Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Examiner notes that Figures 7 and 9 are drawn to a 2nd and 3rd embodiment, respectively. Numbers 15 (Fig. 7) and 16 (Fig. 9) are both pointing to a generic looking structure with a rectangular-shaped cross-section. In the Applicant’s Specification, paragraph 0041 calls element 15 a fan heater assembly, while paragraph 0049 calls element 16 a controller. Examiner will interpret 15 and 16 like so, even though the “structure” that 15 and 16 points to looks exactly the same.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1:
In line 2, “configured to heat and dry fabric and comprising a base” should read “configured to heat and dry fabric, comprising a base.”
In lines 5-6, “under action of external restraining force” should read “under an action of an external restraining force.”
In line 10, “into accommodating space” should read “into an accommodating space.”
Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-16 are objected to because they depend from Claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heating structure” in claim 1.
Regarding the heating structure, the structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function is not specifically identified nor shown in any of the drawings. At best, para 007 of the as-filed specification says, “a base with a heating structure” and para 014 states, “the internal heating structure heats up.” In other words, the specification only generally indicates the location or positioning of this heating structure but does not indicate what specific structure it is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a base with a heating structure.”
Looking to the 07/25/2024 specification, the claimed heating structure is not specifically identified nor shown in any of the drawings. At best, para 007 of the as-filed specification says, “a base with a heating structure” and para 014 states, “the internal heating structure heats up.” In other words, the specification only generally indicates the location or positioning of this heating structure but does not indicate what specific structure it is nor how or where it’s specifically positioned within the base as it relates to the heating and drying of the fabric.
Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that the claims contain subject matter that is not
sufficiently described in the specification to reasonably convey that the Applicant had possession
of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “the fabric” in line 4 has a lack of antecedent basis. “The fabric” should be amended to read “a fabric” to correct this issue. Alternatively, the limitation “configured to heat and dry fabric” in line 2 can be amended to read “configured to heat and dry a fabric” to correct this issue. “The fabric” is also recited in line 13 of claim 1 and in claims 6 and 10-11.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “under the action of the external restraining force” in line 12 has a lack of antecedent basis. “Under the action of the external restraining force” should be amended to read “under an action of an external restraining force” to correct this issue. Alternatively, the limitation “under action of external restraining force” in lines 5-6 can be amended to read “under an action of an external restraining force.” See claim objection from above.
Regarding Claim 3, the limitation “the multisection telescoping protective cover” in lines 5-6 has a lack antecedent basis. “The multisection telescoping protective cover” should be amended to read “the multisection telescoping structure” to correct this issue, since line 3 recites “a multisection telescoping structure.”.
Claims 2-16 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim limitation “heating structure” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Regarding the heating structure, the structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function is not specifically identified nor shown in any of the drawings. At best, para 007 of the as-filed specification says, “a base with a heating structure” and para 014 states, “the internal heating structure heats up.” In other words, the specification only generally indicates the location or positioning of this heating structure but does not indicate what specific structure it is.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (CN114960140, hereinafter Xie).
Note: reference is made to the Chinese to English translation of Xie.
