Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, in the reply filed on 3/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings filed 3/23/2026 are not proper black and white line drawings. This is frequently the result of drawings which are filed in a very dark grey (so dark that it appears black such as RGB value 37, 37, 37) instead of pure black (RGB value 0, 0, 0). While very dark grey may appear black, it causes artifacts and inconsistent line thickness. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning (see MPEP 608, 37 CFR 1.84(l))
Applicant is encouraged to view the drawings on file in the immediate application in Patent Center to more clearly see these line quality issues, as they may not be apparent on the Applicant’s copy of the drawings, as very dark grey may appear black to the eye.
Examiner notes the replacement drawings filed 3/23/2026 overcome numbering issues and are slightly improved over the line quality of 7/24/2024, but still do not contain clean, black, sufficiently dark and dense lines. This appears to be the result of low resolution or greyscale drawings. Correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7: “centring” should be replaced with “centering”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-10 recite the term “designed for” or “designed to” multiple times. It is unclear if the limitations which follow are positively recited. For purposes of examination, Examiner has interpreted “designed for” to mean “configured for” and “designed to” to mean “configured to”.
Claims 9 and 10 recite “it”. The claims are unclear as to what “it” is referring to. For purposes of examination, Claim 9 “wherein it comprises a slider” has been interpreted to mean “comprising a slider” and Claim 10 “wherein it has” has been interpreted to mean “comprising”.
Dependent claims 2-10 are unclear at least for the same reasons as the claims from which they depend.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
elastic element (claims 1-10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanini (US 10,244,920), herein referred to as ‘920, in view of ITMI20120660, herein referred to as ‘660.
For Claim 1, ‘920 discloses a hinge (Figure 4) capable of use on doors of electrical household appliances, comprising:
a first element (5) and a second element (4) pivoted to each other and movable relative to each other in tilting fashion, said first and second elements (5, 4) being capable of being fixed one to a frame and the other to a door of an appliance, to make the door movable with respect to the frame between a closed position and an open position,
a connecting arm (7) between said first and second elements (5, 4),
an elastic element (11) connected to said connecting arm (7) and configured to generate, by means of its own deformation, an elastic reaction force (force of elastic element 11) to compensate at least partially the weight force of the door during its opening or closing,
a flat control rod (12) for said elastic element (11), said flat control rod (12) defining an operative connecting means (at 7b) between said arm (7) and said elastic element (11),
‘920 does not disclose said flat control rod being made from sheet metal. ‘920 is instead silent as to the material of the flat control rod. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the flat control rod from sheet metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It is also common knowledge to choose a material that has sufficient strength, durability, flexibility, hardness, etc. for the application and intended use of that material. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to form the control rod from an inexpensive and durable material.
‘920 further does not disclose means for adjusting the intensity of said elastic reaction force, characterised in that said adjusting means comprise a threaded portion formed in said control rod and a nut engaging by screwing on said threaded portion to continuously adopt different positions at which said elastic element adopts as many different deformed configurations.
‘660 teaches a hinge (Figure 1) having means (5, 6) for adjusting the intensity of an elastic reaction force of an elastic element, characterised in that said adjusting means (5, 6) comprise a threaded portion (6) formed in a control rod and a nut (5) engaging by screwing on said threaded portion (6) to continuously adopt different positions at which said elastic element adopts as many different deformed configurations.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the adjusting means of ‘660 to the hinge of ‘920. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to permit varying the closing torque of the hinge.
For Claim 2, ‘920 further does not disclose wherein said flat control rod has two toothed zones formed on two opposite lateral edges, said toothed zones being configured to form said threaded portion and screwably engage with said nut.
‘660 teaches wherein the control rod has two toothed zones (threaded portion 6) on two opposite lateral edges (as seen in Figures 1-3, wherein the toothed portion extends around the control rod), said toothed zones (threaded portion 6) configured to form said threaded portion (6) and screwably engage with said nut (5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the toothed zones of the threaded portion of ‘660 to the flat control rod of ‘920. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to permit varying the closing torque of the hinge.
For Claim 3, ‘920 as modified by ‘660 teaches said toothed zones of said flat control rod, except wherein the toothed zones are made by cutting said metal sheet. Examiner notes that this would be considered to be a product-by-process claim due to the limitation “cutting”. The patentability of the product does not depend on its method of production. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself. See MPEP 2113. “If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
For Claim 4, ‘920 as modified by ‘660 does not disclose wherein said threaded portion is made of plastic material. ‘920 and ‘660 are instead silent as to the material of the threaded portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form threaded portion from plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It is also common knowledge to choose a material that has sufficient strength, durability, flexibility, hardness, etc. for the application and intended use of that material. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to form the threaded portion from an inexpensive and durable material.
‘920 as modified by ’660 further do not teach co-pressing the threaded portion on said flat control rod. Examiner notes that this would be considered to be a product-by-process claim due to the limitation “co-pressing”. The patentability of the product does not depend on its method of production. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself. See MPEP 2113. “If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
For Claim 5, ‘660 further teaches wherein said threaded portion made has a cylindrical shape (as seen in Figure 1).
For Claim 6, ‘660 further teaches wherein said means (5, 6) for adjusting the intensity of said elastic reaction force comprise a washer (9) interposed between an end of said elastic element (11) and said nut (5).
For Claim 7, ‘920 as modified by ‘660 do not disclose wherein said washer has at least one truncated cone portion configured for centering said elastic element with respect to said flat control rod. ‘660 is instead silent as to the shape of the washer. Examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known to use washers having truncated cones or semi-spherical shape for self-aligning/self-centering. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the washer of ‘660 with a washer having a truncated cone portion. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to permit self-aligning or self-centering with the elastic element.
For Claim 8, ‘920 further teaches wherein said flat control rod (12) has a slot (Annotated Figure 4: A) with a longitudinal extension.
For Claim 9, ‘920 further teaches comprising a slider (Annotated Figure 4: B) slidably engaged in said slot (A) with a longitudinal extension and configured for actuating the compression of said helical spring (11).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanini (US 10,244,920), herein referred to as ‘920, in view of ITMI20120660, herein referred to as ‘660, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Zasowski et al. (US 9,695,620), herein referred to as ‘620.
For Claim 10, ‘920 as modified by ‘660 further teach the hinge according to claim 1, except comprising formed on one of either said flat control rod or said second element, a graduated scale configured to indicate the position of said nut along said flat control rod and the corresponding preloaded condition of the elastic element.
‘620 teaches comprising formed on a second element (Figure 5: 24), a graduated scale (46) configured to indicate a position of a nut (40) along a control rod (34) and a corresponding preloaded condition of an elastic element (30). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the graduated scale of ‘620 to the second element of ‘920. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to enable a user to easily see the setting to which the elastic element is adjusted or set.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12037830, US 11697955, US 10472870, US 7243396, and US 6637319 all teach hinges having similar features that are pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure but have not been relied upon in the current rejection.
/Jeffrey O'Brien/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677