DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
The priority document(s), which have been placed on record in the file, are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The abstract is objected to because of the following informalities (and appropriate corrections are required):
The title of the invention is repeated in the abstract.
Applicant is reminded that the abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 15 and 18 recite the limitation, “…determining, based on second availability indication information.” However, there is no preceding reference to the “second availability indication information”;
Claim 15 (in Line [10]) recites the phrase, “…and or”, which appears to be an incomplete phrase;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TSAI et al. (US 20230051117 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tsai.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 18, Tsai teaches a method for determining a validity duration of a reference signal (Para. [0007]-Tsai discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) for monitoring a tracking reference signal (TRS) ... The method includes receiving, from a base station (BS), a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals. Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0008]-Tsai discloses the UE includes at least one processor, and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform the above-disclosed method of monitoring the TRS. Fig. 12, Para. [0587]-Tsai discloses the node 1200 may include a variety of computer-readable media. Computer-readable media may be any media that can be accessed by the node 1200 and include both volatile (and non-volatile) media and removable (and non-removable) media), comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal, first information in an idle state or an inactive state (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE is in an RRC_IDLE state or an RRC_INACTIVE state); and
determining, by the terminal, a target validity duration of a first reference signal based on the first information (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0098]-Tsai discloses the SIB may provide the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for the UE(s) in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state. Para. [0348-0359]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions) ... the validity time duration with the unit may be configured in a configuration for TRS/CSI-RS (which may be configured by a SIB and/or a RRC message)), or
determining, based on second availability indication information, that the first reference signal is unavailable (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE determines whether an L1-based availability indication (e.g., TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) for the one or more TRS resource sets is received from the BS ..., the UE determines the one or more TRS resource sets are unavailable when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has not been received from the BS. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification (e.g., in a modification period). Para. [0362] a PEI may include an SI modification indication. Para. [0170]-Tsai discloses when the UE detects/receives the PEI, the UE may determine whether the PEI includes a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. If the PEI includes the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication),
the first reference signal comprises a tracking reference signal and/or a channel state information reference signal (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … a TRS resource of the one or more TRS resource sets includes a CSI-RS resource);
the first information comprises at least one of the following: a system information message, first availability indication information, or second availability indication information (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals ..., the UE determines whether an L1-based availability indication (e.g., TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) for the one or more TRS resource sets is received from the BS ... the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has been received from the BS and the L1-based availability indication indicates a first value for the one or more TRS resource sets ..., the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ..., the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB); and
the first availability indication information is availability indication information of the first reference signal in a downlink control message (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has been received from the BS and the L1-based availability indication indicates a first value for the one or more TRS resource sets … the L1-based availability indication is indicated by the BS via a TRS availability indication included in DCI format 1_0), and
the second availability indication information is availability indication information that is of the first reference signal (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals …, the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has been received from the BS and the L1-based availability indication indicates a first value for the one or more TRS resource sets) and that is
received during a modification period for receiving system information change indication information containing configuration information of the first reference signal (Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). Para. [0362]-Tsai discloses a PEI may include an SI modification indication. Para. [0170]-Tsai discloses when the UE detects/receives the PEI, the UE may determine whether the PEI includes a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. If the PEI includes the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. Para. [0074]-Tsai discloses the UE receives indications about SI modifications ... Repetitions of SI change indication may occur within a preceding modification period).
