DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama US 2018/0240921.
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0017]-[0059] a photoelectric conversion element comprising: a photoelectric conversion layer 1;
a first electrode 3B that collects holes (h) produced in the photoelectric conversion layer as signal charges; and
a second electrode 3A that faces the first electrode 3B across the photoelectric conversion layer and that collects electrons (e) produced in the photoelectric conversion layer,
wherein the photoelectric conversion layer includes three or more quantum dot layers 7A and 7B layered onto one another [0059], each of the three or more quantum dot layers contains quantum dots 9 and surface-modifying ligands 13 modifying surfaces of the quantum dots [0021], the three or more quantum dot layers include a first quantum dot layer 7B and a second quantum dot layer 7A adjacent to the first quantum dot layer 7B, the first quantum dot layer 7B being closer to the first electrode 3B, the second quantum dot layer 7A being closer to the second electrode 3A, a band gap energy of the first quantum dot layer 7B is lower than a band gap energy of the second quantum dot layer 7A, and
an energy relationship at an interface between each of the three or more quantum dot layers and a corresponding quantum dot layer adjacent to each of the three or more quantum dot layers among the three or more quantum dot layers satisfies at least one selected from the group consisting of Expression (1) and Expression (2) below:
Ei+1CBM - EiCBM ≥ 0 (1)
Ei+1VBM - EiVBM ≥ 0 (2)
(Fig. 1B and [0059] disclose “when the number of quantum dot layers disposed in the semiconductor layer 7 is three or greater, it is preferable that the quantum dot layer having the largest difference between the energy level BV of the valence band and the Fermi level Ef, or alternatively between the energy level BC of the conduction band and the Fermi level Ef, is placed closer to the p/n junction surface 8.”)
where EiCBM is an energy of a lower end of a conduction band of an i-th quantum dot layer of the three or more quantum dot layers, counting from the first electrode, Ei+1CBM is an energy of a lower end of a conduction band of an (i+1)-th quantum dot layer of the three or more quantum dot layers, counting from the first electrode, EiVBM is an energy of an upper end of a valence band of the i-th quantum dot layer of the three or more quantum dot layers, counting from the first electrode, and Ei+1VBM is an energy of an upper end of a valence band of the (i+1)-th quantum dot layer of the three or more quantum dot layers, counting from the first electrode.
Regarding claim 2, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1, wherein the energy relationship at the interface satisfies both Expression (1) and Expression (2). (Fig. 1B and [0059] disclose “when the number of quantum dot layers disposed in the semiconductor layer 7 is three or greater, it is preferable that the quantum dot layer having the largest difference between the energy level BV of the valence band and the Fermi level Ef, or alternatively between the energy level BC of the conduction band and the Fermi level Ef, is placed closer to the p/n junction surface 8.”)
Regarding claim 3, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1, wherein the energy relationship at the interface satisfies Expression (3) below: EiVBM - Ei+1CBM > 0 (3). (Fig. 1B and [0059] disclose “when the number of quantum dot layers disposed in the semiconductor layer 7 is three or greater, it is preferable that the quantum dot layer having the largest difference between the energy level BV of the valence band and the Fermi level Ef, or alternatively between the energy level BC of the conduction band and the Fermi level Ef, is placed closer to the p/n junction surface 8.”)
Regarding claim 4, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 4A and 4B, [0017]-[0059] a photoelectric conversion element comprising: a photoelectric conversion layer 1;
a first electrode 3B that collects holes (h) produced in the photoelectric conversion layer as signal charges; and
a second electrode 3A that faces the first electrode 3B across the photoelectric conversion layer and that collects electrons (e) produced in the photoelectric conversion layer,
wherein the photoelectric conversion layer includes three or more quantum dot layers 7A and 7B layered onto one another [0059], each of the three or more quantum dot layers contains quantum dots 9 and surface-modifying ligands 13 modifying surfaces of the quantum dots [0021], the three or more quantum dot layers include a first quantum dot layer 7B and a second quantum dot layer 7A adjacent to the first quantum dot layer 7B, the first quantum dot layer 7B being closer to the first electrode 3B, the second quantum dot layer 7A being closer to the second electrode 3A, a band gap energy of the first quantum dot layer 7B is lower than a band gap energy of the second quantum dot layer 7A, and
an energy relationship at an interface between each of the three or more quantum dot layers and a corresponding quantum dot layer adjacent to each of the three or more quantum dot layers among the three or more quantum dot layers satisfies at least one selected from the group consisting of Expression (4) and Expression (5) below:
EiCBM - Ei+1CBM ≥ 0 (4)
EiVBM - Ei+1VBM ≥ 0 (5)
(Fig. 1B and [0059] disclose “when the number of quantum dot layers disposed in the semiconductor layer 7 is three or greater, it is preferable that the quantum dot layer having the largest difference between the energy level BV of the valence band and the Fermi level Ef, or alternatively between the energy level BC of the conduction band and the Fermi level Ef, is placed closer to the p/n junction surface 8.”)
