DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 14 – 16, applicant argues that neither Li nor Lu teach the claimed invention because Li teaches checking all forward and backward reference to determine the best matches, but not an early termination criterion as claimed and because Lu teaches terminating a motion estimation engine early based on predetermined criteria but does not explicitly teach that the early termination criteria is that the difference between the forward and backward reference block is less than a matching error threshold, the initial forward and backward reference blocks being selected as the target forward and backward reference blocks when the pixel difference of the initial forward and backward reference blocks is less than the matching error threshold as claimed. While applicant’s arguments are understood, examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner relies on a combination of Li and Lu in maintaining the rejection.
One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Rather, “the test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to [a PHOSITA]." In re Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1333, 103 USPQ2d 1219, 1226 (Fed. Cir. 2012). At present, the combined teachings of Li and Lu reasonably suggest to a person having ordinary skill in the art the claimed invention.
Li first teaches determining positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on and including initial motion information and initial forward reference block and an initial backward reference block. See, e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 147 – 150: depicting and describing that the system determines a plurality of forward reference blocks and a plurality of backward reference blocks based on an initial forward reference block and an initial backward reference blocks. Next, Li teaches determining a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block from the N forward reference blocks and the N backward reference blocks based on a matching cost minimization. See, e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 147 – 150: depicting and describing that the system determines a reverse best matching block and a forward best matching block based on a sum of absolute differences, wherein the sum of absolute differences is the equivalent of the matching criterion. Li does not explicitly teach that when a difference between a pixel value of the n-th forward reference block of the N forward reference blocks and a pixel value of the n-th backward reference block of the N backward reference blocks is equal to or less than an error threshold, the positions are determined as the forward target reference block and the backward target reference block, the n-th forward reference block and the n-th backward reference block of the N forward and backward reference blocks including the initial forward reference block and the backward reference block. Lu, however, teaches a system that performs motion estimation, the motion estimation including bi-directional motion refinement. See, e.g. Fig. 3, element 350, and par. 30: depicting and describing a motion estimation engine, the motion estimation engine including bidirectional motion refinement, wherein bidirectional motion refinement is the equivalent of determining a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of a N forward reference blocks and N backwards reference blocks, the N forward reference blocks and the N backward reference blocks based on initial motion information [see, e.g. pars. 6 – 8: describing that the system performs bidirectional prediction by selecting a forward prediction block and a backward prediction block from a search window of forward and backward prediction blocks, the search window of forward and backward predictions blocks determined based on initial motion information, the system selecting the forward prediction block and the backward prediction block from the search window based on candidate reference block with the least amount of error in each direction]). Lu further teaches that during motion estimation, which includes bidirectional motion refinement, the system terminates the motion estimation process early when an error between a reference block and the current block is below an error threshold. See, Lu, e.g. par. 73: describing that during motion estimation, the system early exits the motion estimation process when a difference error between a macroblock to be encoded and a reference block is below an error threshold. In other words, Lu teaches terminating motion estimation early by selecting a reference block as a target reference block during the motion estimation process when a difference of the candidate reference block is below a matching error threshold. The combined teachings of Li and Lu therefore reasonably suggest to a person having ordinary skill in the art the claimed invention. The rejection, therefore, is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 – 6, 8 – 10, 15, 18, 20, 22, 23, and 29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,528,503. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the patented case encompasses the current invention.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,528,503
1. A picture prediction method, comprising:
obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block;
wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector that corresponds to a reference picture list 0, RefPicList0 of a current picture having the current picture block, and a second motion vector that correspond to a reference picture list 1, RefPicList1 of the current picture;
determining positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block, wherein the N forward reference blocks comprising one initial forward reference block and (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks are located in a forward reference picture, the N backward reference blocks comprising one initial backward reference block and (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks are located in a backward reference picture, and N is an integer greater than 1; and
wherein a position of the initial forward reference block and a position of the initial backward reference block are pointed by the first motion vector and second motion vector respectively;
determining, from the positions of N forward reference blocks and the N backward reference blocks based on a matching cost minimization and early termination criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block;
wherein for positions of a n-th forward and a n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and the N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2≤n≤N;
wherein for the positions of the n-th forward and the n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a difference between a pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and a pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is calculated; when the difference between the pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and the pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is less than or equal to a matching error threshold, the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks are determined as the position of the forward target reference block of the current picture block and the position of the backward target reference block of the current picture block, wherein n is an integer and 1 ≤ n ≤ N; and wherein when a difference between a pixel value of the initial forward reference block and a pixel value of the initial backward reference block is less than or equal to the matching error threshold, the positions of the initial forward reference block and the initial backward reference block of the current picture block are determined as the positions of the target forward reference block and the target backward reference block of the current picture block; and
obtaining a predicted value of a pixel value of the current picture block based on a pixel value of the target forward reference block and a pixel value of the target backward reference block;
wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial forward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block is an integer pixel distance,
the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial backward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block is an integer pixel distance.
1. A picture prediction method, comprising:
obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block;
when an early termination condition is not met, determining, from positions of N forward reference blocks and N backward reference blocks, based on a matching cost criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block,
wherein the positions of N forward and N backward reference blocks are based on the initial motion information, the N forward reference blocks comprising an initial forward reference block, the N backward reference blocks comprising an initial backward reference block, and N is an integer greater than 1,
wherein for positions of n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset representing an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to a position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset representing an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to a position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 1≤n≤N; and
obtaining a predicted value of a pixel value of the current picture block based on a pixel value of the target forward reference block and a pixel value of the target backward reference block;
wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise a position of the initial forward reference block and positions of (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block is an integer pixel distance; and
the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise a position of the initial backward reference block and positions of (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block is an integer pixel distance.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index corresponding to a first list (L0), and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index corresponding to a second list (L1); and wherein the determining positions of N forward and N backward reference blocks comprises: determining, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in a forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, using the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determining the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks; and determining, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in a backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, using the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determining the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks.
