DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite a “thermal accept system”. The term is defined in the disclosure as a heat exchanger for a solid-state refrigeration system (see specification at paragraph [0003]”) and is therefore being interpreted as such for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tuskiewicz (US 2005/0210884).
As to claim 1, Tuskiewicz discloses a method of operating an actively cooled container 10, comprising:
determining to initiate a defrost cycle for the actively cooled container 10 (paragraph 68, lines 1-6);
deactivating a cooling system of the container 10 (paragraph 68, lines 6-8);
activating a defrost heater of the container 10 (paragraph 68, lines 10-13);
determining to deactivate the defrost heater (paragraph 68, lines 23-28);
waiting a set duration of time to allow for melted frost to drip into a collection tray (paragraph 68, lines 28-31);
activating the cooling system of the container 10 while maintaining one or more fans deactivated, and activating the one or more fans after the temperature of the thermal accept system is at or below a set threshold temperature (paragraph 68, lines 31-40).
As to claim 2, Tuskiewicz discloses deactivating the one or more fans (paragraph 68, line 18).
As to claim 5, Tuskiewicz discloses the threshold as zero Celsius (paragraph 68, line 38).
As to claim 6, Tuskiewicz discloses determining to deactivate the defrost heater by determining that the heater has been activated for a predetermined amount of time (paragraph 68, lines 11-13) and determining that a temperature of the thermal accept system cross above a set threshold (paragraph 68, lines 21-23).
As to claim 7, Tuskiewicz discloses initiating a defrost cycle upon reaching an elapsed time since prior defrost (paragraph 68, lines 4-6).
As to claim 10, Tuskieqicz operates to refrigerate the interior of container 10 and thus ensures that the temperature of the actively cooled container 10 does not rise above an allowable limit.
As to claims 11-12, 15-17, and 20, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuskiewicz as applied to above.
As to claims 8 and 18, Tuskiewicz does not explicitly teach an alarm as claimed. However, Official Notice is taken that a defrost alarm is a common and typical feature of a cooling system that would have been obvious to use in conjunction with the defrost operation of Tuskiewicz for the purpose of alerting the user to potential operation issues.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuskiewicz as applied above, and further in view of Lukasse (US 2017/0184333).
As to claim 9 and 19, Tuskiewicz does not explicitly teach determining that a threshold number of defrost cycles have been performed. However, Lukasse teaches determining that a threshold number of cycles has been performed to ensure that the exchanger is fully defrosted (paragraphs 155-157). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Tuskiewicz to operate as claimed and taught by Lukasse in order to ensure the effectiveness of the system operation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763