DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed 8/21/26. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of US Patent No. 11,024,190 and claims 1-21 of US Patent No. 11,410,567 and claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,300,121 and claims 1-20 of Provisional Application No. 19/178,808. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the pending application are encompassed by claims of the patents and the provisional application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2013/0249947 A1 to Reitan (hereinafter “Reitan”).
Concerning claim 1, Reitan discloses a method comprising: obtaining, via one or more sensors, sensor data depicting or representing a scene; generating, via one or more processors, content comprising a computer-generated representation of the scene depicted or represented by the senor, wherein the computer-generated representation of the scene comprises computer-generated imagery depicting the scene (paragraphs [0046]-[0049], [0157], [0158], [0254] – user can communicate with other users in a virtual reality environment which is a computer-generated representation of the scene);
generating, via the one or more processors, an extended reality environment comprising the content comprising the computer-generated representation of the scene, one or more virtual content items, and at least one of a virtual whiteboard comprising a computer-generated interactive surface, one or more class controls, a virtual chat, and a virtual notifications section, wherein the one or more class controls comprise at least one of a control to enable or disable the virtual chat for a set of users interacting with the extended reality environment, a control to enable or disable one or more interactions in the extended reality environment by one or more of the set of users, a control to start or end a live session during a presentation of the extended reality environment, and a control to enable or disable one or more interactions with the virtual whiteboard (paragraphs [0046]-[0049], [0157], [0158], [0254], [0256], [0909] – white board allows users to write on the board and share with a plurality of users and chat with multiple users allowing the control to enable or disable interactions and scene includes a virtual reality environment which is computer-generated); and
streaming, via the one or more network devices and over one or more computer networks, the extended reality environment to one or more devices associated with the set of users (paragraphs [0046]-[0049], [0157], [0158], [0254] [0268], [0277] – the environment is streamed to multiple devices).
Concerning claims 2 and 12, Reitan discloses further comprising: receiving one or more inputs to the extended reality environment; and modifying the extended reality environment to depict one or more actions corresponding to the one or more inputs (paragraph [0254] – user can communicate with other users in augmented reality environment using one or more inputs).
Concerning claims 3 and 13, Reitan discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprise at least one of a camera sensor and an infrared sensor (paragraphs [0162], [0163], [0264], [0907] – sensors include camera).
Concerning claim 4, Reitan discloses wherein the content included in the extended reality environment comprises a visual representation of an instructor, wherein the visual representation comprises a three-dimensional model of the instructor user (paragraphs [0046]-[0049], [0157], [0158], [0254], [0256], [0909] – one or more cameras generate feed including 3D image of instructor).
Concerning claim 5, Reitan discloses further comprising: obtaining, from the one or more sensors, image or video data associated with the set of users; and updating the extended reality environment to include the image or video data, wherein the image or video data in the updated extended reality environment comprises one or more respective visual representations of one or more users from the set of users, wherein the one or more respective visual representations of the one or more users comprises one or more three-dimensional models of the one or more users (paragraphs [0046]-[0049], [0157], [0158], [0254], [0256], [0909] – image associated with users is obtained).
Concerning claim 6, Reitan discloses wherein the one or more class controls comprise an input option to call on a student user from the set of users to post a message to the virtual chat (paragraphs [0158], [0254], [0256], [0909] – video feed captured is associated with a user).
Concerning claim 7, Reitan discloses further comprising: outputting audio associated with the extended reality environment, the audio comprising recorded audio from the one or more devices associated with the set of users (paragraphs [0158], [0254], [0256], [0909] – audio is output with the environment).
Concerning claims 8, 15, and 20, Reitan discloses further comprising: capturing, via at least one camera sensor from the one or more sensors, video or image data depicting a gesture associated with at least one user; based on the video or image data, recognizing the gesture associated with the at least one user; and rendering or displaying, within the extended reality environment, a visual representation of the gesture or a three-dimensional (3D) video rendering depicting the gesture (paragraphs [0158], [0254], [0256], [0909] – video image depicts gesture related to user).
Concerning claims 9 and 16, Reitan discloses wherein the virtual notifications section comprises a visual depiction of an amount of live time spent by one or more student users in a class associated with the extended reality environment (paragraphs [0046]-[0049], [0157], [0158], [0254], [0256], [0909] – student time is recognized in environment).
Concerning claims 10 and 17, Reitan discloses further comprising: generating composite video content comprising a video feed combined with additional content, wherein the video feed comprises at least one of video recorded by the one or more sensors and a synthetic video feed that depicts at least one of a user and the scene, wherein the synthetic video feed is generated by at least one of a machine learning model, computer-generated imagery software, and a three-dimensional video rendering model, and wherein the additional content comprises at least one of an audio recording, a content rendering depicting one or more user interactions, and virtual reality content; and streaming, to the one or more devices, an updated extended reality environment comprising the composite video content (paragraphs [0158], [0254], [0256], [0909] – machine learning model generates synthetic video feed).
Concerning claim 11, see the rejection of claim 1.
Concerning claim 14, Reitan discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to: obtain, from the one or more sensors, image or video data associated with the set of users; and update the extended reality environment to include the image or video data, wherein the image or video data in the updated extended reality environment comprises one or more respective visual representations of one or more users from the set of users, wherein each visual representation of each respective user comprises at least one of a respective video feed captured by a respective camera sensor associated with the respective user, an image of the respective user, a computer-generated video providing a virtual depiction of the respective user, an avatar associated with the respective user, a three-dimensional model of the respective user, and a thumbnail representing the respective user (paragraphs [0046]-[0049], [0157], [0158], [0254], [0256], [0909] – image associated with users is obtained).
Concerning claim 18, Reitan discloses further comprising one or more camera devices comprising the one or more sensors, wherein the content included in the extended reality environment comprises a video feed generated via the one or more camera devices (paragraphs [0158], [0254], [0256], [0909] – one or more cameras generate feed including content).
Concerning claim 19, see the rejection of claim 1.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the 35 USC 102 rejection, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered and are addressed with additional citations and explanations above addressing the newly amended claim limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715