9. The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, from the positions of the N forward and N backward reference blocks based on a matching cost criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block, comprises: determining, from the positions of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, the positions of the target forward and target backward reference blocks of the current picture block, wherein the target forward and target backward reference blocks have a minimum matching error among N matching errors of the N forward and N backward reference blocks; or determining, from the positions of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, the positions of the target forward and target backward reference blocks of the current picture block, wherein the target forward and target backward reference blocks have a matching error less than or equal to a matching error threshold.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship comprises: a direction of the first position offset is opposite to a direction of the second position offset, and an amplitude value of the first position offset is the same as an amplitude value of the second position offset.
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein a direction of the first position offset is opposite to a direction of the second position offset, and an amplitude of the first position offset is the same as an amplitude of the second position offset.
3. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining updated motion information of the current picture block, wherein the updated motion information comprises an updated forward motion vector and an updated backward motion vector, the updated forward motion vector points to the position of the target forward reference block, and the updated backward motion vector points to the position of the target backward reference block.
6. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining updated motion information of the current picture block, wherein the updated motion information comprises an updated forward motion vector and an updated backward motion vector, wherein the updated forward motion vector points to the position of the target forward reference block, and the updated backward motion vector points to the position of the target backward reference block, or wherein the updated forward motion vector indicates an offset of the position of the target forward reference block relative to the position of the current picture block, and the updated backward motion vector indicates an offset of the position of the target backward reference block relative to the position of the current picture block.
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index in a forward prediction direction, and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index in a backward prediction direction; and the determining positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block comprises: determining, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in the forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, using the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determining the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks; and determining, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in the backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, using the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determining the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index corresponding to a first list (L0), and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index corresponding to a second list (L1); and wherein the determining positions of N forward and N backward reference blocks comprises: determining, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in a forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, using the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determining the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks; and determining, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in a backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, using the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determining the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein one of: the method is used to encode the current picture block; and the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block comprises: obtaining the initial motion information from a candidate motion information list of the current picture block; or the method is used to decode the current picture block; and before the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block, the method further comprises: obtaining indication information from a bitstream of the current picture block, wherein the indication information is used to indicate the initial motion information of the current picture block.
10. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method is used for encoding the current picture block; and the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block comprises: obtaining the initial motion information from a candidate motion information list of the current picture block; or the method is used for decoding the current picture block; and before the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block, the method further comprises: obtaining indication information from a bitstream of the current picture block, wherein the indication information indicates the initial motion information of the current picture block.
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein a first position offset is represented by (delta0x, delta0y) and the second position offset is represented by (delta1x, delta1y), wherein delta0x = - delta1x, and delta0y = - delta1y.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first position offset is represented by (delta0x, delta0y) and the second position offset is represented by (delta1x, delta1y), wherein delta0x=−delta1x, and delta0y=−delta1y.
7. A picture prediction apparatus, comprising: a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the non-transitory memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to:
obtain initial motion information of a current picture block;
wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector that corresponds to a reference picture list 0, RefPicList0, and a second motion vector that correspond to a reference picture list 1, RefPicList1;
determine positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block, wherein the N forward reference blocks comprising one initial forward reference block and (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks are located in a forward reference picture, the N backward reference blocks comprising one initial backward reference block and (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks are located in a backward reference picture, and N is an integer greater than 1; and wherein a position of the initial forward reference block and a position of the initial backward reference block are pointed by the first motion vector and second motion vector respectively; and
determine, from positions of N forward reference blocks and N backward reference blocks based on a matching cost minimization and early termination criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block;
wherein for positions of n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2≤n≤N;
wherein for the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a difference between a pixel value of the n- th forward reference block and a pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is calculated; when the difference between the pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and the pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is less than or equal to a matching error threshold, the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks are determined as the position of the forward target reference block of the current picture block and the position of the backward target reference block of the current picture block, wherein n is an integer and 1 ≤ n ≤ N; and wherein when a difference between a pixel value of the initial forward reference block and a pixel value of the initial backward reference block is less than or equal to the matching error threshold, the positions of the initial forward reference block and the initial backward reference block of the current picture block are determined as the positions of the target forward reference block and the target backward reference block of the current picture block; and
obtain a predicted value of a pixel value of the current picture block based on a pixel value of the target forward reference block and a pixel value of the target backward reference block;
wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial forward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block is an integer pixel distance; the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial backward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block is an integer pixel distance.
15. A picture prediction apparatus, comprising: a memory storage comprising instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to:
obtain initial motion information of a current picture block;
when an early termination condition is not met, determine, from positions of N forward reference blocks and N backward reference blocks, based on a matching cost criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block,
wherein the positions of N forward and N backward reference blocks are based on the initial motion information, the N forward reference blocks comprising an initial forward reference block, the N backward reference blocks comprising an initial backward reference block, and N is an integer greater than 1;
wherein for positions of n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset representing an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to a position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset representing an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to a position of the initial backward reference block; wherein is an integer and 1≤n≤N; and
obtain a predicted value of a pixel value of the current picture block based on a pixel value of the target forward reference block and a pixel value of the target backward reference block;
wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise a position of the initial forward reference block and positions of (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block is an integer pixel distance; and
the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise a position of the initial backward reference block and positions of (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block is an integer pixel distance.
