DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Australia on 02/06/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the AU2023900277 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: In lines 2-3, “the hand unit is positioned in a user’s hand” should be changed to “the hand unit is configured to be positioned in a user’s hand”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13, 16-19, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “a surgical arm” and “a modular end plate”. It is unclear if these limitations are refereeing to the one or more surgical arms of claim 1 and the modular end plate of claim 9, or if the claim is intending to set forth additional structures. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as referring to the same elements as previously recites in claims 1 and 9. Examiner suggests amending claim 13 to recite “the one or more surgical arms” and “the modular end plate”.
Claim 1 sets forth “each surgical arm is configured to work with a variety of different arthroscopic instruments”, therefore setting forth an intended use of the device but not positively reciting an arthroscopic instrument as a part of the claimed surgery system. However, claims 16 and 18 further define the arthroscopic instrument in a manner that suggests it is a component of the claimed invention. Therefore, it is unclear if one or more arthroscopic instruments are a claimed element of the surgery system or if the surgery system need only be configured for use with one or more arthroscopic instruments. The claims limitations have been examined below as if the arthroscopic instruments are a positively recited element of the system.
Claim 24 recites “a modular end plate” in line 6 and “a modular end plate” in line 9. It is unclear if both recitations of “a modular end plate” are referring to the same or different elements.
Claim 25 recites “a modular end plate” in line 5 and “a modular end plate” in line 7. It is unclear if both recitations of “a modular end plate” are referring to the same or different elements.
Claim 25 recites “an arthroscopic instrument” in line 10. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to the arthroscopic instrument of lines 7, 8, and 9, or is intending to set forth an additional arthroscopic instrument. As best understood by the examiner, “an arthroscopic instrument” in line 10 is the same arthroscopic instrument being referred to previously in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 10, 13, 14, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Waterbury (US 2019/0231450).
Regarding claim 1, Waterbury discloses an arthroscopic surgery system (100 and 40, FIG 1-2, [0059]) for assisting a surgeon in performing surgery (abstract, [0059]) comprising: a frame (110) configurable to extend above or beside at least a portion of a patient to be operated (Patient side cart 100 is understood to be positioned adjacent to the patient, [0059-0060]); and one or more surgical arms (120, 130, 140, 150, FIG 3, [0060]) extending from the frame (FIG 1), wherein each surgical arm is configured to work with a variety of different arthroscopic instruments (Instruments 200, FIG 3, [0067]. [0072-0073] discloses the variety of end effectors for use with the instruments which can be arthroscopic instruments); wherein the one or more surgical arms are arranged to assist a surgeon when performing surgery (The arms are arranged to perform the surgery, [0072-0073], as directed by the surgeon using console 40, [0063-0066]) and wherein the surgical arms and attached arthroscopic instruments are controllable by the surgeon whilst performing surgery on the patient (Via surgeon console 40, [0063-0066, 0068, 0072]).
Regarding claim 2, Waterbury discloses each of the one or more surgical arms extend from a corresponding one or more plurality of locations on the frame (Extending from their respective attachment points to the frame, FIG 1, [0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 9, Waterbury discloses at least one of the one or more surgical arms comprises a modular end plate (122, FIG 3, [0067-0039] which includes 124, 126, and 128. The holder is modular because it releasably attaches to instrument 200) which is configured to engage with a variety of different arthroscopic instruments (Instruments 200, FIG 3, [0067]. [0072-0073] discloses the variety of end effectors for use with the instruments which can be arthroscopic instruments).
Regarding claim 10, Waterbury discloses the modular end plate includes one or more electronic, sensing and/or drive elements and/or interface elements configured to engage with corresponding elements of an arthroscopic instrument (interference elements 128 and 128 directly engage with 220 of the instrument and form parts of the transmission assembly 210, which controls actuation of the end effector and translation of the instrument [0069-0071]).
Regarding claim 13, Waterbury discloses a hand unit (210, wherein 210 is formed at the proximal end of shaft 220 and is releasable from 128, [0070], therefore it can be placed in the hand of a user) associated with a surgical arm and/or a modular end plate (210 is associated with the arm when connected to 128), wherein the hand unit is positioned in a user's hand for the manual movement of one or more of the surgical arms (210 is at least configured to be positioned in the hand of a user and used to manually control a position of the instrument or arm or example if the robotic control was disconnected).
