DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 07/24/2024 where claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 07/24/2024. These drawing are acceptable.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Regarding claim 1 of the application 18/783,406, is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patent as being unpatentable over claims 1 of US Patent US 12069731 B2. of application 17/407,177
Independent claim 1 of 18/783, 406
Independent claim 1 of US 12069731 B2
1. A method comprising: receiving, at a user equipment (UE), beam-specific traffic information for a plurality of transmit beams, wherein the beam-specific traffic information includes at least one of the following: beam-specific loading information indicating a level of congestion on a corresponding transmit beam, or beam-specific priority information indicating a priority level of traffic carried over the corresponding transmit beam; selecting, at the UE, a first transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams and a second transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams based on the beam-specific traffic information for the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam; transmitting, from the UE, one or more signals using the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam; and receiving, at the UE, a message comprising an indication selecting the first transmit beam.
1. A method for random access in a communication network, the method comprising: receiving, at a user equipment (UE), beam-specific traffic information for a plurality of transmit beams, wherein the beam-specific traffic information includes at least one of the following: beam-specific loading information indicating a level of congestion on a corresponding transmit beam, and beam-specific priority information indicating a priority level of traffic carried over the corresponding transmit beam; selecting, at the UE, a first transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams and a second transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams based on the beam-specific traffic information for the first and the second transmit beams; transmitting, from the UE, a pattern of reference signals as part of a request message of a random access procedure, wherein the pattern of reference signals is transmitted using the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam; and receiving, at the UE, a response message of the random access procedure, wherein the response message comprises an indication selecting the first transmit beam.
2. The method of claim 1, the method further comprising sending, from the UE, a connection request message of a random access procedure by the first transmit beam.
2. The method of claim 1, the method further comprising sending, from the UE, a connection request message of the random access procedure by the first transmit beam.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising selecting, based on correspondence with the first transmit beam, a UE receive beam.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising selecting, based on correspondence with the first transmit beam, a UE receive beam.
4. The method of claim 3, further comprising receiving, at the UE via the UE receive beam, a contention resolution message.
4. The method of claim 3, further comprising receiving, at the UE, a contention resolution message by the UE receive beam.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the one or more signals comprises: transmitting a first instance of a request message of a random access procedure by the first transmit beam; and transmitting a second instance of the request message by the second transmit beam.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the pattern of reference signals comprises: transmitting a first instance of the request message of the random access procedure by the first transmit beam; and transmitting a second instance of the request message by the second transmit beam.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving configuration information at the UE, wherein transmitting the one or more signals is based on the configuration information.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving configuration information at the UE, wherein transmitting the pattern of reference signals is based on the configuration information.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the configuration information is received in a system information block (SIB).
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the configuration information is received in a system information block (SIB).
8. The method of claim 6, wherein the configuration information comprises resources for transmitting the one or more signals, the one or more signals comprising a pattern of reference signals.
8. The method of claim 6, wherein the configuration information comprises resources for transmitting the pattern of reference signals.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the resources comprise frequency and time resources for a physical random access channel (PRACH).
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the resources comprise frequency and time resources for a physical random access channel (PRACH).
10. The method of claim 6, further comprising determining, at the UE, a transmit broad beam of a base station, wherein the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam are narrow transmit beams corresponding to the transmit broad beam.
10. The method of claim 6, further comprising determining, at the UE, a transmit broad beam of a base station, wherein the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam are narrow transmit beams corresponding to the transmit broad beam.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the configuration information comprises quasi-colocation (QCL) information for the one or more signals based on QCL information for the transmit broad beam.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the configuration information comprises quasi-colocation (QCL) information for the pattern of reference signals based on QCL information for the transmit broad beam.
12. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, at the UE, precoding information; and transmitting the one or more signals based on the precoding information.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the pattern of reference signals based on precoding information; and receiving, at the UE, the precoding information.
13. The method of claim 1, wherein: the first transmit beam is based on a first reference signal identified by a first transmission control information (TCI) state; and the second transmit beam is based on a second reference signal identified by a second TCI state.