22. The method according to claim 15, wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index corresponding to a first list (L0), and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index corresponding to a second list (L1); and wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to: determine, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in a forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, using the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determine the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks; and determine, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in a backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, using the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determine the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks.
23. The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to: determine, from the positions of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, the positions of the target forward and target backward reference blocks of the current picture block, wherein the target forward and target backward reference blocks have a minimum matching error among N matching errors of the N forward and N backward reference blocks; or determine, from the positions of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, the positions of the target forward and target backward reference blocks of the current picture block, wherein the target forward and target backward reference blocks have a matching error less than or equal to a matching error threshold.
8. The apparatus according to claim 7, wherein that a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship comprises: a direction of the first position offset is opposite to a direction of the second position offset, and an amplitude value of the first position offset is the same as an amplitude value of the second position offset.
18. The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein a direction of the first position offset is opposite to a direction of the second position offset, and an amplitude of the first position offset is the same as an amplitude of the second position offset.
9. The apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: obtain updated motion information of the current picture block, wherein the updated motion information comprises an updated forward motion vector and an updated backward motion vector, the updated forward motion vector points to the position of the target forward reference block, and the updated backward motion vector points to the position of the target backward reference block.
20. The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: obtain updated motion information of the current picture block, wherein the updated motion information comprises an updated forward motion vector and an updated backward motion vector, wherein the updated forward motion vector points to the position of the target forward reference block, and the updated backward motion vector points to the position of the target backward reference block, or wherein the updated forward motion vector indicates an offset of the position of the target forward reference block relative to the position of the current picture block, and the updated backward motion vector indicates an offset of the position of the target backward reference block relative to the position of the current picture block.
10. The apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index in a forward prediction direction, and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index in a backward prediction direction; and the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: determine, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in the forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, use the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determine the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks; and determine, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in the backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, use the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determine the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks.
22. The method according to claim 15, wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index corresponding to a first list (L0), and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index corresponding to a second list (L1); and wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to: determine, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in a forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, using the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determine the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks; and determine, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in a backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, using the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determine the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program code which, when executed by a computer device, causes the computer device to perform the method comprising:
obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block;
wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector that corresponds to a reference picture list 0, RefPicList0 of a current picture having the current picture block, and a second motion vector that correspond to a reference picture list 1, RefPicList1 of the current picture;
determining positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block, wherein the N forward reference blocks comprising one initial forward reference block and (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks are located in a forward reference picture, the N backward reference blocks comprising one initial backward reference block and (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks are located in a backward reference picture, and N is an integer greater than 1; and wherein a position of the initial forward reference block and a position of the initial backward reference block are pointed by the first motion vector and second motion vector respectively;
determining, from positions of N forward reference blocks and N backward reference blocks based on a matching cost minimization and early termination criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block;
wherein for positions of n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2<n<N;
wherein for the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a difference between a pixel value of the n- th forward reference block and a pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is calculated; when the difference between the pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and the pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is less than or equal to a matching error threshold, the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks are determined as the position of the forward target reference block of the current picture block and the position of the backward target reference block of the current picture block, wherein n is an integer and 1 ≤ n ≤N; and wherein when a difference between a pixel value of the initial forward reference block and a pixel value of the initial backward reference block is less than or equal to the matching error threshold, the positions of the initial forward reference block and the initial backward reference block of the current picture block are determined as the positions of the target forward reference block and the target backward reference block of the current picture block; and
obtaining a predicted value of a pixel value of the current picture block based on a pixel value of the target forward reference block and a pixel value of the target backward reference block; wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial forward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block is an integer pixel distance; the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial backward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block is an integer pixel distance.
29. A non-transitory computer-readable medium carrying a program code which, when executed by a computer device, causes the computer device to perform the method comprising:
obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block;
when an early termination condition is not met, determining, from positions of N forward reference blocks and N backward reference blocks, based on a matching cost criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block,
wherein the positions of N forward and N backward reference blocks are based on the initial motion information, the N forward reference blocks comprising an initial forward reference block, the N backward reference blocks comprising an initial backward reference block, and N is an integer greater than 1,
wherein for positions of n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset representing an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to a position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset representing an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to a position of the initial backward reference block; wherein n is an integer and 1≤n≤N; and
obtaining a predicted value of a pixel value of the current picture block based on a pixel value of the target forward reference block and a pixel value of the target backward reference block;
wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise a position of the initial forward reference block and positions of (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block is an integer pixel distance; and
the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise a position of the initial backward reference block and positions of (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block is an integer pixel distance.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index corresponding to a first list (L0), and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index corresponding to a second list (L1); and wherein the determining positions of N forward and N backward reference blocks comprises: determining, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in a forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, using the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determining the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks; and determining, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in a backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, using the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determining the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks.
9. The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, from the positions of the N forward and N backward reference blocks based on a matching cost criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block, comprises: determining, from the positions of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, the positions of the target forward and target backward reference blocks of the current picture block, wherein the target forward and target backward reference blocks have a minimum matching error among N matching errors of the N forward and N backward reference blocks; or determining, from the positions of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, the positions of the target forward and target backward reference blocks of the current picture block, wherein the target forward and target backward reference blocks have a matching error less than or equal to a matching error threshold.
12. The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11, wherein a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship comprises: a direction of the first position offset is opposite to a direction of the second position offset, and an amplitude value of the first position offset is the same as an amplitude value of the second position offset.