Regarding Claim 1, Xie teaches a fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure (foldable clothes drying apparatus 10, Fig. 1), configured to heat and dry fabric and comprising a base with a heating structure (see pg. 6 para 004 – “internal heating module”) and an accommodating structure arranged above the base and configured to accommodate the fabric (see pg. 8 para 006 - “a large space is left between the plurality of telescopic support bars in the unfolded state, providing a large space for hanging clothes.”), wherein the accommodating structure has a first form and a second form under action of external restraining force (see Figs. 1 and 2, see pg. 4 para 013 – “the foldable clothes drying equipment or the stool of the present disclosure can have a folded state and an unfolded state.”); and
the first form of the accommodating structure is a folded form of compressing and folding the accommodating structure above the base (see Fig. 1, see pg. 5 para 014 – “in the folded state of the foldable clothes drying apparatus 10, the plurality of telescopic support rods 300 may be contracted and accommodated in the top cover 100 or the base 200.”),
the second form of the accommodating structure is a three-dimensional form of extending the accommodating structure into accommodating space above the base (see Fig. 2, see pg. 6 para 004 – “in the unfolded state of the foldable clothes drying apparatus 10, a plurality of telescopic support rods 300 may be extended to provide a certain accommodation space between the top cover 100 and the base 200.”), the first form and the second form can be converted into each other under the action of the external restraining force (see pg. 6 para 004 – “The foldable clothes drying equipment 10 is internally provided with a lifting mechanism, clothes can be hung in an opened space after being lifted.”), and a wale (hanging bar 110, Fig. 4) for hanging the fabric is installed above the accommodating structure (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Xie teaches the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 1, wherein the accommodating structure comprises a protective cover for protection (sealing member 500, Fig. 2) and a supporting frame arranged above the protective cover, the supporting frame (see annotated figure below, see pg. 8 para 007 – “the first ends of the telescopic supporting rods are positioned at the edge of the top cover.”) and the base are provided with a telescopic rod (telescopic support rods 300, Fig. 2) on their inner sides (see Fig. 3, see pg. 8 para 007 – “the second ends of the telescopic supporting rods are positioned at the edge of the base.”), and the protective cover is folded when the telescopic rod is in the first form of the accommodating structure (see Fig. 1).
Xie does not explicitly teach that the protective cover would be folded when the telescopic rod is in the first form of the accommodating structure.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that since the protective cover (sealing member 500, Fig. 2) is located around the perimeter of the supporting frame (see annotated figure below), when the telescopic rods are compressed into the first form of the accommodating structure (see Fig. 1), the protective cover would consequently become folded within the base.
Examiner Note: Xie does not provide an element number for the supporting frame. However, it is the Examiner’s position that the location where the telescopic rods (telescopic support rods 300, Fig. 2) connect to the underside of the end cover (upper cover 100, Fig. 2) is the supporting frame, since it is arranged above the protective cover (sealing member 500, Fig. 2) and has a telescopic rod on each inner side (telescopic support rods 300, see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN 114960140 A, hereinafter Xie) in view of Peng et al. (US20130239490, hereinafter Peng).
Note: reference is made to the Chinese to English translation of Xie.
Regarding Claim 3, Xie teaches the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 1, wherein the accommodating structure comprises a protective cover for protection (sealing member 500, Fig. 2) and a supporting frame arranged above the protective cover (see annotated figure above, see pg. 8 para 007 – “the first ends of the telescopic supporting rods are positioned at the edge of the top cover.”), the supporting frame and the base are provided with a telescopic rod (telescopic support rods 300, Fig. 2) on their inner sides (see Fig. 3, see pg. 8 para 007 – “the second ends of the telescopic supporting rods are positioned at the edge of the base.”), and the multisection telescoping protective cover is folded when the telescopic rod is in the first form of the accommodating structure (see Fig. 1).
Xie does not explicitly teach that the protective cover would be folded when the telescopic rod is in the first form of the accommodating structure.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that since the protective cover (sealing member 500, Fig. 2) is located around the perimeter of the supporting frame (see annotated figure below), when the telescopic rods are compressed into the first form of the accommodating structure (see Fig. 1), the protective cover would consequently become folded within the base.
Xie does not teach the protective cover is a multisection telescoping structure.
Peng discloses a multi-section telescoping structure (hollow outer section 10, and a first to fourth hollow inner sections 20, 30, 40, and 50; see Fig. 5; see para 0014), which is analogous art to the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure of the claimed invention. The purpose of the telescoping structure is to selectively extend and retract individual telescopic sections for applications like elevating platforms (see para 0003 and 0005). The purpose of the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure of the claimed invention is to incorporate a foldable form and adjustable height to conventional towel heating buckets. The intended purpose of both devices is similar: therefore, the multi-section telescoping structure of Peng can be considered analogous art to the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure.
Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xie by applying the teachings of Peng, i.e. having the protective cover being a multisection telescoping structure, for the predictable benefit and result of allowing the protective cover to be folded along with the telescopic rods for the purpose of saving space during storage when the fabric heating and drying bucket is in the first form.
Claims 4-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN114960140, hereinafter Xie) in view of Lin (TWM619699).
Note: reference is made to the Chinese to English translation of Xie and Lin.