15. The method of claim 1, wherein: the first transmit beam is based on a first reference signal identified by a first transmission control information (TCI) state; and the second transmit beam is based on a second reference signal identified by a second TCI state.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein: the first transmit beam is based on a first reference signal identified by first quasi colocation (QCL) information; and the second transmit beam is based on a second reference signal identified by second QCL information.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein: the first beam is based on a first reference signal identified by first quasi colocation (QCL) information; and the second beam is based on a second reference signal identified by second QCL information.
15. A method comprising: transmitting, by a base station to a user equipment (UE), beam-specific traffic information for a plurality of transmit beams, wherein the beam-specific traffic information includes at least one of the following: beam-specific loading information indicating a level of congestion on a corresponding transmit beam, or beam-specific priority information indicating a priority level of traffic carried over the corresponding transmit beam; receiving, at the base station, one or more signals based on a first transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams selected by the UE and a second transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams selected by the UE; measuring, at the base station, the one or more signals received on the first transmit beam and received on the second transmit beam; selecting, at the base station, the first transmit beam based on the measuring; and sending, to the UE and based on the selecting, a message indicating selection of the first transmit beam.
1. A method comprising: receiving, at a user equipment (UE), beam-specific traffic information for a plurality of transmit beams, wherein the beam-specific traffic information includes at least one of the following: beam-specific loading information indicating a level of congestion on a corresponding transmit beam, or beam-specific priority information indicating a priority level of traffic carried over the corresponding transmit beam; selecting, at the UE, a first transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams and a second transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams based on the beam-specific traffic information for the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam; transmitting, from the UE, one or more signals using the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam; and receiving, at the UE, a message comprising an indication selecting the first transmit beam.
12. receiving, at a base station, two or more reference signals of the pattern of reference signals; measuring, at the base station, the two or more reference signals of the pattern of reference signals; selecting, at the base station, the first transmit beam based on the measuring; and sending from the base station, based on the selecting, the response message to the UE.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein: the one or more signals comprise a pattern of reference signals, and receiving the one or more signals comprises receiving a first instance of the one or more signals.
6. Further comprising receiving configuration information at the UE, wherein transmitting the pattern of reference signals is based on the configuration information.
17. The method of claim 16, further comprising: receiving, at the base station, a second instance of the one or more signals; and measuring, at the base station, the second instance of the one or more signals, wherein selecting the first transmit beam is based on measuring the first instance of the one or more signals and measuring the second instance of the one or more signals.
12. further comprising: receiving, at a base station, two or more reference signals of the pattern of reference signals; measuring, at the base station, the two or more reference signals of the pattern of reference signals; selecting, at the base station, the first transmit beam based on the measuring; and sending from the base station, based on the selecting, the response message to the UE
18. A device comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory configured to: receive beam-specific traffic information for a plurality of transmit beams, wherein the beam-specific traffic information includes at least one of the following: beam-specific loading information indicating a level of congestion on a corresponding transmit beam, or beam-specific priority information indicating a priority level of traffic carried over the corresponding transmit beam; select a first transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams and a second transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams based on the beam-specific traffic information for the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam; transmit one or more signals using the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam; and receive a message comprising an indication selecting the first transmit beam.
1. A method for random access in a communication network, the method comprising: receiving, at a user equipment (UE), beam-specific traffic information for a plurality of transmit beams, wherein the beam-specific traffic information includes at least one of the following: beam-specific loading information indicating a level of congestion on a corresponding transmit beam, and beam-specific priority information indicating a priority level of traffic carried over the corresponding transmit beam; selecting, at the UE, a first transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams and a second transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams based on the beam-specific traffic information for the first and the second transmit beams; transmitting, from the UE, a pattern of reference signals as part of a request message of a random access procedure, wherein the pattern of reference signals is transmitted using the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam; and receiving, at the UE, a response message of the random access procedure, wherein the response message comprises an indication selecting the first transmit beam.
19. The device of claim 18, wherein the at least one processor is configured to send a connection request message of a random access procedure by the first transmit beam.
2. The method of claim 1, the method further comprising sending, from the UE, a connection request message of the random access procedure by the first transmit beam.
