DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9, 11, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fong et al Xu (CN112119658A, the English version US20210068114 is being used for mapping the claims).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Xu discloses a method for transmitting an extended reality (XR) service (Fig.2 discloses a method for service transmission), comprising: determining, by a terminal device, use of a configured grant (CG) resource based on configuration information and a service feature (¶0102 discloses that a UE determines which service is allowed to be transmitted on the configured grant resource, according to a first indication information), and reporting by the terminal device (¶0103 discloses that the UE transmits the service allowed to be transmitted on the configured grant resource).
Regarding claim 2, the cited reference Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1. Xu further discloses wherein the determining, by a terminal device, use of a CG resource based on configuration information and a service feature, and reporting by the terminal device comprises: determining, by the terminal device, a use status of the CG resource based on the configuration information and a service feature of the XR service, and reporting the use status of the CG resource by the terminal device (¶0145-¶0147 disclose that the apparatus 20 includes a determining module 202 and a transmitting module 204. Wherein the determining module 202 is configured to determine which service is allowed to be transmitted on configured grant resource, according to received first indication information. The transmitting module 204 is configured to transmit the service allowed to be
transmitted on the resource indicated by the configured grant resource).
Regarding claim 4, the cited reference Xu discloses a terminal device, comprising: a memory storing executable program codes; and a processor that is coupled to the memory, and a transceiver (See Fig. 4), wherein the processor is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1
Regarding claim 5, the claim is drawn to the terminal device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, the cited reference Xu discloses all limitations of claim 4. Xu further discloses wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of following: one CG resource; that a type of the CG resource is CG Type1 or CG Type2; a parameter corresponding to a first condition and a second condition, wherein the first condition and the second condition are used for using/activating/resuming or used for not using/deactivating/suspending; an enabling or activation indication corresponding to the first condition and the second condition; or an enabling or activation indication for the terminal device to perform, automatically or based on a condition, using/activating/resuming and/or not using/deactivating/suspending on the CG resource (¶0161 discloses that the configured grant resource include resource configured for configured grant type 1 and/or resource configured for configured grant type 2).
Regarding claim 9, the cited reference Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1. Xu further discloses wherein the service feature comprises at least one of data packet information or data volume information (¶0138 discloses that the uplink transmission data includes uplink service data).
Regarding claim 11, the cited reference Xu discloses all limitations of claim 4. Xu further discloses wherein: the processor is specifically configured to: perform using, activation, resuming, not using, deactivation, or suspending on the CG resource automatically or based on a condition (¶0162 discloses that the first indication information is a DCI for activating configured grant type 2).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is drawn to a network device performing substantially the
same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection
as claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is drawn to the network device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 9. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to the network device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 7. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (US20220217749).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Yu discloses a method for transmitting an extended reality (XR) service (¶0178 discloses uplink transmission with an uplink grant configured by the base station), comprising: determining, by a terminal device, use of a configured grant (CG) resource based on configuration information and a service feature (¶0178 discloses that uplink transmission with an uplink grant configured by the base station for the UE (CG)… the UE may directly use the CG to send uplink data… an allocated resource can be used for a plurality of times. NR provides two types of CGs: a CG type 1 and a CG type 2), and reporting by the terminal device (¶0180 discloses that the UE can use a CG type 2 only after the CG type 2 is activated, and the UE needs to report an/a activation/deactivation acknowledgment MAC CE to the gNB).
Regarding claim 4, the cited reference Yu discloses a terminal device, comprising: a memory storing executable program codes; and a processor that is coupled to the memory, and a transceiver (See Fig. 16), wherein the processor is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the cited reference Yu discloses all limitations of claim 4. Yu further discloses wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of following: one CG resource; that a type of the CG resource is CG Type1 or CG Type2; a parameter corresponding to a first condition and a second condition, wherein the first condition and the second condition are used for using/activating/resuming or used for not using/deactivating/suspending; an enabling or activation indication corresponding to the first condition and the second condition; or an enabling or activation indication for the terminal device to perform, automatically or based on a condition, using/activating/resuming and/or not using/deactivating/suspending on the CG resource (¶0192 discloses that the terminal devices are configured with at least a CG type 1 and/or a CG type 2).
Regarding claim 16, the cited reference Yu discloses a network device, comprising: a memory storing executable program codes; and a processor coupled to the memory (See Fig. 14), wherein the processor is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to the network device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 7. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 7.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 11-13, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US20240334439).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Chen discloses a method for transmitting an extended reality (XR) service (¶0111 discloses a data transmission method), comprising: determining, by a terminal device, use of a configured grant (CG) resource based on configuration information and a service feature (¶0112 discloses that the radio access network device sends CG information to the terminal, and correspondingly, the terminal obtains the CG information. The CG information is used to configure one or more CG transmission occasions used for uplink data transmission), and reporting by the terminal device (¶0115 discloses that the terminal sends indication information to the radio access network device).
Regarding claim 3, the cited reference Chen discloses all limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein the configuration information is CG configuration information sent by a network device (¶0112 discloses that the radio access network device sends CG information to the terminal).
