CTNF 18/782,816 CTNF 89244 DETAILED ACTION The communication dated 4/6/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Election/Restrictions 08-25 AIA Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4/6/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no search burden . This is not found persuasive because at least one of (a) The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; (b) The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; (c) The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/ subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries); (d) The prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention; (e) The inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/ or 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph . The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. 08-05 AIA Claim s 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/6/2026 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 7, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hanawa et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0074913 (henceforth referred to as Hanawa) . As for claim 1 , Hanawa teaches a substrate cleaning device (Fig. 4: part 91) comprising: a cleaning module (Fig. 4: part 35) configured to spray a cleaning solution on an upper side of a substrate; a curtain module (paragraph [0206]; Fig. 8: part 573) coupled with the cleaning module and configured to spray a curtain body to at least one of a first area comprising an upper side of an edge of the substrate, a second area between a cleaner guard (Fig. 4: part 13) at least partially surrounding the substrate and a first upper portion of the edge of the substrate, and a third area comprising a second upper portion of an outside of the edge of the substrate in parallel to an internal wall of the cleaner guard (paragraphs [0113]-[0114] and [0205]-[0208]; Fig. 7); and a driver (Fig. 9: part 356) coupled with the cleaning module and configured to horizontally move the cleaning module on a third upper portion of the substrate (paragraphs [0132]-[0137]; Figs. 9 and 11). As for claim 7 , Hanawa further teaches: a sensor configured to sense the cleaning module on the edge of the substrate (paragraphs [0144]-[0147]; Figs. 9 and 11). As for claim 13 , Examiner regards the operation of the claimed substrate cleaning device as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. Curtain module 573 would be capable of a first form of a first cross-section of the curtain module parallel to the substrate becomes different based on a second form of a second cross-section of the cleaner guard (paragraphs [0113]-[0114] and [0205]-[0208]; Figs. 7-8). Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. An apparatus claim may be unobvious even if it operates in the same way as the prior art, as long as there are structural differences. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. 15 USPQ 2d 1525 (Fed. Cir. 1990). As for claim 14 , Hanawa further teaches that the curtain module is further configured to spray the curtain body in a form of a cross-section of the curtain module parallel to the substrate (paragraph [0206]; Fig. 8) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanawa et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0074913 (henceforth referred to as Hanawa) . Hanawa teaches the features as per above. Hanawa differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the curtain module comprises a plurality of curtain modules, and wherein the plurality of curtain modules at least partially overlap each other. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a duplication of parts. It is old and well known in the art to duplicate components to reduce time of a process or operation, for the process or operation to be at least twice as effective with respect to a single device component, due to size/ space design criteria, or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, B. Duplication of Parts . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-6, 8, and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 15-16 are allowed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As for claims 2-6, 8, and 9-11 , Hanawa et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0074913, the closest prior art, differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the cleaning module comprises: a first supply line configured to supply a first fluid; a second supply line configured to supply a second fluid; and a spraying nozzle configured to spray a mixed fluid of the first fluid and the second fluid. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate cleaning device taught by Hanawa as claimed. As for claims 15-16 , Hanawa et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0074913, the closest prior art, differs from the instant claims in failing to teach a controller configured to control the curtain module to spray the curtain body based on the cleaning module spraying the cleaning solution on the edge of the substrate. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate cleaning device taught by Hanawa as claimed . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LEVON J SHAHINIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-1384. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 9:30am-6:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Barr can be reached at (571)272-1414. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LEVON J SHAHINIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/782,816 Page 2 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/782,816 Page 3 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/782,816 Page 4 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/782,816 Page 5 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/782,816 Page 6 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/782,816 Page 7 Art Unit: 1711