The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claims 24, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 is indefinite on line 3 because there is no positive antecedent basis for “the first surface of the vibration part”.
Claim 27 is indefinite on lines 1-2 because it is unclear what one means by “at least of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part”. Does one mean “at least one of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part” here? For examination purposes only, the claim with be viewed as such.
Claims 1-3, 15, 21, 22, 24, 25, 28, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an acoustic apparatus (see figs. 1-2, for example), comprising: a vibration member 700, 100 (see para. 0080, regarding that “the sound generating module 400 may vibrate the display module 100…”; see also, para. 0078-0079, regarding that “the cover window 700 may be attached to the front surface of the display module 100 via an adhesive member”, and that “the cover window 700 may include a transparent area overlapping the display area of the display module 100”, and as such, the sound generating module 400 will vibrate both the display module 100 and the cover window 700); a supporting member 300 disposed at a first surface of the vibration member 700, 100; a first vibration apparatus 400 configured to vibrate the vibration member 700, 100; and a driving circuit part 600 electrically connected to the first vibration apparatus 400 and configured to drive the first vibration apparatus 400 (see para. 0087, regarding “the driving circuit 600 may apply the vibration driving signal to the circuit board 620, and thus, a signal may be applied to the vibration generating device 401”). The driving circuit part 600 is disposed at an internal space between the vibration member 700, 100 and the supporting member 300.
Regarding claim 2, the first vibration apparatus 400 is disposed at the internal space and connected to the first surface of the vibration member 700, 100. The first vibration apparatus 400 is direction connected to the vibration member 100 (the display module) and indirectly connected to the vibration member 700 (the cover window).
Regarding claim 3, the driving circuit part 600 comprises a printed circuit board disposed between the first vibration apparatus 400 and the supporting member 300. See para. 0047, 0075-0076, which teaches that the driving circuit part 600 is a “printed circuit board (PCB)”. The printed circuit board 600 is spaced apart from the first vibration apparatus 400.
Regarding claim 15, the supporting member 300 includes: a first supporting part 310 disposed in parallel with the vibration member 700, 100; and a second supporting part 330 connected to the first supporting part 310 and connected to the first surface of the vibration member 700, 100 and configured to surround the first vibration apparatus 400.
Regarding claim 21, the driving circuit part 600 and the first vibration apparatus 400 are disposed in parallel at the internal space.
Regarding claim 22, the driving circuit part 600 comprises a printed circuit board disposed between the first vibration apparatus 400 and the supporting member 300. See para. 0047, 0075-0076, which teaches that the driving circuit part 600 is a “printed circuit board (PCB)”. The printed circuit board 600 is spaced apart from the first vibration apparatus 400.
Regarding claim 24, the first vibration apparatus 400 comprises: a vibration part 401 including a piezoelectric material (see para. 0083); and a cover member 403, 404, 405 (e.g., adhesive members) covering at least one or more of a first surface of the vibration part 401 and a second surface of the vibration part opposite to the first surface of the vibration part 401. See fig. 4A, and para. 0092.
Regarding claim 25, the first vibration apparatus 400 further comprises a signal supply member 620 electrically connected to the vibration part 401 (see fig. 4A, and para. 0087), wherein a portion of the signal supply member 620 is accommodated between the cover member (e.g., adhesive member 404) and the vibration part 401. See fig. 4A, and para. 0092.
Regarding claim 28, a mass member (e.g., cover window 700 having a mass) is disposed on a second surface of the vibration member (e.g., display 100) opposite to a first surface of the vibration member. In fig. 2, the supporting member 300 is considered disposed at (adjacent) a first surface (e.g., bottom surface) of the vibration member 100, wherein the cover window 700 (claimed ‘mass member’) is considered disposed at a second surface opposite the first surface of the vibration member 100.
Regarding claim 29, a second vibration apparatus 530 is disposed at a second surface of the vibration member 700, 100 opposite to the first surface of the vibration member 700, 100, wherein the second vibration apparatus 530 includes a vibration part. See fig. 11, for example. The top surface of element 700 is considered the first surface, and the bottom surface of element 110 is considered the second surface opposite to the first surface as claimed.
Regarding claim 31, the vibration member 700/100 comprises one or more materials including at least metal. See para. 0051, regarding that the display panel 100 includes a metal plate.
Claims 4, 5, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924), as applied to claim 3 and claim 22 above, in further view of Nam et al. (US 2021/0026590).