where EiCBM is an energy of a lower end of a conduction band of an i-th quantum dot layer of the three or more quantum dot layers, counting from the first electrode, Ei+1CBM is an energy of a lower end of a conduction band of an (i+1)-th quantum dot layer of the three or more quantum dot layers, counting from the first electrode, EiVBM is an energy of an upper end of a valence band of the i-th quantum dot layer of the three or more quantum dot layers, counting from the first electrode, and Ei+1VBM is an energy of an upper end of a valence band of the (i+1)-th quantum dot layer of the three or more quantum dot layers, counting from the first electrode.
Regarding claim 5, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 4A and 4B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 4, wherein the energy relationship at the interface satisfies both Expression (4) and Expression (5). (Fig. 1B and [0059] disclose “when the number of quantum dot layers disposed in the semiconductor layer 7 is three or greater, it is preferable that the quantum dot layer having the largest difference between the energy level BV of the valence band and the Fermi level Ef, or alternatively between the energy level BC of the conduction band and the Fermi level Ef, is placed closer to the p/n junction surface 8.”)
Regarding claim 6, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 4A and 4B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 4, wherein the energy relationship at the interface satisfies Expression (6) below: Ei+1VBM - EiCBM > 0 (6). (Fig. 1B and [0059] disclose “when the number of quantum dot layers disposed in the semiconductor layer 7 is three or greater, it is preferable that the quantum dot layer having the largest difference between the energy level BV of the valence band and the Fermi level Ef, or alternatively between the energy level BC of the conduction band and the Fermi level Ef, is placed closer to the p/n junction surface 8.”)
Regarding claim 13, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1, wherein the surface-modifying ligands contained in at least two of the three or more quantum dot layers are mutually different [0037]-[0040].
Regarding claim 14, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1, wherein densities of the surface-modifying ligands contained in at least two of the three or more quantum dot layers are mutually different [0037]-[0040].
Regarding claim 15, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 4A and 4B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 4, wherein each of the three or more quantum dot layers further contains surface-modifying ligands modifying surfaces of the quantum dots, and the surface-modifying ligands contained in at least two of the three or more quantum dot layers are mutually different [0037]-[0040].
Regarding claim 16, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 4A and 4B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 4, wherein each of the three or more quantum dot layers further contains surface-modifying ligands modifying surfaces of the quantum dots, and densities of the surface-modifying ligands contained in at least two of the three or more quantum dot layers are mutually different [0037]-[0040].
Regarding claim 17, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1, wherein the quantum dots include at least one selected from the group consisting of CdSe, CdS, PbS, PbSe, PbTe, ZnO, ZnS, Cu2ZnSnS4, Cu2S, CuInSe2, AgInS2, AgInTe2, CdSnAs2, ZnSnAs2, ZnSnSb2, Bi2S3, Ag2S, Ag2Te, AgBiS2, AgAuS, HgTe, HgCdTe, Ge, GeSn, InAs, and InSb [0037]-[0038].
Regarding claim 18, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 4A and 4B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 4, wherein the quantum dots include at least one selected from the group consisting of CdSe, CdS, PbS, PbSe, PbTe, ZnO, ZnS, Cu2ZnSnS4, Cu2S, CuInSe2, AgInS2, AgInTe2, CdSnAs2, ZnSnAs2, ZnSnSb2, Bi2S3, Ag2S, Ag2Te, AgBiS2, AgAuS, HgTe, HgCdTe, Ge, GeSn, InAs, and InSb [0037]-[0038].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Hou et al. “Highly Monodispersed PBS Quantum Dots for Outstanding Cascaded-Junction Solar cells”, ACS Energy Letters, vol.1, no. 4, 28 September 2016 pp. 834-839.
Regarding claim 7, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1 but does not expressly disclose wherein in the three or more quantum dot layers, a potential gradient for the signal charges is equal to or greater than a potential gradient for charges of opposite polarity to the signal charges.
Hou et al. in Fig. 1a and related text teach the size of the quantum dots gradually decreased from the first electrode that collects hole to the second electrode that collects electrons, assuring also a gradient in signal charges and charges of opposite polarity to the signal charges. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hou et al. in the photoelectric conversion element of Nakayama for the purpose of creating high performance and robust quantum dot structures.
