DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed April 22, 2026, with respect to claims 1-9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 as amended recites that the restriction lever of claim 10 is configured to be driven by a solenoid. Neither the specification nor the drawings disclose the restriction lever being driven by a solenoid.
Claim 12 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 as amended recites that the restriction lever of claim 10 is configured to be driven by a solenoid. The specification, in Paragraphs 0048-0049, disclose that the solenoid instead drives the lock member. Furthermore, Figures 4a and 4b show the driving unit, having a solenoid, as Item 271, driving the movement of the lock member, Item 270a.
For the purpose of examination, claim 12 will be interpreted as disclosing a restriction lever being driven by a solenoid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagashima et al. US 20180272726 A1.
Regarding claim 10,
A liquid ejection apparatus (Paragraph 0044, " In a first embodiment, a configuration of a printer…"),
a holder configured to hold a tray on which a container configured to contain liquid to be supplied to an ejection head is detachably mounted (Paragraph 0053, “The cover member 18 covers and protects the cartridge storage portion 60 in which the cartridge 100 is stored”),
a connector configured to be in contact with a substrate of the container (Paragraph 0077, “The device-side electrical connector 52 is a connector that is to be electrically connected to the cartridge 100”),
a restriction lever (Paragraph 0113, “The rear face 103 of the first cartridge 100a is provided with a lock mechanism 140 (FIGS. 6 and 7). The lock mechanism 140 includes an operation portion 141…”) configured to, in a case where the substrate and the connector are in contact with each other, move between (i) a non-restriction position where the restriction lever does not restrict pulling the tray out of the holder and (ii) a restriction position where the restriction lever restricts pulling the tray out of the holder (Paragraph 0114, “A state in which the operation portion 141 is at a specified lower end position on the +Z direction side is the "locked state" of the lock mechanism 140, and a state in which the operation portion 141 is at a specified upper end position on the -Z direction side is the "released state" of the lock mechanism 140”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima et al., US 20180272726 A1, and Yoshida et al., US 20160332455 A1.
Regarding claim 11,
Nagashima et al. does not disclose a sensor configured to detect whether the restriction unit is at the restriction position or at the non-restriction position.
However, Yoshida et al. teaches that the operation lever may operate automatically (Yoshida et al., Paragraph 0071, "Alternatively, the operation lever 504 may be controlled to automatically operate"). In order for the lever to be controlled to operate automatically, the position of the lever must be known by the controller, thus implying a sensor which detects whether the lever, being the restriction unit, is at the restriction position or non-restriction position. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagashima et al. to include a sensor configured to detect whether the restriction lever is at the restriction position or non-restriction position so as to allow the restriction unit to be controlled to automatically operate, as taught by Yoshida et al.
Regarding claim 12,
Nagashima et al. does not disclose that the restriction lever is configured to be driven by a solenoid.
However, Yoshida et al. teaches a solenoid which drives a lock pin (Paragraph 0086, “The solenoid lock 902 includes a lock pin 907. The lock pin 907 is in a projected state to the operation lever 504 side (the front side) when the solenoid is not energized, and is in a retracted state to the opposite side (the rear side) of the operation lever 504 side when the solenoid is energized”). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagashima et al. to include that the restriction lever is configured to be driven by a solenoid in order to prevent erroneous unloading of the ink tray, as taught by Yoshida et al. (Paragraph 0106, “Further, it is possible to prevent the connected cartridge-type replenishing liquid bottle from being erroneously removed”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 13-14 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The primary reason for allowance for claim 1 is the inclusion of the limitation of a restriction lever configured to be movable to a restriction position and a non-restriction position and a lock member configured to, in a case where the substrate is in contact with the connector and the restriction lever is at the restriction position, restrict movement of the restriction lever to the non-restriction position. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim 1 allowable over the prior art.
Claims 2-9 and 13-14 are allowable as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for allowance for claim 15 is the inclusion of the limitation of a restriction lever configured to be movable to a restriction position and a non-restriction position and a lock member configured to, in a case where the substrate is in contact with the connector and the restriction lever is at the restriction position, restrict movement of the restriction lever to the non-restriction position. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim 15 allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAMI A ALSHOROOGI/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853