Regarding claim 4, the cited reference Chen discloses a terminal device, comprising: amemory storing executable program codes; and a processor that is coupled to the memory, and a transceiver (See Fig. 15), wherein the processor is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, the claim is drawn to the terminal device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the cited reference Chen discloses all limitations of claim 4. Chen further discloses wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of following: one CG resource; that a type of the CG resource is CG Type1 or CG Type2; a parameter corresponding to a first condition and a second condition, wherein the first condition and the second condition are used for using/activating/resuming or used for not using/deactivating/suspending; an enabling or activation indication corresponding to the first condition and the second condition; or an enabling or activation indication for the terminal device to perform, automatically or based on a condition, using/activating/resuming and/or not using/deactivating/suspending on the CG resource (¶0005 discloses that configured grant resources: Type 1 and Type 2).
Regarding claim 11, the cited reference Chen discloses all limitations of claim 7. Chen further discloses wherein: the processor is specifically configured to: perform using, activation, resuming, not using, deactivation, or suspending on the CG resource automatically or based on a condition (¶0099 discloses that after receiving the DCI, the terminal may release the CG resource, or it may be understood as stopping/suspending uplink data sending on the CG resource).
Regarding claim 12, the cited reference Chen discloses all limitations of claim 11. Chen further discloses wherein: the transceiver is configured to: report information that the CG resource is not used or deactivated or suspended to the network device (¶0133 discloses that the radio access network device knows, via the indication information, that the terminal is to skip the uplink data transmission on the N CG transmission occasions).
Regarding claim 13, the cited reference Chen discloses all limitations of claim 12. Chen further discloses wherein: the transceiver is specifically configured to report, by using a used or activated or resumed CG resource, the information that the CG resource is not used or deactivated or suspended to the network device; or the transceiver is specifically configured to report, by using an uplink resource, the information that the CG resource is not used or deactivated or suspended to the network device; or the transceiver is specifically configured to report, by using uplink signalling, the information that the CG resource is not used or deactivated or suspended to the network device (¶0005 discloses sending indication information to the network device, where the indication information indicates that uplink data transmission is not performed on N CG transmission occasions of the one or more CG transmission occasions).
Regarding claim 15, the cited reference Chen discloses all limitations of claim 4. Chen further discloses wherein: the transceiver is further configured to report the service feature or the data packet information to the network device, wherein the service feature or the data packet information is used for the network device to indicate that the CG resource is not used, deactivated or suspended (¶0115 discloses that the terminal sends indication information to the radio access network device, and correspondingly, the radio access network device receives the indication information. The indication information indicates, to the radio access network device, that the terminal does not perform uplink data transmission on N CG transmission occasions of the one or more CG transmission occasions).
Regarding claim 16, the cited reference Chen discloses a network device, comprising: a memory storing executable program codes; and a processor coupled to the memory (See Fig. 14), wherein the processor is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to the network device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 7. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20240334439), in view of Takahashi et al (US20240414707).
Regarding claim 8, the cited reference Chen discloses all limitations of claim 7. However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein each periodicity of the one CG resource comprises a plurality of CG physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs); the plurality of CG PUSCHs are consecutive in one periodicity; or different hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes are used for the plurality of CG PUSCHs in one periodicity.
In an analogous art Takahashi teaches wherein each periodicity of the one CG resource comprises a plurality of CG physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs); the plurality of CG PUSCHs are consecutive in one periodicity; or different hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes are used for the plurality of CG PUSCHs in one periodicity (¶0071 discloses that a plurality of HP CG PUSCHs with repetition may be transmitted using one slot or one subslot. For example, four HP CG PUSCHs illustrated in FIG. 4 may be transmitted using one slot or one subslot. When a plurality of HP CG PUSCHs with repetition are transmitted using one slot or one subslot, HARQ-ACK process IDs for the plurality of HP CG PUSCH may be different from one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Takahashi to effectively reduce a size of control information and save transmission resources.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is drawn to the network device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 8. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 8.
Claims 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20240334439), in view of Li et al (US20230231690).
Regarding claim 14, the cited reference Chen discloses all limitations of claim 12. However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the information that the CG resource is not used or deactivated or suspended comprises: a CG PUSCH that is not used or deactivated or suspended.
In an analogous art Li teaches wherein the information that the CG resource is not used or deactivated or suspended comprises: a CG PUSCH that is not used or deactivated or suspended (¶0111 discloses that the CG-PUSCH is deactivated, and the UEs 115 may refrain from using the configured resources of the CG-PUSCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Li to effectively reduce and save transmission resources and improve system performance.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US20210068114), in view of Fan (US20230345449).
Regarding claim 10, the cited reference Xu discloses all limitations of claim 12. However, Xu does not explicitly teach wherein: the data packet information comprises at least one of following: data-packet-size information, a data-packet-size change status, a data-packet-size change rule, a data-packet change periodicity, or a data-packet-size change start location/offset; or the data volume information comprises at least one of following: data-volume-size information, a data-volume-size change status, a data-volume-size change rule, a data-volume change periodicity, and a data-volume change start location/offset.
In an analogous art Fan teaches wherein: the data packet information comprises at least one of following: data-packet-size information, a data-packet-size change status, a data-packet-size change rule, a data-packet change periodicity, or a data-packet-size change start location/offset; or the data volume information comprises at least one of following: data-volume-size information, a data-volume-size change status, a data-volume-size change rule, a data-volume change periodicity, and a data-volume change start location/offset (¶0015 discloses that the data packet includes at least one of the following: data packet size information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Fan to helps determine corresponding transmission parameters for the data packet from different dimensions.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is drawn to the network device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 10. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 10.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462