20. The device of claim 18, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: select, based on correspondence with the first transmit beam, a receive beam; and receive, at the device via the receive beam, a contention resolution message
3. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising selecting, based on correspondence with the first transmit beam, a UE receive beam.
4. The method of claim 3, further comprising receiving, at the UE, a contention resolution message by the UE receive beam.
A nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where a claim in an application under examination claims subject matter that is different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter claimed in a prior patent or a co-pending application. The claim under examination is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) if the claim under examination is anticipated by the reference claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8 , 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khirallah et al. (US 20190182683 A1) hereinafter Khirallah and further in view of Xiong et al. (US 20180212659 A1) hereinafter Xiong
As to claim 1. Khirallah teaches A method comprising: ([0056] mobile device 3 carrying out beam searching for initial access by performing a random access procedure)
receiving, at a user equipment (UE), beam-specific traffic information for a plurality of transmit beams, wherein the beam-specific traffic information includes at least one of the following: ([0051] Fig. 1, Fig. 4, base station transmits beam specific reference signal; mobile devices 3 use the associated BRS for performing signal strength and channel estimate measurements for each beam)
beam-specific loading information indicating a level of congestion on a corresponding transmit beam, ([0063] –[0065] Fig. 1, Fig. 4, base station 5 may modify the Operational Beam Set (OBS), of the mobile device 3 by adding or removing beams based on at least one of, beam measurements (performed and reported by the mobile device 3 and/or derived by the base station 5 from UL transmissions by that mobile device 3); beam load (traffic congestion); )
or beam-specific priority information indicating a priority level of traffic carried over the corresponding transmit beam;
selecting, at the UE, a first transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams and a second transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams based on the beam-specific traffic information for the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam; ; ([0062]-[0066] Fig. 1, Fig. 4, OBS comprise a (typically small) sub-set of beams within the base station's cell, which sub-set is selected for communication with that mobile device 3 while it remains within the cell of the base station 5, i.e., selecting first beam load and traffic and second beam with priority).
Khirallah does not teach transmitting, from the UE, one or more signals using the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam; and receiving, at the UE, a message comprising an indication selecting the first transmit beam.
Xiong teaches teach transmitting, from the UE, one or more signals using the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam; ([0087] [0092] receive, from the UE, an uplink transmission of PRACH transmitted using beamforming sweeping, identify at least one beamforming pattern in the uplink transmission of the physical random access channel, and transmit to the UE a signal comprising an identifier associated with the at least one beamforming pattern in the uplink transmission.; UE transmits first PRACH in first beamforming weight in first subframe and second PRACH in second beamforming weight in second subframe), and receiving, at the UE, a message comprising an indication selecting the first transmit beam. .([0024] The eNB evaluates the received PRACH to determine one or more suitable beams (e.g., the strongest beams received at the eNB) and provides as feedback to the UE the beam index associated with the one or more suitable beams; UE may select for transmission a beamform associated with the one or more beams selected determined by the eNB as suitable beams to use for transmission to the eNB)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xiong with the teaching of Khirallah because Xiong teaches that information in at least the first RAR message and the second RAR message, would allow to determine a suitable transmission beam for uplink transmission from the UE.(Xiong [0092])
Claim 18 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 6. the combination of Khirallah and Xiong specifically Xiong teaches, further comprising receiving configuration information at the UE, wherein transmitting the one or more signals is based on the configuration information. ([0094] a network entity capable to establish a communication connection with a user equipment (UE), configure the processor to transmit a primary synchronization signal (xPSS) and a beamforming reference signal (xBRS) using transmit beamforming sweeping, receive, from the UE, an identifier associated with one or more beamforming patterns for a downlink signal,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xiong with the teaching of Khirallah because Xiong teaches that information in at least the first RAR message and the second RAR message, would allow to determine a suitable transmission beam for uplink transmission from the UE.(Xiong [0092])
As to claim 8. the combination of Khirallah and Xiong specifically Xiong teaches, wherein the configuration information comprises resources for transmitting the one or more signals, the one or more signals comprising a pattern of reference signals. ([0087]receive, from the UE, an uplink transmission of the physical random access channel PRACH transmitted using beamforming sweeping, identify at least one beamforming pattern in the uplink transmission of the physical random access channel)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xiong with the teaching of Khirallah because Xiong teaches that information in at least the first RAR message and the second RAR message, would allow to determine a suitable transmission beam for uplink transmission from the UE.(Xiong [0092])
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khirallah , Xiong and further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1#88bis R1-1704943, Spokane, USA, 3th – 7th April, 2017, hereinafter 3GPP; copy attached.