Regarding Claim 4, Xie as modified above discloses the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 1, wherein the accommodating structure comprises a protective cover for protection (sealing member 500, Fig. 2) and a supporting frame arranged above the protective cover (see annotated figure above, see pg. 8 para 007 – “the first ends of the telescopic supporting rods are positioned at the edge of the top cover.”), the supporting frame and the base are provided with a telescopic rod (telescopic support rods 300, Fig. 2) on their inner sides (see Fig. 3, see pg. 8 para 007 – “the second ends of the telescopic supporting rods are positioned at the edge of the base.”), and the protective cover is folded when the telescopic rod is in the first form of the accommodating structure (see Fig. 1).
Xie does not explicitly teach that the protective cover would be folded when the telescopic rod is in the first form of the accommodating structure.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that since the protective cover (sealing member 500, Fig. 2) is located around the perimeter of the supporting frame (see annotated figure below), when the telescopic rods are compressed into the first form of the accommodating structure (see Fig. 1), the protective cover would consequently become folded within the base.
Xie does not teach the protective cover is provided with a heating composite membrane on its inner wall.
Lin discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a 3 in 1 accompanying drying hanger (see title), the protective cover is provided with a heating composite membrane on its inner wall (carbon fiber wire or heater 3, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xie as modified by applying the teachings of Lin, i.e. providing the protective cover with a heating composite membrane on its inner wall (such as by placing the carbon fiber heating wire on the inner portion of the protective cover) to provide a known means of generating heat within the protective cover to dry the fabric placed within the fabric heating and drying bucket (as suggested on pg. 3 para 003 of Lin – “The carbon fiber heating wire or heater (3) starts to operate to generate heat, which is used as a drying rack for towels and clothes.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Xie as modified above discloses the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 1, wherein a controller (wireless control module 140, Fig. 2; see pg. 4 para 012 – “the wireless control module is electrically connected with the drying module.”) is arranged inside the base.
Xie does not explicitly teach that the controller is arranged inside the base.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that when the foldable clothes dryer is in its first form (folded position), the wireless control module would be arranged inside the base.
Xie does not teach the controller is electrically connected to the heating composite membrane and is configured to control the heating composite membrane to generate heat.
Lin teaches the controller is electrically connected to the heating composite membrane (pg. 3, para 3 - The carbon fiber heating wire or heater (3) starts to operate to generate heat…and the temperature and time are controlled by means of an electric control room (1)) and is configured to control the heating composite membrane to generate heat (pg. 3, para 3 – “The carbon fiber heating wire or heater (3) starts to operate to generate heat, which is used as a drying rack for towels and clothes.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xie as modified by applying the teachings of Lin, i.e. having the controller is electrically connected to the heating composite membrane and is configured to control the heating composite membrane to generate heat, to provide a known means of controlling the temperature of the carbon fiber heating wire, for the predictable result of thoroughly drying the fabric placed within the fabric heating and drying bucket.
Regarding Claim 9, Xie as modified teaches the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 4, wherein a controller (wireless control module 140, Fig. 2; see pg. 4 para 012 – “the wireless control module is electrically connected with the drying module.”) is arranged inside the base.
Xie does not explicitly teach that the controller is arranged inside the base.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that when the foldable clothes dryer is in its first form (folded position), the wireless control module would be arranged inside the base.
Xie does not teach the controller is electrically connected to the heating composite membrane and is configured to control the heating composite membrane to generate heat.
Lin teaches the controller is electrically connected to the heating composite membrane (pg. 3, para 3 - The carbon fiber heating wire or heater (3) starts to operate to generate heat…and the temperature and time are controlled by means of an electric control room (1)) and is configured to control the heating composite membrane to generate heat (pg. 3, para 3 – “The carbon fiber heating wire or heater (3) starts to operate to generate heat, which is used as a drying rack for towels and clothes.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xie as modified by applying the teachings of Lin, i.e. having the controller is electrically connected to the heating composite membrane and is configured to control the heating composite membrane to generate heat, to provide a known means of controlling the temperature of the carbon fiber heating wire, for the predictable result of thoroughly drying the fabric placed within the fabric heating and drying bucket.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN114960140, hereinafter Xie) in view of Park et al. (KR20100030165, hereinafter Park).
