DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, “the respective angle ranges” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-16 and 18 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Tsukagoshi et al. (US 20110158380).
Regarding claim 1, Tsukagoshi teaches a method for performing scans using a computed tomography system, the method comprising:
rotating a rotor 102 of a gantry 100 of the computed tomography system 100 relative to a patient;
performing a topogram (fluoroscopy) scan via the computed tomography system including recording projection data which enables an overview of at least a part of the patient (para 31);
establishing settings for parameters for a main scan based on the projection data, the parameters for the main scan specifying at least one of at least one irradiation power level or an examination region for the main scan; and performing the main scan of the patient using the computed tomography system based on the parameters for the main scan, wherein the topogram scan and the main scan are performed during the rotating (para 32, 40 and 47).
Regarding claim 2, Tsukagoshi teaches the performing the topogram scan performs the topogram scan in a previously specified angle range about a number of pre-determined recording angles of the rotor (para 32, 40 and 47).
Regarding claim 3, Tsukagoshi teaches the angle range is less than 20° (para 40).
Regarding claim 4, Tsukagoshi teaches at rotation angles of the rotor outside the respective angle ranges about the number of the recording angles, an X-ray source of the computed tomography system used for recording is switched off (para 40).
Regarding claim 6, Tsukagoshi teaches an examination region is defined before the performing the topogram scan (para 36), the method further comprising: determining whether the examination region has been reached based on the projection data of the topogram scan; and increasing an X-ray radiation power level for the topogram scan on reaching the examination region (para 37-41).
Regarding claim 7, Tsukagoshi teaches before the topogram scan reaching the examination region, establishing the settings for the parameters for the main scan using a model of the patient and the projection data recorded in the topogram scan; and starting the performing the main scan based on the parameters for the main scan upon the topogram scan reaching the examination region (para 41 and 47).
Regarding claim 8, Tsukagoshi teaches at least one of selecting a model of the patient or a subregion of the patient based on the projection data of the topogram scan or creating the model of the patient or the subregion of the patient by way of a modification of a basic model (para 33 and 37).
Regarding claim 9, Tsukagoshi teaches a plurality of examinations, each comprising a topogram scan and a main scan, are performed in succession and the gantry is rotated at a constant velocity from a first examination to a last examination (para 40).
Regarding claim 10, Tsukagoshi teaches a control facility for controlling a computed tomography system to perform the method of claim 1, the control facility comprising: an establishing unit configured to establish settings for the parameters for the main scan based on the projection data, wherein the parameters for the main scan specify at least one of at least the irradiation power level or the examination region for the main scan, the control facility being further configured to, control the rotation of the rotor, control the performing of the topogram scan, and control the performing of the main scan of the patient (para 33 and 37).
Regarding claim 11, Tsukagoshi teaches a model unit, wherein the model unit is configured to at least one of select a model of the patient or a subregion of the patient based on the projection data, or modify a basic model based on the projection data (para 41 and 47).
Regarding claim 13, Tsukagoshi teaches a computed tomography system, comprising the control facility of claim 10 (figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Tsukagoshi teaches a non-transitory computer program product comprising commands which, when executed by a computer, cause said computer to cause the computed tomography system to perform the method of claim 1 (figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Tsukagoshi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising commands which, when executed by a computer, cause said computer to cause the computed tomography system to perform the method of claim 1 (figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Tsukagoshi teaches at rotation angles of the rotor outside the respective angle ranges about the number of the recording angles, an X-ray source of the computed tomography system used for recording is switched off (para 40).
Regarding claim 18, Tsukagoshi teaches an examination region is defined before the performing the topogram scan, the method further comprising: determining whether the examination region has been reached based on the projection data of the topogram scan; and increasing an X-ray radiation power level for the topogram scan on reaching the examination region (para 41 and 47).
Claim(s) 1, 6-10, 13-16 and 18 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Flohr (US 20170053414).