Regarding claims 2, 16 and 19, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1 and the terminal according to claim 15 and the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 18 respectively,
Tsai further teaches the determining, by the terminal, a target validity duration of a first reference signal based on the first information comprises: determining, by the terminal, that an ending time of the target validity duration is a first time (Para. [0254]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may end at the first symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, or PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PEI monitoring occasion. Para. [0357]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be ended based on the configured value for the validity time duration and the units. Para. [0316-0328]-Tsai discloses the UE may stop/release the timer/window configured for the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in one or more of the following conditions … when receiving an SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS is unavailable/invalid) ... when the UE is indicated, by the network, to perform a (UL/DL) BWP switching {Corresponding to the UE determining the ending time based on all the listed conditions in paragraphs 0316-0328}).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 2,
Tsai further teaches the first time is determined based on an expiration time of a time length of a first validity duration and a second time (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}. Para. [0254]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may end at the first symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, or PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PEI monitoring occasion. Para. [0357]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be ended based on the configured value for the validity time duration and the units. Para. [0316-0328]-Tsai discloses the UE may stop/release the timer/window configured for the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in one or more of the following conditions … when receiving an SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS is unavailable/invalid) ... when the UE is indicated, by the network, to perform a (UL/DL) BWP switching {Corresponding to the UE determining the ending time based on all the listed conditions in paragraphs 0316-0328}).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 2,
Tsai further teaches the first time is an earlier time of an expiration time of a time length of a first validity duration and a second time; or the first time is the expiration time of the time length of the first validity duration; or the first time is the second time (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}. Para. [0254]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may end at the first symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, or PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PEI monitoring occasion. Para. [0357]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be ended based on the configured value for the validity time duration and the units. Para. [0316-0328]-Tsai discloses the UE may stop/release the timer/window configured for the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in one or more of the following conditions … when receiving an SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS is unavailable/invalid) ... when the UE is indicated, by the network, to perform a (UL/DL) BWP switching {Corresponding to the UE determining the ending time based on all the listed conditions in paragraphs 0316-0328}).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 3,
Tsai further teaches the second time comprises any one of the following: a time unit in which a boundary of a modification period for receiving a system information message by the terminal is located; a time unit in which the N-th modification period following a modification period for receiving a first system information message by the terminal is located; a time unit in which the terminal receives the first system information message, or a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in a default discontinuous reception cycle for receiving the first system information message by the terminal; a time unit in which the terminal receives an updated system information block 1, or a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in a default discontinuous reception cycle for receiving the updated system information block 1 by the terminal, wherein the system information block 1 indicates that the configuration information of the first reference signal is changed; a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in the M-th discontinuous reception cycle following a default discontinuous reception cycle for receiving the first system information message by the terminal; or the P-th time unit after a time unit in which the terminal receives the first system information message; wherein the first system information message carries updated configuration information of the first reference signal, the time unit comprises a system frame number, a subframe, a slot, and a symbol, and M, N, and P are positive integers (Para. [0074]-Tsai discloses modification period may be used (e.g., an updated SI message (other than SI message for ETWS, CMAS, and positioning assistance data) is broadcast in the modification period following the one where the SI modification indication is transmitted). The modification period boundaries are defined by System Frame Number (SFN) values for which SFN mod m=0, where m is the number of radio frames including the modification period. The modification period is configured by system information. The UE receives indications about SI modifications and/or PWS notifications via a short message transmitted by paging DCI (with P-RNTI). Repetitions of SI change indication may occur within a preceding modification period. Para. [0007]-Tsai discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) for monitoring a tracking reference signal (TRS) ... The method includes receiving, from a base station (BS), a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals. Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0008]-Tsai discloses the UE includes at least one processor, and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform the above-disclosed method of monitoring the TRS. Fig. 12, Para. [0587]-Tsai discloses the node 1200 may include a variety of computer-readable media. Computer-readable media may be any media that can be accessed by the node 1200 and include both volatile (and non-volatile) media and removable (and non-removable) media).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 5,
Tsai further teaches the system information message comprises the configuration information of the first reference signal (Para. [0176]-Tsai discloses information provided in the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (e.g., indicated by paging DCI, PEI, and/or SI) for the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s), the availability/unavailability information for configured TRS/CSI-RS resources (e.g., a TRS configuration including/indicating at least one TRS resource set) may be indicated via a bitmap or a codepoint), and
the determining, by the terminal, a target validity duration of a first reference signal based on the first information comprises: determining, by the terminal, a validity duration of the first reference signal based on a change status of the configuration information of the first reference signal (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). In the next modification period, the network transmits the updated system information. When receiving an SI modification notification (e.g., via short message in paging DCI), the UE may attempt to acquire the new system information from the start of the next modification period. Para. [0176]-Tsai discloses information provided in the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (e.g., indicated by paging DCI, PEI, and/or SI) for the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s), the availability/unavailability information for configured TRS/CSI-RS resources (e.g., a TRS configuration including/indicating at least one TRS resource set) may be indicated via a bitmap or a codepoint).