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein a direction of the first position offset is opposite to a direction of the second position offset, and an amplitude of the first position offset is the same as an amplitude of the second position offset.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11, further comprising: obtaining updated motion information of the current picture block, wherein the updated motion information comprises an updated forward motion vector and an updated backward motion vector, the updated forward motion vector points to the position of the target forward reference block, and the updated backward motion vector points to the position of the target backward reference block.
6. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining updated motion information of the current picture block, wherein the updated motion information comprises an updated forward motion vector and an updated backward motion vector, wherein the updated forward motion vector points to the position of the target forward reference block, and the updated backward motion vector points to the position of the target backward reference block, or wherein the updated forward motion vector indicates an offset of the position of the target forward reference block relative to the position of the current picture block, and the updated backward motion vector indicates an offset of the position of the target backward reference block relative to the position of the current picture block.
14. The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11, wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index in a forward prediction direction, and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index in a backward prediction direction; and the determining positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block comprises: determining, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in the forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, using the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determining the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks; and determining, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in the backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, using the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determining the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index corresponding to a first list (L0), and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index corresponding to a second list (L1); and wherein the determining positions of N forward and N backward reference blocks comprises: determining, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in a forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, using the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determining the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate forward reference blocks; and determining, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in a backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, using the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determining the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N−1) candidate backward reference blocks.
15. The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11, wherein the one of: method is used to encode the current picture block; and the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block comprises: obtaining the initial motion information from a candidate motion information list of the current picture block; or the method is used to decode the current picture block; and before the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block, the method further comprises: obtaining indication information from a bitstream of the current picture block, wherein the indication information is used to indicate the initial motion information of the current picture block.
10. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method is used for encoding the current picture block; and the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block comprises: obtaining the initial motion information from a candidate motion information list of the current picture block; or the method is used for decoding the current picture block; and before the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block, the method further comprises: obtaining indication information from a bitstream of the current picture block, wherein the indication information indicates the initial motion information of the current picture block.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11, wherein a first position offset is represented by (delta0x, delta0y) and the second position offset is represented by (delta1x, delta1y), wherein delta0x = - delta1x, and delta0y = - delta1y.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first position offset is represented by (delta0x, delta0y) and the second position offset is represented by (delta1x, delta1y), wherein delta0x=−delta1x, and delta0y=−delta1y
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 8, 10 - 12 and 14 – 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 – 9, 11, 14 – 16, and 18 - 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 in view of Li et al. (US 2018/0098087) (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 claims a picture prediction method, comprising:
obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block (claim 1, col 68, lines 26 – 27);
wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector that corresponds to a reference picture list 0, RefPicList0 of a current picture having the current picture block, and a second motion vector that correspond to a reference picture list 1, RefPicList1 of the current picture (claim 4, col 68, lines 52 – 56);
determining positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block, wherein the N forward reference blocks comprising one initial forward reference block and (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks are located in a forward reference picture, the N backward reference blocks comprising one initial backward reference block and (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks are located in a backward reference picture, and N is an integer greater than 1; and wherein a position of the initial forward reference block and a position of the initial backward reference block are pointed by the first motion vector and second motion vector respectively (claim 4, col 68, lines 57 – 65; claim 7, col 69, lines 24 – 30);
determining, from the positions of N forward reference blocks and the N backward reference blocks based on a matching cost minimization and early termination criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block (claim 1, col 68, lines 28 – 36);
wherein for the positions of the n-th forward and the n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a difference between a pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and a pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is calculated; when the difference between the pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and the pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is less than or equal to a matching error threshold, the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks are determined as the position of the forward target reference block of the current picture block and the position of the backward target reference block of the current picture block, wherein n is an integer and 1 ≤ n ≤ N; and wherein when a difference between a pixel value of the initial forward reference block and a pixel value of the initial backward reference block is less than or equal to the matching error threshold, the positions of the initial forward reference block and the initial backward reference block of the current picture block are determined as the positions of the target forward reference block and the target backward reference block of the current picture block (claim 2, col 68, lines 41 – 45), and
obtaining a predicted value of a pixel value of the current picture block based on a pixel value of the target forward reference block and a pixel value of the target backward reference block (claim 1, col 68, lines 37 – 40);
wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial forward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block is an integer pixel distance; the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial backward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block is an integer pixel distance (claim 7, col 69, lines 24 – 41).
U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 does not explicitly claim:
wherein for positions of a n-th forward and a n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and the N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2≤n≤N.
Li, however, teaches a picture prediction method:
wherein for positions of a n-th forward and a n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and the N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2≤n≤N (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 146 – 150: depicting and describing mirror-based bi-directional motion vector derivation, where positions of candidate forward reference blocks and candidate reverse reference blocks are in a mirror relationship, the positions of the candidate blocks represented by an offset [-dMV for forward reference blocks and +dMV for reverse reference blocks], the offset representing a deviation from the initial forward reference block indicated by the initial forward motion vector and a deviation from the initial reverse reference block indicated by the initial reverse motion vector).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 by adding the teachings of Li in order for positions of a n-th forward and a n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and the N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2≤n≤N. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding efficiency.
Turning to claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 and Li claim all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 further claims:
wherein a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship comprises: a direction of the first position offset is opposite to a direction of the second position offset, and an amplitude value of the first position offset is the same as an amplitude value of the second position offset (claim 7, col 69, lines 31 – 41).
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 and Li claim all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 further claims:
wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index in a forward prediction direction, and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index in a backward prediction direction; and the determining positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block comprises: determining, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in the forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, using the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determining the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks; and determining, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in the backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, using the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determining the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks (claim 4, col 68, lines 52 – 65).
