DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 17-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 21, 22 and 30-38 of U.S. Patent No. 12,101,600. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-12, 21, 22 and 30-38 of U.S. Patent No. 12,101,600 are clearly anticipated or similar in scope to the rejected claims 1-15 and 17-25 of the U. S. Pat. App (No. 18/783,278) with only obvious wording variations. For example below:
Instant application
U.S. Patent No. 12,101,600
1. A vibration apparatus, comprising: a vibration device; an adhesive member at a surface of the vibration device; a reinforcing member between the vibration device and the adhesive member; and an intermediate adhesive member between the vibration device and the reinforcing member, wherein the reinforcing member is surrounded by the intermediate adhesive member and the adhesive member.
1. A vibration apparatus, comprising: a vibration device; an adhesive member at a rear surface of the vibration device; a reinforcing member between the vibration device and the adhesive member; and an intermediate adhesive member between the vibration device and the reinforcing member, wherein: a modulus of the vibration device is equal to a modulus of the adhesive member or is greater than the modulus of the adhesive member; the reinforcing member comprises one or more holes; and the intermediate adhesive member and the adhesive member are connected to each other in the one or more holes.
Specification: Col. 136 lines 9-12.
2. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein a modulus of the vibration device is equal to a modulus of the adhesive member or is greater than the modulus of the adhesive member.
1. A vibration apparatus, comprising: a vibration device; an adhesive member at a rear surface of the vibration device; a reinforcing member between the vibration device and the adhesive member; and an intermediate adhesive member between the vibration device and the reinforcing member, wherein: a modulus of the vibration device is equal to a modulus of the adhesive member or is greater than the modulus of the adhesive member; the reinforcing member comprises one or more holes; and the intermediate adhesive member and the adhesive member are connected to each other in the one or more holes.
3. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the modulus of the vibration device is greater than a modulus of the reinforcing member and is greater than or equal to a modulus of the intermediate adhesive member.
2. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the modulus of the vibration device is greater than a modulus of the reinforcing member and is greater than or equal to a modulus of the intermediate adhesive member.
4. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reinforcing member comprises one or more materials of a plastic, a fiber, a leather, wood, a cloth, and a paper.
3. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reinforcing member comprises one or more materials of a plastic, a fiber, a leather, wood, a cloth, and a paper.
5. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein an area of the vibration device is greater than an area of the reinforcing member.
4. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein an area of the vibration device is greater than an area of the reinforcing member.
6. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a vibration plate at a rear surface of the adhesive member; and a supporting member connected to a rear periphery portion of the vibration plate.
5. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a vibration plate at a rear surface of the adhesive member; and a supporting member connected to a rear periphery portion of the vibration plate.
7. The vibration apparatus of claim 6, wherein the supporting member comprises: a first supporting portion connected to the rear periphery portion of the vibration plate; a second supporting portion parallel to the first supporting portion; and a third supporting portion connected between the first supporting portion and the second supporting portion.
6. The vibration apparatus of claim 5, wherein the supporting member comprises: a first supporting portion connected to the rear periphery portion of the vibration plate; a second supporting portion parallel to the first supporting portion; and a third supporting portion connected between the first supporting portion and the second supporting portion.
8. The vibration apparatus of claim 6, further comprising a housing including an inner space, wherein the vibration device, the vibration plate, and the supporting member are accommodated into the inner space of the housing, and wherein the supporting member is connected to an inner surface of the housing.
7. The vibration apparatus of claim 5, further comprising a housing including an inner space, wherein the vibration device, the vibration plate, and the supporting member are accommodated into the inner space of the housing, and wherein the supporting member is connected to an inner surface of the housing.
9. The vibration apparatus of claim 8, wherein the housing comprises: a first housing member disposed spaced apart from the vibration plate and facing the vibration plate; a second housing member disposed spaced apart from the vibration device and facing the vibration device; and one or more holes configured at the first housing member and overlapping the vibration plate.