Regarding claim 7, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 6,
Tsai further teaches the change status of the configuration information of the first reference signal comprises at least one of the following: a time length of the validity duration of the first reference signal is changed from the time length of the first validity duration to a time length of a second validity duration; configuration information of an occasion of the first reference signal is changed; or a parameter of at least one first reference signal resource set in the occasion of the first reference signal is changed (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). In the next modification period, the network transmits the updated system information. When receiving an SI modification notification (e.g., via short message in paging DCI), the UE may attempt to acquire the new system information from the start of the next modification period. Para. [0176]-Tsai discloses information provided in the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (e.g., indicated by paging DCI, PEI, and/or SI) for the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s), the availability/unavailability information for configured TRS/CSI-RS resources (e.g., a TRS configuration including/indicating at least one TRS resource set) may be indicated via a bitmap or a codepoint. Para. [0515]-Tsai discloses the UE may monitor PDCCH for an SI change indication ... based on the paging occasion).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 6,
Tsai further teaches the determining, by the terminal, a validity duration of the first reference signal based on a change status of the configuration information of the first reference signal (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). In the next modification period, the network transmits the updated system information. When receiving an SI modification notification (e.g., via short message in paging DCI), the UE may attempt to acquire the new system information from the start of the next modification period. Para. [0176]-Tsai discloses information provided in the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (e.g., indicated by paging DCI, PEI, and/or SI) for the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s), the availability/unavailability information for configured TRS/CSI-RS resources (e.g., a TRS configuration including/indicating at least one TRS resource set) may be indicated via a bitmap or a codepoint) comprises any one of the following:
if a parameter of at least one first reference signal resource set in an occasion of the first reference signal is changed and configuration information of the first reference signal applied by the terminal is not changed (Para. [0181]-Tsai discloses a NW may not simultaneously use the L1-based signaling and SI-based signaling for indicating whether a TRS/CSI-RS is available/valid on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion. For example, when the NW configures/indicates the SI-based signaling for TRS/CSI-RS availability information, the NW may not configure/indicate the L1-based signaling for TRS/CSI-RS availability information. For another example, when the NW configures/indicates the L1-based signaling for TRS/CSI-RS availability information, the NW may not configure/indicate the SI-based signaling for TRS/CSI-RS availability information),
determining that a starting time of the validity duration of the first reference signal is a first starting time (Para. [0241]-Tsai discloses when an SI is used for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the SI can indicate a TRS/CSI-RS is available/unavailable. Preferably, the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be started when the UE receives the SI (that indicates the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) {See also Para. [0256, 0272, 0311-0314 and 0356}. Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0491]-Tsai discloses if the UL message is (re-)transmitted based on a CG resource/configuration, the timer/window that corresponds to the CG configuration may be (re-)started) and an ending time is a third time (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}); if a parameter of at least one first reference signal resource set in the occasion of the first reference signal is changed and the configuration information of the first reference signal applied by the terminal is changed, determining that the starting time of the validity duration of the first reference signal is the first starting time and the ending time is the third time; or if a time length of the validity duration of the first reference signal is changed to a time length of a second validity duration, restarting the validity duration of the first reference signal or applying the time length of the second validity duration {See the above references};
the first starting time is a time at which the terminal receives the first availability indication information (Para. [0241]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be started when the UE receives the SI (that indicates the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication)); and
the third time is any one of the following: a first one, being the expiration time of the time length of the first validity duration; a second one, being a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in a default discontinuous reception cycle for receiving availability indication information of a next first reference signal by the terminal; or the earlier one of the first one and the second one (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}. Para. [0254]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may end at the first symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, or PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PEI monitoring occasion. Para. [0357]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be ended based on the configured value for the validity time duration and the units. Para. [0316-0328]-Tsai discloses the UE may stop/release the timer/window configured for the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in one or more of the following conditions … when receiving an SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS is unavailable/invalid) ... when the UE is indicated, by the network, to perform a (UL/DL) BWP switching {Corresponding to the UE determining the ending time based on all the listed conditions in paragraphs 0316-0328}).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 8,