Regarding claim 8, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1 but does not expressly disclose wherein a particle diameter of quantum dots contained in a quantum dot layer closer to the second electrode out of two adjacent quantum dot layers among the three or more quantum dot layers is less than a particle diameter of quantum dots contained in a quantum dot layer closer to the first electrode out of the two adjacent quantum dot layers.
Hou et al. in Fig. 1a and related text teach the size of the quantum dots gradually decreased from the first electrode that collects hole to the second electrode that collects electrons, assuring also a gradient in signal charges and charges of opposite polarity to the signal charges. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hou et al. in the photoelectric conversion element of Nakayama for the purpose of creating high performance and robust quantum dot structures.
Regarding claim 9, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1 but does not expressly disclose wherein an absorption peak wavelength of a quantum dot layer closer to the second electrode out of two adjacent quantum dot layers among the three or more quantum dot layers is shorter than an absorption peak wavelength of a quantum dot layer closer to the first electrode out of the two adjacent quantum dot layers.
Hou et al. in Fig. 1b and related text teach an absorption peak wavelength of a quantum dot layer closer to the second electrode out of two adjacent quantum dot layers among the three or more quantum dot layers is shorter than an absorption peak wavelength of a quantum dot layer closer to the first electrode out of the two adjacent quantum dot layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hou et al. in the photoelectric conversion element of Nakayama for the purpose of creating high performance and robust quantum dot structures.
Regarding claim 10, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 4A and 4B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 4 but does not expressly disclose wherein in the three or more quantum dot layers, a potential gradient for the signal charges is equal to or greater than a potential gradient for charges of opposite polarity to the signal charges.
Hou et al. in Fig. 1A and related text teach the size of the quantum dots gradually decreased from the first electrode that collects hole to the second electrode that collects electrons, assuring also a gradient in signal charges and charges of opposite polarity to the signal charges. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hou et al. in the photoelectric conversion element of Nakayama for the purpose of creating high performance and robust quantum dot structures.
Regarding claim 11, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 4A and 4B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 4 but does not expressly disclose wherein a particle diameter of quantum dots contained in a quantum dot layer closer to the second electrode out of two adjacent quantum dot layers among the three or more quantum dot layers is less than a particle diameter of quantum dots contained in a quantum dot layer closer to the first electrode out of the two adjacent quantum dot layers.
Hou et al. in Fig. 1a and related text teach the size of the quantum dots gradually decreased from the first electrode that collects hole to the second electrode that collects electrons, assuring also a gradient in signal charges and charges of opposite polarity to the signal charges. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hou et al. in the photoelectric conversion element of Nakayama for the purpose of creating high performance and robust quantum dot structures.
Regarding claim 12, Nakayama discloses in Figs. 4A and 4B, [0017]-[0059] the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 4 but does not expressly disclose wherein an absorption peak wavelength of a quantum dot layer closer to the second electrode out of two adjacent quantum dot layers among the three or more quantum dot layers is shorter than an absorption peak wavelength of a quantum dot layer closer to the first electrode out of the two adjacent quantum dot layers.
Hou et al. in Fig. 1b and related text teach an absorption peak wavelength of a quantum dot layer closer to the second electrode out of two adjacent quantum dot layers among the three or more quantum dot layers is shorter than an absorption peak wavelength of a quantum dot layer closer to the first electrode out of the two adjacent quantum dot layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hou et al. in the photoelectric conversion element of Nakayama for the purpose of creating high performance and robust quantum dot structures.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama.
Regarding claim 19, Nakayama discloses an imaging apparatus comprising: a plurality of pixels, each including the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1 [0017]-[0059]; but do not expressly disclose
a signal readout circuit connected to the first electrode; and a voltage supply circuit that supplies a voltage to the second electrode.
However, a signal readout circuit connected to the first electrode; and a voltage supply circuit that supplies a voltage to the second electrode is drawn to a method of use or a device under test. The intended use and other types of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In this case the structure is capable of performing this use.
Regarding claim 20, Nakayama discloses an imaging apparatus comprising: a plurality of pixels, each including the photoelectric conversion element according to claim 4 [0017]-[0059]; but do not expressly disclose
a signal readout circuit connected to the first electrode; and a voltage supply circuit that supplies a voltage to the second electrode.
However, a signal readout circuit connected to the first electrode; and a voltage supply circuit that supplies a voltage to the second electrode is drawn to a method of use or a device under test. The intended use and other types of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In this case the structure is capable of performing this use.
Conclusion
/Sonya McCall-Shepard/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898