DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites, in part, “the avionics data collection platform”. There is no antecedent basis in claim 1 for an avionics data collection platform. The claim is rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 11-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziarno et al. (US 2015/0363981 A1) in view of Sullivan (US 2021/0329738 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Ziarno discloses:
a scalable method for data collection in connection with networked sensors associated with one or more aircraft (fig.5 depicts at 80 a plurality of sensor which are configured to transmit to an aircraft DAU aircraft parameter data which is sent from the sensors 80), the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of avionics inputs regarding a plurality of avionics parameters associated with the aircraft (fig.5 and par.[0054 – 0055] describes data being transmitted from the engine (FADEC/ECU), update engine, Air Marshall, or In-Flight Entertainment System, also par.[0061 – 0062]), wherein the plurality of avionics parameters is associated with a plurality of components of the aircraft and collected in connection with a plurality of avionics sensors (fig.5 and par.[0054 – 0055] as discussed above);
aggregating by way of a data collection platform the plurality of avionics parameters (fig.6 depicts the FADEC/ECU of an engine of the plurality of engines on an aircraft which is capable of transmitting engine data to a WEMS, par.[0055] which is used to multiplex a plurality of information attached to FADEC/ECU. The WEMS is configured as a data collection platform, see “The aircraft data could also comprise flight performance data or aircraft engine data received from a WEMS module 94 mounted on the FADEC 82. ……. Also, the aircraft data could be related to at least one of aircraft contents, passenger data, aircraft departure and arrival, or passenger transactions”);
multiplexing the aggregated plurality of avionics parameters at the data collection platform (fig.7 and par.[0061 – 0062] describes the FADEC/ECU multiplexing the plurality of signal between itself and other avionics systems in the engine, along with flight deck, and health signals, transmitted over a BUS to the WEMS, and the WEMS to an Aircraft Recording System, as discussed below, with reference to fig.5 and 9. Also see fig.7 Full Flight Engine Data at the DAU);
transmitting the multiplexed and aggregated plurality of avionics parameters over one or more loosely coupled networking connections to an aircraft recording system, wherein the aircraft recording system comprises one or more network collectors and one or more embedded microcontroller systems (fig.5 and fig.9 the WEMS can transmit to a DAU which is aircraft recording system over physical wireline ethernet paths as shown in fig(s).5 and 9, wherein par.[0083] describes the wireline connections as ethernet. Also, see PC-Card which is attached to Data Acquisition Unit. The DAU being the Aircraft Recording System with network interface PC-Card, and would have at least one microcontroller); and
providing, by way of the one or more network collectors and the one or more embedded microcontroller systems to one or more external systems, (see par.[0052] as discussed above).
While the disclosure of Ziarno substantially discloses the claimed subject matter, it may not disclose:
a prioritized aggregation of the plurality of avionics parameters associated with the aircraft.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Sullivan teaches:
a prioritized aggregation of the plurality of avionics parameters associated with the aircraft (par.[00057] which describes a prioritization table for data which is transmitted from the aircraft to the ground. Wherein the aggregate of sensor, user, and other data may be prioritized during multiplexing and transmission to the ground terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Ziarno with the disclosure of Sullivan. The motivation/suggestion would have been that by prioritizing specific data over other you can meet quality of service parameters.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Ziarno discloses:
wherein the plurality of avionics sensors comprises one or more of: a full-authority digital engine controller, a spoiler monitor, a flap monitor, a flap control sensor, a weight on wheels sensor, and a dimming control input (fig.5 depicts a FADEC, par.[0039] describes a flap control sensor, and other sensors directed to other component of the aircraft).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Ziarno discloses:
wherein the aircraft recording system further comprises one or more wireless network devices (fig.4 depicts a plurality of wireless LANs which are communicatively coupled via a ETHERNET network).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Ziarno discloses:
wherein one or more wireless network devices comprises at least one of: an IEEE 802.11 wireless connection, a cellular connection, and an Iridium satellite constellation connection (fig.4 the 802.11 WLAN).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Ziarno discloses:
wherein the avionics data collection platform is permanently installed in the aircraft (fig.5 depicts an aviation data collection platform which is attached or permanently installed within the aircraft).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, Ziarno discloses:
transferring the plurality of avionics parameters to user-selected flight operational quality assurance providers (fig.11 element 562 the Network Operations Center receives the information, which are user-selected flight operational quality assurance providers).
