DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the web flange of the upper extension member must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. Para. 110 discloses a web flange 166, but such is not shown in the drawings. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “flange” in claim 10 is used by the claim to mean wall or section connected at both edges, while the accepted meaning is “a projecting edge on an object”, Collins.com. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. Elements 122-126 are disclosed as flanges, but they are clearly not projecting edges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-15, 18-20 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer (6,170,217) in view of Stal (9,290,940)).
1.Meyer teaches a cold-formed beam comprising:
an upper member (the upper chord, fig. 2);
a lower member (the lower chord, fig. 2); and
a web (the beam web between the top and bottom chords) between the upper member and the lower member;
wherein the upper member, the lower member, and the web of at least a portion of the cold-formed beam are formed from a single sheet (col. 2, lines 33-36). Meyer does not teach the upper member comprises an upper extension member on at least one end, wherein the upper extension member extends past the web, the upper extension member, like all the other members formed from the single sheet. Stal, figs. 2,7, teaches an upper member 20 comprises an upper extension member (the part that extends to the left, fig. 7) on at least one end, wherein the upper extension member extends past the web, fig. 2.7.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Meyer upper member to comprise an upper extension member on at least one end, wherein the upper extension member extends past the web by extending the Meyer upper member further out just as taught by Stal (to allow the joist to be positioned on an I-beam, fig. 2), the Meyer in view of Stal upper extension member, like all the other Meyer members formed from the single sheet because the modification is to extend the Meyer upper member further out just as the Stal upper member is extended, the Meyer in view of Stal upper extension member being a single sheet with the upper member.
2.Meyer in view of Stal teaches the beam of claim 1, Meyer in view of Stal further teaching the single sheet is rolled to form the upper member, the upper extension member, the lower member, and the web (col. 2, lines 33-36).
3. Meyer in view of Stal teaches the beam of claim 1, Meyer further teaching the upper member comprises an upper web flange 240 that extends over at least a portion of the web.
4.Meyer in view of Stal teaches the beam of claim 3, Meyer further teaching the lower member comprises a lower web flange 240 that extends over at least a portion of the web.
5.Meyer in view of Stal teaches the beam of claim 4, Meyer further teaching the upper web flange is operatively coupled to the web and the lower web flange is operatively coupled to the web through the use of a plurality of beam connectors 230.
6.Meyer in view of Stal teaches the beam of claim 5, Meyer further teaching the plurality of beam connectors comprise: an interference connector (“clench press”) formed by deforming a portion of the upper web flange and the web, and a portion of the lower web flange and the web, col. 5, lines 32-34.
7.Meyer in view of Stal teaches the beam of claim 5, Meyer further teaching the plurality of beam connectors comprise: welding (“welding”) the upper web flange to the web and the lower web flange to the web, or assembling fasteners (“screws”) through the upper web flange and the web and the lower web flange and the web, col. 5, lines 32-34).
8. While fig. 1 clearly shows beam connectors 230 are formed between a range of 2 inches to 24 inches along the length of the beam, the written description does not expressly disclose such spacing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for beam connectors 230 to be formed between a range of 2 inches to 24 inches along the length of the beam for strength.
11. Meyer in view of Stal teaches the beam of claim 1, Meyer further teaching the web comprises: a plurality of stamped apertures extending through the web, col. 4, lines 17-23.
12. Meyer in view of Stal teaches the beam of claim 11, Stal further teaches stamped apertures comprise circular apertures, col. 9, lines 4-12. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the stamped apertures to comprise circular apertures for strength.
13. Meyer in view of Stal teaches the beam of claim 11, Stal further teaches stamped apertures comprise triangle apertures, col. 9, lines 4-12. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the stamped apertures to comprise circular apertures for strength.
14. Meyer in view of Stal teaches the beam of claim 1, Meyer further teaching the plurality of stamped aperture comprise polygonal apertures (four sided apertures).
15. Meyer in view Stal teaches the beam of claim 11, Meyer further teaching at least a portion of the web around the plurality of stamped apertures comprise at least one embossment 220, fig. 1.
