DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species A1, B1, and C1 (claims 1-5 and 8) in the reply filed on 09/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7 and 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/18/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: LS2 (fig. 7). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heo et al. (US Publication 9570471).
Regarding independent claim 1, Heo teaches a display device (fig. 2, 200) comprising:
a first electrode (250 and 252) on a substrate (210);
a pixel defining layer (270 and 274) on the first electrode;
a separation layer (280 and 282) on the pixel defining layer and having a void (w2) and an opening (see figure below) partially exposing the void;
a light emitting unit (260 and 262) on the first electrode and the separation layer, the light emitting unit being separated at the opening in the separation layer (fig. 2); and
a second electrode (290 and 292) on the light emitting unit and covering the opening in the separation layer (fig. 2, extends over opening in separation layer).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Heo teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a conductive layer (fig. 2, 254) on the pixel defining layer.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Heo teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the separation layer at least partially surrounds the conductive layer (fig. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Heo teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the conductive layer is in the void (fig. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Heo teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the separation layer comprises an inorganic material (column 9, ln. 23-29).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Heo teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the substrate comprises a first sub-pixel (fig. 2, SP1) and a second sub-pixel (SP2) adjacent to each other, and wherein the separation layer is at a boundary between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel (fig. 2).
Conclusion
/GRACE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897