DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6-28 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only, and cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 6-28 not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abreu (US 2007/0248238).
Regarding claim 1 Abreu discloses:
A computing device for mounting on a neck of a user, comprising:
a housing (e.g. 20 FIG.1C);
one or more processors mounted within the housing (e.g. described paragraph 0117]), the one or more processors configured for electrical connection with a head mounted device and configured to process data received from the head mounted device (e.g. described paragraph 0117]);
one or more memories, mounted within the housing and coupled to the one or more processors (e.g. described paragraph [0120]); wherein
the housing is configured to mount to the back of the user's neck (e.g. shown FIG.1B) and is shaped to occupy a volume that extends from the back of the user's neck away from the user's neck but that does not extend around the sides of the user's neck (e.g. shown FIG.1B).
Regarding claim 2 Abreu discloses:
a connector (e.g. 28, 32 FIG.1C) attached to the housing, wherein the connector is configured to connect the housing to a mounting element (e.g. 35 FIG.1C) and wherein the mounting element is configured to releasably mount the device on a wearable unit (e.g. indicated FIG.1C).
Regarding claim 3 Abreu discloses:
the mounting element, the computing device further comprising a guide mechanism (e.g. pins for 28, 32 FIG.1C) for guiding the connector into a corresponding portion of the mounting element which is shaped to receive the connector (e.g. indicated via arrow FIG.1C), such that the user can mount the computing device to the mounting element in use.
Regarding claim 4 Abreu discloses:
the guide mechanism comprises one or more channels configured to receive corresponding rail portions (e.g. at least four shown FIG.1C), wherein the connector is connected to the mounting element by a sliding motion (e.g. indicated via arrows FIG.1C).
Regarding claim 5 Abreu discloses:
the one or more channels are provided on the mounting element and the rail portions are provided on the connector (e.g. shown FIG.1C) or vice versa.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the PTO-892 disclose similar wearable computer housings as those disclosed in the present application.
Limited examiner interviews are available.
/THERON S MILLISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841