Kim discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach a fixing member configured between the supporting member 300 and the printed circuit board 600. Nam discloses an acoustic apparatus 100 (see figs. 2-3, for example) including a printed circuit board 330, wherein a fixing member (e.g., double-side foam tape) is provided between the printed circuit board 330 and a rear surface of a display panel 200, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of blocking or minimizing the transfer of vibrations to the printed circuit board 330 (see para. 0112-0114).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim, in view of Nam, such that a fixing member (e.g., an adhesive member) is configured between the supporting member 300 and the printed circuit board 600. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of blocking or minimizing the transfer of vibrations to the printed circuit board 600.
Regarding claim 5, the fixing member comprises one or more adhesive members (e.g., double-side foam tape), and the one or more adhesive members including a material having an adhesive force and being elastic. See Nam, para. 0114, regarding “double-sided tape or double-sided foam tape each including a vibration absorbing layer (or an elastic layer)”.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924), as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Han et al. (US 2022/0182744).
Kim discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the supporting member 300 comprises one or more holes that are disposed at the printed circuit board 600 and are configured to connect the internal space to an external space of the acoustic apparatus. Han discloses an acoustic apparatus (see figs. 1-2B, for example) including a supporting member 300 (e.g., rear surface of a housing of the acoustic apparatus), wherein the supporting member 300 comprises one or more holes 301 that are configured to connect an internal space GS to an external space of the acoustic apparatus, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of decreasing an air pressure of the acoustic apparatus by discharging the air pressure to the outside thereby improving the sound characteristics of the low-pitched sound band of the acoustic apparatus (see para. 0122-0124).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim, in view of Han, such that the supporting member 300 comprises one or more holes that are disposed at the printed circuit board 600 and are configured to connect the internal space to an external space of the acoustic apparatus. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of decreasing an air pressure of the acoustic apparatus by discharging the air pressure to the outside thereby improving the sound characteristics of the low-pitched sound band of the acoustic apparatus.
Further regarding claim 6, Han teaches that “the shape, number, and size of holes 301 may be variously adjusted. …[T]he holes 301 may be disposed along a portion of the vibration apparatus 200, for example, a periphery of the vibration apparatus 200” (para. 0124). Thus, it would have at least been obvious that one could have disposed the one or more holes at the printed circuit board 600 (i.e., adjacent the printed circuit board) as claimed.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924) and Han et al. (US 2022/0182744), as applied to claim 7 above, in further view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0058690).
Kim, as modified and applied to claim 7 above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach a water blocking member configured to cover the one or more holes. Lee discloses an acoustic apparatus (see fig. 9) including an air vent hole 404 configured to discharge internal air of the acoustic apparatus to the outside through the air vent hole 404, wherein a waterproof material is configured to cover the air vent hole 404, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of preventing water from permeating the acoustic apparatus from the outside through the air vent hole 404 (see para. 0156-0157).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Kim, in view of Lee, such that a water blocking member is configured to cover the one or more holes. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of preventing water from permeating the acoustic apparatus from the outside through the one or more holes, while discharging internal air of the acoustic apparatus to the outside through the one or more holes.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Han et al. (US 2022/0182744).
Kim discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach a coupling member disposed between the vibration member 700, 100 and the supporting member 300 (e.g., between the bottom surface of element 700 and the top surface of 330; see fig. 2). Han discloses an acoustic apparatus (see figs. 1-2B) including a coupling member 401 disposed between a vibration member 100 and a supporting member 430, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of “minimizing the vibration of the display panel 100 from being transmitted to the supporting member” (see para. 0139, 0142).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim, in view of Han, such that a coupling member disposed between the vibration member 700, 100 and the supporting member 300 (e.g., between the bottom surface of element 700 and the top surface of 330; see fig. 2). A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of minimizing the vibration of the vibration member 700, 100 being transmitted to the supporting member 300.
Regarding claim 10, although Han doesn’t teach that the coupling member 401 is a waterproof structure or a waterproof member, it would have been obvious that the coupling member disposed between the vibration member 700, 100 and the supporting member 300 is waterproof, the motivation being to keep water from entering the acoustic apparatus as is manifestly well known in the art.
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Han et al. (US 2022/0182744).
