaging or locking the connector to a portable electronic device. A connector can additionally support the transmission of security signals, data signals, power, and/or the like);
and a tethering mean, (VILLARREAL et al: [0003] As still another example, a portable electronic device can be attached to a cable such that the device is tethered to a fixture.);
the security notification unit, in electronic communication with an electronic device of a receiver of the parcel, (VILLARREAL et al: Abstract, For example, a connector can include security locking mechanisms for engaging or locking the connector to a portable electronic device. A connector can additionally support the transmission of security signals, data signals, power, and/or the like); comprises:
an input means to receive credentials for unlocking the lid, (VILLARREAL et al: For example, 25 controller 502 can perform various tasks, such as retrieving various assets that can be stored in storage module 510, accessing the functionalities of various modules (e.g., interacting with other Bluetooth enabled devices via Bluetooth module 504), executing various software programs (e.g., operating systems and applications) residing on storage module 510, transmitting wireless network access credentials);
and one or more sensors to monitor one or more activities in the containment portion and around the parcel receptacle, (VILLARREAL et al: [0038] The male plug connector can additionally be configured to facilitate various other functionalities, such as the transmission of security signals, the transmission of power, and/or the like. For instance, the male plug connector can be configured to facilitate the 30 transmission of a security signal from a connected portable electronic device to a security system. The security system can periodically or continuously monitor for the presence of the security signal. If the security signal is not detected, the security system can generate an alert (e.g., an audio alert, an electronic alert, etc.));
the tethering means to secure the parcel receptacle and trigger the security system in the instance of a security breach. (VILLARREAL et al: [0003] As still another example, a portable electronic device can be attached to a cable such that the device is tethered to a fixture; [0037] In the embodiment, the male plug connector can be situated at an end of a computer cable. The male plug connector can include hooks that can be used to engage with a portable electronic device's female receptacle connector such that the male plug connector and 20 portable electronic device can be sufficiently locked with one another. In doing so, the portable electronic device can be tethered by the computer cable to a suitable fixture, etc...An unlocking tool can be used to access the pathways and cause the male 25 plug connector's hooks to be shifted such that the hooks disengage from the portable electronic device's female receptacle connector. [0038] The male plug connector can additionally...transmission of security signals, the transmission of power, and/or the like. For instance, the male plug connector can be configured to facilitate the 30 transmission of a security signal from a connected portable electronic device to a security system. The security system can periodically or continuously monitor for the presence of the security signal. If the security signal is not detected, the security system can generate an alert (e.g., an audio alert, an electronic alert, etc.).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by VILLARREAL et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however TORRES et al discloses:
the security notification unit is configured to send a notification to the electronic device of the receiver in the instance of a change in one or more activities detected by the one or more sensors, (TORRES et al [0043] The control system 24 may also retrieve information from the locker station, including, for example, the state of the lockers 26, or other locker sensors 32. Locker sensors may include sensors to determine whether a given locker is occupied by a parcel, whether the door is open or closed, whether the system or a component is operational, capturing images, detecting motion, detecting a presence of an object or user, etc. The sensors may be used for example to detect the presence of a user so that the control system can turn on security camera, illumination, wake the system from an energy saving mode, etc. The sensors may be used to detect the presence of a parcel within a locker such that the locker may be used when not in use, and kept secure or unavailable for additional parcels when in use. The sensors may be used to determine whether a door is open or closed such that a user may be alerted to close a door that was not properly secured after delivering or retrieving a parcel. Sensor may also be used to detect system failures, anomalies, or one or more desirable or undesirable conditions, such as for maintenance, monitoring, etc. of the system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by TORRES et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 3, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however TORRES et al discloses: wherein the one or more sensors comprise a motion sensor, a first camera, and a second camera, and wherein the first camera and the second camera are positioned to capture the containment portion and the surroundings of the parcel receptacle, (TORRES et al (US 20150186840 A1) [0024] In an exemplary embodiment, the locker station includes sensors for detecting the presence of a parcel within an individual locker. Sensors may include internal infrared sensor, pressure sensor, camera, etc.; [0037] In addition, one or more cameras can be positioned on locker station 2. Such cameras can comprise digital cameras, motion sensitive cameras, infra-red cameras, and the like. In an exemplary embodiment, motion can be detected when a compartment is opened and/or closed, the console interface is engaged, or other interaction with the system, such that the cameras can be activated during use of the system. Other motion sensors may be set up to detect motion within a given proximity of the system, thus turning the cameras on. The cameras, and associated recorders (not shown), can be used to capture and record an image (e.g., of an individual delivering or picking-up a parcel) to verify that a parcel has in fact been placed inside or removed from a parcel compartment 8 within locker station 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by TORRES et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 4, SCAROLA et al discloses:
wherein the security notification unit is configured to lock and unlock the lid based on the inputs received from an electronic device, (Furthermore, in some embodiments, openings of the reclamation receptacle 16 may include a lock. For example, a lock may be employed to remove the bin 32 from the lid 30 or to pull out a drawer from the remainder of the reclamation receptacle 16. Jn some embodiments, a sensor may be coupled to the lock, such that unlocking the lock may result in deactivating the JR transmitter, and locking the lock may result in activating the JR transmitter 56).