Regarding claim 8, Ziarno discloses:
A system for facilitating scalable data collection in connection with networking sensors and information systems associated with one or more aircraft (fig.5 depicts at 80 a plurality of sensor which are configured to transmit to an aircraft DAU aircraft parameter data which is sent from the sensors 80), the system comprising:
at an avionics data collection platform configured to receive a plurality of avionics inputs regarding a plurality of avionics parameters associated with the aircraft (fig.5 and par.[0054 – 0055] describes data being transmitted from the engine (FADEC/ECU), update engine, Air Marshall, or In-Flight Entertainment System, also par.[0061 – 0062]), wherein the plurality of avionics parameters is associated with a plurality of components of the aircraft and collected in connection with a plurality of avionics sensors (fig.5 and par.[0054 – 0055] as discussed above);
a network collector configured to aggregate the plurality of avionics parameters in connection with the data collection platform (fig.6 depicts the FADEC/ECU of an engine of the plurality of engines on an aircraft which is capable of transmitting engine data to a WEMS, par.[0055] which is used to multiplex a plurality of information attached to FADEC/ECU. The WEMS is configured as a data collection platform, see “The aircraft data could also comprise flight performance data or aircraft engine data received from a WEMS module 94 mounted on the FADEC 82. ……. Also, the aircraft data could be related to at least one of aircraft contents, passenger data, aircraft departure and arrival, or passenger transactions”);;
a plurality of ethernet pathways for multiplexing the aggregated plurality of avionics parameters at the data collection platform (par.[0083] describes the MAC sublayer utilizing Ethernet for the wireline technology, see fig.5), wherein the plurality of ethernet pathways are configured to transmit the multiplexed and aggregated plurality of avionics parameters over one or more loosely coupled networking connections to an aircraft recording system, wherein the aircraft recording system comprises one or more network collectors and one or more embedded microcontroller systems (fig.5 and fig.9 the WEMS can transmit to a DAU which is aircraft recording system over physical wireline ethernet paths as shown in fig(s).5 and 9, wherein par.[0083] describes the wireline connections as ethernet. Also, see PC-Card which is attached to Data Acquisition Unit. The DAU being the Aircraft Recording System with network interface PC-Card, and would have at least one microcontroller); and
a sensor aggregator configured to provide, by way of the one or more network collectors and the one or more embedded microcontroller systems to one or more external systems (see par.[0052] as discussed above).
While the disclosure of Ziarno substantially discloses the claimed subject matter, it may not disclose:
a prioritized aggregation of the plurality of avionics parameters associated with the aircraft.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Sullivan teaches:
a prioritized aggregation of the plurality of avionics parameters associated with the aircraft (par.[00057] which describes a prioritization table for data which is transmitted from the aircraft to the ground. Wherein the aggregate of sensor, user, and other data may be prioritized during multiplexing and transmission to the ground terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Ziarno with the disclosure of Sullivan. The motivation/suggestion would have been that by prioritizing specific data over other you can meet quality of service parameters.
Regarding claim 9, Ziarno discloses:
wherein the plurality of avionics sensors is physically located in one or more physical locations within the aircraft, the physical locations comprising: a cockpit (par.[0054] and fig.5, a baggage compartment, and one or more tail cones
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziarno et al. (US 2015/0363981 A1) in view of Sullivan (US 2021/0329738 A1) in view of Ziarno (US 2016/0086392 A1), hereinafter known as Ziarno-2.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, while the disclosure of Ziarno and Sullivan substantially discloses the independent claims and loosely coupled Ethernet connections, they do not disclose:
daisy-chained ethernet connections.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Ziarno-2 teaches:
daisy-chained ethernet connections (fig.4 and par.[0030 – 0031] wherein the WEMS is connected with a router, which is attached in a daisy-chain fashion with other network bridges, and routers, in order to transmit data to a DAU or Airport base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the disclosures of Ziarno for transmitting plane data to a external system and the daisy-chained Ethernet connections, with the disclosure of Sullivan for prioritizing the multiplexing. The motivation/suggestion would have been that establishing a ring type network for Ethernet is well-known and a technique frequently used in the art.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziarno et al. (US 2015/0363981 A1) in view of Sullivan (US 2021/0329738 A1) in view of Winterhalter et al. (US 2010/0063654 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the disclosure of Ziarno and Sullivan substantially disclose the claimed invention, they may not disclose:
wherein the plurality of avionics sensors is physically located in one or more physical locations within the aircraft, the physical locations comprising: a cockpit, a baggage compartment, and one or more tail cones.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Winterhalter discloses:
wherein the plurality of avionics sensors is physically located in one or more physical locations within the aircraft, the physical locations comprising: a cockpit, a baggage compartment, and one or more tail cones (par.[0019] which describes the locations of sensors and data recorders within the aircraft to include the cockpit, the baggage area, and tail section of the aircraft).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the disclosures of Ziarno and Sullivan, with the disclosure of Winterhalter. The motivation/suggestion would have been that the above locations are locations that can effect the proper operation of the aircraft such as the current status of the tail, or the amount of baggage in the cargo hold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Grabowsky et al. (US 6,181,990 B1) “Aircraft Flight Data Acquisition and Transmission System”
Wright et al. (US 6,173,159 B1) “Wireless Spread Spectrum Ground Link-Based Aircraft Data Communication System for Updating Flight Management Files”
Nelson et al. (US 2003/0041155 A1) “Aircraft Data Communications Services for Users”
Nelson et al. (US 2003/0055975 A1) “Aircraft Data Services”
Raman (US 2017/0144773 A1) “Gateway for Aircraft Sensor Data”
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411