8. The vibration apparatus of claim 7, wherein the housing comprises: a first housing member disposed spaced apart from the vibration plate and facing the vibration plate; a second housing member disposed spaced apart from the vibration device and facing the vibration device; and one or more holes configured at the first housing member and overlapping the vibration plate.
10. The vibration apparatus of claim 9, wherein the supporting member is connected to one or more of the first housing member and the second housing member.
9. The vibration apparatus of claim 8, wherein the supporting member is connected to one or more of the first housing member and the second housing member.
11. The vibration apparatus of claim 9, further comprising a connection member connected between the second housing member and the vibration plate, wherein the supporting member is connected to the first housing member.
10. The vibration apparatus of claim 8, further comprising a connection member connected between the second housing member and the vibration plate, wherein the supporting member is connected to the first housing member.
12. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a vibration plate at a rear surface of the adhesive member; and an enclosure connected to the vibration plate and surrounding the vibration device.
11. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a vibration plate at a rear surface of the adhesive member; and an enclosure connected to the vibration plate and surrounding the vibration device.
13. The vibration apparatus of claim 12, further comprising a connection member connected between the enclosure and the vibration plate.
12. The vibration apparatus of claim 11, further comprising a connection member connected between the enclosure and the vibration plate.
14. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a signal cable electrically connected to the vibration device; and a sound processing circuit mounted on the signal cable.
21. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a signal cable electrically connected to the vibration device; and a sound processing circuit mounted on the signal cable.
15. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration device comprises: a piezoelectric vibration portion; a first electrode portion at a first surface of the piezoelectric vibration portion; and a second electrode portion at a second surface different from the first surface of the piezoelectric vibration portion.
22. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration device comprises: a piezoelectric vibration portion including a plurality of piezoelectric portions and a ductile portion connected between the plurality of piezoelectric portions; a first electrode portion at a first surface of the piezoelectric vibration portion; and a second electrode portion at a second surface different from the first surface of the piezoelectric vibration portion.
17. A sound output apparatus, comprising: a vibration member; and one or more vibration generating apparatuses connected to the vibration member, wherein the one or more vibration generating apparatuses comprise the vibration apparatus of claim 1.
30. An apparatus, comprising: a vibration member; and one or more vibration generating apparatuses connected to the vibration member, wherein the one or more vibration generating apparatuses comprise the vibration apparatus of claim 1.
18. The sound output apparatus of claim 17, wherein the vibration member is configured to output a sound based on vibrations of the one or more vibration generating apparatuses, and wherein the vibration member comprises one or more materials of a metal, a plastic, a fiber, a leather, wood, a cloth, a paper, a rubber, and a glass.
31. The apparatus of claim 30, wherein the vibration member is configured to output a sound based on vibrations of the one or more vibration generating apparatuses, and wherein the vibration member comprises one or more materials of a metal, a plastic, a fiber, a leather, wood, a cloth, a paper, a rubber, and a glass.
19. The sound output apparatus of claim 17, wherein the vibration member comprises any one of a display panel including a pixel configured to display an image, a screen panel on which an image is to be projected from a display apparatus, a light emitting diode lighting panel, a signage panel, a vehicular interior material, a vehicular exterior material, a vehicular glass window, a mirror, a building ceiling material, a building interior material, a building exterior material, a building glass window, an aircraft interior material, and an aircraft glass window.
32. The apparatus of claim 30, wherein the vibration member comprises any one of a display panel including a pixel configured to display an image, a screen panel on which an image is to be projected from a display apparatus, a light emitting diode lighting panel, a signage panel, a vehicular interior material, a vehicular exterior material, a vehicular glass window, a mirror, a building ceiling material, a building interior material, a building exterior material, a building glass window, an aircraft interior material, and an aircraft glass window.
20. A vehicular apparatus, comprising: an exterior material covering a main structure; an interior material covering one or more of the main structure and the exterior material; a garnish member covering a portion of the interior material; and one or more sound generating apparatuses between at least two of the main structure, the exterior material, and interior material or between the garnish member and the interior material, wherein the one or more sound generating apparatuses comprise the vibration apparatus of claim 1, and wherein one or more of the interior material, the exterior material, and the garnish member are configured to output sound based on vibrations of the one or more sound generating apparatuses.
