DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's traversal on the grounds that the inventions would not impose a serious search and examination burden as the subject matter and technical field are the same is found persuasive; therefore, the restriction is withdrawn
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 107042627 A1) in view of Neider (EP 2607029 A1) and Gibson (US 2023/0264419 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a three-dimensional printing system (¶ [0075] – 3D printer) comprising:
a printing tool including a rigid base (¶ [0072] – printing platform 9) on which an object is configured to be printed (¶ [0090] – extrude the molten filament from the printing nozzle 10 and deposit it on the printing platform 9);
a control arm connected to the rigid base (¶ [0076] – 9 is mounted on Z-axis slider on Z-axis motion mechanism) and configured to move the rigid base (¶ [0076] – printing platform 9 is driven by Z-axis motion mechanism); and
a mounting rack (¶ [0084] – printhead bracket 2) configured to store a plurality of printing tools (¶ [0084] – positioning seats are fixed on 2, nozzle module can be fixed on 2), the mounting rack including
a support member (¶ [0075] – 2 mounted on frame 1; ¶ [0084] – positioning seats);
a magnet (¶ [0084] – positioning seats equipped with magnet 32)
Zhang does not disclose a control arm removably connected to the rigid base. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the printing platform (rigid base) removably connected to the Z-axis slider and Z-axis motion mechanism to separate the parts for servicing or replacement when the platform and/or Z-axis slider are no longer suitable for use.
Zhang discloses a plurality of recesses (¶ [0084] – positioning holes of nozzle module), each of the plurality of recesses being configured to receive (¶ [0084] – positioning pins 31 and positioning holes can realize positioning function and can reliably fix on nozzle bracket 2). Zhang discloses the 3D printer with an automatically replaceable printhead, and the printhead module and printhead module socket can be installed on different types of 3D printers (¶ [0007]).
Zhang does not disclose a plurality of recesses disposed in the support member, each of the plurality of recesses being configured to receive one of the plurality of printing tools; and a plurality of first openings disposed in the support member and surrounding each of the plurality of recesses.
Analogous art Neider discloses a tool changing system for multi-part tools (¶ [0001]).
Neider discloses a plurality of recesses (FIG. 1-2 depicts a plurality of recesses) disposed in the support member (¶ [0039] – interchangeable tool part 4), each of the plurality of recesses being configured to receive one of the plurality of printing tools (¶ [0039] – coupling element 31 on receptacle 28, 29; 31 interacts with coupling opening 32 on 4); and a plurality of first openings (¶ [0039] – coupling opening 32) disposed in the support member (¶ [0039] – interchangeable tool part 4) and surrounding each of the plurality of recesses (FIG. 1-2 depicts a plurality of recesses);
Neider FIG. 2
Zhang and Neider disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to a printhead replacing/tool changing system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the interchangeable tool part comprising coupling openings surrounding each recess in Neider to the printhead bracket comprising positioning seats in Zhang to have the advantage of high operational reliability and availability (¶ [0008]).
Zhang discloses employing a control electromagnet to attract the print head module, the automatic replacement of printheads in multi-material printing is achieved (¶ [0007]). Positioning seat is provided with a magnet and a positioning pin to facilitated positioning of the nozzle module (¶ [0017]). The positioning pins and positioning holes of the nozzle module can realize the positioning function (¶ [0084]).
Zhang does not disclose a magnet disposed in one of the plurality of first openings; and a spring ball plunger disposed in another one of the plurality of first openings.
Neider discloses a magnet (¶ [0041] – locking bolt 22 interacts with force element 21; 22 consists of magnetically reactive material) disposed in one of the plurality of first openings (FIG. 2 depicts 22 is in coupling opening 32); and a spring plunger (¶ [0041] – locking mechanism 7 comprising a spring element) disposed in another one of the plurality of first openings (FIG. 2 depicts 22 is in coupling opening 32).
Neider FIG. 2
Zhang and Neider disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to a printhead replacing/tool changing system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the magnet and spring element in Neider to the openings in modified Zhang to have the advantage of high operational reliability and availability (¶ [0008]).
Zhang discloses spring ejector pin male and female seat 24, 26 (¶ [0081]).
Modified Zhang does not disclose a spring ball plunger.
Analogous art Gibson discloses CNC controlled 3D printer 1 (¶ [0063]). A core storage mechanism 8 (¶ [0063]) comprising core receptacle 69 where core stowed in receptacle (¶ [0067]).
Gibson further discloses a spring ball plunger (¶ [0067, 0198] – spring loaded ball bearing plungers 21; 49 is inserted into the core storage receptacle 69, 21 will retain 49 by exerting spring loaded pressure).