Turning to claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 and Li claim all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 further claims:
wherein one of: the method is used to encode the current picture block; and the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block comprises: obtaining the initial motion information from a candidate motion information list of the current picture block; or the method is used to decode the current picture block; and before the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block, the method further comprises: obtaining indication information from a bitstream of the current picture block, wherein the indication information is used to indicate the initial motion information of the current picture block (claim 5, col 68 line 66 – col 69, line 8; claim 6, col 69, lines 9 – 14).
Regarding claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 and Li claim all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 further claims:
wherein a first position offset is represented by (delta0x, delta0y) and the second position offset is represented by (delta1x, delta1y), wherein delta0x = - delta1x, and delta0y = - delta1y (claim 7, col 69, lines 31 – 41).
Turning to claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 claims a picture prediction apparatus, comprising:
a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions (claim 8, col 69, line 47); and
one or more processors in communication with the non-transitory memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to (claim 8, col 69, lines 48 – 50):
obtain initial motion information of a current picture block (claim 8, col 69, lines 51 – 52);
wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector that corresponds to a reference picture list 0, RefPicList0 of a current picture having the current picture block, and a second motion vector that correspond to a reference picture list 1, RefPicList1 of the current picture (claim 11, col 70, lines 15 – 19);
determining positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block, wherein the N forward reference blocks comprising one initial forward reference block and (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks are located in a forward reference picture, the N backward reference blocks comprising one initial backward reference block and (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks are located in a backward reference picture, and N is an integer greater than 1; and wherein a position of the initial forward reference block and a position of the initial backward reference block are pointed by the first motion vector and second motion vector respectively (claim 14, col 70, lines 56 – 62; claim 11, col 70, lines 20 – 28);
determining, from the positions of N forward reference blocks and the N backward reference blocks based on a matching cost minimization and early termination criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block (claim 8, col 69, lines 53 – 61);
wherein for the positions of the n-th forward and the n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a difference between a pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and a pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is calculated; when the difference between the pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and the pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is less than or equal to a matching error threshold, the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks are determined as the position of the forward target reference block of the current picture block and the position of the backward target reference block of the current picture block, wherein n is an integer and 1 ≤ n ≤ N; and wherein when a difference between a pixel value of the initial forward reference block and a pixel value of the initial backward reference block is less than or equal to the matching error threshold, the positions of the initial forward reference block and the initial backward reference block of the current picture block are determined as the positions of the target forward reference block and the target backward reference block of the current picture block (claim 9, col 69, lines 66 – col 70, line 8), and
obtain a predicted value of a pixel value of the current picture block based on a pixel value of the target forward reference block and a pixel value of the target backward reference block (claim 8, col 69, lines 62 – 65);
wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial forward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block is an integer pixel distance; the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial backward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block is an integer pixel distance (claim 11, col 70, lines 20 – 28).
U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 does not explicitly claim:
wherein for positions of a n-th forward and a n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and the N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2≤n≤N.
Li, however, teaches a picture prediction apparatus:
wherein for positions of a n-th forward and a n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and the N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2≤n≤N (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 146 – 150: depicting and describing mirror-based bi-directional motion vector derivation, where positions of candidate forward reference blocks and candidate reverse reference blocks are in a mirror relationship, the positions of the candidate blocks represented by an offset [-dMV for forward reference blocks and +dMV for reverse reference blocks], the offset representing a deviation from the initial forward reference block indicated by the initial forward motion vector and a deviation from the initial reverse reference block indicated by the initial reverse motion vector).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 by adding the teachings of Li in order for positions of a n-th forward and a n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and the N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2≤n≤N. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 and Li claim all of the limitation of claim 7, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 further claims:
wherein that a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship comprises: a direction of the first position offset is opposite to a direction of the second position offset, and an amplitude value of the first position offset is the same as an amplitude value of the second position offset (claim 14, col 70, line 63 – col 71, line 6).
Turning to claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 and Li claim all of the limitation of claim 7, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 further claims:
wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index in a forward prediction direction, and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index in a backward prediction direction (claim 11, col 70, lines 15 – 19); and
the one or more processors further execute the instructions to:
determine, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in the forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, use the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determine the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks (claim 11, col 70, lines 20 – 23; claim 14, col 70, line 56 – 67); and
determine, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in the backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, use the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determine the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks (claim 11, col 70, lines 24 – 28; claim 14, col 70, lines 56 – 61 and col 71, lines 1 – 6).
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 claims a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program code which, when executed by a computer device, causes the computer device to perform the method comprising:
obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block (claim 15, col 71, lines 15 – 16);
wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector that corresponds to a reference picture list 0, RefPicList0 of a current picture having the current picture block, and a second motion vector that correspond to a reference picture list 1, RefPicList1 of the current picture (claim 18, col 71, lines 44 – 48);
determining positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block, wherein the N forward reference blocks comprising one initial forward reference block and (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks are located in a forward reference picture, the N backward reference blocks comprising one initial backward reference block and (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks are located in a backward reference picture, and N is an integer greater than 1; and wherein a position of the initial forward reference block and a position of the initial backward reference block are pointed by the first motion vector and second motion vector respectively (claim 21, col 72, lines 19 – 25; claim 18, col 71, lines 49 – 57);
determining, from the positions of N forward reference blocks and the N backward reference blocks based on a matching cost minimization and early termination criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block (claim 15, col 71, lines 17 – 25);
wherein for the positions of the n-th forward and the n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a difference between a pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and a pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is calculated; when the difference between the pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and the pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is less than or equal to a matching error threshold, the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks are determined as the position of the forward target reference block of the current picture block and the position of the backward target reference block of the current picture block, wherein n is an integer and 1 ≤ n ≤ N; and wherein when a difference between a pixel value of the initial forward reference block and a pixel value of the initial backward reference block is less than or equal to the matching error threshold, the positions of the initial forward reference block and the initial backward reference block of the current picture block are determined as the positions of the target forward reference block and the target backward reference block of the current picture block (claim 16, col 71, lines 31 – 36), and
obtaining a predicted value of a pixel value of the current picture block based on a pixel value of the target forward reference block and a pixel value of the target backward reference block (claim 16, col 71, lines 26 – 29);
wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial forward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block is an integer pixel distance; the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial backward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block is an integer pixel distance (claim 18, col 71, lines 49 – 57).