33. A vehicular apparatus, comprising: an exterior material covering a main structure; an interior material covering one or more of the main structure and the exterior material; a garnish member covering a portion of the interior material; and one or more sound generating apparatuses between at least two of the main structure, the exterior material, and interior material or between the garnish member and the interior material, wherein the one or more sound generating apparatuses comprise the vibration apparatus of claim 1, and wherein one or more of the interior material, the exterior material, and the garnish member are configured to output sound based on vibrations of the one or more sound generating apparatuses.
21. The vehicular apparatus of claim 20, wherein one or more of the interior material and the garnish member comprises one or more materials of a metal, a plastic, a fiber, a leather, wood, a cloth, a paper, a rubber, and a glass.
34. The vehicular apparatus of claim 33, wherein one or more of the interior material and the garnish member comprises one or more materials of a metal, a plastic, a fiber, a leather, wood, a cloth, a paper, a rubber, and a glass.
22. The vehicular apparatus of claim 20, wherein: the interior material comprises one or more of a dashboard, a pillar interior material, a roof interior material, a door interior material, a seat interior material, a handle interior material, a floor interior material, a rear package interior material, a rear view mirror, an overhead console, a glove box, and a sun visor; and the one or more sound generating apparatuses are configured to vibrate at least one or more of the dashboard, the pillar interior material, the roof interior material, the door interior material, the seat interior material, the handle interior material, the floor interior material, the rear package interior material, the rear view mirror, the overhead console, the glove box, and the sun visor.
35. The vehicular apparatus of claim 33, wherein: the interior material comprises one or more of a dashboard, a pillar interior material, a roof interior material, a door interior material, a seat interior material, a handle interior material, a floor interior material, a rear package interior material, a rear view mirror, an overhead console, a glove box, and a sun visor; and the one or more sound generating apparatuses are configured to vibrate at least one or more of the dashboard, the pillar interior material, the roof interior material, the door interior material, the seat interior material, the handle interior material, the floor interior material, the rear package interior material, the rear view mirror, the overhead console, the glove box, and the sun visor.
23. The vehicular apparatus of claim 20, further comprising: a glass window; and a transparent sound generating device disposed at the glass window.
36. The vehicular apparatus of claim 33, further comprising: a glass window; and a transparent sound generating device disposed at the glass window
24. The vehicular apparatus of claim 23, wherein: the glass window comprises at least one or more of a front glass window, a side glass window, a rear glass window, and a roof glass window; and the transparent sound generating device is configured to vibrate at least one or more of the front glass window, the side glass window, the rear glass window, and the roof glass window.
37. The vehicular apparatus of claim 36, wherein: the glass window comprises at least one or more of a front glass window, a side glass window, a rear glass window, and a roof glass window, and the transparent sound generating device is configured to vibrate at least one or more of the front glass window, the side glass window, the rear glass window, and the roof glass window.
25. The vehicular apparatus of claim 23, wherein: the interior material comprises a groove portion formed concavely from a surface of the interior material facing the garnish member; and the groove portion accommodates the one or more sound generating apparatuses connected to the garnish member.
38. The vehicular apparatus of claim 33, wherein: the interior material comprises a groove portion formed concavely from a surface of the interior material facing the garnish member, and the groove portion accommodates the one or more sound generating apparatuses connected to the garnish member.