Zhang and Gibson disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to a printhead replacing/core storage system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied spring ball plunger in Neider to the spring element in modified Zhang to retain the tool/receptacle (¶ [0067, 0198]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of recesses extends inwardly from a same edge of the support member (FIG. 2 depicts the recesses extend inwardly from a same edge of 4).
Neider FIG. 2
Regarding claim 3, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 1.
Neider depicts in FIG. 1-2 that the two coupling openings surrounding the recess.
Modified Zhang does not disclose wherein five first openings surround each of the plurality of recesses.
However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize additional coupling openings as a new and unexpected result is not produced.
Regarding claim 4, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 3.
Modified Zhang discloses a magnet (Neider ¶ [0041] – locking bolt 22 interacts with force element 21; 22 consists of magnetically reactive material) disposed in one of the plurality of first openings (Neider FIG. 2 depicts 22 is in coupling opening 32); and a spring ball plunger (Neider ¶ [0041] – locking mechanism 7 comprising a spring element; Gibson ¶ [0067, 0198] – spring loaded ball bearing plungers 21) disposed in another one of the plurality of first openings (Neider FIG. 2 depicts 22 is in coupling opening 32). Therefore, when there are five coupling openings, there would be five sets of force elements (magnets) and spring elements/spring loaded ball bear plungers (spring ball plunger), meeting the limitation “wherein two magnets and three spring ball plungers are disposed in the five first openings”.
Furthermore, it has been held that the rearrangement of parts as an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the force element/locking bolt and spring element in the coupling openings as an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 5, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 4, wherein a first magnet of the two magnets is disposed on a first side of the recess (Neider FIG. 2 depicts force element 7 and locking bolt 22 on a “first side”), and a second magnet of the two magnets is disposed on a second side of the recess (Neider FIG. 2 depicts a locking bolt 22 on a “second side”), the first side being on an opposite side of a longitudinal axis of the recess from the second side (Neider FIG. 1-2 depicts the sides are opposite of a longitudinal axis).
Neider FIG. 1-2
Regarding claim 6, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 5.
Modified Zhang discloses a magnet (Neider ¶ [0041] – locking bolt 22 interacts with force element 21; 22 consists of magnetically reactive material) disposed in one of the plurality of first openings (Neider FIG. 2 depicts 22 is in coupling opening 32); and a spring ball plunger (Neider ¶ [0041] – locking mechanism 7 comprising a spring element; Gibson ¶ [0067, 0198] – spring loaded ball bearing plungers 21) disposed in another one of the plurality of first openings (Neider FIG. 2 depicts 22 is in coupling opening 32). Therefore, when there are five coupling openings, there would be five sets of force elements (magnets) and spring elements/spring loaded ball bear plungers (spring ball plunger), meeting the limitation “a first spring ball plunger of the three spring ball plungers is disposed on the first side of the recess, and a second spring ball plunger of the three spring ball plungers is disposed on the second side of the recess”.
Furthermore, it has been held that the rearrangement of parts as an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the force element/locking bolt and spring element in the coupling openings as an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 7, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 6.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein a third spring ball plunger is disposed on the longitudinal axis of the recess. However, it has been held that the rearrangement of parts as an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the coupling hole with force element/locking bolt and spring element to be disposed on the longitudinal axis of the recess as an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 8, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 1, wherein the magnet is a permanent magnet (Zhang ¶ [0007] – square magnet 32; Neider ¶ [0011] – force element designed as a magnet, permanent magnet).
Regarding claim 9, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 1, wherein the magnet is an electromagnet (Zhang ¶ [0007] – electromagnet to attract the printhead module; Neider ¶ [0011] – force element designed as a magnet, electromagnet).
Regarding claim 10, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 9.
Zhang discloses positioning seat is provided with a magnet and a positioning pin, and the nozzle module is provided with an iron plate that cooperates with the magnet and the technical solution facilitates the positioning of the nozzle module by better matching the nozzle module socket (¶ [0017]). Neider discloses the force element is designed as a magnet, the magnetic force of which acts on the locking mechanism and preferably opens it (¶ [0011]). A force element can open the locking mechanism and open the coupling for easy coupling and uncoupling, and can hold the interchangeable tool part in its rest position on the holder and secure its rest position (¶ [0012-0013]).