Tsai further teaches the restarting the validity duration of the first reference signal comprises: the starting time of the validity duration is the second time (Para. [0241]-Tsai discloses when an SI is used for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the SI can indicate a TRS/CSI-RS is available/unavailable. Preferably, the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be started when the UE receives the SI (that indicates the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) {See also Para. [0256, 0272, 0311-0314 and 0356}. Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0491]-Tsai discloses if the UL message is (re-)transmitted based on a CG resource/configuration, the timer/window that corresponds to the CG configuration may be (re-)started), and
the ending time is an expiration time of the time length of the second validity duration (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 8,
Tsai further teaches the applying the time length of the second validity duration comprises: the starting time of the validity duration is the second time (Para. [0241]-Tsai discloses when an SI is used for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the SI can indicate a TRS/CSI-RS is available/unavailable. Preferably, the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be started when the UE receives the SI (that indicates the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) {See also Para. [0256, 0272, 0311-0314 and 0356}. Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0491]-Tsai discloses if the UL message is (re-)transmitted based on a CG resource/configuration, the timer/window that corresponds to the CG configuration may be (re-)started), and
the ending time is a fifth time (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}); and
the fifth time comprises any one of the following: a first one, being a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in a default discontinuous reception cycle for receiving availability indication information of a next first reference signal; a second one, being a system frame number at which a time length of a first remaining validity duration expires and/or a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in a default discontinuous reception cycle in which the time length of the first remaining validity duration expires; or the earlier one of the first one and the second one (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid. Para. [0289]-Tsai discloses the unit of the timer/window may be symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, second (s), number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of Paging Frames (PFs), number of PDCCH monitoring occasions, etc. Para. [0349]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions));
the time length of the first remaining validity duration is the time length of the second validity duration minus a time length of a third validity duration to obtain a time length of a remaining validity duration (Figs. 3-9, Para. [0349]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions). Para. [0165]-Tsai discloses the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. Para. [0575]-Tsai discloses the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration and a paging cycle. Para. [0358-0359]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be counted by a counter. In some examples, the validity time duration may be configured by a periodicity ... the validity time duration may be configured as infinity), and
the time length of the third validity duration is a time length between the second time and the first starting time (Figs. 3-9, Para. [0349]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions). Para. [0165]-Tsai discloses the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. Para. [0575]-Tsai discloses the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration and a paging cycle. Para. [0358-0359]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be counted by a counter. In some examples, the validity time duration may be configured by a periodicity ... the validity time duration may be configured as infinity).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the determining, by the terminal, a target validity duration of a first reference signal based on the second availability indication information comprises: in a case that the second availability indication information indicates that all tracking reference signals and/or channel state information reference signals configured by a network are invalid (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE determines whether an L1-based availability indication (e.g., TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) for the one or more TRS resource sets is received from the BS ..., the UE determines the one or more TRS resource sets are unavailable when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has not been received from the BS. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). Para. [0362] a PEI may include an SI modification indication. Para. [0170]-Tsai discloses when the UE detects/receives the PEI, the UE may determine whether the PEI includes a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. If the PEI includes the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication),