Regarding claim 14, Waterbury discloses at least one of the surgical arms has at least three degrees of freedom and more preferably at least six degrees of freedom selected from the group consisting of: (i) forward; (ii) back; (iii) up; (iv) down; (v) left; (vi) right; (vii) yaw; (viii) pitch; and (ix) roll (The pivotal connections of the arm shown in FIG 3 comprises at least 6 degrees of freedom, [0056]).
Regarding claim 22, Waterbury discloses an arthroscopic surgery system (100 and 40, FIG 1-2, [0059]) for assisting a surgeon in performing surgery (abstract, [0059]) comprising: a frame (110) configurable to extend above or beside at least a portion of a patient to be operated (Patient side cart 100 is understood to be positioned adjacent to the patient, [0059-0060]); and one or more surgical arms (120, 130, 140, 150, FIG 3, [0060]) extending from the frame (FIG 1), wherein each surgical arm is configured to work with a variety of different arthroscopic instruments (Instruments 200, FIG 3, [0067]. [0072-0073] discloses the variety of end effectors for use with the instruments which can be arthroscopic instruments); wherein the one or more surgical arms are arranged to assist a surgeon when performing surgery (The arms are arranged to perform the surgery, [0072-0073], as directed by the surgeon using console 40, [0063-0066]) and wherein the surgical arms are controllable by the surgeon whilst performing surgery on the patient (Via surgeon console 40, [0063-0066, 0068, 0072]).
Regarding claim 23, Waterbury discloses a method of arthroscopic surgery ([0011] discloses the method may be used during an arthroscopic surgery), the method comprising the steps of: providing an arthroscopic surgery apparatus (100, FIGs 1-2. The method of performing a surgery includes a step of providing the equipment in an operating room) comprising a frame (110) and one or more surgical arms (120, 130, 140, 150, FIG 3, [0060]) extending from the frame (FIG 1); attaching an arthroscopic instrument to one or more of the surgical arms (Instruments 200, FIG 3, [0067]. [0072-0073] discloses the variety of end effectors for use with the instruments which can be arthroscopic instruments. The instruments are releaseably attached to the arms); positioning the frame and/or attached arthroscopic instrument to extend above or beside at least a portion of a patient to be operated ([0071] “. As the instrument holder carriage 128 translates along the instrument holder frame 124, the elongate shaft 220 of the surgical instrument 200 is moved along the longitudinal axis 222. In such a manner, the end effector 230 can be inserted and/or retracted from a surgical workspace within the body of a patient”); and utilising the one or more surgical arms to assist a surgeon when performing surgery (The arms are arranged to perform the surgery, [0072-0073], as directed by the surgeon using console 40, [0063-0066]); wherein the method further comprises the surgeon controlling movement of the surgical arms and/or attached arthroscopic instruments whilst performing surgery on the patient by accessing a controller (40) located at or adjacent the surgical arms (The surgeon console 40 is positioned adjacent to the arms and inputs a movement control from the surgeon to the arms/instrument in order to perform the surgery, [0063-0066]).
Regarding claim 24, Waterbury discloses an arthroscopic surgery system (100 and 40, FIG 1-2, [0059]) for assisting a surgeon in performing surgery (abstract, [0059]) comprising: a frame (110) configurable to extend above or beside at least a portion of a patient to be operated (Patient side cart 100 is understood to be positioned adjacent to the patient, [0059-0060]); and one or more surgical arms (120, 130, 140, 150, FIG 3, [0060]) extending from the frame (FIG 1), wherein each surgical arm comprises a modular end plate (122, FIG 3, [0067-0039] which includes 124, 126, and 128. The holder is modular because it releasably attaches to instrument 200) configured to work with a variety of different arthroscopic instruments (Instruments 200, FIG 3, [0067]. [0072-0073] discloses the variety of end effectors for use with the instruments which can be arthroscopic instruments); one or more arthroscopic instrument (200) coupled, in use, to the one or more surgical arms via a modular end plate (Via the connection between 122 and 180/200 as described in [0067-0069]); wherein each modular end plate is configured to provide mechanical control and/or electrical control of an arthroscopic instrument for surgery ([0069] discloses the movement of the instrument holder carriage 128 along the instrument holder frame 124 is a motorized, translational movement that is actuatable/controllable by the processor 43).