Although Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein a strength of the magnet is adjusted based on a weight of the printing tool received by one of the recesses, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the magnet/electromagnet strength based on a weight of the printing tool/nozzle to facilitate the positioning of the nozzle module (Zhang ¶ [0017]) and ensure the magnetic force holds the interchangeable tool part and secure its rest position (Neider ¶ [0011-0013]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 1, wherein the magnet is threadedly engaged with one of the first openings (Neider FIG. 2 depicts the force element comprising the magnet is threadedly engaged with 32) to adjust a position of an upper surface of the magnet relative to the planar surface (¶ [0020] – movable locking element; ¶ [0036] – force element 21 can in particular attract and move a moveable part of the locking mechanism 7; ¶ [0045] – coupling bolt 31 move in and out of 32 without obstruction for coupling and uncoupling; therefore an “upper surface” of the locking mechanism moves relative to a “planar surface” of 32).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses a robot-assisted system (¶ [0075] – 3D printer) comprising:
a printing tool (¶ [0072] – printing platform 9);
a control arm connected to the rigid base (¶ [0076] – 9 is mounted on Z-axis slider on Z-axis motion mechanism) and configured to move the tool (¶ [0076] – printing platform 9 is driven by Z-axis motion mechanism); and
a mounting rack (¶ [0084] – printhead bracket 2) configured to store a plurality of tools (¶ [0084] – positioning seats are fixed on 2, nozzle module can be fixed on 2), the mounting rack including
a support member (¶ [0075] – 2 mounted on frame 1; ¶ [0084] – positioning seats);
a magnet (¶ [0084] – positioning seats equipped with magnet 32)
Zhang discloses a plurality of recesses (¶ [0084] – positioning holes of nozzle module), each of the plurality of recesses being configured to receive (¶ [0084] – positioning pins 31 and positioning holes can realize positioning function and can reliably fix on nozzle bracket 2). Zhang discloses the 3D printer with an automatically replaceable printhead, and the printhead module and printhead module socket can be installed on different types of 3D printers (¶ [0007]).
Zhang does not disclose a plurality of recesses disposed in the support member, each of the plurality of recesses being configured to receive one of the plurality of tools; and a plurality of first openings disposed in the support member and surrounding each of the plurality of recesses.
Analogous art Neider discloses a tool changing system for multi-part tools (¶ [0001]).
Neider discloses a plurality of recesses (FIG. 1-2 depicts a plurality of recesses) disposed in the support member (¶ [0039] – interchangeable tool part 4), each of the plurality of recesses being configured to receive one of the plurality of tools (¶ [0039] – coupling element 31 on receptacle 28, 29; 31 interacts with coupling opening 32 on 4); and a plurality of first openings (¶ [0039] – coupling opening 32) disposed in the support member (¶ [0039] – interchangeable tool part 4) and surrounding each of the plurality of recesses (FIG. 1-2 depicts a plurality of recesses);
Neider FIG. 2
Zhang and Neider disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to a printhead replacing/tool changing system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the interchangeable tool part comprising coupling openings surrounding each recess in Neider to the printhead bracket comprising positioning seats in Zhang to have the advantage of high operational reliability and availability (¶ [0008]).
Zhang discloses employing a control electromagnet to attract the print head module, the automatic replacement of printheads in multi-material printing is achieved (¶ [0007]). Positioning seat is provided with a magnet and a positioning pin to facilitated positioning of the nozzle module (¶ [0017]). The positioning pins and positioning holes of the nozzle module can realize the positioning function (¶ [0084]).
Zhang does not disclose a magnet disposed in one of the plurality of first openings; and a spring ball plunger disposed in another one of the plurality of first openings.
Neider discloses a magnet (¶ [0041] – locking bolt 22 interacts with force element 21; 22 consists of magnetically reactive material) disposed in one of the plurality of first openings (FIG. 2 depicts 22 is in coupling opening 32); and a spring plunger (¶ [0041] – locking mechanism 7 comprising a spring element) disposed in another one of the plurality of first openings (FIG. 2 depicts 22 is in coupling opening 32).
Neider FIG. 2
Zhang and Neider disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to a printhead replacing/tool changing system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the magnet and spring element in Neider to the openings in modified Zhang to have the advantage of high operational reliability and availability (¶ [0008]).
Zhang discloses spring ejector pin male and female seat 24, 26 (¶ [0081]).
Modified Zhang does not disclose a spring ball plunger.
Analogous art Gibson discloses CNC controlled 3D printer 1 (¶ [0063]). A core storage mechanism 8 (¶ [0063]) comprising core receptacle 69 where core stowed in receptacle (¶ [0067]).
Gibson further discloses a spring ball plunger (¶ [0067, 0198] – spring loaded ball bearing plungers 21; 49 is inserted into the core storage receptacle 69, 21 will retain 49 by exerting spring loaded pressure).
Zhang and Gibson disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to a printhead replacing/core storage system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied spring ball plunger in Gibson to the spring element in modified Zhang to retain the tool/receptacle (¶ [0067, 0198]).