As to claim 2. the combination of Khirallah and Xiong does not teach sending, from the UE, a connection request message of the random access procedure by the first transmit beam.
3GPP teaches sending, from the UE, a connection request message of a random access procedure by the first transmit beam. ([Section 3.1, Page 5, Figure 3]; UE sends PRACH beam 1 to base station)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Khirallah and Xiong because 3GPP teaches that transmitting multiple preambles during the same RACH sweep reduces the initial access latency. (3GPP [Observation 1, page 4])
Claim 19 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 3. the combination of Khirallah and Xiong does not teach, further comprising selecting, based on correspondence with the first transmit beam, a UE receive beam.
3GPP teaches further comprising selecting, based on correspondence with the first transmit beam, a UE receive beam. ([Section 2.1, Page 3, Table 1], gNB correspondence, UE correspondence, message 1, UL UE Tx beam, Selected based on DL UE Rx beam)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Khirallah and Xiong because 3GPP teaches that transmitting multiple preambles during the same RACH sweep reduces the initial access latency. (3GPP [Observation 1, page 4])
As to claim 5 the combination of Khirallah and Xiong does not teach wherein transmitting the one or more signals comprises: transmitting a first instance of a request message of a random access procedure by the first transmit beam; and transmitting a second instance of the request message by the second transmit beam.
3GPP teaches wherein transmitting the one or more signals comprises: transmitting a first instance of a request message of a random access procedure by the first transmit beam; and transmitting a second instance of the request message by the second transmit beam. ([Section 3.1, Page 4, Fig. 3,] UE transmits PRACH beam 1, PRACH beam 2, PRACH beam 3 to base station)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Khirallah and Xiong because 3GPP teaches that transmitting multiple preambles during the same RACH sweep reduces the initial access latency. (3GPP [Observation 1, page 4])
As to claim 9. the combination of Khirallah and Xiong does not teach wherein the resources comprise frequency and time resources for a physical random access channel (PRACH).
3GPP teaches wherein the resources comprise frequency and time resources for a physical random access channel (PRACH). ([Section 3.3, sub-section 1, & a, Page 6 &7, Selection of random access preamble time/frequency resource. based on: configured PRACH resources RACH configuration index) – part of the minimum SI)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Khirallah and Xiong because 3GPP teaches that transmitting multiple preambles during the same RACH sweep reduces the initial access latency. (3GPP [Observation 1, page 4])
Claim(s) 4, 7, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khirallah, Xiong 3GPP, and further in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 20200267764 A1) hereinafter Raste
As to claim 4. the combination of Khirallah, Xiong 3GPP Xiong does not teaches further comprising receiving, at the UE via the UE receive beam, a contention resolution message.
Raste teaches further comprising receiving, at the UE via the UE receive beam, a contention resolution message. ([0281] If a contention free random access procedure is triggered for a beam failure recovery request, a UE may consider a contention free random access procedure successfully complete if a PDCCH transmission is addressed to a C-RNTI. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Raste with the teaching of Khirallah, Xiong 3GPP because Raste teaches that receiving by UE , at least one random access response comprises a random access preamble identifier the UE would consider contention free random access procedure successfully completed. (Raste [0281])
As to claim 7. the combination of Khirallah, Xiong 3GPP does not teach wherein the configuration information is received in a system information block (SIB).