determining that an ending time of the target validity duration is any one of the following: a time unit in which a boundary of a modification period for receiving the second availability indication information by the terminal or a modification period associated with reception of the second availability indication information is located; an A-th time unit following the modification period for receiving the second availability indication information by the terminal or a modification period associated with reception of the second availability indication information are located; a time unit in which the terminal receives the second availability indication information, or a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in a default discontinuous reception cycle for receiving the second availability indication information by the terminal; or a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in a B-th discontinuous reception cycles following a default discontinuous reception cycle for receiving the second availability indication information by the terminal (Para. [0074]-Tsai discloses modification period may be used (e.g., an updated SI message (other than SI message for ETWS, CMAS, and positioning assistance data) is broadcast in the modification period following the one where the SI modification indication is transmitted). The modification period boundaries are defined by System Frame Number (SFN) values for which SFN mod m=0, where m is the number of radio frames including the modification period. The modification period is configured by system information. The UE receives indications about SI modifications and/or PWS notifications via a short message transmitted by paging DCI (with P-RNTI). Repetitions of SI change indication may occur within a preceding modification period. Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]});
the time unit comprises a system frame number, a subframe, a slot, and a symbol (Figs. 3-9, Para. [0349]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions)),
A and B are positive integers (Figs. 3-9, Para. [0349]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions)), and
all the tracking reference signals and/or channel state information reference signals comprise the first reference signal (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … a TRS resource of the one or more TRS resource sets includes a CSI-RS resource).
Regarding claim 13, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the determining, by the terminal, a target validity duration of a first reference signal based on the first availability indication information comprises: in a case that the first availability indication information indicates that resources or resource sets of one or more first reference signals are valid (Para. [0186]-Tsai discloses the UE may determine whether a TRS/CSI-RS is available/valid based on both the L1-based signaling (e.g., paging DCI, PEI) and SI-based signaling. In some examples, the SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication and the L1-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication may indicate different information (e.g., different sets of TRS/CSI-RS resources, different states of availability/unavailability for a TRS/CSI-RS, different valid times, etc.). Para. [0575]-Tsai discloses the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration and a paging cycle),
determining that a starting time of the target validity duration is a sixth time (Para. [0241]-Tsai discloses when an SI is used for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the SI can indicate a TRS/CSI-RS is available/unavailable. Preferably, the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be started when the UE receives the SI (that indicates the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) {See also Para. [0256, 0272, 0311-0314 and 0356}. Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0491]-Tsai discloses if the UL message is (re-)transmitted based on a CG resource/configuration, the timer/window that corresponds to the CG configuration may be (re-)started) and
an ending time is an expiration time of a time length of a first validity duration or a time length of a second remaining validity duration (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]});
the time length of the second remaining validity duration is equal to the time length of the first validity duration minus T (Figs. 3-9, Para. [0349]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions). Para. [0165]-Tsai discloses the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. Para. [0575]-Tsai discloses the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration and a paging cycle. Para. [0358-0359]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be counted by a counter. In some examples, the validity time duration may be configured by a periodicity ... the validity time duration may be configured as infinity),
T is a time length between the sixth time and a time at which the terminal receives the first availability indication information (Para. [0241-0242]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be started when the UE receives the SI (that indicates the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) ... the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be the time duration between a first SI (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) and a second SI. Para. [0277]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be the time duration between a PEI (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) and a PO), and
the sixth time is a time at which the terminal receives the second availability indication information (Para. [0241-0242]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be started when the UE receives the SI (that indicates the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) ... the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be the time duration between a first SI (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) and a second SI. Para. [0277]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be the time duration between a PEI (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) and a PO).
