Claim Status
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claims 1-9 have been examined.
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
Priority
PCT international application number 18/782894 filed on 07/24/2024.
The instant application is a continuation (CON) of Application 19/240,575 filed 06/17/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 10/24/2024, 08/11/2025, and 11/19/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The present application contains no drawings.
Specification Objections
[1] The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraphs [0004] and [0071], the term Aveeno® is identified as a registered trademark. The registered trademark symbol (®) should appear adjacent to the mark, consistent with notations used in the images contained in the two NPL references submitted in the IDS filed on 10/24/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
[2] Claims 3, 5 and 6, are rejected as being indefinite. The claims recite the term “about” with respect to claimed parameters, which is a relative term that lacks a clear, objective boundary. The term “about” is not defined by the claims, and the specification fails to provide an objective standard or guidance for determining the permissible degree of variation encompassed by the term. As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claimed invention. Because the inventive concept concerns sunscreen compositions intended to provide protection, and the effectiveness of such compositions depends upon the specific composition and concentration of the active ingredients, the claimed parameters must be stated with precision. In the absence of an objective standard for the term “about,” the claims fail to set forth clear metes and bounds, rendering it unclear which compositions fall within the scope of the claims and which do not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
[3] Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fares et al. (Patent WO2023009315A1, published 02/02/2023).
In regard to claims 1-6, the reference teaches a sunscreen composition comprising titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, wherein each may be present in amount ranging from about 0.01 wt.% to about 25 wt.% (see reference claims 2-4; paragraphs [0019] and [0057], inter alia), and because the reference explicitly permits each component to be present at amounts well below 25 wt.%, it necessarily discloses embodiments in which the total combined amount of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide is less than 25 wt.%, as required by instant claim 2. The reference further teaches film forming agents, tricontanyl polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) and VP/hexadecene copolymer, each of which may be present in amounts ranging from about 0.01 wt.% to about 2.50 wt.% or from about 2.50 wt.% to about 5 wt.% (reference claim 16, paragraph [0073]). Because the disclosed ranges for each polymer independently overlap and extend across identical concentration intervals, the reference contemplates compositions in which the relative amounts of tricontanyl PVP and VP/hexadecene copolymer may be selected anywhere within those ranges. Accordingly, the reference necessarily teaches embodiments in which the weight ratio of less than 1, less than 0.60, or about 0.50, as recited in instant claims 1, 4, and 5. Additionally, the reference teaches glycerin in amounts ranging from about 0.01 wt.% to about 5 wt.% or from about 5 wt.% to about 10 wt.% (reference claims 9-10; paragraphs [0064]-[0065]). The reference further teaches that the sunscreen composition may be formulated as an oil-in-water emulsion (reference claim 18; paragraph [0094]) and may have an SPF 30-100 (reference paragraph [0046]). Moreover, the reference teaches that the inclusion of organic photoactive agents is optional (reference claim 3, paragraph [0042]). Accordingly, the reference explicitly contemplates embodiments in which no organic photoactive agents are present. Such embodiments correspond to the claimed limitation of being substantially free of organic photoactive agents. Accordingly, claims 1-6 are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[4] Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fares et al. (Patent WO2023009315A1, published 02/02/2023).
In regard to claims 1-6, the reference teaches a sunscreen composition comprising titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, wherein each may be present in amount ranging from about 0.01 wt.% to about 25 wt.% (see reference claims 2-4; paragraphs [0019] and [0057], inter alia). Because the reference explicitly allows each component to be present at amounts well below 25 wt.%, the disclosure necessarily encompasses embodiments in which the combined amount of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide is less than 25 wt.%, as required by instant claim 2. The reference further teaches film forming agents including tricontanyl polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) and VP/hexadecene copolymer, each of which may be present in amounts ranging from about 0.01 wt.% to about 2.50 wt.% or from about 2.50 wt.% to about 5 wt.% (reference claim 16, paragraph [0073]). Because the disclosed concentration ranges for each polymer overlap and extend across the same intervals, the reference reasonably contemplates compositions in which the relative amounts of tricontanyl PVP and VP/hexadecene copolymer may be selected anywhere within those ranges. Thus, the reference encompasses embodiments in which the weight ratio of tricontanyl PVP and VP/hexadecene copolymer is less than 1, less than 0.60, or about 0.50, as recited in instant claims 1, 4, and 5. Additionally, the reference teaches glycerin in amounts ranging from about 0.01 wt.% to about 5 wt.% or from about 5 wt.% to about 10 wt.% (reference claims 9-10; paragraphs [0064]-[0065]). The reference also teaches that the sunscreen composition may be formulated as an oil-in-water emulsion (reference claim 18; paragraph [0094]) and may have an SPF 30-100 (reference paragraph [0046]). Moreover, the reference teaches that the inclusion of organic photoactive agents is optional (reference claim 3, paragraph [0042]). Accordingly, the reference explicitly contemplates embodiments in which no organic photoactive agents are present, corresponding to the claimed limitation of being substantially free of organic photoactive agents. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the sunscreen composition recited in claims 1-6 in view of the teachings of the reference.