As shown in table above, the bold limitations in claims 1-15 and 17-25 of pending Application can be found the bold limitations in claims 1-12, 21, 22 and 30-38 as indicated above of U.S. Patent No. 12,101,600. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that they are not patentably distinct from each other. Accordingly, claims 1-15 and 17-25 of pending Application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 21, 22 and 30-38 of U.S. Patent No. 12,101,600 for the reasons as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the modulus" in page 1 line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by the applicant’s cited reference US 20200059735 (Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a vibration apparatus (fig. 6), comprising: a vibration device (fig. 6, vibration 210); an adhesive member (fig. 6, item 232) at a surface of the vibration device; a reinforcing member (fig. 6, item 241) between the vibration device and the adhesive member; and an intermediate adhesive member (fig. 6, item 231) between the vibration device and the reinforcing member, wherein the reinforcing member is surrounded by the intermediate adhesive member and the adhesive member (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Kim also shows wherein an area of the vibration device is greater than an area of the reinforcing member (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 17, Kim also teaches a sound output apparatus, comprising: a vibration member; and one or more vibration generating apparatuses connected to the vibration member, wherein the one or more vibration generating apparatuses comprise the vibration apparatus of claim 1 (see fig. 1 and para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim also teaches wherein the vibration member is configured to output a sound based on vibrations of the one or more vibration generating apparatuses, and wherein the vibration member comprises one or more materials of a metal, a plastic, a fiber, a leather, wood, a cloth, a paper, a rubber, and a glass (para. [0040].
Regarding claim 19, Kim also teaches wherein the vibration member comprises any one of a display panel including a pixel configured to display an image (para. [0040]), a screen panel on which an image is to be projected from a display apparatus, a light emitting diode lighting panel, a signage panel, a vehicular interior material, a vehicular exterior material, a vehicular glass window, a mirror, a building ceiling material, a building interior material, a building exterior material, a building glass window, an aircraft interior material, and an aircraft glass window.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a modulus of the vibration device is equal to a modulus of the adhesive member or is greater than the modulus of the adhesive member and wherein the modulus of the vibration device is greater than a modulus of the reinforcing member and is greater than or equal to a modulus of the intermediate adhesive member.
However, Kim does teach about an adhesive member having a low elastic modulus (para. [0012], [0013], [0068], [0075].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to have a modulus of the vibration device is equal to a modulus of the adhesive member or is greater than the modulus of the adhesive member and wherein the modulus of the vibration device is greater than a modulus of the reinforcing member and is greater than or equal to a modulus of the intermediate adhesive member in order to transmit low audio frequencies.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and in view of the applicant’s cited reference US 202100029431 (Kim et al hereinafter Kim2)
Regarding claim 4, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the reinforcing member comprises one or more materials of a plastic, a fiber, a leather, wood, a cloth, and a paper.
However, this claimed limitation is notorious old and well known.
For instance, in the related field of the invention, Kim2 teaches a vibration generating device including fiber reinforced plastics (abstract, para. [0206]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use this well-known material by Kim2 in Kim for supporting a vibrating device.
Claim(s) 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and in view of the applicant’s cited reference US2013/0021796 (Onishi et al hereinafter Onishi).
Regarding claims 6-11, Kim also shows a vibration plate at a rear surface of the adhesive member (see fig. 6).
Kim does not explicitly a supporting member connected to a rear periphery portion of the vibration plate; wherein the supporting member comprises: a first supporting portion connected to the rear periphery portion of the vibration plate; a second supporting portion parallel to the first supporting portion; and a third supporting portion connected between the first supporting portion and the second supporting portion; a housing including an inner space, wherein the vibration device, the vibration plate, and the supporting member are accommodated into the inner space of the housing, and wherein the supporting member is connected to an inner surface of the housing; wherein the housing comprises: a first housing member disposed spaced apart from the vibration plate and facing the vibration plate; a second housing member disposed spaced apart from the vibration device and facing the vibration device; and one or more holes configured at the first housing member and overlapping the vibration plate; wherein the supporting member is connected to one or more of the first housing member and the second housing member; and a connection member connected between the second housing member and the vibration plate, wherein the supporting member is connected to the first housing member.
However, these claimed limitations are notorious old and well known.
For instance, in the related field of the invention, Onishi teaches an oscillation device including those claimed limitations (see fig. 2, left first support element 140, right first support element 140, third support element 220, a vibration device 120, plurality holes 211 overlap vibration device 220, housing 210, first housing member, second housing member).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the structure of the oscillation device by Onishi in Kim for a particular audio application.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Kim also shows a vibration plate at a rear surface of the adhesive member (see fig. 6).