Regarding claim 14, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the determining, by the terminal, a target validity duration of a first reference signal based on the first information (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0098]-Tsai discloses the SIB may provide the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for the UE(s) in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state. Para. [0348-0359]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions) ... the validity time duration with the unit may be configured in a configuration for TRS/CSI-RS (which may be configured by a SIB and/or a RRC message)), or
determining, based on second availability indication information, that the first reference signal is unavailable (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE determines whether an L1-based availability indication (e.g., TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) for the one or more TRS resource sets is received from the BS ..., the UE determines the one or more TRS resource sets are unavailable when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has not been received from the BS. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). Para. [0362] a PEI may include an SI modification indication. Para. [0170]-Tsai discloses when the UE detects/receives the PEI, the UE may determine whether the PEI includes a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. If the PEI includes the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) further comprises:
according to received first indication information, performing the step of determining the target validity duration of the first reference signal (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0098]-Tsai discloses the SIB may provide the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for the UE(s) in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state. Para. [0348-0359]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions) ... the validity time duration with the unit may be configured in a configuration for TRS/CSI-RS (which may be configured by a SIB and/or a RRC message)), or
performing the step of determining, based on the second availability indication information, that the first reference signal is unavailable (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE determines whether an L1-based availability indication (e.g., TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) for the one or more TRS resource sets is received from the BS ..., the UE determines the one or more TRS resource sets are unavailable when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has not been received from the BS. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). Para. [0362] a PEI may include an SI modification indication. Para. [0170]-Tsai discloses when the UE detects/receives the PEI, the UE may determine whether the PEI includes a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. If the PEI includes the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai teaches the terminal according to claim 16,
Tsai further teaches the first time is determined based on an expiration time of a time length of a first validity duration and a second time; or, wherein the first time is an earlier time of an expiration time of a time length of a first validity duration and a second time; or the first time is the expiration time of the time length of the first validity duration; or the first time is the second time (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}. Para. [0254]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may end at the first symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, or PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PEI monitoring occasion. Para. [0357]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be ended based on the configured value for the validity time duration and the units. Para. [0316-0328]-Tsai discloses the UE may stop/release the timer/window configured for the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in one or more of the following conditions … when receiving an SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS is unavailable/invalid) ... when the UE is indicated, by the network, to perform a (UL/DL) BWP switching {Corresponding to the UE determining the ending time based on all the listed conditions in paragraphs 0316-0328}).
Regarding claim 20, Tsai teaches the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 19,
Tsai further teaches the first time is determined based on an expiration time of a time length of a first validity duration and a second time; or, wherein the first time is an earlier time of an expiration time of a time length of a first validity duration and a second time; or the first time is the expiration time of the time length of the first validity duration; or the first time is the second time (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}. Para. [0254]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may end at the first symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, or PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PEI monitoring occasion. Para. [0357]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be ended based on the configured value for the validity time duration and the units. Para. [0316-0328]-Tsai discloses the UE may stop/release the timer/window configured for the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in one or more of the following conditions … when receiving an SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS is unavailable/invalid) ... when the UE is indicated, by the network, to perform a (UL/DL) BWP switching {Corresponding to the UE determining the ending time based on all the listed conditions in paragraphs 0316-0328}).
Allowable Subject matter
Claim 11 is allowable.
Dependent claim 11, which depend on claims 10, 8, 6, 5, 3, 2 and 1, is objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
claim 11 discloses the limitations, “…wherein if the ending time is a system frame number at which the time length of the first remaining validity duration expires and/or a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in the default discontinuous reception cycle in which the time length of the first remaining validity duration expires: if the time length of the remaining validity duration is less than 0, it is determined that the first reference signal becomes invalid from the second time; and if the time length of the remaining validity duration is not less than 0, the first reference signal is valid within a time range of the remaining validity duration.” However, no prior art has been found that teaches the referenced limitation. The closest prior arts found include:
Maleki et al. (US 20250293839 A1), which teaches, “…methods, performed by a user equipment (UE), for receiving reference signals (RS) in a wireless network. Such methods include receiving, from a network node in the wireless network, a configuration for connected-state RS transmitted by the network node. In some embodiments, the connected-state RS can be periodic channel state information RS (CSI-RS) or periodic tracking RS (TRS). Such methods include, while the UE is in a non-connected state and based on the received configuration, determining that the connected-state RS are available during one or more first occasions. Such methods include, while the UE is in the non-connected state, selectively receiving the connected-state RS during the first occasions.” However, Maleki et al. (US 20250293839 A1) fails to explicitly teach the referenced limitations of claim 11.
