DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-23, 25-30, 32-36 and 39-40 of copending Application No. 18/251,062 in view of US 2019/0021026 A1 herein Iskander. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims conflicting claims are directed to the same wireless transmit/receive unit, method, and network apparatus for establishing a multi-access protocol data unit session and steering traffic across two accesses in accordance with a load balancing steering mode.
Instant claim 1 and reference claim 21 recite identical language for sending a request for establishing a multi-access protocol data unit (MA PDU) session, wherein the request indicates support for at least one steering capability and support for one or more steering modes associated with the at least one steering capability, and for receiving, in response to the request, one or more steering rules including a first rule that includes a load balancing steering mode, of the one or more steering modes. The claims differ only in what accompanies the load balancing steering mode and in what the wireless transmit/receive unit does with the splitting percentages.
The difference being that the conflicting claims do not recite send information indicating the splitting percentages for steering traffic.
Iskander discloses send information indicating the splitting percentages for steering traffic (0022, the BSR can be used by the UE to indicate portions of data to be sent over LTE and WLAN, and the BSR is reported to the LTE eNB; 0025, the UE can indicate a BSR for total traffic and the percentage of traffic over LTE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kedalagudde to include indicating to the network the portions of data the WTRU sends over each of two accesses, as taught by lskander, so as to allow the network to allocate uplink resources in accordance with the split the WTRU applies (0024).
Re claims 8 and 15: Claims 8 and 15 are rejected on the same grounds as set forth above for claim 1.
Instant claims 2-6, 9-13, and 16-19 correspond to conflicting claims 22, 23, 25-27, 29, 30, 32-34 and 36, 39-40, respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 10, 11, and 17 each recite "the one or more percentages for steering traffic." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claims 1, 8, and 15, from which claims 4, 10, 11, and 17 depend, recite "splitting percentages for steering traffic" and do not recite one or more percentages. It cannot be determined whether "the one or more percentages for steering traffic" refers to the previously recited splitting percentages or to some other quantity. See MPEP Section 2173.05(e).
Claims 3 and 4 each recite "send the information indicating the splitting percentages for steering traffic which includes to:" followed by a further sending step. The phrase "which includes to" is not a recognized transitional phrase and cannot be construed. See MPEP Section 2111.03. Further, the referent of "which" cannot be determined, since it may refer to the information, to the splitting percentages, or to the act of sending. It therefore cannot be determined whether claims 3 and 4 further limit what is sent or how it is sent. See MPEP Section 2173.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over US 2023/0300674 A1 herein Kedalagudde in view of US 2023/0189058 A1 herein Yeh and further in view of US 2019/0021026 A1 herein lskander.
Claim 1, Kedalagudde discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (0109, UE), the WTRU comprising:
a transceiver (0145, transmit and receive circuitry),
memory (0145, memory implied, since a UE is conventional cellular device), and
one or more processors (0145, processing circuitry; see also figure 11 and corresponding disclosure for processors, memory and transceiver elements) configured to:
send a request for establishing a multi-access protocol data unit (MA PDU) session, wherein the request indicates support for at least one steering capability and support for one or more steering modes associated with the at least one steering capability (0031, in step 1 the UE provides Request Type as "MA PDU Request" in UL NAS Transport message and its ATSS capabilities in PDU Session Establishment Request message; 0027, UE indicates support for these steering modes in the UE ATSSS Capability provided in the PDU session establishment message when establishing the MA-PDU session);
receive, in response to the request, one or more steering rules including a first rule that includes a load balancing steering mode, of the one or more steering modes, in association with an indicator that adaptive traffic steering is enabled for the MA PDU session (0023, Load-Balancing with RAN measurement is one of three new steering modes defined to support RAN measurement feedback-based traffic distribution and contains the percentage of the SDF traffic that should be sent over 3GPP access and over non-3GPP access, thus the mode designation carried in the rule indicates that RAN measurement based traffic distribution is enabled for the session).
Kedalagudde may not explicitly disclose determine, based on the received indicator that adaptive traffic steering is enabled for the MA PDU session, splitting percentages for steering traffic on first and second accesses of the MA PDU session, and send information indicating the splitting percentages for steering traffic.
