CTNF 18/783,140 CTNF 95629 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 6, 8, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wirola (US 20130195314) in view of Vigier (US 20160148270) . Regarding claim 1: Wirola teaches : a computer implemented method comprising, performing by a mobile device (¶¶ [0007] – [0009]) : obtaining a sequence of images of an environment (¶ [0041] and ¶ [0046] - ¶ [0047] disclose capturing a video stream or a stream of images while a user walks indoors); generating a map of the environment using the sequence of images, the map including one or more walls and one or more signal sources (¶ [0047], ¶ [0051], ¶ [0053], ¶ [0043], ¶ [0075], and ¶ [0077] disclose extracting a 2D/3D layout from image/video stream, and combining extended fingerprints to form mapping databases, the extended fingerprints include physical constrains such as walls and WLAN AP positions/antennas) ; While Wirola teaches sensing wireless signal information from access points, including source identification and signal strength in ¶ [0008] and ¶ [0078]. Wirola does not specifically use the term “proximity messages”. However, in the same field of endeavor, Vigier expressly teach: receiving one or more proximity messages from the one or more signal sources (¶ 0034] - ¶ [0036], ¶ [0063] – ¶ [0064], and ¶ [0073] teach receiving wireless signal information from mapped signal sources and receiving beacon messages from beacon devices including identification and payload) ; and determining a position for the mobile device using the map of the environment and the one or more proximity messages (Wirola ¶ [0073], ¶ [0079, and ¶ [0081] – [0082] disclose determining position using the physically constrained radiomap and sensed wireless signal information. Vigier in ¶ [0064], ¶ [0067] – ¶ [0068] reinforces that the received beacon messages provide proximity/range information usable for position determination) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wirola’s indoor radiomap positioning to incorporate the teachings of Vigier by including: the beacon message proximity technique because Wirola recognizes the use of wireless access points, wireless signal strength, RF fingerprint information and short range wireless communication to constrain indoor positioning, while Vigier teaches a known short range beacon message implementation for determining proximity range to RF signal source. The combination merely applied Vigier’s known BLE/NFC beacon message mechanism to Wirola’s mapped signal to source to improve indoor positioning determination using signal to source identifiers, payloads, and RSSI based proximity estimates, yielding the predictable result of determining mobile device location using both the image generated map and proximity messages. Regarding claim 6: Wirola further teaches: wherein the sequence of images is obtained by: capturing the sequence of images by a camera of the mobile device (¶ [0047], ¶ [0051], ¶ [0058] disclose a camera capturing image stream). Regarding claims 8 and 13: the claims limitations are similar to those of claims 1 and 6; therefore, rejected in the same manner as a applied above. Regarding claims 15 and 20: the claims limitations are similar to those of claims 1 and 6; therefore, rejected in the same manner as a applied above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wirola (US 20130195314) in view of Vigier (US 20160148270) and Maity (US 20190114777) . Regarding claim 4: Wirola further teaches: wherein generating the map of the environment comprises: identifying features in each image of the sequence of images (¶¶ [0046], [0047], and [0049] disclose extracting visual features from images captured by a camera while a user walks indoors) ; determining a corresponding location for each image of the sequence of images (¶ [0049] and ¶ [0051] disclose that t the representation may comprise information 602 that identifies the direction from, and possibly even the actual position of, the apparatus when the image information was captured) ; determining two or more images in the sequence of images that include a threshold number of features that are present in each of the two or more images (¶ [0051] discloses combining individual extended fingerprints based on common elements, where common elements appearing in multiple extended fingerprints help reassemble the extended fingerprints and associate them in the mapping database); Wirola does not specifically teach a threshold number of common feature present in each of the two or more images; updating the corresponding location of each of the two or more images. However, Maity teaches thresholded common feature (Maity ¶ [0011] teaches identifying co-visible keyframes from the plurality of keyframes, wherein the co-visible keyframes correspond to keyframes having more than 100 common visible 3D structure points; ¶ [0013] teaches loop detection by selecting a threshold for keyframes matching, retaining keyframes having matching scores above the selected