Note: reference is made to the Chinese to English translation of Xie and the Korean to English translation of Park.
Regarding Claim 6, Xie as modified above discloses the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 2, wherein a fan heater assembly is provided inside the base (see pg. 8 para 002 – “air fan module can provide hot air to heat the surface of the seat.”).
Xie does not teach the fan heater assembly being configured to heat or dry the fabric placed in the protective cover.
Park discloses, in the same field of endeavor, an apparatus for drying a rag (see abstract), wherein a fan heater assembly is configured to heat or dry the fabric placed in the protective cover (see Fig. 1, see pg. 4 para 008 - “The drying unit 130 is for drying the mop by the flow of air, it may include a blowing fan.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xie as modified by applying the teachings of Park, i.e. configuring the fan heat assembly to heat or dry the fabric placed in the protective cover, to provide a known means of quickly and effectively drying the fabric within the fabric heating and drying bucket.
Regarding Claim 7, Xie as modified above discloses the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 2, wherein the supporting frame is provided with an end cover on its top end (top cover 100, Fig. 2), and a moisture discharge hole is opened in the cover plate (vent hole 101, Fig. 2).
Xie does not teach a reversible cover plate is arranged inside the end cover, and a rotating shaft is arranged on one side of the cover plate and the end cover.
Park teaches a reversible cover plate (cover 118, Fig. 1) is arranged inside the end cover (see Fig. 1), and a rotating shaft (see Examiner’s note below) is arranged on one side of the cover plate and the end cover (see Fig. 1, see pg. 3 para 006 – “The cover 118 is installed in the housing 100 to enable rotation or sliding.”).
Examiner Note: Park does not explicitly teach a rotating shaft is arranged on one side of the cover plate. It is the Examiner’s position that there must necessarily be a rotating shaft arranged on one side of the cover plate such that the cover plate can open rotatably as shown in Fig. 1. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a rotating shaft is standard component for having a cover open, similar to a door hinge. To the extent that Park doesn’t disclose a rotating shaft, the Examiner takes official notice that such a feature is well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xie as modified by applying the teachings of Park, i.e. having a reversible cover plate is arranged inside the end cover, to provide a known means of accessing the inside of the fabric heating and drying bucket for the purpose of placing the wet fabric on the hanging bar to be dried.
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN 114960140 A, hereinafter Xie) in view of Velasquez (US20230277016).
Note: reference is made to the Chinese to English translation of Xie.
Regarding Claim 8, Xie as modified teaches the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 1, and the timer comprises a display screen (see pg. 7 para 010 – “the display panel may be used to display parameters of the drying module.”).
Xie does not teach the base is provided with a timer on its surface wall, the timer is electrically connected to a power supply, and the timer comprises an operation button.
Velasquez teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a towel warming assembly (see abstract) wherein the base is provided with a timer on its surface wall (electronic timer 110, Fig. 6), the timer is electrically connected to a power supply (power source 122, Fig. 4), and the timer comprises an operation button (timer knob 114, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Xie by providing the base with a timer on its surface wall where the timer is electrically connected to a power supply, to provide a known means of setting and controlling a timer to heat the fabric for a specific period of time for the predictable benefit of thorough drying of the fabric.
Xie, as modified above does not teach an operation button, but rather an alternative component (timer knob) that performs the same function as the operation button disclosed in the claimed invention. Examiner takes official notice that buttons and knobs are very well-known alternatives for one another when used to control timers, since both allow a user to adjust parameters of a device.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Xie so that the timer knob is rather an operation button, since this would amount to a simple substitution of one known element (knob) for another (button) that yields predicable results, i.e. desired timer operational and control.
Regarding Claim 14, Xie as modified teaches the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 2, and the timer comprises a display screen (see pg. 7 para 010 – “the display panel may be used to display parameters of the drying module.”).
Xie does not teach the base is provided with a timer on its surface wall, the timer is electrically connected to a power supply, and the timer comprises an operation button.
Velasquez teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a towel warming assembly (see abstract) wherein the base is provided with a timer on its surface wall (electronic timer 110, Fig. 6), the timer is electrically connected to a power supply (power source 122, Fig. 4), and the timer comprises an operation button (timer knob 114, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Xie by providing the base with a timer on its surface wall where the timer is electrically connected to a power supply, to provide a known means of setting and controlling a timer to heat the fabric for a specific period of time for the predictable benefit of thorough drying of the fabric.
