DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2010115978A (disclosed by applicant).
JP 2010115978A discloses a tension-leg floating offshore platform, comprising: a floating body assembly (1) and a detachable temporary floating body (20); wherein during a process of the floating body assembly being towed to an operating sea area, the temporary floating body is movably installed on the floating body assembly; after the floating body assembly is moored to the operating sea area, the temporary floating body is separated from the floating body assembly.
(JP2010115978A) discloses a supported buoyant hull for a tension-moored buoyant hull and a traction method and installation method of the tension-moored buoyant hull using the buoyant hull, respectively discloses a tension leg floating offshore platform, and specifically discloses (see specification paragraphs 35, 47-56, Figures 1-9) a taut captive float 1 (equivalent to a floating body assembly) and a removable auxiliary float 20 (equivalent to a temporary float); The auxiliary float 20 is movably mounted on the taut-tethered float 1 during the towing of the taut-tethered float 1 into the operational sea; After the taut-tethered float 1 is moored to the operational sea, the auxiliary float 20 is separated from the taut-tethered float 1.
JP 2010115978A also discloses (see paragraphs 60-72 of the specification, Figures 6-9) a ballast adjustment system (equivalent to ballast water system) fixedly connected to the tension tethered float 1; when the taut tethered float 1 is towed to operational sea and unmoored, the ballast water system increases the load carrying of the float assembly; the ballast adjustment system gradually reduces the laden weight of the taut-tethered float 1 as the taut-tethered float 1 is moored to the operational sea. While it is conventional in the art for ballast water systems to gradually adjust the load bearing of the float assembly in preset increments.
JP 2010115978A also discloses (see paragraphs 67-73, Figures 6-9) that the auxiliary float 20 remains movably mounted on the tension tethered float 1 during the course of the ballast adjustment system increasing the load carrying of the tension tethered float 1; after the ballast adjustment system reduces the load bearing of the tension captive float 1, the auxiliary float 20 is separated from the tension captive float 1. While the process setting of ballast water system weight gain and weight loss sets the first and second preset values as is conventional in the art.
JP 2010115978A also discloses (see specification paragraphs 44-45, Figures 6-9): a mooring assembly consisting of taut tethering cables (tendons) 13, etc.; a mooring assembly is provided on the taut-tethered float 1, the mooring assembly being connectable with a bottom member 14 (equivalent to an anchor) submerged on the sea floor to moor the taut-tethered float 1 to the operational sea after the taut-tethered float 1 has been towed to the operational sea.
JP 2010115978A also discloses (see paragraphs 44-45, Figures 6-9) that when the taut-tethered float 1 is moored to the operational sea, at least a portion of the taut-tethered float 1 is located on the sea surface of the operational sea.
Claims 6-8 are also disclosed by JP 2010115978A (see paragraphs 47-50, Figure 3): a water-free buoyant body 12b (equivalent to a fixed buoyant body) and three (disclosing a plurality of) side columns 12c (equivalent to); the pillar 12c is left as a hollow structure (see paragraph 39 of the specification). The auxiliary float 20 is sleeved on the column 12c, the auxiliary float 20 being movable relative to the column 12c. The float assembly further comprises a crossbeam (12b), the cross beam (12b) is exposed to the outer wall of the columns (12c). and the end of the cross-beam id configured to install the mooring assembly (See Fig. 5).
The examiner further considers the method of claims 9-15 to be embodied in the use and operation of JP2010115978A.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 6503023 and US 7033115 each disclose tension leg platforms comprising temporary buoyancy members, ballast systems and cross beams for stabilizing the structures during towing and installation.
/ANTHONY D WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615