Regarding claim 1, Flohr teaches a method for performing scans using a computed tomography system, the method comprising:
rotating a rotor of a gantry of the computed tomography system relative to a patient;
performing a topogram scan via the computed tomography system including recording projection data which enables an overview of at least a part of the patient (para 58);
establishing settings for parameters for a main scan based on the projection data, the parameters for the main scan specifying at least one of at least one irradiation power level or an examination region for the main scan; and performing the main scan of the patient using the computed tomography system based on the parameters for the main scan, wherein the topogram scan and the main scan are performed during the rotating (para 76).
Regarding claim 6, Flohr teaches an examination region is defined before the performing the topogram scan, the method further comprising: determining whether the examination region has been reached based on the projection data of the topogram scan; and increasing an X-ray radiation power level for the topogram scan on reaching the examination region (para 58+).
Regarding claim 7, Flohr teaches before the topogram scan reaching the examination region, establishing the settings for the parameters for the main scan using a model of the patient and the projection data recorded in the topogram scan; and starting the performing the main scan based on the parameters for the main scan upon the topogram scan reaching the examination region (para 58+).
Regarding claim 8, Flohr teaches at least one of selecting a model of the patient or a subregion of the patient based on the projection data of the topogram scan or creating the model of the patient or the subregion of the patient by way of a modification of a basic model (para 58+).
Regarding claim 9, Flohr teaches a plurality of examinations, each comprising a topogram scan and a main scan, are performed in succession and the gantry is rotated at a constant velocity from a first examination to a last examination (para 58+).
Regarding claim 10, Flohr teaches a control facility for controlling a computed tomography system to perform the method of claim 1, the control facility comprising: an establishing unit configured to establish settings for the parameters for the main scan based on the projection data, wherein the parameters for the main scan specify at least one of at least the irradiation power level or the examination region for the main scan, the control facility being further configured to, control the rotation of the rotor, control the performing of the topogram scan, and control the performing of the main scan of the patient (para 58+).
Regarding claim 13, Flohr teaches a computed tomography system, comprising the control facility of claim 10 (figure 4).
Regarding claim 14, Flohr teaches a non-transitory computer program product comprising commands which, when executed by a computer, cause said computer to cause the computed tomography system to perform the method of claim 1 (figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Flohr teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising commands which, when executed by a computer, cause said computer to cause the computed tomography system to perform the method of claim 1 (figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Flohr teaches at rotation angles of the rotor outside the respective angle ranges about the number of the recording angles, an X-ray source of the computed tomography system used for recording is switched off (para 58+).
Regarding claim 18, Flohr teaches an examination region is defined before the performing the topogram scan, the method further comprising: determining whether the examination region has been reached based on the projection data of the topogram scan; and increasing an X-ray radiation power level for the topogram scan on reaching the examination region (para 58+).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukagoshi in view of Vega et al. (US 20180228450).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Tsukagoshi teaches the performing the topogram scan and the performing the main scan are each performed in a spiral scan, the method further comprising: performing a translation movement of the patient relative to the gantry of the computed tomography system during the rotating.
Vega teaches the performing the topogram scan and the performing the main scan are each performed in a spiral scan, the method further comprising: performing a translation movement of the patient relative to the gantry of the computed tomography system during the rotating (para 12-13 and 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the scan of Tsukagoshi with the spiral scan as taught by Vega, since it would reduce scanning time.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukagoshi in view of Yanagita et al. (US 20150092908).
Regarding claim 12, Tsukagoshi teaches an idling unit, wherein the idling unit is configured to maintain the rotation of the rotor of the gantry between two examinations substantially without an energy feed and without initiating a deceleration.
Yanagita teaches an idling unit, wherein the idling unit is configured to maintain the rotation of the rotor of the gantry between two examinations substantially without an energy feed and without initiating a deceleration (para 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Tsukagoshi with the idling unit as taught by Yanagita, since it would provide better image.
Conclusion
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884