[5] Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fares et al. (Patent WO2023009315A1, published 02/02/2023) as applied to claim 1-6 above, and further in view of LaRosa et al. (Patent US20210093529A1, published 04/01/2021).
As discussed supra, Fares et al. teaches the sunscreen composition recited in claims 1-6.
Fares et al. further teaches certain limitations recited in instant claims 7 and 9, including steareth-21 and phenoxyethanol (reference claims 8 and 11 ),- but does not fully teach all of the additional components required by these claims.
LaRosa et al., however, teaches a comparable sunscreen composition and further discloses steareth-21 (paragraph [0059]), cetearyl olivate (paragraph [0059]), sorbitan olivate (paragraph [0591]), phenoxyethanol (paragraph [0080]), chlorphenesin (paragraph [0591]), ethylhexylglycerin (paragraph [0591]), and caprylyl glycol (paragraph [0591]).
In view of the substantial overlap between the sunscreen compositions disclosed by Fares et al. and LaRosa et al., and because LaRosa et al. explicitly teaches the additional emulsifiers and preservatives recited in claims 7 and 9 for use in similar oil-in-water sunscreen formulations containing titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the composition of Fares et al. to include the additional components taught by LaRosa et al. in order to achieve a formulation with suitable emulsification and preservative characteristics.
[6] Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fares et al. (Patent WO2023009315A1, published 02/02/2023) as applied to claim 1-6 above, and further in view of Won-jin et al. (KR20180055501A, published 05/25/2018).
As discussed supra, Fares et al. teaches the sunscreen composition recited in claims 1-6.
Fraes et al. does not explicitly disclose a shear viscosity of less than 32 Pa·s at 1 s−1 at 25° C.
Won-jin et al., however, teach a low viscosity sunscreen composition comprising 5-25 wt.% of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide and additional ingredient such as emulsifiers, wherein the composition has a viscosity of 5,000 cPs or less (i.e., 5 Pa.s; 1 cPs = 0.001 Pa.s) (reference claims 2-3 and 5). Accordingly, Won-jin et al. teach a viscosity below the presently claimed limitation of less than 32 Pa.s. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of Fares et al. to achieve a low viscosity formulation as taught by Won-jin et al. , as viscosity is a result effective variable that may be adjusted through routine optimization of known formulation parameters. Therefore claim 8 is obvious over Fares et al. in view of Won-jin et al.
Double Patenting
[6] Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-13 of copending Application 19/240,575 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application 19/240,575 teaches sunscreen composition comprising about 8 wt% TiO2 and about 15 wt% ZnO (corresponding to instant claims 1 and 3), wherein the total amount of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide is less than 25 wt% (i.e., 24 wt%) (corresponding to instant claim 2). The reference application further teaches about 1 wt% triacontanyl PVP and about 2 wt% VP/hexadecene copolymer (corresponding to instant claim 1), wherein the weight ratio of triacontanyl PVP to VP/hexadecene copolymer (i.e., 1/2) is less than 1, less than about 0.6, and less than about 0.5 (corresponding to instant claims 1, 2, 4, and 5), and about 5 wt% glycerin (corresponding to instant claim 6). The sunscreen composition is an oil-in-water emulsion substantially free of low molecular weight, organic UV absorbers (corresponding to instant claim 1). The composition further comprises steareth-21, cetearyl olivate, and sorbitan olivate (corresponding to instant claim 7), and further comprises phenoxyethanol, chlorphenesin, ethylhexylglycerin, and caprylyl glycol (correspond to instant claim 9). Additionally, the composition provides an in vitro SPF of at least 25 as measured by the In Vitro SPF Test Method and has a shear viscosity of less than 32 Pa·s at 1 s−1 at 25° C (corresponding to instant claims 1 and 8). Accordingly, claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 10-13 of Application No. 19/240,575.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ALI M. ALAOUIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614