U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 does not explicitly claim:
wherein for positions of a n-th forward and a n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and the N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2≤n≤N.
Li, however, teaches a picture prediction method:
wherein for positions of a n-th forward and a n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and the N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2≤n≤N (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 146 – 150: depicting and describing mirror-based bi-directional motion vector derivation, where positions of candidate forward reference blocks and candidate reverse reference blocks are in a mirror relationship, the positions of the candidate blocks represented by an offset [-dMV for forward reference blocks and +dMV for reverse reference blocks], the offset representing a deviation from the initial forward reference block indicated by the initial forward motion vector and a deviation from the initial reverse reference block indicated by the initial reverse motion vector).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 by adding the teachings of Li in order for positions of a n-th forward and a n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and the N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset represents an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to the position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2≤n≤N. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding efficiency.
Turning to claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 and Li teach all of the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 further claims:
wherein a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship comprises: a direction of the first position offset is opposite to a direction of the second position offset, and an amplitude value of the first position offset is the same as an amplitude value of the second position offset (claim 21, col 72, lines 26 – 35).
Regarding claim 14, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 and Li teach all of the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 further claims:
wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index in a forward prediction direction, and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index in a backward prediction direction (claim 18, col 71, lines 43 – 48); and
the determining positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block comprises:
determining, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in the forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, using the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determining the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks (claim 18, col 71, lines 49 – 52; claim 21, lines 72, lines 26 – 30); and
determining, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in the backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, using the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determining the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks (claim 18, col 71, lines 53 – 57; claim 21, lines 72, lines 31 – 35).
Regarding claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 and Li teach all of the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 further claims:
wherein the one of: method is used to encode the current picture block; and the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block comprises: obtaining the initial motion information from a candidate motion information list of the current picture block; or the method is used to decode the current picture block; and before the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block, the method further comprises: obtaining indication information from a bitstream of the current picture block, wherein the indication information is used to indicate the initial motion information of the current picture block (claim 19, col 71, lines 58 – 66; claim 20, col 72, lines 1 – 8).
Turning to claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 and Li teach all of the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 12, 069, 294 further claims:
wherein a first position offset is represented by (delta0x, delta0y) and the second position offset is represented by (delta1x, delta1y), wherein delta0x = - delta1x, and delta0y = - delta1y (claim 21, col 72, lines 26 – 35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2018/0098087) (hereinafter Li) in view of Lu et al. (US 2009/0167775) (hereinafter Lu).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 11, Li teaches a picture prediction method, a picture prediction apparatus comprising a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions and one or more processors in communication with the non-transitory memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to perform the method (e.g. Fig. 1, element 112, and pars. 102 – 106: depicting and describing a memory storage comprising instructions and one or more processors in communication with the memory storage, the one or more processors configured to execute the instructions stored on the memory), and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program code which, when executed by a computer device, causes the computer device to perform the method (e.g. par. 77: describing a computer-readable medium storing program code, the program code comprising instructions performed by a processor), the method comprising:
obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block (e.g. pars. 147 – 150: describing that the system obtains an initial reverse predicted motion vector and forward prediction motion vector of the current picture block, wherein the initial reverse prediction motion vector and the forward prediction motion vector is the equivalent of initial motion information);
wherein the initial motion information and a position of the current comprises a first motion vector that corresponds to a reference picture list 0, RefPicList0, of a current picture having the current picture block and a section motion vector that correspond to a reference picture list 1, RefPicList1, of the current picture (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 146 – 150: depicting and describing that the initial motion information includes a forward predicted motion vector [PMV1] and a forward reference picture [L1] corresponding to a forward reference picture index corresponding to a forward list [RefPicList1], and a reverse predicted motion vector [PMV0] and a reverse reference picture [L0] corresponding to a reverse reference picture index corresponding to a reverse list [RefPicList0]);
determining positions of N forward reference blocks and positions of N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block, wherein the N forward reference blocks comprising one initial forward reference block and (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks are located in a forward reference picture, the N backward reference blocks comprising one initial backward reference block and (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks are located in a backward reference picture, and N is an integer greater than 1, and wherein a position of the initial forward reference block and a position of the initial backward reference block are pointed by the first motion vector and second motion vector respectively (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 147 – 150: depicting and describing that the system determines a plurality of forward reference blocks starting with the predicted block [element 746] indicated by the forward prediction motion vector [reference blocks found within search window 742 in the L1 reference picture, the L1 reference picture being the forward reference picture] and a plurality of backward reference blocks starting with the predicted block [element 744] indicated by the reverse prediction motion vector [reference blocks found within search window 740 in the L0 reference picture, the L0 reference picture being the backward reference picture], wherein the forward prediction motion vector is the equivalent of the first motion vector and the reverse motion vector is the equivalent of the second motion vector, and wherein all blocks within each of the forward and reverse search windows reasonably suggest that the number of backward reference blocks and forward reference blocks is greater than 1);
determining, from the positions of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, based on a matching cost criterion, positions of a target forward reference block and a target backward reference block of the current picture block, wherein for positions of n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship, the first position offset representing an offset of the position of the n-th forward reference block relative to a position of the initial forward reference block, and the second position offset representing an offset of the position of the n-th backward reference block relative to a position of the initial backward reference block, wherein n is an integer and 2 ≤ n ≤ N (e.g. Fig. 7, and pars. 147 – 150: depicting and describing that the system determines a reverse best matching block 714 and a forward best matching block 716 from the plurality of reverse reference blocks within search window 740 and the plurality of forward reference blocks within search window 742 based on the sum of absolute difference, wherein the offset [element 752] of each of the n-th forward reference block in the forward reference search window 742 and the offset [element 750] of each of the n-th reverse reference blocks in the reverse search window 740 have a mirror relationship, wherein the sum of absolute difference is the equivalent of the matching criterion);