Claim(s) 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 107042627 A1) in view of Neider (EP 2607029 A1) and Gibson (US 2023/0264419 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Gunther (WO 2025/218590 A1, with priority date of April 19, 2024 in CN Application 202410477504.6 and CN Publication 118596553 A, an English machine translation is provided in this Office Action).
Regarding claim 11, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 1.
Zhang discloses wherein the printing tool (¶ [0084] – nozzle module) includes a receiving surface having a plurality of second openings therein (¶ [0084] – positioning holes of nozzle module), and a receiving member is disposed in another one of the plurality of second openings ¶ [0084] – positioning holes can realize positioning function and can reliably fix on nozzle bracket 2).
Zhang further discloses an electromagnet to attract print head module (¶ [0007]) and nozzle module is provided with an iron plate that cooperates with the magnet (¶ [0017]).
Zhang does not disclose a magnet is disposed in one of the plurality of second openings.
Analogous art Gunther discloses a 3D printer with multiple printhead switching, printhead gripping, docking, and separation (Title).
Gunther further discloses a magnet (¶ [0016] – second magnet of the nozzle body) is disposed in one of the plurality of second openings (¶ [0028] – first positioning hole and second positioning hole of the nozzle body).
Zhang and Gunther disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to a printhead replacing/switching system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied magnets in the positioning holes of the nozzle body in Gunther to the positioning holes of the nozzle module in modified Zhang to control the nozzle holder to move away from the nozzle body, thus separating the nozzle body from the nozzle holder and provide a control method for multi-nozzle switching (¶ [0030-0031]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 11.
Zhang, Neider, and Gunther disclose wherein a number of the plurality of second openings in the printing tool is the same as a number of the plurality of first openings surrounding each of the recesses (Zhang ¶ [0091] – positioning hole is aligned with positioning pin; FIG. 5 depicts one to one attachment of the pin and holes on the respective nozzle module and holder; Neider FIG. 2 depicts one to one attachment of the receptacle and the coupling elements; Gunther FIG. 13-14 depict one to one attachment of the respective first and second positioning pins of the holder to the first and second holes of the nozzle body).
Regarding claim 13, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 11.
Zhang discloses a positioning hole of the nozzle module is aligned with positioning pin (¶ [0091]). Gunther discloses first positioning hole and second positioning hole of the nozzle body (¶ [0028]).
Modified Zhang does not disclose wherein the receiving surface of the printing tool has five second openings.
However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize additional positioning holes as a new and unexpected result is not produced.
Regarding claim 14, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 13.
Modified Zhang discloses a magnet (Gunther ¶ [0016] – second magnet of the nozzle body) is disposed in one of the plurality of second openings (Gunther ¶ [0028] – first positioning hole and second positioning hole of the nozzle body). Therefore, each of the positioning holes would have a magnet, meeting the limitation “wherein two magnets … are disposed in the five second openings” and the other holes meet “three receiving members are disposed in the five second openings”.
Regarding claim 15, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 11, wherein the magnet is a permanent magnet (Neider ¶ [0011] – permanent magnet; Gunther ¶ [0016] – second magnet of the nozzle body).
Regarding claim 16, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 14.
Zhang discloses a positioning hole of the nozzle module is aligned with positioning pin (¶ [0091]). Zhang further discloses the left half shell is provided with a first groove for positioning the print head 10 and print head clamp is provided with a second groove and the print head is clamped by a threaded connection so that the print head remains stable during the printing process (¶ [0078]).
Modified Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiving member includes a V-shaped groove.
However, it has been held the specific shape of a claimed apparatus was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Regarding claim 17, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 11, wherein the receiving member is configured to engage the spring ball plunger (¶ [0067, 0198] – spring loaded ball bearing plungers 21; 49 is inserted into the core storage receptacle 69, 21 will retain 49 by exerting spring loaded pressure) when the printing tool is received by one of the plurality of recesses of the mounting rack (¶ [0198] – core is inserted into core storage receptacle 69).
Regarding claim 18, modified Zhang discloses the three-dimensional printing system according to claim 14.
Zhang discloses a positioning hole of the nozzle module is aligned with positioning pin (¶ [0091]). Zhang further discloses the left half shell is provided with a first groove for positioning the print head 10 and print head clamp is provided with a second groove and the print head is clamped by a threaded connection so that the print head remains stable during the printing process (¶ [0078]).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the three receiving members includes a V-shaped groove, virtual lines through each of the V-shaped grooves intersecting in a point on the receiving surface of the printing tool.
However, it has been held the specific shape of a claimed apparatus was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 107175810 A discloses a quick-change nozzle system and printer for use in 3D printers with quick connectors made of a male and female and an annular groove
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754