Regarding claim 25, Waterbury discloses a method of performing arthroscopic surgery ([0011] discloses the method may be used during an arthroscopic surgery) comprising: providing an arthroscopic surgery system (100 and 40, FIGs 1-2. The method of performing a surgery includes a step of providing the equipment in an operating room) for assisting a surgeon in performing surgery (By transferring the input of the surgeon at the console 40 to the patient side cart 100 which operates on the patient), wherein the arthroscopic surgery system comprises a frame a frame (110) configurable to extend above or beside at least a portion of a patient to be operated (Patient side cart 100 is understood to be positioned adjacent to the patient, [0059-0060]) and one or more surgical arms (120, 130, 140, 150, FIG 3, [0060]) extending from the frame (FIG 1), wherein each surgical arm comprises a modular end plate (122, FIG 3, [0067-0039] which includes 124, 126, and 128. The holder is modular because it releasably attaches to instrument 200) configured to work with a variety of different arthroscopic instruments (Instruments 200, FIG 3, [0067]. [0072-0073] discloses the variety of end effectors for use with the instruments which can be arthroscopic instruments); attaching an arthroscopic instrument to each surgical arm via a modular end plate ([0067] discloses A cannula 180 and a surgical instrument 200 and are, in turn, releasably coupled to the instrument holder 122), wherein the arthroscopic instrument comprises an identifier (The specific end effector 230 is interpreted as an identifier because it identifies the instrument and allows for a determination to be made of which instrument is best suited for a particular operation, FIG 3-6, [0072]); identifying the arthroscopic instrument utilising the identifier ([0072] discloses the instruments of at least some of the manipulators are removed and replaced during a surgical procedure. Replacing the surgical instrument requires visual inspection of the end effector to determine which instrument is desired, therefore comprising a step of identifying the arthroscopic instrument utilising the identifier); and mechanically controlling and/or electrically controlling an arthroscopic instrument via the modular end plate ([0069] discloses the instrument is mechanically controlled to translated along the arm, via an electrical signal received by the modular end plate from the processor 43).
Regarding claim 1, Waterbury discloses in an alternative interpretation an arthroscopic surgery system (100 and 40, FIG 1-2, [0059]) for assisting a surgeon in performing surgery (abstract, [0059]) comprising: a frame (110 including the linages of 120, 130, 140, 150 and instrument holder 122, FIG 3, [0069]) configurable to extend above or beside at least a portion of a patient to be operated (Patient side cart 100 is understood to be positioned adjacent to the patient, [0059-0060]); and one or more surgical arms (210) extending from the frame (FIG 3), wherein each surgical arm is configured to work with a variety of different arthroscopic instruments (210 is connected to shaft 220 which can comprise a variety of different end effectors 230. [0072-0073] discloses the variety of end effectors for use with the instruments which can be arthroscopic instruments); wherein the one or more surgical arms are arranged to assist a surgeon when performing surgery (The arms are arranged to perform the surgery, [0072-0073], as directed by the surgeon using console 40, [0063-0066]) and wherein the surgical arms and attached arthroscopic instruments are controllable by the surgeon whilst performing surgery on the patient (Via surgeon console 40, [0063-0066, 0068, 0072]).
Regarding claim 2, Waterbury discloses in the alternative interpretation each of the one or more surgical arms extend from a corresponding one or more plurality of locations on the frame (Extending from their respective attachment points to the frame, FIG 1 and 3, [0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Waterbury discloses in the alternative interpretation the one or more surgical arms are removably coupled to the frame (210 is removable from 128 of the frame, [0070]).
Regarding claim 4, Waterbury discloses in the alternative interpretation the one or more surgical arms are configured to be driven along a track provided on the frame (210 is driven along the track 124 provided on the frame, [0069]).
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Irion et al. (US 2003/0229338).
Regarding claim 1, Irion discloses an arthroscopic surgery system (10, FIG 1, the device is at least configured for use in an arthroscopic procedure) for assisting a surgeon in performing surgery (By assisting in repeatable and reliable placement of the surgical tool) comprising: a frame (Holder 20, including 54, 22, 34, FIGs 1-3) configurable to extend above or beside at least a portion of a patient to be operated ([0067, 0081], wherein 14 is the portion of the patient to be operated, FIG 1-2); and one or more surgical arms (12) extending from the frame (FIG 1-2), wherein each surgical arm is configured to work with a variety of different arthroscopic instruments (The arm 12 is at least configured to comprise a variety of end effectors, [0004] discloses scissor, forceps, and endoscope); wherein the one or more surgical arms are arranged to assist a surgeon when performing surgery and wherein the surgical arms and attached arthroscopic instruments are controllable by the surgeon whilst performing surgery on the patient (It is understood that the device is configured to be used in a manner where a surgeon operates the arms and instruments attached thereto to achieved the device procedure).