wherein for positions of the n-the forward and the n-th backward reference blocks of the N forward and N backward reference blocks, a difference between a pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and a pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is calculated (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 147 – 150: describing that for each of the plurality of forward reference blocks and each of the plurality of reverse reference blocks, the system calculates a Sum of Absolute Difference (SAD) value, wherein a SAD value is the equivalent of a difference between a pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and a pixel value of the n-th backward reference block); and
obtaining a predicted value of a pixel value of the current picture block based on a pixel value of the target forward reference block and a pixel value of the target backward reference block (e.g. par. 147: describing that determined reverse best matching block and forward best matching block are used to predict values of the current picture block, wherein the reverse best matching block is the equivalent of the target backward reference block, and the forward best matching block is the equivalent of the target forward reference block),
wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial forward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate forward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block is an integer pixel distance, the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise a position of one initial backward reference block and positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks, and an offset of a position of each candidate backward reference block relative to the position of the initial forward reference block is an integer pixel distance (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 146 – 150: depicting and describing that the positions of the plurality of the forward reference blocks includes a position of an initial forward prediction block [element 746] and positions of candidate forward reference blocks, the positions of each candidate forward reference block relative to the initial forward prediction block is an integer pixel distance, and the positions of the plurality of the reverse reference blocks includes a position of an initial reverse prediction block [element 744] and positions of candidate reverse reference blocks, the positions of each candidate reverse reference block relative to the initial reverse prediction block is an integer pixel distance)
Li further teaches:
wherein the N forward reference blocks includes an initial forward reference block and wherein the N backward reference blocks include an initial backward reference block (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 147 – 150: depicting and describing that reference blocks within the forward reference search window and the backward reference search window include an initial forward prediction reference [reference block pointed to by PMV0] and an initial backward prediction reference [reference block pointed to by PMV1]).
Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein positions of the target forward reference block and the target backward reference block of the current picture block is further determined based on early termination criterion, wherein when the difference between the pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and the pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is less than or equal to a matching error threshold, the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks are determined as positions of the forward target reference block of the current picture block and the position of the backward target reference block of the current picture block, wherein n is an integer and 1 ≤ n ≤ N, and wherein when a difference between a pixel value of the initial forward reference block and a pixel value of the initial backward reference block is less than or equal to the matching error threshold, the positions of the initial forward reference block and the initial backward reference block of the current picture block are determined as the positions of the target forward reference block and the target backward reference block of the current picture block.
Lu, however, teaches picture prediction method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the instructions:
wherein positions of the target forward reference block and the target backward reference block of the current picture block is further determined based on early termination criterion, wherein when the difference between the pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and the pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is less than or equal to a matching error threshold, the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks are determined as positions of the forward target reference block of the current picture block and the position of the backward target reference block of the current picture block, wherein n is an integer and 1 ≤ n ≤ N, and wherein when a difference between a pixel value of the initial forward reference block and a pixel value of the initial backward reference block is less than or equal to the matching error threshold, the positions of the initial forward reference block and the initial backward reference block of the current picture block are determined as the positions of the target forward reference block and the target backward reference block of the current picture block (e.g. Fig. 3, element 350, and pars. 73: depicting and describing that the system performs motion estimation using bidirectional motion estimation refinement, the motion estimation terminating early when a distortion error between the current block and the reference block in the reference frame is below a distortion error threshold value, wherein the bidirectional motion estimation refinement includes a motion vector in a forward reference frame and a motion vector in a backwards reference frame, the forward motion vector and the backwards motion vector refined by comparing the pixel values of various positions of reference blocks in the reference fames within a search window with the pixel values of the current block to obtain a deviation error value, the forward and backward motion vectors selected as the forward and backward motion vectors of the current block based on an error matching criterion [see, e.g. pars. 6 – 8: describing that bi-directional prediction is performed by determining a forward motion vector and a backward motion vector pointing to a reference block in a forward reference frame and a reference block in a backward reference frame, the system selecting the forward motion vector and the backward motion vector by comparing the pixel values of various positions of reference blocks in the reference fames within a search window with the pixel values of the current block to obtain a deviation error value, the forward and backward motion vectors selected as the forward and backward motion vectors of the current block based on an error matching criterion], wherein terminating motion estimation early when the calculated deviation error is below a distortion error threshold, the motion estimation including bidirectional motion estimation refinement reasonably suggests when the difference between the pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and the pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is less than or equal to a matching error threshold, the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks are determined as positions of the forward target reference block of the current picture block and the position of the backward target reference block of the current picture block, wherein n is an integer and 1 ≤ n ≤ N).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Li by adding the teachings of Lu in order for positions of the target forward reference block and the target backward reference block of the current picture block to further determined based on early termination criterion, wherein when the difference between the pixel value of the n-th forward reference block and the pixel value of the n-th backward reference block is less than or equal to a matching error threshold, the positions of the n-th forward and n-th backward reference blocks are determined as positions of the forward target reference block of the current picture block and the position of the backward target reference block of the current picture block, wherein n is an integer and 1 ≤ n ≤ N. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such a modification because the modification allows for a unified motion estimation hardware device that covers special constraints of various video standards (Lu, e.g. par. 9: describing a desire to provide a unified motion estimation hardware device that covers special constraints of various video standards).
