DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 09/22/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 09/22/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 4, 6-11, 14-15 and 18 are pending
Claims 1, 4, 6, 15 and 18 are amended
Claims 2-3, 5, 12-13, 16-17 and 19-20 are canceled
Claims 1, 4, 6-11, 14-15 and 18 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 6-11, 14-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 (and similarly in claims 15 and 18) recites the phrase “the configuration information”, in Line [23]. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, it is unclear which configuration information of the first reference signal is being referred to and the scope of the claim is unclear. On the other hand, Para. [0041] of the instant specification recites, “The first SI message is an SI message of a system information block (SIB) containing the configuration information of the idle and/or inactive first reference signal.” Hence, for examination purposes the configuration information (in Line [23] of the amended claim 1) has been construed to mean the system information message (in Lines [8-9] of the amended claim 1). The office respectfully requests the applicant to amend the claim(s) in order to clarify the claimed invention.
Dependent claims (4, 6-11 and 14) not addressed above are rejected under the same rational as the parent claim due to a failure to resolve the deficiencies of the parent claim discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-10, 14-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TSAI et al. (US 20230051117 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tsai.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 18, Tsai teaches a method for determining a validity duration of a reference signal (Para. [0007]-Tsai discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) for monitoring a tracking reference signal (TRS) ... The method includes receiving, from a base station (BS), a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals. Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0008]-Tsai discloses the UE includes at least one processor, and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform the above-disclosed method of monitoring the TRS. Fig. 12, Para. [0587]-Tsai discloses the node 1200 may include a variety of computer-readable media. Computer-readable media may be any media that can be accessed by the node 1200 and include both volatile (and non-volatile) media and removable (and non-removable) media), comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal, first information in an idle state or an inactive state (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE is in an RRC_IDLE state or an RRC_INACTIVE state); and
determining, by the terminal, a target validity duration of a first reference signal based on the first information (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0098]-Tsai discloses the SIB may provide the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for the UE(s) in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state. Para. [0348-0359]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions) ... the validity time duration with the unit may be configured in a configuration for TRS/CSI-RS (which may be configured by a SIB and/or a RRC message)),
the first reference signal comprises a tracking reference signal and/or a channel state information reference signal (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … a TRS resource of the one or more TRS resource sets includes a CSI-RS resource);
the first information comprises at least one of the following: a system information message, or first availability indication information (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals ..., the UE determines whether an L1-based availability indication (e.g., TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) for the one or more TRS resource sets is received from the BS ... the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has been received from the BS and the L1-based availability indication indicates a first value for the one or more TRS resource sets ..., the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ..., the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB); and
the first availability indication information is availability indication information of the first reference signal in a downlink control message (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has been received from the BS and the L1-based availability indication indicates a first value for the one or more TRS resource sets … the L1-based availability indication is indicated by the BS via a TRS availability indication included in DCI format 1_0);
determining, by the terminal, the target validity duration of the first reference signal based on the first information comprises: determining, by the terminal, that an ending time of the target validity duration is a first time (Para. [0254]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may end at the first symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, or PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PEI monitoring occasion. Para. [0357]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be ended based on the configured value for the validity time duration and the units. Para. [0316-0328]-Tsai discloses the UE may stop/release the timer/window configured for the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in one or more of the following conditions … when receiving an SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS is unavailable/invalid) ... when the UE is indicated, by the network, to perform a (UL/DL) BWP switching {Corresponding to the UE determining the ending time based on all the listed conditions in paragraphs 0316-0328}),