18. Meyer teaches a structural system, the system comprising:
support members 610;
cold formed beams, the cold-formed beams comprising:
an upper member (the upper chord, fig. 2);
a lower member (the lower chord, fig. 2); and
a web (the beam web between the top and bottom chords) between the upper member and the lower member; wherein the upper member, the lower member, and the web are formed from forming a sheet, col. 2, lines 33-36; wherein ends of the plurality of cold formed beams are operatively coupled to two of the plurality of support members, fig. 6. Meyer does not teach at least one of the plurality of cold formed beams comprises an upper extension member on at least one end of the upper member, wherein the upper extension member extends past the web; wherein the upper member, the upper extension member, the lower member, and the web of at least a portion of the at least one of the plurality of cold formed beams are formed from a single sheet.
Stal, figs. 2,7, teaches an upper member 20 comprises an upper extension member (the part that extends to the left, fig. 7) on at least one end, wherein the upper extension member extends past the web, fig. 2.7.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Meyer upper member to comprise an upper extension member on at least one end, wherein the upper extension member extends past the web by extending the Meyer upper member further out just as taught by Stal (to allow the joist to be positioned on an I-beam, fig. 2), the Meyer in view of Stal upper extension member, like all the other Meyer members formed from the single sheet because the modification is to extend the Meyer upper member further out just as the Stal upper member is extended, the Meyer in view of Stal upper extension member being a single sheet with the upper member.
19.Meyer teaches the structural system of claim 18, Meyer in view of Stal further teaching the sheet is a single sheet that is rolled to form the upper member, upper extension, the lower member, and the web, col. 2, lines 33-36.
20. Meyer teaches a method of forming a cold formed beam, the method comprising:
rolling a steel sheet to form an upper member, a lower member, and a web between the upper member and the lower member, col. 2, lines 33-36; stamping the web to form web apertures, col. 4, lines 17-23; and forming beam connectors, col. 5, lines 32-34, between an upper flange and the web and a lower flange and the web.
Meyer does not teach rolling the sheet to also form an upper extension member. Stal teaches an upper extension member 20. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to roll an upper extension member from the sheet to allow the beam to rest on a beam or wall, the upper extension member being an extension of the upper member, and thus rolled from the sheet.
Claims 9-10 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Stal and in further view of Walker (2002/0020138).
9.The Meyer upper and lower members do not comprise a square or rectangular member, although Applicant discloses that the shape can be other than just rectangular or square, para. 84. In any case, Walker teaches that upper and lower members can comprise square, rectangular member, and “any similar geometric shape which would present a double wall for a fastening means”, para. 31. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Meyer upper and lower members to comprise a square or rectangular member to improve the “securing means”, para. 9.
10. Meyer in view of Stal and in further view of Walker teaches the beam of claim 9, Meyer in view of Walker further teaching the square member or the rectangular member (a Meyer in view of Stal and Walker beam in which the Meyer upper and lower members are square or rectangular) comprises: a first leg extending from the web; a second leg extending from the first flange; a third leg extending from the second leg; and a fourth leg extending from the third leg; wherein a web flange (240 of Meyer/226 of Walker) extends from the fourth leg over at least a portion of the web.
Claim 16 – is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Stal and in further view of Lam (2014/0230343).
Meyer in view of Stal teaches the beam of claim 1, Meyer further teaching a web flange 210/240. Meyer in view of Stal does not teach a radius web transition between the Meyer web and web flange of the Meyer in view of Stal upper extension member. Lam teaches a radius web “transition 22” between a web and web flange 1. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a radius web transition to be between the web and the Meyer web flange of the upper extension member to reinforce the connection at the web.
Claim 17 – is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Stal, in further view of Lam and in yet further view of Strickland (11,459,755).
Meyer in view of Stal and in further view of Lam does not teach a seat support operatively coupled to the upper extension member. Strickland teaches a seat support 42 operatively coupled to an upper extension member. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operatively couple a seat support to the upper extension member to be better secure the beam.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference (see new reference Stal) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J KENNY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BRIAN E GLESSNER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3633