threshold). updating the corresponding location of each of the two or more images (Maity ¶ [0060] discloses estimating a trajectory of estimated poses by obtaining incremental poses based on the validated 3D structure constituting 3D structure points; ¶ [0073] teaches that Incremental pose estimations may accumulate errors and create a drift in the estimated trajectory. Loop closure rectifies such drift by matching structural properties of frames between non-neighboring keyframes (that do not share any point correspondences); ¶ [0075] discloses updating the multiple estimated poses of the monocular camera for the current keyframe and neighboring keyframes thereof using the calculated similarity transformation Tsim. A set of the 3D structure points Mloop visible to the matched keyframe Kloop and neighbors thereof are selected and the selected set is then projected to the current keyframe and neighbors thereof) ; and generating the map of the environment (Wirola ¶ [0053] teaches the extended fingerprints may be combined locally in the apparatus alone, or in combination with remotely located processing resources such as mapping servers, to create representative 2-D or 3-D feature maps of a particular location (e.g., building maps including floor/room/indoor area specificity); Maity ¶ [0010] teaches generating an initial 3D structure comprising a set of 3D structure points by triangulation using the estimated pose, and ¶ [0011] teaches performing local bundle adjustment on the co-visible keyframes and the visible 3D structure points for optimizing the estimated poses of the monocular camera; and estimating the trajectory based on the optimized poses of the monocular camera). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wirola’s indoor radiomap positioning to with Maity’s visual SLAM keyframe matching and loop closure update technique. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Maity’s thresholded keyframe matching and post update technique to Wirola’s map generation to reduce drift, improve alignment of map portions generated from multiple image views, and more accurately generate a consistent indoor map, with the predictable result of generating the map using updated keyframe locations based on common visual features. Regarding claims 11 and 18: the claims limitations are similar to those of claim 4; therefore, rejected in the same manner as a applied above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wirola (US 20130195314) in view of Vigier (US 20160148270) and Sahu (US 20230123242) . Regarding claim 7: Wirola in view of Vigier does not specifically teach : receiving the sequence of images from a peripheral device that is communicably coupled with the mobile device. However, in a related field, Sahu teaches : receiving the sequence of images from a peripheral device that is communicably coupled with the mobile device (FIGS 1-3, and ¶ [0050] and ¶ [0058] and par a[0062] disclose computing device 102 may include a control unit 310 coupled to a transceiver 322 for transmitting and/or receiving wireless communications (e.g., with base station 104, access point 106, and/or a computing device 140 via communication links 112a, 114a, 115, as described), one or more sensors 320 (e.g., camera 102a), and the system components and resources 224 and/or custom circuitry 222 may also include circuitry to interface with peripheral devices, such as cameras, electronic displays, wireless communication devices, external memory chips, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wirola’s indoor radiomap positioning system with Sahu’s peripheral camera in order to achieve advanced interconnects, such as high-performance networks-on chip (NoCs), and determine location of an object of interest in the environment in response to a trigger event for presenting the location of the object of interest. Regarding claim 14: the claim limitations are similar to those of claim 7; therefore, rejected in the same manner as a applied above . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-3, 5, 9-10, 12, 16-17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WASSIM MAHROUKA whose telephone number is (571)272-2945. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 8:00-5:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Stephen Koziol can be reached at (408) 918-7630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WASSIM MAHROUKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 Application/Control Number: 18/783,140 Page 2 Art Unit: 2665 Application/Control Number: 18/783,140 Page 3 Art Unit: 2665 Application/Control Number: 18/783,140 Page 4 Art Unit: 2665 Application/Control Number: 18/783,140 Page 5 Art Unit: 2665 Application/Control Number: 18/783,140 Page 6 Art Unit: 2665 Application/Control Number: 18/783,140 Page 7 Art Unit: 2665 Application/Control Number: 18/783,140 Page 8 Art Unit: 2665 Application/Control Number: 18/783,140 Page 9 Art Unit: 2665 Application/Control Number: 18/783,140 Page 10 Art Unit: 2665