Regarding claim 5, Irion discloses the frame at least comprises an annular frame assembly (54, see annular shape in FIG 3-4) for receiving one or more of the surgical arms (54 is an integral part of the frame which receives and attaches to arm 12).
Regarding claim 6, Irion discloses at least the annular frame assembly is rotatable (54 can be rotated to achieved a desired positioning on the body surface 14 of the patient, [0081]. Rotation is possible prior to application of an adhesive as contemplated in [0083]).
Regarding claim 7, Irion discloses the annular frame assembly further comprises intersecting frame sections (22 and 34) passing through a geometrically central region of the annular frame assembly (FIG 3), the frame sections being coupled to an articulable arm during use (82 and 78 attach to 22 and 34, FIGS 1-2, and are interpreted as articulable arms because they rotate during use to articulate the frame sections, [0087-0090]).
Regarding claim 8, Irion discloses the intersecting frame sections are mutually perpendicular to each other (FIG 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waterbury (US 2019/0231450) in view of Mishra et al. (US 2025/0235274).
Regarding claims 11-12, Waterbury discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 9.
Waterbury is silent regarding the modular end plate comprises one or more buttons which can be used to control the surgical arm, wherein the one or more buttons are configured to put the surgical arm into a manual mode wherein the surgical arm can be physically repositioned by a user.
However, Mishra et al. discloses a surgery system (FIG 1) having a frame (61) and a surgical arm (40, FIG 2, [0041]), wherein the surgical arm comprises a modular end plate (46 and 52,[0047]) configured to engage with a variety of different instruments ([0047], 52 attaches to instrument 50), the modular end plate comprises one or more buttons (53, FIG 1, [0048]) which can be used to control the surgical arm (53 are manual override buttons, allowing for the user to place the arm in manual mode), wherein the one or more buttons are configured to put the surgical arm into a manual mode wherein the surgical arm can be physically repositioned by a user ([0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the modular end plate of Waterbury to comprise one or more buttons configured to put the surgical arm into a manual mode wherein the surgical arm can be physically repositioned by a user, as taught by Mishra et al., for the purpose of providing a mechanism to switch between robotic and manual control of the surgical arms.
Claim(s) 15-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waterbury (US 2019/0231450) in view of Bonutti et al. (US 2017/0112577).
Regarding claim 15, Waterbury discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Waterbury is silent regarding at least one drape configured to extend over at least one of the one or more surgical arms.
However, Bonutti et al. discloses an arthroscopic surgery system (100, FIG 1, [0060 and 0075] describe the system being used in arthroscopic procedures) comprising at least one drape (0031]) configured to extend over at least one or more surgical arms (Arms 212, FIG 2 of the component 112, wherein the drape can be disposed over tool 230 which is equivalent to an arm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system to further comprise a drape configured to extend over at least one of the surgical arms, as taught by Bonutti, for the purpose of providing a sterilization cover to a part of the instrument which may be manually operated by a user such as to change out the surgical instrument for one with a different end effector.
Regarding claim 16-17, Waterbury discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Waterbury is silent regarding the one or more arthroscopic instruments include an identifier to allow the system to identify the arthroscopic instrument attached, in use, to a surgical arm wherein the identifier comprises an electronic tag.
However, Bonutti et al. discloses an arthroscopic surgery system (100, FIG 1, [0060 and 0075] describe the system being used in arthroscopic procedures) having one or more arthroscopic instruments (214, FIG 2, [0029]) having an identifier (250, FIG 2, [0033]) to allow the system to identify the arthroscopic instrument attached, in use, to a surgical arm ([0033] discloses identifier 250 is used to locate the instrument) wherein the identifier comprises an electronic tag (The identifier 250 is understood to be an electronic tag because is configured for use with “a scanner 302 that is configured to locate procedural component markers 250 positioned on procedural components 112. Marker 250 information is transmitted to computing device 102 to determine component location relative to patient 200, other components of system 100, and/or the operating room”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system such that the instruments include an electronic tag identifier, as taught by Bonutti et al., for the purpose of aiding in the identification and locating of the instrument of the system in relation of the patient and operating space ([0033]).
Regarding claim 18, Waterbury discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Waterbury is silent regarding at least one of the arthroscopic instruments comprises a surgical camera.