Xie, as modified above does not teach an operation button, but rather an alternative component (timer knob) that performs the same function as the operation button disclosed in the claimed invention. Examiner takes official notice that buttons and knobs are very well-known alternatives for one another when used to control timers, since both allow a user to adjust parameters of a device.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Xie so that the timer knob is rather an operation button, since this would amount to a simple substitution of one known element (knob) for another (button) that yields predicable results, i.e. desired timer operational and control.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN 114960140 A, hereinafter Xie) in view of Peng et al. (US20130239490, hereinafter Peng), and further in view of Park et al. (KR20100030165, hereinafter Park).
Regarding Claim 10, Xie as modified above teaches the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 3, wherein a fan heater assembly is provided inside the base (see pg. 8 para 002 – “air fan module can provide hot air to heat the surface of the seat.”).
Xie does not teach the fan heater assembly being configured to heat or dry the fabric placed in the protective cover.
Park discloses, in the same field of endeavor, an apparatus for drying a rag (see abstract), wherein a fan heater assembly is configured to heat or dry the fabric placed in the protective cover (see Fig. 1, see pg. 4 para 008 - “The drying unit 130 is for drying the mop by the flow of air, it may include a blowing fan.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xie as modified by applying the teachings of Park, i.e. configuring the fan heat assembly to heat or dry the fabric placed in the protective cover, to provide a known means of quickly and effectively drying the fabric within the fabric heating and drying bucket.
Regarding Claim 12, Xie as modified above teaches Xie as modified above discloses the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 3, wherein the supporting frame is provided with an end cover on its top end (top cover 100, Fig. 2), and a moisture discharge hole is opened in the cover plate (vent hole 101, Fig. 2).
Xie does not teach a reversible cover plate is arranged inside the end cover, and a rotating shaft is arranged on one side of the cover plate and the end cover.
Park teaches a reversible cover plate (cover 118, Fig. 1) is arranged inside the end cover (see Fig. 1), and a rotating shaft (see Examiner’s note below) is arranged on one side of the cover plate and the end cover (see Fig. 1, see pg. 3 para 006 – “The cover 118 is installed in the housing 100 to enable rotation or sliding.”).
Examiner Note: Park does not explicitly teach a rotating shaft is arranged on one side of the cover plate. It is the Examiner’s position that there must necessarily be a rotating shaft arranged on one side of the cover plate such that the cover plate can open rotatably as shown in Fig. 1. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a rotating shaft is standard component for having a cover open, similar to a door hinge. To the extent that Park doesn’t disclose a rotating shaft, the Examiner takes official notice that such a feature is well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xie as modified by applying the teachings of Park, i.e. having a reversible cover plate is arranged inside the end cover, to provide a known means of accessing the inside of the fabric heating and drying bucket for the purpose of placing the wet fabric on the hanging bar to be dried.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN114960140, hereinafter Xie) in view of Lin (TWM619699), and further in view of Park et al. (KR20100030165, hereinafter Park).
Regarding Claim 11, Xie as modified above teaches the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 4, wherein a fan heater assembly is provided inside the base (see pg. 8 para 002 – “air fan module can provide hot air to heat the surface of the seat.”).
Xie does not teach the fan heater assembly being configured to heat or dry the fabric placed in the protective cover.
Park discloses, in the same field of endeavor, an apparatus for drying a rag (see abstract), wherein a fan heater assembly is configured to heat or dry the fabric placed in the protective cover (see Fig. 1, see pg. 4 para 008 - “The drying unit 130 is for drying the mop by the flow of air, it may include a blowing fan.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xie as modified by applying the teachings of Park, i.e. configuring the fan heat assembly to heat or dry the fabric placed in the protective cover, to provide a known means of quickly and effectively drying the fabric within the fabric heating and drying bucket.
Regarding Claim 13, Xie as modified above teaches Xie as modified above discloses the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 4, wherein the supporting frame is provided with an end cover on its top end (top cover 100, Fig. 2), and a moisture discharge hole is opened in the cover plate (vent hole 101, Fig. 2).