Kim discloses the invention as claimed, including that the first vibration apparatus 400 includes a first vibration generating part, but fails to specifically teach that the first vibration apparatus 400 further includes a second vibration generating part stacked on the first vibration generating part, and an intermediate member between the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part, wherein one of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part is connected to the vibration member 100, 700. Han discloses an acoustic apparatus (see figs. 14 and 15, for example) including a vibration apparatus 200, wherein the vibration apparatus 200 includes a first vibration generating part 210 and a second vibration generating part 230 stacked on the first vibration generating part 210, and an intermediate member 250 between the first vibration generating part 210 and the second vibration generating part 230, wherein the first vibration generating part 210 is connected to a vibration member 100, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of “increasing or enhancing a sound pressure level characteristic and a low-pitched sound band characteristic of a sound generated based on the displacement” of the vibration member 100 (see para. 0341).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim, in view of Han, such that the first vibration apparatus 400 further includes a second vibration generating part stacked on the first vibration generating part, and an intermediate member between the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part, wherein one of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part is connected to the vibration member 100, 700. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of increasing or enhancing a sound pressure level characteristic and a low-pitched sound band characteristic of a sound generated based on the displacement of the vibration member 100, 700.
Regarding claim 27, at least one of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part includes: a vibration part including a piezoelectric material; and a cover member 150 (connection member) covering at least one or more of the first surface of the vibration part and a second surface of the vibration part opposite to the first surface of the vibration part.
Claims 1-3, 15, 21, 22, 24, 25, 28, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0352390) considered with Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924).
Lee discloses an acoustic apparatus (see fig. 8, for example), comprising: a vibration member 370; a supporting member 372, 374 disposed at a first surface of the vibration member 370; a first vibration apparatus 350 configured to vibrate the vibration member 370; and a driving circuit part electrically connected to the first vibration apparatus 350 and configured to drive the first vibration apparatus 350 (see para. 0132, regarding “the sound generator 350 may alternatively and repeatedly contract and expand based on a piezoelectric effect (or a piezoelectric characteristic) based on a sound signal (or a voice signal) applied from the outside to vibrate…”; see also, para. 0261, regarding a “flexible cable 359 may be electrically connected to the pad part 358 disposed at the sound generator 350 and may supply the sound generator 350 with one or more vibration driving signals (or a sound signal) provided from a sound processing circuit”).
Lee discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the driving circuit part is disposed at an internal space between the vibration member 370 and the supporting member 372, 374. Kim discloses an acoustic apparatus (see fig. 2, for example), comprising a vibration member 100, 700, a supporting member 300, a vibration apparatus 400, and a driving circuit part 600 electrically connected to the vibration apparatus 400 and configured to drive the vibration apparatus 400, wherein the driving circuit part 600 is disposed at an internal space between the vibration member 100, 700 and the supporting member 300, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of providing the driving circuit part 600 in the internal space of the supporting member 300 of the acoustic apparatus, such that the driving circuit part 600 can be made to be relatively close to the vibration apparatus 400 for ease of manufacturer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee, in view of Kim, such that the driving circuit part is disposed at an internal space between the vibration member 370 and the supporting member 372, 374. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of providing the driving circuit part in the internal space of the supporting member 372, 374 of the acoustic apparatus, such that the driving circuit part can be made to be relatively close to the vibration apparatus 350 for ease of manufacturer.
Regarding claim 2, the first vibration apparatus 350 is disposed at the internal space and connected to the first surface of the vibration member 370 (via an adhesive member 361).
Regarding claim 3, the driving circuit part comprises a printed circuit board disposed between the first vibration apparatus 350 and the supporting member 372, 374. See Kim, para. 0047, 0075-0076, which teaches that the driving circuit part 600 is a “printed circuit board (PCB)”.
Regarding claim 15, the supporting member 372, 374 includes: a first supporting part 372 disposed in parallel with the vibration member 370; and a second supporting part 374 connected to the first supporting part 372 and connected to the first surface of the vibration member 370 and configured to surround the first vibration apparatus 350.
Regarding claim 21, the driving circuit part and the first vibration apparatus 350 are disposed in parallel at the internal space. See Kim, fig. 2, which teaches this arrangement.
Regarding claim 22, the driving circuit part comprises a printed circuit board disposed between the first vibration apparatus 350 and the supporting member 372, 374. See Kim, para. 0047, 0075-0076, which teaches that the driving circuit part 600 is a “printed circuit board (PCB)”.