However, Bonutti et al. discloses an arthroscopic surgery system (100, FIG 1, [0060 and 0075] describe the system being used in arthroscopic procedures) having one or more arthroscopic instruments (214, FIG 2, [0029]), wherein at least one of the instruments is a camera (110, FIG 2, [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system such that at least one of the arthroscopic instruments comprises a surgical camera., , as taught by Bonutti, for the purpose of obtaining images of the surgical field and “For example, in a knee arthroplasty procedure, the imagine device(s) 110 used in the procedure would provide the surgeon images of the knee as well as relative joints (e.g., hip and ankle) to ensure an effective procedure” ([0033]).
Regarding claim 21, Waterbury discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Waterbury is silent regarding one or more consumables wherein the one or more consumables comprise a readable identifier and wherein the system further comprises a reader for reading the readable identifier and determining whether the one or more consumables are genuine consumables.
However, Bonutti et al. discloses an arthroscopic surgery system (100, FIG 1, [0060 and 0075] describe the system being used in arthroscopic procedures) having one or more arthroscopic instruments (214, FIG 2, [0029]) comprising one or more consumables (250, FIG 2, [0033]) wherein the one or more consumables comprise a readable identifier (The identifier 250 is understood to have an readable identifier because is configured for use with “a scanner 302 that is configured to locate procedural component markers 250 positioned on procedural components 112. Marker 250 information is transmitted to computing device 102 to determine component location relative to patient 200, other components of system 100, and/or the operating room”) and wherein the system further comprises a reader (Scanner 302) for reading the readable identifier and determining whether the one or more consumables are genuine consumables ([0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system to comprise a consumable having a readable identifier and a reader, as taught by Bonutti et al., for the purpose of aiding in the identification and locating of the instrument of the system in relation of the patient and operating space ([0033]).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waterbury (US 2019/0231450) in view of Bonutti et al. (US 2017/0112577), in further view of Tomatsu et al. (US 2025/0176804).
Regarding claim 19, Waterbury/Bonutti discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 18.
The device as modified by Bonutti is silent regarding the surgical camera comprising a reusable base portion including an interface for providing images from the camera and a disposable distal portion releasably coupled to the reusable base portion.
However, Tomatsu teaches a surgical system (FIG 2) having an arm (1420) holding an instrument (5005, 7100, 100), wherein the instrument comprises a surgical camera (5006, [0085-0086] discloses instrument 100 is an endoscope) comprising a reusable base portion (5005 and 7100, FIG 3, [0085-0086] wherein the base is resuable because it can be detached from 100) including an interface (5005) for providing images from the camera ([0060-0064]) and a disposable distal portion (100) releasably coupled to the reusable base portion ([0086] discloses 100 can be detached from 5005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the surgical camera such that it comprises a reusable base portion and a disposable distal portion, as taught by Tomatsu, for the purpose of reducing costs by allowing for some components of the camera to be sanitized and reused while other single-use components are disposed of.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waterbury (US 2019/0231450) in view of Russell et al. (US 2021/0290329).
Regarding claim 20, Waterbury discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Waterbury is silent regarding a fluid management system including one or more pumps and valves to regulate fluid pressure and/or flow and/or visual acuity at a surgery site, wherein the one or more pumps and valves are connected to the surgery site by tubing.
However, Russell teaches a surgical system (FIG 1) comprising a surgical arm (104, FIG 2, [0027-0029]) configured to work with a surgical instrument ([0036] tool drive 206 is operably connected to a variety of surgical instruments) and wherein the system comprises a fluid management system (212, [0004 and 0037] “A fluid pathway (e.g., port, tube, lumen, channel, or the like) that allows for transmission of a fluid (e.g., insufflation gas) along the robotic arm, and directly to the cannula, is further integrated into the system“) including one or more pumps (214) and valves ([0004] “a valve that enables the flow of fluid to be stopped as desired”) to regulate fluid pressure and/or flow and/or visual acuity at a surgery site (“for controlling gas flow to/from the surgical site”), wherein the one or more pumps and valves are connected to the surgery site by tubing ([0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Waterbury to comprise a fluid management system including one or more pumps and valves to regulate fluid pressure and/or flow at a surgery site, wherein the one or more pumps and valves are connected to the surgery site by tubing, as taught by Russell, for the purpose of providing the ability to control a flow of fluid to and from the surgical site to allow for smoke evacuation, particulate removal, pneumoperitoneum, or management of other conditions within the associated surgical site or surgical cavity during the surgical procedure (Russell [0037]).
Conclusion
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771