the first time is determined based on an expiration time of a time length of a first validity duration and a second time (Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). In the next modification period, the network transmits the updated system information. When receiving an SI modification notification (e.g., via short message in paging DCI), the UE may attempt to acquire the new system information from the start of the next modification period. Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}. Para. [0238]-Tsai discloses the UE may not receive/acquire the SIB for the SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in the TRS/CSI-RS validity time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Hence, receiving the updated system information, as disclosed in paragraph [0067], also indicates the expiration time of the first validity duration, disclosed in para. [0339]}. Para. [0254]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may end at the first symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, or PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PEI monitoring occasion. Para. [0357]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be ended based on the configured value for the validity time duration and the units. Para. [0316-0328]-Tsai discloses the UE may stop/release the timer/window configured for the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in one or more of the following conditions … when receiving an SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS is unavailable/invalid) {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to a modification} ... when the UE is indicated, by the network, to perform a (UL/DL) BWP switching {Corresponding to the UE determining the ending time based on all the listed conditions in paragraps 0316-0328}. Para. [0174]-Tsai discloses the SI may be minimum SI (e.g., MIB, SIB1) and/or other SI (e.g., SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5, SIB6, SIB7, SIB8, SIB9, SIB10, SIB11, etc.)),
the second time comprises a time unit in which the terminal receives an updated system information block 1 (Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). In the next modification period, the network transmits the updated system information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced updated system information block 1, which according to paragraphs [0075 and 0174] of TSai could be SIB1}. When receiving an SI modification notification (e.g., via short message in paging DCI), the UE may attempt to acquire the new system information from the start of the next modification period. Para. [0204]-Tsai discloses the SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication may indicate a default/initial state of TRS/CSI-RS availability/unavailability for the (set/group/index of) TRS/CSI-RS resource(s). Thus, the L1-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication may be used to change/switch a state of TRS/CSI-RS availability/unavailability for the (set/group/index of) TRS/CSI-RS resource(s). Para. [0174]-Tsai discloses the SI may be minimum SI (e.g., MIB, SIB1) and/or other SI (e.g., SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5, SIB6, SIB7, SIB8, SIB9, SIB10, SIB11, etc.)), and
the system information block 1 indicates that the configuration information of the first reference signal is changed (Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). In the next modification period, the network transmits the updated system information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced updated system information block 1, which according to paragraphs [0075 and 0174] of TSai could be SIB1}. When receiving an SI modification notification (e.g., via short message in paging DCI), the UE may attempt to acquire the new system information from the start of the next modification period. Para. [0204]-Tsai discloses the SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication may indicate a default/initial state of TRS/CSI-RS availability/unavailability for the (set/group/index of) TRS/CSI-RS resource(s). Thus, the L1-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication may be used to change/switch a state of TRS/CSI-RS availability/unavailability for the (set/group/index of) TRS/CSI-RS resource(s). Para. [0174]-Tsai discloses the SI may be minimum SI (e.g., MIB, SIB1) and/or other SI (e.g., SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5, SIB6, SIB7, SIB8, SIB9, SIB10, SIB11, etc.)).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the first time is an earlier time of an expiration time of a time length of a first validity duration and a second time; or the first time is the expiration time of the time length of the first validity duration; or the first time is the second time (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}. Para. [0254]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may end at the first symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, or PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PEI monitoring occasion. Para. [0357]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be ended based on the configured value for the validity time duration and the units. Para. [0316-0328]-Tsai discloses the UE may stop/release the timer/window configured for the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in one or more of the following conditions … when receiving an SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS is unavailable/invalid) ... when the UE is indicated, by the network, to perform a (UL/DL) BWP switching {Corresponding to the UE determining the ending time based on all the listed conditions in paragraphs 0316-0328}).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the system information message comprises the configuration information of the first reference signal (Para. [0176]-Tsai discloses information provided in the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (e.g., indicated by paging DCI, PEI, and/or SI) for the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s), the availability/unavailability information for configured TRS/CSI-RS resources (e.g., a TRS configuration including/indicating at least one TRS resource set) may be indicated via a bitmap or a codepoint), and
the determining, by the terminal, a target validity duration of a first reference signal based on the first information comprises: determining, by the terminal, a validity duration of the first reference signal based on a change status of the configuration information of the first reference signal (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). In the next modification period, the network transmits the updated system information. When receiving an SI modification notification (e.g., via short message in paging DCI), the UE may attempt to acquire the new system information from the start of the next modification period. Para. [0176]-Tsai discloses information provided in the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (e.g., indicated by paging DCI, PEI, and/or SI) for the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s), the availability/unavailability information for configured TRS/CSI-RS resources (e.g., a TRS configuration including/indicating at least one TRS resource set) may be indicated via a bitmap or a codepoint).