TSAI et al. (US 20230051117 A1), which in Para. [0007]-Tsai discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) for monitoring a tracking reference signal (TRS) ... The method includes receiving, from a base station (BS), a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals. Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0008]-Tsai discloses the UE includes at least one processor, and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform the above-disclosed method of monitoring the TRS. Fig. 12, Para. [0587]-Tsai discloses the node 1200 may include a variety of computer-readable media. Computer-readable media may be any media that can be accessed by the node 1200 and include both volatile (and non-volatile) media and removable (and non-removable) media.” However, TSAI et al. (US 20230051117 A1) fails to explicitly teach the referenced limitations of claim 11.
Sina Maleki et al. (US 20240187988 A1), which teaches, “…methods, performed by a user equipment (UE), for receiving tracking reference signals, TRS, in a wireless network. An example method comprises receiving, from 5 the network node, system information including a configuration for tracking reference signals, the configuration specifying a plurality of occasions at which the network node may transmit tracking reference signals, where the system information further specifies at least a first window in which availability information for a tracking reference signal according to the configuration will be signaled.” However, Sina Maleki et al. (US 20240187988 A1) fails to explicitly teach the referenced limitations of claim 11.
None of the above prior arts teach the combined limitations of claims 11, 10, 8, 6, 5, 3, 2 and 1. Hence, claim 11 is allowable.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Sina Maleki et al. (US 20240187988 A1)-discloses methods, performed by a user equipment (UE), for receiving tracking reference signals, TRS, in a wireless network. An example method comprises receiving, from 5 the network node, system information including a configuration for tracking reference signals, the configuration specifying a plurality of occasions at which the network node may transmit tracking reference signals, where the system information further specifies at least a first window in which availability information for a tracking reference signal according to the configuration will be signaled…. …Fig. 1-5
Maleki et al. (US 20250293839 A1)-discloses methods, performed by a user equipment (UE), for receiving reference signals (RS) in a wireless network. Such methods include receiving, from a network node in the wireless network, a configuration for connected-state RS transmitted by the network node. In some embodiments, the connected-state RS can be periodic channel state information RS (CSI-RS) or periodic tracking RS (TRS). Such methods include, while the UE is in a non-connected state and based on the received configuration, determining that the connected-state RS are available during one or more first occasions. Such methods include, while the UE is in the non-connected state, selectively receiving the connected-state RS during the first occasions…. …Fig. 1-5
Xiaowei Jiang (US 20250067877 A1)-discloses method and a device for processing global navigation satellite system (GNSS) validity. The method is performed by a terminal device, and includes: setting a target parameter of radio link failure (RLF), in a case that a GNSS of the terminal device is outdated.… …Fig. 1-4
Catovic et al. (US 20250063567 A1)-discloses a UE may include IoT NTN device, and the UE may acquire the GNSS location to perform the time/frequency pre-compensation. A NAS layer of the UE may initiate a connection request procedure based on the GNSS fix procedure at one or more lower layer of the UE. A network may transmit a paging request to the UE, and manage a paging response timer based on the GNSS fix procedure at the UE…. …Fig. 1-5
Reial et al. (US 20230276362 A1)-discloses method, in a network node configured to communicate wirelessly with wireless devices, includes transmitting a synchronization signal block, SSB, having one or more synchronization signals and transmitting a wake-up signal, WUS, the WUS indicating whether a wireless device or group of wireless devices should monitor a physical channel during at least one paging opportunity associated with the WUS transmission. Transmitting the WUS includes transmitting the WUS in conjunction with the SSB…. …Fig. 1-5
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472