Raste teaches wherein the configuration information is received in a system information block (SIB). ([0327] The downlink control signal (e.g., DCI format 1_0, DCI format 1_1, and/or DCI format 0_1) or an RRC message (e.g., SIB1) may indicate to the wireless device a reception of one or more downlink channels/signals (e.g., PDSCH, PDCCH, SSB, and/or CSI-RS) )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Raste with the teaching of Khirallah, Xiong 3GPP because Raste teaches that receiving by UE , at least one random access response comprises a random access preamble identifier the UE would consider contention free random access procedure successfully completed. (Raste [0281])
As to claim 20. the combination of Khirallah and Xiong does not teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: select, based on correspondence with the first transmit beam, a receive beam;
3GPP teaches , wherein the at least one processor is configured to: select, based on correspondence with the first transmit beam, a receive beam; . ([Section 2.1, Page 3, Table 1], gNB correspondence, UE correspondence, message 1, UL UE Tx beam, Selected based on DL UE Rx beam)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Khirallah and Xiong because 3GPP teaches that transmitting multiple preambles during the same RACH sweep reduces the initial access latency. (3GPP [Observation 1, page 4])
the combination of Khirallah and Xiong does not teach and receive, at the device via the receive beam, a contention resolution message.
Raste teaches and receive, at the device via the receive beam, a contention resolution message. ([0281] If a contention free random access procedure is triggered for a beam failure recovery request, a UE may consider a contention free random access procedure successfully complete if a PDCCH transmission is addressed to a C-RNTI. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Raste with the teaching of Khirallah, Xiong 3GPP because Raste teaches that receiving by UE , at least one random access response comprises a random access preamble identifier the UE would consider contention free random access procedure successfully completed. (Raste [0281])
Claim(s) 10, 11, 14, 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khirallah, Xiong and further in view of Frenne et al. (US 20190074880 A1) hereinafter Frenne
As to claim 10. the combination of Khirallah, Xiong does not tech, further comprising determining, at the UE, a transmit broad beam of a base station, wherein the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam are narrow transmit beams corresponding to the transmit broad beam.
Frenne teaches further comprising determining, at the UE, a transmit broad beam of a base station, wherein the first transmit beam and the second transmit beam are narrow transmit beams corresponding to the transmit broad beam. ([0006] UE need to direct beam in a robust manner, UE receiving and transmitting dedicated signals that require high gain or narrow beams (e.g., PDSCH, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), here is also a need to transmit both narrow and wide width beam)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Frenne with the teaching of Khirallah, Xiong and Molavian because Frenne teaches that knowing knows how to direct its beams when receiving and transmitting buy the UE, that would avoids the need for beam sweeping (i.e., searching for the signal by probing in different directions), which is costly in overhead. (Frenne [0098])
As to claim 11. . the combination of Khirallah, Xiong, Frenne does not teach wherein the configuration information comprises quasi-colocation (QCL) information for the one or more signals based on QCL information for the transmit broad beam.
Frenne teaches wherein the configuration information comprises quasi-colocation (QCL) information for the one or more signals based on QCL information for the transmit broad beam ([0123] [0130] When a beam -related indication is provided i.e., beam pattern, , information pertaining to UE-side beamforming/receiving procedure used for CSI-RS-based measurement may be indicated through QCL to UE)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Frenne with the teaching of Khirallah, Xiong because Frenne teaches that knowing knows how to direct its beams when receiving and transmitting buy the UE, that would avoids the need for beam sweeping (i.e., searching for the signal by probing in different directions), which is costly in overhead. (Frenne [0098])
As to claim 12. the combination of Khirallah, Xiong does not teach further comprising: receiving, at the UE, precoding information; and transmitting the one or more signals based on the precoding information.
Frenne teaches , further comprising: receiving, at the UE, precoding information; and transmitting the one or more signals based on the precoding information([0065]Fig. 1, UE transmit or receive the first signal of the first type (e.g., transmit beamforming weights) or a first receiver configuration (e.g., receive beamforming weights) that is based on a first QCL assumption 121 associating the first signal 113 with the first reference signal 111 received by the wireless device 105 and transmit beamforming weights may also be referred to as a transmit precoder)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Frenne with the teaching of Khirallah, Xiong because Frenne teaches that knowing knows how to direct its beams when receiving and transmitting buy the UE, that would avoids the need for beam sweeping (i.e., searching for the signal by probing in different directions), which is costly in overhead. (Frenne [0098])
.