Regarding claim 7, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 6,
Tsai further teaches the change status of the configuration information of the first reference signal comprises at least one of the following: a time length of the validity duration of the first reference signal is changed from the time length of the first validity duration to a time length of a second validity duration; configuration information of an occasion of the first reference signal is changed; or a parameter of at least one first reference signal resource set in the occasion of the first reference signal is changed (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). In the next modification period, the network transmits the updated system information. When receiving an SI modification notification (e.g., via short message in paging DCI), the UE may attempt to acquire the new system information from the start of the next modification period. Para. [0176]-Tsai discloses information provided in the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (e.g., indicated by paging DCI, PEI, and/or SI) for the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s), the availability/unavailability information for configured TRS/CSI-RS resources (e.g., a TRS configuration including/indicating at least one TRS resource set) may be indicated via a bitmap or a codepoint. Para. [0515]-Tsai discloses the UE may monitor PDCCH for an SI change indication ... based on the paging occasion).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 6,
Tsai further teaches the determining, by the terminal, a validity duration of the first reference signal based on a change status of the configuration information of the first reference signal (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). In the next modification period, the network transmits the updated system information. When receiving an SI modification notification (e.g., via short message in paging DCI), the UE may attempt to acquire the new system information from the start of the next modification period. Para. [0176]-Tsai discloses information provided in the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (e.g., indicated by paging DCI, PEI, and/or SI) for the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s), the availability/unavailability information for configured TRS/CSI-RS resources (e.g., a TRS configuration including/indicating at least one TRS resource set) may be indicated via a bitmap or a codepoint) comprises any one of the following:
if a parameter of at least one first reference signal resource set in an occasion of the first reference signal is changed and configuration information of the first reference signal applied by the terminal is not changed (Para. [0181]-Tsai discloses a NW may not simultaneously use the L1-based signaling and SI-based signaling for indicating whether a TRS/CSI-RS is available/valid on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasion. For example, when the NW configures/indicates the SI-based signaling for TRS/CSI-RS availability information, the NW may not configure/indicate the L1-based signaling for TRS/CSI-RS availability information. For another example, when the NW configures/indicates the L1-based signaling for TRS/CSI-RS availability information, the NW may not configure/indicate the SI-based signaling for TRS/CSI-RS availability information),
determining that a starting time of the validity duration of the first reference signal is a first starting time (Para. [0241]-Tsai discloses when an SI is used for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the SI can indicate a TRS/CSI-RS is available/unavailable. Preferably, the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be started when the UE receives the SI (that indicates the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) {See also Para. [0256, 0272, 0311-0314 and 0356}. Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0491]-Tsai discloses if the UL message is (re-)transmitted based on a CG resource/configuration, the timer/window that corresponds to the CG configuration may be (re-)started) and an ending time is a third time (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}); if a parameter of at least one first reference signal resource set in the occasion of the first reference signal is changed and the configuration information of the first reference signal applied by the terminal is changed, determining that the starting time of the validity duration of the first reference signal is the first starting time and the ending time is the third time; or if a time length of the validity duration of the first reference signal is changed to a time length of a second validity duration, restarting the validity duration of the first reference signal or applying the time length of the second validity duration {See the above references};
the first starting time is a time at which the terminal receives the first availability indication information (Para. [0241]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be started when the UE receives the SI (that indicates the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication)); and
the third time is any one of the following: a first one, being the expiration time of the time length of the first validity duration; a second one, being a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in a default discontinuous reception cycle for receiving availability indication information of a next first reference signal by the terminal; or the earlier one of the first one and the second one (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}. Para. [0254]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may end at the first symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, or PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PEI monitoring occasion. Para. [0357]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be ended based on the configured value for the validity time duration and the units. Para. [0316-0328]-Tsai discloses the UE may stop/release the timer/window configured for the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in one or more of the following conditions … when receiving an SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS is unavailable/invalid) ... when the UE is indicated, by the network, to perform a (UL/DL) BWP switching {Corresponding to the UE determining the ending time based on all the listed conditions in paragraphs 0316-0328}).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 8,