Kim does not explicitly disclose an enclosure connected to the vibration plate and surrounding the vibration device; and a connection member connected between the enclosure and the vibration plate.
However, these claimed limitations are notorious old and well known.
For instance, in the related field of the invention, Onishi teaches an oscillation device including those claimed limitations (see fig. 2, left first support element 140, right first support element 140, third support element 220, a vibration device 120, plurality holes 211 overlap vibration device 220, housing 210, first housing member, second housing member).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the structure of the oscillation device including an enclosure and connection member by Onishi in Kim for a particular audio application.
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and the applicant’s cited reference US2019/00350555 (Wakabayashi).
Regarding claims 14-16, Kim does teach wherein the vibration device comprises: a piezoelectric vibration portion; a first electrode portion at a first surface of the piezoelectric vibration portion; and a second electrode portion at a second surface different from the first surface of the piezoelectric vibration portion (see figs. 3A, 3B, para. [0043], [0044], [0052], [0054]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a signal cable electrically connected to the vibration device; and a sound processing circuit mounted on the signal cable; a signal cable electrically connected to the vibration device; wherein the vibration device further comprises a cover member covering one or more of the first electrode portion and the second electrode portion, and wherein a portion of the signal cables is inserted between the cover member and one of the first electrode portion and the second electrode portion.
However, these claimed limitations are notorious old and well known.
For instance, in the related field of the invention, Wakabayashi teaches an ultrasonic transducer and wherein the first conductive line 142 is disposed between the first cover
member 172 + 145 and the first electrode 12, and the second conductive line 143
is disposed between the second cover member 18+ 145 and the second
electrode 13 (fig. 8, para. [0068], [0070], [0071, [0125]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the teaching by Wakabayashi in Kim for a particular audio application.
Claim(s) 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and in view of the applicant’s cited reference WO97/16048 (Azioni).
Regarding claims 20-25, Kim does not explicitly disclose a vehicular apparatus, comprising: an exterior material covering a main structure; an interior material covering one or more of the main structure and the exterior material; a garnish member covering a portion of the interior material; and one or more sound generating apparatuses between at least two of the main structure, the exterior material, and interior material or between the garnish member and the interior material, wherein the one or more sound generating apparatuses comprise the vibration apparatus of claim 1, and wherein one or more of the interior material, the exterior material, and the garnish member are configured to output sound based on vibrations of the one or more sound generating apparatuses; wherein one or more of the interior material and the garnish member comprises one or more materials of a metal, a plastic, a fiber, a leather, wood, a cloth, a paper, a rubber, and a glass; wherein: the interior material comprises one or more of a dashboard, a pillar interior material, a roof interior material, a door interior material, a seat interior material, a handle interior material, a floor interior material, a rear package interior material, a rear view mirror, an overhead console, a glove box, and a sun visor; and the one or more sound generating apparatuses are configured to vibrate at least one or more of the dashboard, the pillar interior material, the roof interior material, the door interior material, the seat interior material, the handle interior material, the floor interior material, the rear package interior material, the rear view mirror, the overhead console, the glove box, and the sun visor; a glass window; and a transparent sound generating device disposed at the glass window; wherein: the glass window comprises at least one or more of a front glass window, a side glass window, a rear glass window, and a roof glass window; and the transparent sound generating device is configured to vibrate at least one or more of the front glass window, the side glass window, the rear glass window, and the roof glass window; and wherein: the interior material comprises a groove portion formed concavely from a surface of the interior material facing the garnish member; and the groove portion accommodates the one or more sound generating apparatuses connected to the garnish member.
However, these claimed limitations are notorious old and well known.
For instance, in the related field of the invention, Azioni teaches these claimed limitations (figs. 2-5, page 3 line 23 – page 4 line 14, page 7 line 13 – page 13 line 18.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the teaching by Azioni in Kim for a particular audio application such as a vehicle.
Conclusion
/TUAN D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699