Turning to claims 2, 8, and 12, Li and Lu teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 7, and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Li further teaches:
wherein a first position offset and a second position offset are in a mirror relationship comprises: a direction of the first position offset is opposite to a direction of the second position offset, and an amplitude value of the first position offset is the same as an amplitude value of the second position offset (e.g. Fig. 7, and pars. 146 – 150: depicting and describing that the forward reference offset [element 752] and the reverse reference offset [element 750] are in opposite directions of each other [+dMV indicating that the value of dMV is added, while –dMV indicating that the value of dMV is subtracted], the forward reference offset and the reverse reference offsets have the same amplitude [the same value dMV is either added or subtracted, reasonably suggesting that the forward reference offset and the reverse reference offset have the same amplitude]).
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 13, Li and Lu teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 7, and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Li further teaches:
obtaining updated motion information of the current picture block, wherein the updated motion information comprises an updated forward motion vector and an updated backward motion vector, the updated forward motion vector points to the position of the target forward reference block, and the updated backward motion vector points to the position of the target backward reference block (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 146 – 150: depicting and describing that the system obtains a reverse motion vector [MV0 720] which points to the position of the reverse best matching block [714] and obtains a forward motion vector [MV1 722] which points to the position of the forward best matching block, wherein the reverse best matching block is the equivalent of the target backward reference block and the forward best matching block is the equivalent of the target forward reference block).
Turning to claims 4, 10, and 14, Li and Lu teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 7, and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Li further teaches:
wherein the initial motion information comprises a first motion vector and a first reference picture index in a forward prediction direction, and a second motion vector and a second reference picture index in a backward prediction direction (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 146 – 150: depicting and describing that the initial motion information includes a forward predicted motion vector [PMV1] and a forward reference picture [L1] corresponding to a forward reference picture index corresponding to a forward list [RefPicList1], and a reverse predicted motion vector [PMV0] and a reverse reference picture [L0] corresponding to a reverse reference picture index corresponding to a reverse list [RefPicList0]); and
wherein the determining positions of N forward reference blocks and N backward reference blocks based on the initial motion information and a position of the current picture block comprises:
determining, based on the first motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial forward reference block of the current picture block in a forward reference picture corresponding to the first reference picture index, using the position of the initial forward reference block as a first search start point, and determining the positions of the (N-1) candidate forward reference blocks in the forward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N forward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial forward reference block and the positions of the (N-I) candidate forward reference blocks (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 146 – 150: depicting and describing that positions of the plurality of forward reference blocks are determined by a position of the initial forward predicted block [element 746] determined by the forward predicted motion vector [PMV1] in the forward reference picture [L1] the initial forward predicted block used as a search start point, and determining the positions candidate forward reference blocks based on the position of the initial forward prediction block); and Page 4 of 12Attorney Docket No. 85673394US14
determining, based on the second motion vector and the position of the current picture block, the position of the initial backward reference block of the current picture block in a backward reference picture corresponding to the second reference picture index, using the position of the initial backward reference block as a second search start point, and determining the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks in the backward reference picture, wherein the positions of the N backward reference blocks comprise the position of the initial backward reference block and the positions of the (N-1) candidate backward reference blocks (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 146 – 150: depicting and describing that positions of the plurality of reverse reference blocks are determined by a position of the initial reverse predicted block [element 744] determined by the reverse predicted motion vector [PMV0] in the reverse reference picture [L0] the initial reverse predicted block used as a search start point, and determining the positions candidate reverse reference blocks based on the position of the initial reverse prediction block).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Li and Lu teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Li further teaches:
wherein one of: the method is used to encode the current picture block; and the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block comprises: obtaining the initial motion information from a candidate motion information list of the current picture block; or the method is used for decoding the current picture block; and before the obtaining initial motion information of a current picture block, the method further comprises: obtaining indication information from a bitstream of the current picture block, wherein the indication information indicates the initial motion information of the current picture block (e.g. par. 151: describing that the system uses mirror based bi-directional motion vector derivation to decode the current picture block).
Turning to claims 6 and 16, Li and Lu teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Li further teaches:
wherein the first position offset is represented by (delta0x, delta0y) and the second position offset is represented by (delta1x, delta1y), wherein delta0x = - delta1x, and delta0y = - delta1y (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 146 – 150: depicting and describing that the forward position offset and the reverse position offset indicate mirror positions within the forward reference picture [element 706] and the reverse reference picture [element 704], reasonably suggesting that the position of the forward reference position offset and the position of the reverse reference position offset are at the same position in opposite directions).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHANIKA M. BRUMFIELD
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/SHANIKA M BRUMFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2487
/Dave Czekaj/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2487