Tsai further teaches the restarting the validity duration of the first reference signal comprises: the starting time of the validity duration is the second time (Para. [0241]-Tsai discloses when an SI is used for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the SI can indicate a TRS/CSI-RS is available/unavailable. Preferably, the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be started when the UE receives the SI (that indicates the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) {See also Para. [0256, 0272, 0311-0314 and 0356}. Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0491]-Tsai discloses if the UL message is (re-)transmitted based on a CG resource/configuration, the timer/window that corresponds to the CG configuration may be (re-)started), and
the ending time is an expiration time of the time length of the second validity duration (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 8,
Tsai further teaches the applying the time length of the second validity duration comprises: the starting time of the validity duration is the second time (Para. [0241]-Tsai discloses when an SI is used for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the SI can indicate a TRS/CSI-RS is available/unavailable. Preferably, the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may be started when the UE receives the SI (that indicates the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) {See also Para. [0256, 0272, 0311-0314 and 0356}. Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0491]-Tsai discloses if the UL message is (re-)transmitted based on a CG resource/configuration, the timer/window that corresponds to the CG configuration may be (re-)started), and
the ending time is a fifth time (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}); and
the fifth time comprises any one of the following: a first one, being a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in a default discontinuous reception cycle for receiving availability indication information of a next first reference signal; a second one, being a system frame number at which a time length of a first remaining validity duration expires and/or a system frame number of the 1st paging frame in a default discontinuous reception cycle in which the time length of the first remaining validity duration expires; or the earlier one of the first one and the second one (Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid. Para. [0289]-Tsai discloses the unit of the timer/window may be symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, second (s), number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of Paging Frames (PFs), number of PDCCH monitoring occasions, etc. Para. [0349]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions));
the time length of the first remaining validity duration is the time length of the second validity duration minus a time length of a third validity duration to obtain a time length of a remaining validity duration (Figs. 3-9, Para. [0349]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions). Para. [0165]-Tsai discloses the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. Para. [0575]-Tsai discloses the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration and a paging cycle. Para. [0358-0359]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be counted by a counter. In some examples, the validity time duration may be configured by a periodicity ... the validity time duration may be configured as infinity), and
the time length of the third validity duration is a time length between the second time and the first starting time (Figs. 3-9, Para. [0349]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions). Para. [0165]-Tsai discloses the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. Para. [0575]-Tsai discloses the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration and a paging cycle. Para. [0358-0359]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be counted by a counter. In some examples, the validity time duration may be configured by a periodicity ... the validity time duration may be configured as infinity).
Regarding claim 14, Tsai teaches the method according to claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the determining, by the terminal, a target validity duration of a first reference signal based on the first information (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0098]-Tsai discloses the SIB may provide the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for the UE(s) in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state. Para. [0348-0359]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions) ... the validity time duration with the unit may be configured in a configuration for TRS/CSI-RS (which may be configured by a SIB and/or a RRC message)), or
determining, based on second availability indication information, that the first reference signal is unavailable (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE determines whether an L1-based availability indication (e.g., TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) for the one or more TRS resource sets is received from the BS ..., the UE determines the one or more TRS resource sets are unavailable when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has not been received from the BS. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). Para. [0362] a PEI may include an SI modification indication. Para. [0170]-Tsai discloses when the UE detects/receives the PEI, the UE may determine whether the PEI includes a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. If the PEI includes the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) further comprises:
according to received first indication information, performing the step of determining the target validity duration of the first reference signal (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals … the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present for a number of frames based on at least a validity duration ... the validity duration is configured by the BS via a SIB ... the TRS configuration is configured by the BS via a SIB. Para. [0098]-Tsai discloses the SIB may provide the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for the UE(s) in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state. Para. [0348-0359]-Tsai discloses the UE may be configured with a validity time duration with a unit (e.g., symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, ms, s, number of DRX cycles, number of POs, number of PFs, number of PDCCH monitoring occasions) ... the validity time duration with the unit may be configured in a configuration for TRS/CSI-RS (which may be configured by a SIB and/or a RRC message)), or
