DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 07/24/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
-
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yukai GAO et al. (US 2025/0106865 A1), hereinafter GAO, in view of Wei Ling et al. (US 2025/0071765 A1), hereinafter Ling.
For claim 1, GAO teaches a user equipment (UE) (GAO, Fig. 6), comprising:
a transceiver (GAO, Fig. 6 item 640.) configured to:
receive first information related to a plurality of frequency subbands (GAO, Fig. 2 step 2001 and paragraph 143. See also paragraph 51, 58.); and
receive a first downlink control information (DCI) comprising a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and a second DCI comprising a second TCI state (GAO, Fig. 2 steps 2005, 2010 and paragraphs 144-145.); and
a processor (GAO, Fig. 6 item 610.) operably coupled with the transceiver, the processor configured to:
determine, based on the first information, a first association between the plurality of frequency subbands and the at least one first TCI state (GAO, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 92, 113.);
for a first frequency subband from the plurality of frequency subbands, determine a first TCI state based on the first association (GAO, Fig. 2 steps 2005, 2010 and paragraphs 144-145. See also paragraph 189.); and
identify, based on the determined first TCI state, a spatial domain filter for transmitting or receiving UE-dedicated channels or signals for the first frequency subband (GAO, Fig. 2 and paragraph191.),
wherein the at least one first TCI state is indicated by a TCI codepoint of a TCI field or by separate TCI fields (GAO, Fig. 2 steps 2005, 2010 and paragraphs 144-145. See also paragraph 169.).
Ling further teaches receive, in a first part of a downlink control information (DCI), at least one first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and second information related to a second part of the DCI (Ling, Fig. 5 and paragraphs 96-99.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in GAO with receive, in a first part of a downlink control information (DCI), at least one first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and second information related to a second part of the DCI taught in Ling. Because both references teach receiving DCI which comprising TCI state, Ling explicitly teaches the DCI can comprise two TCI states.
For claim 2, GAO and Ling further teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the first information comprises at least one of: a number of the plurality of frequency subbands; time or frequency domain resources for each of the plurality of frequency subbands; a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) for each of the plurality of frequency subbands; at least one indicators indicating frequency domain locations of the plurality of frequency subbands; and at least one indexes indicating each of the plurality of frequency subbands (GAO, Fig. 2 step 2001 and paragraphs 121, 143.).
For claim 3, GAO and Ling further teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the second information includes at least one of: a one-bit indicator indicating a presence or absence of the second part; a payload size of the second part; a number of at least one second TCI states in the second part; information related to time or frequency domain resources of the second part (GAO, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 97, 101, 113.); and a minimum time offset.
For claim 4, instant claim is proviso upon limitation “the minimum time offset” not required by the claim 3; therefore, the limitation of instant claim does not come into force.
For claim 5, GAO and Ling further teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive the first and second parts of the DCI in a slot (Ling, Figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 96-99.).
For claim 6, GAO and Ling further teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to monitor the first and second parts of the DCI:
in same or separate physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates; in same or separate search space sets; or in same or separate control resource sets (CORESETs) (GAO, paragraphs 62, 102, 123).
For claim 7, GAO and Ling further teach the UE of claim 1, wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive, in the second part of the DCI, at least one second TCI state; and the processor is further configured to: determine, based on the first information, a second association between the plurality of frequency subbands and the at least one second TCI state; for a second frequency subband from the plurality of frequency subbands, determine a second TCI state based on the second association; and identify, based on the determined second TCI state, a spatial domain filter for transmitting or receiving UE-dedicated channels or signals for the second frequency subband (GAO, Fig. 2and paragraphs 142-166.).
For claim 8, GAO teaches a base station (BS) (GAO, Fig. 6), comprising:
a transceiver (GAO, Fig. 6 item 640.) configured to:
transmit first information related to a plurality of frequency subbands (GAO, Fig. 2 step 2001 and paragraph 143. See also paragraph 51, 58.); and
transmit a first downlink control information (DCI) comprising a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and a second DCI comprising a second TCI state (GAO, Fig. 2 steps 2005, 2010 and paragraphs 144-145.); and
a processor (GAO, Fig. 6 item 610.) operably coupled with the transceiver, the processor configured to:
determine, based on the first information, a first association between the plurality of frequency subbands and the at least one first TCI state (GAO, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 92, 113.);
for a first frequency subband from the plurality of frequency subbands, determine a first TCI state based on the first association (GAO, Fig. 2 steps 2005, 2010 and paragraphs 144-145. See also paragraph 189.); and
identify, based on the determined first TCI state, a spatial domain filter for transmitting or receiving UE-dedicated channels or signals for the first frequency subband (GAO, Fig. 2 and paragraph191.),
wherein the at least one first TCI state is indicated by a TCI codepoint of a TCI field or by separate TCI fields (GAO, Fig. 2 steps 2005, 2010 and paragraphs 144-145. See also paragraph 169.).
