DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
In the reply filed August 10, 2026, the applicant added claims 11 and 12.
Currently claims 1-12 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4, 5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0160171) in view of Pesch (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0002877).
Regarding Claim 1, Tanaka discloses a quick-change system for changing attachments on a construction machine, the quick-change system comprising a quick coupler (Tanaka: 50) arranged on a carrier (Tanaka: 40) so as to be rotatable about an axis of rotation by means of a rotary drive (Tanaka: 43) and pivotable about a pivot axis by means of a pivot drive (Tanaka: 41a, 41b), wherein a mechanical rotation and pivot indicator is arranged on the quick-change system, which contains a first indicator element (Tanaka: 87, Paragraph [0058]: first sensor for detecting 73) with a corresponding first marking (Tanaka: 73) for monitoring the rotation position of the quick coupler (Tanaka: 50) relative to the carrier (Tanaka: 40) and a second indicator element (Tanaka: 87, Paragraph [0058]: second sensor for detecting 76) with a corresponding second marking (Tanaka: 76) for monitoring the tilting position of the quick coupler (Tanaka: 50) relative to the carrier (Tanaka: 40).
Tanaka does not disclose the quick change system further comprising, for coupling a tool or attachment, having first receptacles on one side for accommodating and securing a first bolt-shaped coupling element on the tool side, and second receptacles on the other side for accommodating and securing a second bolt-shaped coupling element on the tool side.
Pesch discloses ta quick change system comprising, for coupling a tool or attachment, having first receptacles (Pesch: 37) on one side for accommodating and securing a first bolt-shaped coupling element (Pesch: 79) on the tool side, and second receptacles (Pesch: 33) on the other side for accommodating and securing a second bolt-shaped coupling element (Pesch: 80) on the tool side.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have modified the invention of Tanaka (which has bolts on the coupler and bolt receptacles on the tool) with the coupling arrangement of Pesch (which has bolts on the tool and bolt receptacles on the coupler) with the predictable and well known result of providing a similar coupling arrangement with a mere reversal of parts.
Regarding Claim 4, Tanaka and Pesch render obvious the quick-change system according to claim 1, wherein the first indicator element (Tanaka: 87, Paragraph [0058]: first sensor for detecting 73) and the second indicator element (Tanaka: 87, Paragraph [0058]: second sensor for detecting 76) are arranged on a common carrier plate (Tanaka: 44: 87 connected to 44 through 40).
Regarding Claim 5, Tanaka and Pesch render obvious the quick-change system according to claim 4, wherein the common carrier plate (Tanaka: 44) is arranged on a drive housing (Tanaka: 43) and the two markings (Tanaka: 73, 76) are arranged on the quick coupler (Tanaka: 50) and a crosspiece (Tanaka: front of 40) of the carrier (Tanaka: 40) (73 and 76 are both identifiable by visual inspection of position of 50 and of the front of 40).
Regarding Claim 10, Tanaka and Pesch render obvious the quick-change system according to claim 1, wherein the carrier (Tanaka: 40) contains two parallel side walls with openings to accommodate two parallel bolt-shaped coupling elements (Tanaka: spaces for 45a and 45b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that Tanaka does not disclose “a mechanical rotation and pivot indicator, but rather instead discloses a purely electronic sensing and control arrangement that detects angular information and feeds it into the information processing system. The applicant further argues that element 87 cannot properly be characterized as both “a first indicator element” and “a second indicator element” since this requires two separate and distinct indicator elements.
The applicant also argues that Tanaka’s elements 73 and 76 are not physical markings as required by claim.
The examiner respectfully submits that element 87, and discussed in paragraph [0058] is disclosed as being a sensor unit containing a multitude of various sensors for detecting various attributes of the disposition of the work machine and that while they require electronic components to operate each of said sensors also requires mechanical elements to function as well, therefore meeting the limitations of 1) being multiple distinct indicators and 2) being mechanical as required by the claims as they are currently presented.
The examiner also respectfully submits that while 73 and 76 are not physical pointers or other mechanically distinct elements, visible to a human eye, these limitations are not present in claim 1, and as such, the rotation and tilt angles, detectable by the sensors, can be considered to be markers even while only notable in electronic form by said sensors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are allowed.
Claims 2, 3, and 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The use of language directed toward the physical form of the indicator, specifically: “wherein at least one of the first and second indicator elements is designed in the form of a pointer with a pointer tip”, when combined with the other limitations of claims 2 and 11, is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art.
The use of language directed toward the physical form of the indicator, specifically: “wherein at least one of the first and second indicator elements contains a slot-like recess covering the corresponding marking in an initial position of the quick coupler”, when combined with the other limitations of claims 3 and 12 , is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art.
The use of language directed toward the physical form of the indicator, specifically: “wherein the first indicator element and the second indicator element are arranged on separate carrier plates,” when combined with the other limitations of claim 6, is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672