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Lee, as modified by Kim, discloses that the first vibration apparatus 350 comprises: a vibration part including a piezoelectric material (see Lee, para. 0132, regarding “piezoelectric effect” or “piezoelectric characteristic”); and a cover member (e.g., adhesive member) covering at least one or more of a first surface of the vibration part and a second surface of the vibration part opposite to the first surface of the vibration part. The first vibration apparatus 350 further comprises a signal supply member electrically connected to the vibration part (see Lee, para. 0132, regarding “the sound generator 350 may alternatively and repeatedly contract and expand based on a piezoelectric effect (or a piezoelectric characteristic) based on a sound signal (or a voice signal) applied from the outside to vibrate…”; see also, para. 0261, regarding a “flexible cable 359 may be electrically connected to the pad part 358 disposed at the sound generator 350 and may supply the sound generator 350 with one or more vibration driving signals (or a sound signal) provided from a sound processing circuit”), wherein a portion of the signal supply member is accommodated between the cover member (e.g., adhesive member) and the vibration part. See Kim, fig. 4A, and para. 0092, which teaches that a portion of a signal supply member 620 is accommodated between a cover member 404 and a vibration part 401 of a vibration apparatus as claimed.
Regarding claim 28, one or more mass members 365 (e.g., adhesive member) are disposed at a second surface of the vibration member 370 opposite to the first surface of the vibration member 370. The adhesive member 365 on the second surface of the vibration member 370 has a mass as claimed.
Regarding claim 31, the vibration member 370 comprises one or more materials including at least metal, plastic, and wood. See Lee, para. 0146.
Regarding claim 32, Lee, as modified by Kim and as applied to claim 1 above, further disclose a vehicle apparatus (see Lee, para. 0122, and fig. 8, for example), comprising: an exterior material 110; an interior material 130 covering the exterior material 110; and one or more sound generating apparatuses 31 configured at one or more of the exterior material 110, the interior material 130, and between the exterior material 110 and the interior material 130 and configured to output a sound, wherein the one or more sound generating apparatuses 31 comprise the acoustic apparatus of claim 1.
Regarding claim 33, the interior material 130 comprises at least one or more of a dash board, a pillar interior material, a roof interior material, a door interior material, a seat interior material, a handle interior material, a floor interior material, or a rear package interior material. See Lee, para. 0060.
Regarding claim 34, the exterior material 110 comprises at least one or more of a door frame, a pillar panel, or a roof panel. See Lee, para. 0055.
Claims 4, 5, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0352390) and Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924), as applied to claim 3 and claim 22 above, in further view of Nam et al. (US 2021/0026590).
Lee, as modified and applied to claim 3 and claim 22 above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach a fixing member configured between the supporting member 372, 374 and the printed circuit board. Nam discloses an acoustic apparatus 100 (see figs. 2-3, for example) including a printed circuit board 330, wherein a fixing member (e.g., double-side foam tape) is provided between the printed circuit board 330 and a rear surface of a display panel 200, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of blocking or minimizing the transfer of vibrations to the printed circuit board 330 (see para. 0112-0114).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Lee, in view of Nam, such that a fixing member (e.g., an adhesive member) is configured between the supporting member 372, 374 and the printed circuit board. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of blocking or minimizing the transfer of vibrations to the printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 5, the fixing member comprises one or more adhesive members (e.g., double-side foam tape), and the one or more adhesive members including a material having an adhesive force and being elastic. See Nam, para. 0114, regarding “double-sided tape or double-sided foam tape each including a vibration absorbing layer (or an elastic layer)”.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0352390) and Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924), as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Han et al. (US 2022/0182744).
Lee, as modified and applied to claim 3 above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the supporting member 372, 374 comprises one or more holes that are disposed at the printed circuit board and are configured to connect the internal space to an external space of the acoustic apparatus. Han discloses an acoustic apparatus (see figs. 1-2B, for example) including a supporting member 300 (e.g., rear surface of a housing of the acoustic apparatus), wherein the supporting member 300 comprises one or more holes 301 that are configured to connect an internal space GS to an external space of the acoustic apparatus, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of decreasing an air pressure of the acoustic apparatus by discharging the air pressure to the outside thereby improving the sound characteristics of the low-pitched sound band of the acoustic apparatus (see para. 0122-0124).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Lee, in view of Han, such that the supporting member 372, 374 comprises one or more holes that are disposed at the printed circuit board and are configured to connect the internal space to an external space of the acoustic apparatus. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of decreasing an air pressure of the acoustic apparatus by discharging the air pressure to the outside thereby improving the sound characteristics of the low-pitched sound band of the acoustic apparatus.