As per claim 6, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however VILLARREAL et al discloses:
wherein the one or more activities include a parcel placed in the containment portion, a change in temperature within the containment portion, a subject approaching the parcel receptacle, and a security breach, ([0038] The male plug connector can additionally be configured to facilitate various other functionalities, such as the transmission of security signals, the transmission of power, and/or the like. For instance, the male plug connector can be configured to facilitate the 30 transmission of a security signal from a connected portable electronic device to a security system. The security system can periodically or continuously monitor for the presence of the security signal. If the security signal is not detected, the security system can generate an alert (e.g., an audio alert, an electronic alert, etc.));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by VILLARREAL et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 7, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however VILLARREAL et al discloses: wherein the security breach includes the movement of the parcel receptacle from its installation location, ([0004] In particular, portable electronic devices, under normal use conditions, are not typically connected to separate security cables. Because security requirements in retail 25 environments necessitate such cables, simulation of normal use conditions within such environments can be inaccurate. For example, security cables can restrict device movement, affect device weight, adversely impact retail display aesthetics, and/or the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by VILLARREAL et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As pr claim 8, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however TORRES et al discloses: wherein the parcel receptacle is tamper-proof and weather resistant, ([0030] The locker stations may also be strong enough to withstand customary tampering, to create a secure holding facility for delivered parcels. [0031] A locker may also be climate controlled, such as humidity regulated, temperature controlled (such as for a refrigerator or freezer). Therefore, perishable items, such a groceries may be delivered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by TORRES et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 9, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however TORRES et al discloses: wherein the parcel receptacle further comprises a temperature control system operable to regulate the temperature within the containment portion, ([0031] A locker may also be climate controlled, such as humidity regulated, temperature controlled (such as for a refrigerator or freezer). Therefore, perishable items, such a groceries may be delivered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by TORRES et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 10, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however TORRES et al discloses: wherein the input means comprises a keypad and a display unit, ([0041] The control system 24 may retrieve information from a user through one or more input devices 28 and/or output devices 30. Input devices 28 may include touch display, optical reader (such as bar code scanner or QR code reader), camera, key pad, key board, mouse, touch screen, touch pad, buttons, switches, or other means to provide information to the system. Output devices 30 may include display, printer, communication links (such as near field, Bluetooth), storage devices (such as disks, cards, etc.) or other methods to provide information from the system to a user or other system or device. The input devices and output devices may be separate or integrated into one or more components or consoles. In an exemplary embodiment, the input/output devices include a touch screen, bar code scanner, and/or alphanumeric keypad. The control system 24 retrieves information from the input devices 28 and provides information to the user through output devices 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by TORRES et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 12, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however VILLARREAL et al discloses:, wherein the parcel receptacle is surrounded by a flexible water repellant fabric, and wherein a wire mesh is embedded within the flexible water repellant fabric, (In some embodiments, receptacle tongue 602 can provide mechanical support for the contacts. Receptacle tongue 602 can additionally provide a 30 moisture or water-resistant seal around the contacts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by VILLARREAL et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 13, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however VILLARREAL et al discloses: wherein the tethering means is wireless, ([0054] In some embodiments, male plug connector 302 can include locking mechanism 308 for temporarily engaging or locking the male plug connector to a female receptacle connector of a portable electronic device. In doing so, cable 300 can be used to secure the portable electronic device. Specifically, cable 300 can tether the portable electronic device to, for example, another device, a security system, a power source, a table, other fixtures, 25 and/or the like, ([0076] Bluetooth module 504 can include any suitable combinations of hardware for performing wireless communications with other Bluetooth enabled devices and allows an RF signal to be exchanged between controller 502 and other Bluetooth enabled devices. In some embodiments, Bluetooth module 504 can perform such wireless communications according 5 to standard Bluetooth Basic Rate/Enhanced Data Rate (BR/EDR) and/or Bluetooth Low Energy (LE) standards.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by VILLARREAL et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 14, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however TORRES et al discloses: wherein the parcel receptacle comprises a tampering alarm to raise an alarm in the instance of a security breach, ([0030] The locker stations may also be strong enough to withstand customary tampering, to create a secure holding facility for delivered parcels. [0031] A locker may also be climate controlled, such as humidity regulated, temperature controlled (such as for a refrigerator or freezer). Therefore, perishable items, such a groceries may be delivered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by TORRES et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 15, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however TORRES et al discloses:
wherein the parcel receptacle comprises one or more light sources positioned in the containment portion or on the parcel receptacle, ([0046] Each locker station 2 can also contain a power backup system 38. For example, each locker station 2 can include battery backup system for the computer 18 in the event of a loss of commercial AC power. In an exemplary embodiment, the battery backup system comprises two 12-volt batteries positioned inside the cabinet near the computer 18. Other backup systems may be used to provide a power source in the event of main power loss. For example, the system may use batteries or a generator either configured as a local, dedicated power supply, such as internal to and supporting the locker system, or as a shared, external, or common power supply shared among other resources such as the management computer systems or lighting systems, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by TORRES et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 16, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however VILLARREAL et al discloses: wherein the tethering means secures the parcel receptacle to a wall mount, ([00371]The male plug connector can include hooks that can be used to engage with a portable electronic device's female receptacle connector such that the male plug connector and 20 portable electronic device can be sufficiently locked with one another. In doing so, the portable electronic device can be tethered by the computer cable to a suitable fixture, etc. (e.g., a table, another computing device, a security system).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by VILLARREAL et al in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 17, SCAROLA et al discloses:
further comprises an indicator on the lid to indicate at least one of presence of a parcel or the locked position of the lid., (A view from the underside of the lid 30 is provided in FIG. 6. As illustrated in FIG. 6, the lid 30 may include an IR transmitter 56. When the IR transmitter 56 is in an active state, the transmitter 56 may transmit IR signals 18 within the reclamation receptacle 16. In some embodiments, the IR transmitter 56 may transmit IR signals 18 continuously, and in other embodiments, the IR transmitter 56 may transmit IR signals 18 periodically. As will be discussed, the JR signals 18 (FIG. 1) may be received by one or more RFJD tags 14 deposited in the reclamation receptacle 16, and the RFJD tags 14 which receive the TR signals 18 may generate an RF signal 20 in response to the TR signals 18. The RF signal 20 may be transmitted to an RTLS server 24 and indicate to the system 10 that the RFJD tag 14 which generated the RF signal 20 has been deposited at a reclamation receptacle 16. While the JR transmitter 56 is located in the lid 30 in one embodiment, as illustrated in FJG. 6, in other embodiments, the IR transmitter 56 may also be located in the bin 32).
As per claim 18, this claim recites limitations similar to those disclosed in independent claim 1 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCAROLA et al (GB 2483142 A), and further in view of VILLARREAL et al (AU 2012202915 A1), and further in view of FISHER (CA 2565525 C).
As per claim 2, SCAROLA et Al does not disclose wherein the parcel receptacle comprises a solar panel on at least one surface of the parcel receptacle, wherein the solar energy harnessed through the solar panel powers the security system, however, FISHER discloses FIG. 17 is a diagrammatic view of a portion of the portable electronic lock box security system of FIG. 1; The central clearinghouse computer 80 typically will include a database 62 which contains a repository of electronic lock box identification
and attribute information; It will be understood that an alternative electrical power supply could be used if desired, such as a solar panel with the memory backup capacitor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by FISHER in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 11, please see rejection for claim 2.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCAROLA et al (GB 2483142 A), and further in view of VILLARREAL et al (AU 2012202915 A1), and further in view of CHEN (WO 0051750 A1).
As per claim 5, SCAROLA et al does not disclose wherein the security notification unit is configured to: capture one or more pictures using the first camera and the second camera, and notify the electronic device of the receiver in the instance of the change in one or more activities, however, CHEN discloses: (Security-monitoring device peripheral 22 may be used for deterring any unlawful use such as credit fraud, theft, or shipping of illegal goods. A video or photograph can be taken while any person inputs data into using peripheral 22 or while any person opens storage receptacle 14. For example, a video or photograph can be taken during receipt of parcel from carrier step 38 and also during customer pickup step 40. Thus a record of each transaction is established. The records may serve as a security means and as proofs of delivery and pickup).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by CHEN in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCAROLA et al (GB 2483142 A), and further in view of VILLARREAL et al (AU 2012202915 A1), and further in view of Tucker (US 20020023949 A1).
As per claim 19, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however, Tucker discloses:
wherein each of the one or more parcel receptacles comprises of a top member, a bottom member, and collapsible side members supported by a plurality of rods that are removably attached to one or more parcel receptacles, (Tucker: [0034] As shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, a parcel receptacle 10 includes a housing 12 having a plurality of stationary members 13 and a door 24. The stationary members 13 include a top member 14, a bottom member, 16, a back member 18, and two side members 20, 22. A door member 24 is pivotally coupled to the stationary members 13. The door member 24 is structured to pivot between a first, closed position, shown in FIG. 1B, and a second, open position, shown in FIG. 1C.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by Tucker in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 20, SCAROLA et al does not disclose the following, however, Tucker discloses: wherein at least one of the one or more parcel receptacles are flexible in shape, ([0034] As shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, a parcel receptacle 10 includes a housing 12 having a plurality of stationary members 13 and a door 24. The stationary members 13 include a top member 14, a bottom member, 16, a back member 18, and two side members 20, 22. A door member 24 is pivotally coupled to the stationary members 13. The door member 24 is structured to pivot between a first, closed position, shown in FIG. 1B, and a second, open position, shown in FIG. 1C.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the above limitations as taught by Tucker in the systems of SCAROLA et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Resha Desai can be reached on 571-270-7792. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (703) 305-3900.
August 6, 2025
/AKIBA K ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628