performing the step of determining, based on the second availability indication information, that the first reference signal is unavailable (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]-Tsai discloses the UE determines whether an L1-based availability indication (e.g., TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) for the one or more TRS resource sets is received from the BS ..., the UE determines the one or more TRS resource sets are unavailable when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has not been received from the BS. Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). Para. [0362] a PEI may include an SI modification indication. Para. [0170]-Tsai discloses when the UE detects/receives the PEI, the UE may determine whether the PEI includes a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication. If the PEI includes the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine whether the TRS/CSI-RS on the configured TRS/CSI-RS occasions is available/valid based on the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 09/22/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1, 4, 6-11, 14-15 and 18 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on pages 15 and 16, Lines [25-26 and 1-3 respectively], Applicant argues that, “…Tsai does not disclose or suggest determining the first time based on a combination of the validity duration and second time as specified in claim 1 of the present application. Thus, Tsai does not disclose determining, by the terminal, that the ending time of the target validity duration is the first time, where the first time is determined based on the expiration time of the time length of the first validity duration and the second time.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the first time is determined based on an expiration time of a time length of a first validity duration and a second time,” as recited in the amended claim 1, in Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification (e.g., in a modification period). In the next modification period, the network transmits the updated system information. When receiving an SI modification notification (e.g., via short message in paging DCI), the UE may attempt to acquire the new system information from the start of the next modification period. Para. [0339]-Tsai discloses upon expiry of the timer/window configured for a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication, the UE may determine that the indicated state of the TRS/CSI-RS by a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication is invalid {See also Para. [0293-0296]}. Para. [0238]-Tsai discloses the UE may not receive/acquire the SIB for the SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in the TRS/CSI-RS validity time {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Hence, receiving the updated system information, as disclosed in paragraph [0067], also indicates the expiration time of the first validity duration, disclosed in para. [0339]}. Para. [0254]-Tsai discloses the TRS/CSI-RS validity time may end at the first symbol, slot, subframe, SFN, or PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PEI monitoring occasion. Para. [0357]-Tsai discloses the validity time duration with a unit may be ended based on the configured value for the validity time duration and the units. Para. [0316-0328]-Tsai discloses the UE may stop/release the timer/window configured for the TRS/CSI-RS availability indication in one or more of the following conditions … when receiving an SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (that indicates a TRS/CSI-RS is unavailable/invalid) {Corresponding to a modification} ... when the UE is indicated, by the network, to perform a (UL/DL) BWP switching {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the UE determining the ending time based on all the listed conditions in paragraps 0316-0328}. Para. [0174]-Tsai discloses the SI may be minimum SI (e.g., MIB, SIB1) and/or other SI (e.g., SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5, SIB6, SIB7, SIB8, SIB9, SIB10, SIB11, etc.).
In the remarks, on page 15, Lines [4-6], Applicant argues that, “…Tsai also does not disclose that the second time includes the time unit in which the terminal receives the updated system information block 1, where the system information block I indicates that the configuration information of the first reference signal is changed.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
In Para. [0067]-Tsai discloses when the network changes/modifies (some of the) system information, the network first notifies the UEs about this modification(e.g., in a modification period). In the next modification period, the network transmits the updated system information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced updated system information block 1, which according to paragraphs [0075 and 0174] of TSai could be SIB1}. When receiving an SI modification notification (e.g., via short message in paging DCI), the UE may attempt to acquire the new system information from the start of the next modification period. Para. [0204]-Tsai discloses the SI-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication may indicate a default/initial state of TRS/CSI-RS availability/unavailability for the (set/group/index of) TRS/CSI-RS resource(s). Thus, the L1-based TRS/CSI-RS availability indication may be used to change/switch a state of TRS/CSI-RS availability/unavailability for the (set/group/index of) TRS/CSI-RS resource(s). Para. [0174]-Tsai discloses the SI may be minimum SI (e.g., MIB, SIB1) and/or other SI (e.g., SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5, SIB6, SIB7, SIB8, SIB9, SIB10, SIB11, etc.) Para. [0075]-Tsai discloses UEs in RRC_CONNECTED state may monitor for an SI modification indication in any PO at least once per modification period when the UE is provided with a common search space (e.g., including pagingSearchSpace, searchSpaceSIB1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472