Further regarding claim 6, Han teaches that “the shape, number, and size of holes 301 may be variously adjusted. …[T]he holes 301 may be disposed along a portion of the vibration apparatus 200, for example, a periphery of the vibration apparatus 200” (para. 0124). Thus, it would have at least been obvious that one could have disposed the one or more holes at the printed circuit board (i.e., adjacent the printed circuit board) as claimed.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0352390), Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924) and Han et al. (US 2022/0182744), as applied to claim 7 above, in further view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0058690).
Lee ‘390, as modified and applied to claim 7 above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach a water blocking member configured to cover the one or more holes. Lee ‘690 discloses an acoustic apparatus (see fig. 9) including an air vent hole 404 configured to discharge internal air of the acoustic apparatus to the outside through the air vent hole 404, wherein a waterproof material is configured to cover the air vent hole 404, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of preventing water from permeating the acoustic apparatus from the outside through the air vent hole 404 (see para. 0156-0157).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Lee ‘390, in view of Lee ‘690, such that a water blocking member is configured to cover the one or more holes. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of preventing water from permeating the acoustic apparatus from the outside through the one or more holes, while discharging internal air of the acoustic apparatus to the outside through the one or more holes.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0352390) and Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Han et al. (US 2022/0182744).
Lee, as modified and applied to claim 1 above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach a coupling member disposed between the vibration member 370 and the supporting member 372, 374. Han discloses an acoustic apparatus (see figs. 1-2B) including a coupling member 401 disposed between a vibration member 100 and a supporting member 430, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of “minimizing the vibration of the display panel 100 from being transmitted to the supporting member” (see para. 0139, 0142).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Lee, in view of Han, such that a coupling member disposed between the vibration member 370 and the supporting member 372, 374. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of minimizing the vibration of the vibration member 370 being transmitted to the supporting member 372, 374.
Regarding claim 10, although Han doesn’t teach that the coupling member 401 is a waterproof structure or a waterproof member, it would have been obvious that the coupling member disposed between the vibration member 370 and the supporting member 372, 374 is waterproof, the motivation being to keep water from entering the acoustic apparatus as is manifestly well known in the art.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0352390) and Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Bertoli et al. (US 8,184,847).
Lee, as modified and applied to claim 1 above, discloses the invention as claimed, including an acoustic apparatus (speaker) mounted to a vehicle interior material 130 (see fig. 8), but fails to specifically teach a plurality of coupling parts protruding from each of corner portions of the supporting member 372, 374, wherein each of the plurality of coupling parts comprise a through hole configured to receive a portion of a fastener. Bertoli discloses a speaker 14 mounted to a vehicle interior material 12, wherein a plurality of coupling parts 18 protrude from each of corner potions of a supporting member 20 of the speaker 14, and each of the plurality of coupling parts 18 comprise a through hole 39 configured to receive a portion of a fastener 56, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of securely mounting the speaker 14 to the inside of the vehicle interior material 12 (see figs. 1-7, for example).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Lee, in view of Bertoli, such that a plurality of coupling parts protrude from each of corner portions of the supporting member 372, 374, wherein each of the plurality of coupling parts comprise a through hole configured to receive a portion of a fastener. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of securely mounting the acoustic apparatus (speaker) to the vehicle interior material 130.
Regarding claims 12-14, Bertoli further teaches a pad member 58 (e.g., rubber, foam, or felt; see col. 5, lines 33-35) which can be disposed at each of the plurality of coupling parts, each pad member 58 including a hollow portion overlapping the through hole of a respective coupling part (see fig. 7 and fig. 11B, which teach that each pad member 58 portion may overlap the through hole of each coupling part), in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of preventing the speaker body from vibrating during operation thereby increasing the efficiency of the speaker’s output (see col. 1, lines 20-31). It would have been obvious to further modify Lee, in further view of Bertoli, such that a pad member is disposed at each of the plurality of coupling parts, each pad member including a hollow portion overlapping the through hole of a respective coupling part. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of preventing the supporting member 372, 374 from vibrating during operation thereby increasing the efficiency of the acoustic apparatus’ output.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0352390) and Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Wheeler et al. (US 2022/0227308).
