Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 10-13, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradley et al (2016/0059888).
Bradley et al teaches receiving, from a device 9, 10, 11 located in a vehicle, an angle and an orientation of a trailer relative to the vehicle [0062], wherein the trailer is coupled to a rear of the vehicle; receiving a video from a camera located on the vehicle; and causing a monitor 41 to display a position of the trailer based on the angle and the orientation and based on the video 43 [0087], [0088].
For claim 2 see [0084] – [0086].
For claim 3 see [0086].
For claim 4 see [0030].
For claim 8 see [0030].
For claim 10 see claim 1 as rejected above.
For claim 11 see [0084] – [0086].
For claim 12 see [0086].
For claim 13 see [0030].
For claim 17 see [0030].
For claim 19 see claim 1 as rejected above.
For claim 20 see [0084] – [0086].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradley et al (2016/0059888) in view of Dodd et al 2018/0057052.
Bradley et al teaches the claimed inventions except for a rotary encoder. Dodd et al teaches a rotary encoder 66. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the rotary encoder on the trailer of Bradley et al as taught by Dodd et al in order to improve the accuracy of angular measurement of the trailer vehicle system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 9, 14-15, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Record et al 11,927,676 teaches a system for determining a trailer angle.
Itoh 11,457,181 teaches a vehicle assist with surrounding image.
Stabel et al 11,338,852 teaches a vehicle trailer backing system.
Falb et al 20210178986 teaches a system for capturing and displaying images from a vehicle and trailer cameras.
/HAI H HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747