January 16, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binner (U.S. Patent No. 11,571,998 B2) in view of Schmale (U.S. Patent No. 6,481,801 B1).
Binner teaches the structure substantially as claimed including a vehicle seat, comprising: a pad main body 2 configuring part of a pad that supports an occupant with a seating surface; slide pad 6 that configures another part of the pad, and that approaches or moves away from the pad main body by sliding in a direction oriented along the seating surface; a slide cover that covers the slide pad; a cover main body that has breathable properties and that covers the pad main body (see Claim 5 where it reads “….an air-permeable tensioned layer or a textile layer of an upholstery covering of the seat part element.”); and an air moving machine 13 that moves air but it is not clear if main pad has a flow path that is formed at an opposite side of the pad main body from the seating surface or if the flow path reaches as far as an opposing face of the pad main body; a main body groove portion that is in communication with the flow path and that reaches as far as the seating surface is formed in the opposing face and the main body groove portion is formed narrower at a location on a seating surface side than at a location on a flow path side (see Fig. 4)
However, Schmale teaches the concept of a ventilated vehicle seat that includes a main pad 1 has a flow path 16 that is formed at an opposite side of the pad main body from a seating surface 2; an air moving machine that moves air inside the flow path; wherein the flow path reaching as far as an opposing face of the pad main body; a main body groove portion 14 that is in communication with the flow path 16 and that reaches as far as the seating surface is formed in the opposing face and the main body groove portion is formed narrower at a location 6 on a seating surface side than at a location on a flow path side (see Fig. 4); wherein the main body groove portion is configured by a single fat groove at a location on the flow path side and is configured by a plurality of fine grooves at a location on the seating surface side, as defined in claim 2. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle seat, as taught by Binner, to include a main pad has a flow path that is formed at an opposite side of the pad main body from a seating surface; an air moving machine that moves air inside the flow path; wherein the flow path reaching as far as an opposing face of the pad main body; a main body groove portion that is in communication with the flow path and that reaches as far as the seating surface is formed in the opposing face and the main body groove portion is formed narrower at a location 6 on a seating surface side than at a location on a flow path side, as taught by Schmale, since such an arrangement would improve and optimize the air circulation inside the seat padding.
As for Claim 6, Binner teaches that the pad is a seat cushion pad provided at a seat cushion for supporting buttocks and thighs of a seated occupant; and the slide pad is disposed at a seat front side with respect to the pad main body, and slides along a seat front-rear direction with respect to the pad main body.
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binner (U.S. Patent No. 11,571,998 B2) in view of Yoshinori et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,179,706 B1).
Binner teaches the structure substantially as claimed including a vehicle seat, comprising: a pad main body 2 configuring part of a pad that supports an occupant with a seating surface; slide pad 6 that configures another part of the pad, and that approaches or moves away from the pad main body by sliding in a direction oriented along the seating surface; a slide cover that covers the slide pad; a cover main body that has breathable properties and that covers the pad main body (see Claim 5 where it reads “….an air-permeable tensioned layer or a textile layer of an upholstery covering of the seat part element.”); and an air moving machine 13 that moves air but it is not clear if main pad has a flow path that is formed at an opposite side of the pad main body from the seating surface or if the flow path reaches as far as an opposing face of the pad main body; a main body groove portion that is in communication with the flow path and that reaches as far as the seating surface is formed in the opposing face and the main body groove portion is formed narrower at a location on a seating surface side than at a location on a flow path side (see Fig. 4)
However, Yoshinori et al. teach the concept of a ventilated vehicle seat that includes a main pad 1 has a flow path 110 that is formed at an opposite side of the pad main body from a seating surface; an air moving machine 5 that moves air inside the flow path; wherein the flow path reaching as far as an opposing face of the pad main body; a main body groove portion 120 that is in communication with the flow path 110 and that reaches as far as the seating surface is formed in the opposing face and the main body groove portion is formed narrower at a location 130 on a seating surface side than at a location on a flow path side (see Figures 12-13 above); wherein the main body groove portion is configured by a single fat groove at a location on the flow path side and is configured by a plurality of fine grooves at a location on the seating surface side, as defined in claim 2. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle seat, as taught by Binner, to include a main pad has a flow path that is formed at an opposite side of the pad main body from a seating surface; an air moving machine that moves air inside the flow path; wherein the flow path reaching as far as an opposing face of the pad main body; a main body groove portion that is in communication with the flow path and that reaches as far as the seating surface is formed in the opposing face and the main body groove portion is formed narrower at a location 6 on a seating surface side than at a location on a flow path side, as taught by Yoshinori et al., since such an arrangement would improve and optimize the air circulation inside the seat padding.
As for Claim 6, Binner teaches that the pad is a seat cushion pad provided at a seat cushion for supporting buttocks and thighs of a seated occupant; and the slide pad is disposed at a seat front side with respect to the pad main body, and slides along a seat front-rear direction with respect to the pad main body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because I teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636