Lee, as modified and applied to claim 1 above, discloses the invention as claimed, including that the driving circuit part includes a printed circuit board disposed between the first vibration apparatus 370 and the supporting member 372, 374, but fails to specifically teach that a connection connector is electrically connected to the printed circuit board, wherein a portion of the connection connector is disposed through a surface of the supporting member 372, 374 and another portion of the connection connector is accommodated in the inner space. Wheeler discloses an acoustic apparatus (see figs. 1 and 2, for example) including a supporting member 102 housing a vibration apparatus 134 and a printed circuit board 120, wherein the acoustic apparatus further includes a connection connector (e.g., wiring harness 130 and connecting wires 126) electrically connected to the printed circuit board 120 and a portion of the connection connector is disposed through a surface of the supporting member 102 and another portion of the connection connector is accommodated in an inner space of the supporting member 102, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of electrically connecting the acoustic apparatus to an outside power or signal processing device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Lee, in view of Wheeler, such that a connection connector is electrically connected to the printed circuit board, wherein a portion of the connection connector is disposed through a surface of the supporting member 372, 374 and another portion of the connection connector is accommodated in the inner space. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of electrically connecting the acoustic apparatus to an outside power or signal processing device.
Claim 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0352390) and Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view Han et al. (US 2022/0182744).
Lee, as modified and applied to claim 1 above, discloses the invention as claimed, including that the first vibration apparatus 350 includes a first vibration generating part, but fails to specifically teach that the first vibration apparatus 350 further includes a second vibration generating part stacked on the first vibration generating part, and an intermediate member between the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part, wherein one of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part is connected to the vibration member 370. Han discloses an acoustic apparatus (see figs. 14 and 15, for example) including a vibration apparatus 200, wherein the vibration apparatus 200 includes a first vibration generating part 210 and a second vibration generating part 230 stacked on the first vibration generating part 210, and an intermediate member 250 between the first vibration generating part 210 and the second vibration generating part 230, wherein the first vibration generating part 210 is connected to a vibration member 100, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of “increasing or enhancing a sound pressure level characteristic and a low-pitched sound band characteristic of a sound generated based on the displacement” of the vibration member 100 (see para. 0341).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Lee, in view of Han, such that the first vibration apparatus 350 further includes a second vibration generating part stacked on the first vibration generating part, and an intermediate member between the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part, wherein one of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part is connected to the vibration member 370. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of increasing or enhancing a sound pressure level characteristic and a low-pitched sound band characteristic of a sound generated based on the displacement of the vibration member 370.
Regarding claim 27, at least one of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part includes: a vibration part including a piezoelectric material; and a cover member 150 (connection member) covering at least one or more of the first surface of the vibration part and a second surface of the vibration part opposite to the first surface of the vibration part.
Claims 36-38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0352390) and Kim et al. (US 2020/0204924), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Kang et al. (US 10,471,892).
Lee, as modified and applied to claim 1 above, discloses the invention as claimed, including a vehicle comprising a vehicle body bottom frame, and further including that the acoustic apparatus (Lee, fig. 8) can be mounted at a “main frame” 110 of the vehicle (see Lee, para. 0055) and that sound generated by the acoustic apparatus can be output to the outside of the vehicle (see Lee, para. 0062), but fails to specifically teach that the acoustic apparatus is mounted at the vehicle body bottom frame and the acoustic apparatus is a virtual engine sound apparatus.
Kang discloses a vehicle including a virtual engine sound apparatus mounted “to at least a part of the vehicle” body (see col. 13, lines 21-22), wherein the virtual engine sound apparatus transmits vibrations to the at least part of the vehicle body such that an omnidirectional virtual engine sound may be generated from the at least part of the vehicle body, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of alerting a pedestrian of the vehicle (see col. 13, lines 21-39).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Lee, in view of Kang, such that the acoustic apparatus is mounted at the vehicle body bottom frame and the acoustic apparatus is a virtual engine sound apparatus. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of alerting a pedestrian of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 37, the vehicle body bottom frame comprises an accommodating part (e.g., area where the sound apparatus is attached) which is configured to accommodate the one or more virtual engine sound apparatuses.
Regarding claim 38, it would have been obvious to dispose the one or more virtual engine sound apparatuses at a center of the vehicle body bottom frame as desired by the manufacturer of the vehicle since it is understood from the teachings of the references that the acoustic apparatus can be mounted to any suitable location on the desired part/frame to achieve the desired result.
Claims 17-20, 30, and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/PAUL W HUBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
pwh
January 13, 2026