As to claim 13. the combination of Khirallah, Xiong does not teach wherein: the first transmit beam is based on a first reference signal identified by a first transmission control information (TCI) state; and the second transmit beam is based on a second reference signal identified by a second TCI state.
Frenne teaches wherein: the first transmit beam is based on a first reference signal identified by a first transmission control information (TCI) state; and the second transmit beam is based on a second reference signal identified by a second TCI state. ([0010][0066] transmitting or receiving, by the wireless device, a first signal on a first QCL assumption associating the first signal with a first reference signal received by the wireless device, a second signal of a second type on a second QCL assumption associating the second signal with a second reference signal received by the wireless device, QCL is associated with a transmission or reception of a signal that is in a same beam direction as a transmission or reception of another signal)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Frenne with the teaching of Khirallah, Xiong because Frenne teaches that knowing knows how to direct its beams when receiving and transmitting buy the UE, that would avoids the need for beam sweeping (i.e., searching for the signal by probing in different directions), which is costly in overhead. (Frenne [0098])
As to claim 14. the combination of Khirallah, Xiong does not teach wherein: the first transmit beam is based on a first reference signal identified by first quasi colocation (QCL) information; and the second transmit beam is based on a second reference signal identified by second QCL information.
Frenne teaches wherein: the first transmit beam is based on a first reference signal identified by first quasi colocation (QCL) information; and the second transmit beam is based on a second reference signal identified by second QCL information. ([0010][0066] transmitting or receiving, by the wireless device, a first signal on a first QCL assumption associating the first signal with a first reference signal received by the wireless device, a second signal of a second type on a second QCL assumption associating the second signal with a second reference signal received by the wireless device, QCL is associated with a transmission or reception of a signal that is in a same beam direction as a transmission or reception of another signal)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Frenne with the teaching of Khirallah, Xiong because Frenne teaches that knowing knows how to direct its beams when receiving and transmitting buy the UE, that would avoids the need for beam sweeping (i.e., searching for the signal by probing in different directions), which is costly in overhead. (Frenne [0098])
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khirallah , MolavianJazi et al. (US 20190104477 A1) hereinafter Molavian and further in view of Yu et al. (US 20200077285 A1)hereinafter Yu
As to claim 15. Khirallah teaches transmitting, by a base station to a user equipment (UE), beam-specific traffic information for a plurality of transmit beams, wherein the beam-specific traffic information includes at least one of the following: ([0051] Fig. 1, Fig. 4, base station transmits beam specific reference signal; mobile devices 3 use the associated BRS for performing signal strength and channel estimate measurements for each beam)
beam-specific loading information indicating a level of congestion on a corresponding transmit beam, ([0063] –[0065] Fig. 1, Fig. 4, base station 5 may modify the Operational Beam Set (OBS), of the mobile device 3 by adding or removing beams based on at least one of, beam measurements (performed and reported by the mobile device 3 and/or derived by the base station 5 from UL transmissions by that mobile device 3); beam load (traffic congestion) )
or beam-specific priority information indicating a priority level of traffic carried over the corresponding transmit beam;
receiving, at the base station, ([0113] transceiver of the base station may be operable to receive from at least one communication device results of measurements performed on respective reference signals transmitted, via each beam, )
one or more signals based on a first transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams selected by the UE ([0062]-[0066] Fig. 1, Fig. 4, OBS comprise a (typically small) sub-set of beams within the base station's cell, which sub-set is selected for communication with that mobile device 3 while it remains within the cell of the base station 5, i.e., selecting first beam load and traffic and second beam with priority).
and a second transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams selected by the UE; ([0062]-[0066] Fig. 1, Fig. 4, OBS comprise a (typically small) sub-set of beams within the base station's cell, which sub-set is selected for communication with that mobile device 3 while it remains within the cell of the base station 5, i.e., selecting first beam load and traffic and second beam with priority).