Xie does not teach a reversible cover plate is arranged inside the end cover, and a rotating shaft is arranged on one side of the cover plate and the end cover.
Park teaches a reversible cover plate (cover 118, Fig. 1) is arranged inside the end cover (see Fig. 1), and a rotating shaft (see Examiner’s note below) is arranged on one side of the cover plate and the end cover (see Fig. 1, see pg. 3 para 006 – “The cover 118 is installed in the housing 100 to enable rotation or sliding.”).
Examiner Note: Park does not explicitly teach a rotating shaft is arranged on one side of the cover plate. It is the Examiner’s position that there must necessarily be a rotating shaft arranged on one side of the cover plate such that the cover plate can open rotatably as shown in Fig. 1. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a rotating shaft is standard component for having a cover open, similar to a door hinge. To the extent that Park doesn’t disclose a rotating shaft, the Examiner takes official notice that such a feature is well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xie as modified by applying the teachings of Park, i.e. having a reversible cover plate is arranged inside the end cover, to provide a known means of accessing the inside of the fabric heating and drying bucket for the purpose of placing the wet fabric on the hanging bar to be dried.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN 114960140 A, hereinafter Xie) in view of Peng et al. (US20130239490, hereinafter Peng), and further in view of Velasquez (US20230277016).
Regarding Claim 15, Xie as modified above teaches the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 3, and the timer comprises a display screen (see pg. 7 para 010 – “the display panel may be used to display parameters of the drying module.”).
Xie does not teach the base is provided with a timer on its surface wall, the timer is electrically connected to a power supply, and the timer comprises an operation button.
Velasquez teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a towel warming assembly (see abstract) wherein the base is provided with a timer on its surface wall (electronic timer 110, Fig. 6), the timer is electrically connected to a power supply (power source 122, Fig. 4), and the timer comprises an operation button (timer knob 114, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Xie by providing the base with a timer on its surface wall where the timer is electrically connected to a power supply, to provide a known means of setting and controlling a timer to heat the fabric for a specific period of time for the predictable benefit of thorough drying of the fabric.
Xie, as modified above does not teach an operation button, but rather an alternative component (timer knob) that performs the same function as the operation button disclosed in the claimed invention. Examiner takes official notice that buttons and knobs are very well-known alternatives for one another when used to control timers, since both allow a user to adjust parameters of a device.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Xie so that the timer knob is rather an operation button, since this would amount to a simple substitution of one known element (knob) for another (button) that yields predicable results, i.e. desired timer operational and control.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN114960140, hereinafter Xie) in view of Lin (TWM619699), and further in view of Velasquez (US20230277016).
Regarding Claim 16, Xie as modified above teaches the fabric heating and drying bucket with a foldable structure according to claim 4, and the timer comprises a display screen (see pg. 7 para 010 – “the display panel may be used to display parameters of the drying module.”).
Xie does not teach the base is provided with a timer on its surface wall, the timer is electrically connected to a power supply, and the timer comprises an operation button.
Velasquez teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a towel warming assembly (see abstract) wherein the base is provided with a timer on its surface wall (electronic timer 110, Fig. 6), the timer is electrically connected to a power supply (power source 122, Fig. 4), and the timer comprises an operation button (timer knob 114, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Xie by providing the base with a timer on its surface wall where the timer is electrically connected to a power supply, to provide a known means of setting and controlling a timer to heat the fabric for a specific period of time for the predictable benefit of thorough drying of the fabric.
Xie, as modified above does not teach an operation button, but rather an alternative component (timer knob) that performs the same function as the operation button disclosed in the claimed invention. Examiner takes official notice that buttons and knobs are very well-known alternatives for one another when used to control timers, since both allow a user to adjust parameters of a device.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Xie so that the timer knob is rather an operation button, since this would amount to a simple substitution of one known element (knob) for another (button) that yields predicable results, i.e. desired timer operational and control.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is Picozza et al. (US20080222909), which discloses a drying apparatus (10) with a base (12), a blower unit (52), a telescoping frame (14, 16), and a collapsible enclosure (38) defining an interior space when in the expanded position.
/ANEISA SAVEENI JANGBAHADUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762