Ling further teaches transmit, in a first part of a downlink control information (DCI), at least one first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and second information related to a second part of the DCI (Ling, Fig. 5 and paragraphs 96-99.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in GAO with transmit, in a first part of a downlink control information (DCI), at least one first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and second information related to a second part of the DCI taught in Ling. Because both references teach receiving DCI which comprising TCI state, Ling explicitly teaches the DCI can comprise two TCI states.
For claim 9, GAO and Ling further teach the BS of claim 8, wherein the first information comprises at least one of: a number of the plurality of frequency subbands; time or frequency domain resources for each of the plurality of frequency subbands; a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) for each of the plurality of frequency subbands; at least one indicators indicating frequency domain locations of the plurality of frequency subbands; and at least one indexes indicating each of the plurality of frequency subbands (GAO, Fig. 2 step 2001 and paragraphs 121, 143.).
For claim 10, GAO and Ling further teach the BS of claim 8, wherein the second information includes at least one of: a one-bit indicator indicating a presence or absence of the second part; a payload size of the second part; a number of at least one second TCI states in the second part; information related to time or frequency domain resources of the second part (GAO, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 97, 101, 113.); and a minimum time offset.
For claim 11, instant claim is proviso upon limitation “the minimum time offset” not required by the claim 10; therefore, the limitation of instant claim does not come into force.
For claim 12, GAO and Ling further teach the BS of claim 8, wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the first and second parts of the DCI in a slot (Ling, Figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 96-99.).
For claim 13, GAO and Ling further teach the BS of claim 8, wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the first and second parts of the DCI:
in same or separate physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates; in same or separate search space sets; or in same or separate control resource sets (CORESETs) (GAO, paragraphs 62, 102, 123).
For claim 14, GAO and Ling further teach the BS of claim 8, wherein:
the transceiver is further configured to receive, in the second part of the DCI, at least one second TCI state; and the processor is further configured to: determine, based on the first information, a second association between the plurality of frequency subbands and the at least one second TCI state; for a second frequency subband from the plurality of frequency subbands, determine a second TCI state based on the second association; and identify, based on the determined second TCI state, a spatial domain filter for transmitting or receiving UE-dedicated channels or signals for the second frequency subband (GAO, Fig. 2and paragraphs 142-166.).
For claim 15, GAO teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving first information related to a plurality of frequency subbands (GAO, Fig. 2 step 2001 and paragraph 143. See also paragraph 51, 58.); and
receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) comprising a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and a second DCI comprising a second TCI state (GAO, Fig. 2 steps 2005, 2010 and paragraphs 144-145.); and
a processor (GAO, Fig. 6 item 610.) operably coupled with the transceiver, the processor configured to:
determining, based on the first information, a first association between the plurality of frequency subbands and the at least one first TCI state (GAO, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 92, 113.);
for a first frequency subband from the plurality of frequency subbands, determining a first TCI state based on the first association (GAO, Fig. 2 steps 2005, 2010 and paragraphs 144-145. See also paragraph 189.); and
identifying, based on the determined first TCI state, a spatial domain filter for transmitting or receiving UE-dedicated channels or signals for the first frequency subband (GAO, Fig. 2 and paragraph191.),
wherein the at least one first TCI state is indicated by a TCI codepoint of a TCI field or by separate TCI fields (GAO, Fig. 2 steps 2005, 2010 and paragraphs 144-145. See also paragraph 169.).
Ling further teaches receiving, in a first part of a downlink control information (DCI), at least one first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and second information related to a second part of the DCI (Ling, Fig. 5 and paragraphs 96-99.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in GAO with receiving, in a first part of a downlink control information (DCI), at least one first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and second information related to a second part of the DCI taught in Ling. Because both references teach receiving DCI which comprising TCI state, Ling explicitly teaches the DCI can comprise two TCI states.
For claim 16, GAO and Ling further teach the method of claim 15, wherein the first information comprises at least one of:
a number of the plurality of frequency subbands; time or frequency domain resources for each of the plurality of frequency subbands; a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) for each of the plurality of frequency subbands; at least one indicators indicating frequency domain locations of the plurality of frequency subbands; and at least one indexes indicating each of the plurality of frequency subbands (GAO, Fig. 2 step 2001 and paragraphs 121, 143.).
For claim 17, GAO and Ling further teach the method of claim 15, wherein the second information includes at least one of: a one-bit indicator indicating a presence or absence of the second part; a payload size of the second part; a number of at least one second TCI states in the second part; information related to time or frequency domain resources of the second part (GAO, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 97, 101, 113.); and a minimum time offset.
For claim 18, instant claim is proviso upon limitation “the minimum time offset” not required by the claim 17; therefore, the limitation of instant claim does not come into force.
For claim 19, GAO and Ling further teach the method of claim 15, wherein the first and second parts of the DCI are received in a slot (Ling, Figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 96-99.).
For claim 20, GAO and Ling further teach the method of claim 15, further comprising monitoring the first and second parts of the DCI:
in same or separate physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates; in same or separate search space sets; or in same or separate control resource sets (CORESETs) (GAO, paragraphs 62, 102, 123).
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412