Yeh discloses determine, based on the received indicator that adaptive traffic steering is enabled for the MA PDU session, splitting percentages for steering traffic on first and second accesses of the MA PDU session (0138, upon detecting congestion over one access the UE updates the traffic split percentage of a MA-PDU SDF by decreasing the split percentage of the congested access and increasing the split percentage of the non-congested access by a step size; 0139, the step sizes are configuration parameters in the ATSSS rule provided by the SMF). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kedalagudde to include updating the traffic split percentages at the WTRU by step sizes configured in the ATSSS rule, as taught by Yeh, so as to adapt the traffic distribution to congestion detected on an access (0138).
Kedalagudde may not explicitly disclose send information indicating the splitting percentages for steering traffic.
lskander discloses send information indicating the splitting percentages for steering traffic (0022, the BSR can be used by the UE to indicate portions of data to be sent over LTE and WLAN, and the BSR is reported to the LTE eNB; 0025, the UE can indicate a BSR for total traffic and the percentage of traffic over LTE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kedalagudde to include indicating to the network the portions of data the WTRU sends over each of two accesses, as taught by lskander, so as to allow the network to allocate uplink resources in accordance with the split the WTRU applies (0024).
Claim 2, Kedalagudde in view of Yeh and further in view of lskander discloses the WTRU of claim 1.
Kedalagudde discloses wherein the information is sent in a PMF message (0086, the UE sends back a UE ATSSS Rule Update Complete response message to the UPF).
Claim 3, Kedalagudde in view of Yeh and further in view of lskander discloses the WTRU of claim 1.
Kedalagudde discloses send, using PMF protocol signaling, the information indicating the splitting percentages for the MA PDU session (0082, the following PMF protocol messages can be exchanged between the UE and the PMF, messages for UE ATSSS RAN Measurement Report by the UE to the UPF; 0027, the UE ATSSS Capability indicates if the UE supports receiving updates to ATSSS rules over PMF messaging).
Claim 4, Kedalagudde in view of Yeh and further in view of lskander discloses the WTRU of claim 1.
Kedalagudde discloses send, using user plane signaling, the information indicating the one or more percentages for steering traffic for the MA PDU session (0106, the UE RAN measurements are sent from UE to UPF over the in-band PMF messaging).
Claim 5, Kedalagudde in view of Yeh and further in view of lskander discloses the WTRU of claim 1.
Kedalagudde discloses wherein the steering capability comprises an adaptive traffic steering capability (0023, Dynamic traffic steering with RAN measurement is used to dynamically make decision to split/switch/steer SDF traffic across both accesses based on RAN measurements; 0027, UE indicates support for these steering modes in the UE ATSSS Capability).
Claim 6, Kedalagudde in view of Yeh and further in view of lskander discloses the WTRU of claim 1.
Kedalagudde discloses wherein the one or more steering rules comprise one or more access traffic steering, switching, splitting (ATSSS) rules (0040, from the received PCC rules the SMF derives ATSSS rules, which will be sent to UE for controlling the traffic steering, switching and splitting in the uplink direction).
Claim 8, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Kedalagudde discloses a method for use in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (0109, UE).
Kedalagudde may not explicitly disclose sending, in response to at least the received indicator, information indicating the splitting percentages for steering traffic.
lskander discloses sending, in response to at least the received indicator, information indicating the splitting percentages for steering traffic (0017, the eNB configures a maximum ratio or rates to be transmitted using WLAN while the split beneath the limit is kept to UE implementation; 0025, the UE can indicate a BSR for total traffic and the percentage of traffic over LTE, thus the indicating follows from the received configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kedalagudde to include indicating to the network the portions of data the WTRU sends over each of two accesses, as taught by lskander, so as to allow the network to allocate uplink resources in accordance with the split the WTRU applies (0024).
Claim 9, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 10, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 11, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 12, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 13, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 6.
Claim 15, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Kedalagudde discloses an apparatus (0130, SGC), the apparatus comprising: a transceiver (0153, communication resources), memory (0153, memory/storage devices), and one or more processors (0153, processors).
Claim 16, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 17, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 18, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 6.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20190306752 A1 - In an aspect, the disclosure provides a method for distributing uplink data flow between different access networks in a 5G communication system. The method would include not limited to maintaining an ATSSS rules table; receiving a request to establish an uplink data flow to a DN; determining from the ATSSS rule table whether the DN is in the ATSSS rule table in response to receiving the request to establish the uplink data flow to the DN; selecting a first PDU session from the ATSSS rule table for the uplink data flow to the DN in response to having been determined that the DN is in the ATSSS rule table; and creating a second PDU session for the uplink data flow to the DN and recording the second PDU session in the ATSSS rule table in response to having been determined that the DN is not in the ATSSS rule table.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mehmood B. Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463