Khirallah does not teach measuring, at the base station, the one or more signals received on the first transmit beam and received on the second transmit beam; selecting, at the base station, the first transmit beam based on the measuring;
Molavian teaches measuring, at the base station, the one or more signals received on the first transmit beam and received on the second transmit beam; ; ([0050][0093] TRP's uplink measurement on the TRP's one or more RX beams and each reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources is associated with a corresponding uplink transmission beam pattern)
selecting, at the base station, the first transmit beam based on the measuring; and;([0050][0093] and/or the TRP is able to determine a TRP TX beam for a downlink transmission based on the TRP's uplink measurement on the TRP's one or more RX beams)\
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Molavian with the teaching of Khirallahbecause Molavian teaches that determining a first uplink transmission beam pattern associated with the first reference signal resource would allow to determine a first configured maximum output power for the first uplink transmission beam pattern. (Molavian [0005])
The combination of Khirallah and Molavian does not teach sending, to the UE and based on the selecting, a message indicating selection of the first transmit beam
Yu teaches sending, to the UE and based on the selecting, a message indicating selection of the first transmit beam [[0036] after narrow transmit beam is selected, the base station and the user device proceed with step P3, during which the user device performs receive beam sweeping. The base station fixes its best narrow transmit beam, identified from step P2, and indicates the resource ID associated with the best narrow transmit beam to the user device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yu with the teaching of Khirallah and Molavian because Yu teaches that base station’s beamforming operations to control a transmit beam to be primarily directed in a general direction, which may be useful in improving communication with a mobile device. (Yu [0062])
As to claim 16. The combination of Khirallah, Molavian, and Yu specifically Molavian teaches wherein: the one or more signals comprise a pattern of reference signals,( ([0050][0093] and each reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources is associated with a corresponding uplink transmission beam pattern) the two or more reference signals; )
and receiving the one or more signals comprises receiving a first instance of the one or more signals. ([0050][0093] and each reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources is associated with a corresponding uplink transmission beam pattern)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Molavian with the teaching of Khirallahbecause Molavian teaches that determining a first uplink transmission beam pattern associated with the first reference signal resource would allow to determine a first configured maximum output power for the first uplink transmission beam pattern. (Molavian [0005])
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khirallah , Molavian, Yu and 3GPP
As to claim 17. The combination of Khirallah, Molavian, and Yu, specifically Molavian teaches further comprising: receiving, at the base station, a second instance of the one or more signals; ([0050][0093] each reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources includes a an uplink sounding reference signal resource, and each reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources is associated with a corresponding uplink transmission beam pattern)
and measuring, at the base station, the second instance of the one or more signals, ([0050][0093] TRP's uplink measurement on the TRP's one or more RX beams and each reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources is associated with a corresponding uplink transmission beam pattern)
wherein selecting the first transmit beam is based on measuring the first instance of the one or more signals;([0050][0093] and/or the TRP is able to determine a TRP TX beam for a downlink transmission based on the TRP's uplink measurement on the TRP's one or more RX beams) and measuring the second instance of the one or more signals. ([0050][0093] TRP's uplink measurement on the TRP's one or more RX beams and each reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources is associated with a corresponding uplink transmission beam pattern)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Molavian with the teaching of Khirallahbecause Molavian teaches that determining a first uplink transmission beam pattern associated with the first reference signal resource would allow to determine a first configured maximum output power for the first uplink transmission beam pattern. (Molavian [0005])
The combination of Khirallah, Molavian, and Yu, does not teach receiving, at the base station, a second instance of the one or more signals
3GPP teaches receiving, at the base station, a second instance of the one or more signals([Section 3.1, Page 4, Fig. 3,] UE transmits PRACH beam 1, PRACH beam 2, PRACH beam 3 to base station)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Khirallah and Xiong because 3GPP teaches that transmitting multiple preambles during the same RACH sweep reduces the initial access latency. (3GPP [Observation 1, page 4])
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
RUNE; Johan et al. [US 20200187274 A1] LEVERAGING RECEPTION TIME IN CONNECTION WITH IDENTIFICATION IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
Cirik; Ali et al. [US 20200045745 A1] Uplink And Downlink Synchronization Procedures
Nguyen; Hoang et al. [US 20070207730 A1] Adaptive multi-beamforming systems and methods for communication systems
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413