DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 09/30/2026. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending and are examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Twigg (US 2023/0075355 A1), hereinafter Twigg in view of Schmidt (US 12,380,389 B2), hereinafter Schmidt in further view of Choudhury (US 2018/0329958 A1), hereinafter Choud in even further view of Rostami- Hesarsorkh (US 1,023,0749 B1), hereinafter Rostami.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 Twigg teaches:
A system for autonomous cyber-security investigation, the system comprising: (Twigg ¶ 81 teaches, the embodiments described herein can be implemented in numerous ways, including as a process; an apparatus; a system; a composition of matter; a computer program product embodied on a computer readable storage medium; and/or a processor, such as a processor configured to execute instructions stored on and/or provided by a memory coupled to the processor. ¶ 158 teaches, Deviations from the expected normal behavior can then be detected and automatically reported ( e.g., as anomalies or threats detected).)
an input interface, configured to receive security-related inputs detected in a computer system; (Twigg ¶ 59 teaches, data platform may include data ingestion resources configured to ingest data from cloud environment into data platform, data processing resources configured to perform data processing operations with respect to the data, and user interface resources configured to provide one or more external users and/or compute resources ( e.g., computing device) with access to an output of data processing resources. Twigg ¶ 65 teaches, the data may include data representative of configuration information associated with compute assets, information about one or more processes running on compute assets, network activity information, information about events (creation events, modification events, communication events, user-initiated events, etc.) (i.e., security-related inputs)) and one or more processors, configured to:
construct, based on the security-related inputs, a graph comprising nodes and edges, (Twigg ¶ 472-474 teaches, the behavior of users of the environment can be tracked (including across multiple accounts and/or multiple machines) and modeled (e.g., using various graphs described herein).) the nodes comprising (i) one or more appearance-nodes representing occurrences in the computer system having respective times-of-occurrence and (Twigg ¶ 531 teaches, User A notes in the timeline (i.e., times of occurrence) that a user, Harish, connected to a known bad server (examplebad.com) using wget, an event that has a critical severity level. (i.e., appearance node))) (ii) one or more artifact-nodes representing time-static features found in the security-related inputs, and the edges representing relationships between the nodes; (Twigg ¶ 489 teaches, FIG. 4B illustrates an example of a portion of an insider behavior graph (e.g., as rendered in a web browser). In the example shown, node 405 (the external IP address, 52.32.40.231) is an example of a Tier 0 node, and represents an entry point into a datacenter. (i.e., artifact-node as designated by application specification pg. 6 Ln. 1-10))
Twigg does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
perform an iterative process that generates a sub-graph of the graph that is specific to the given cyber-security investigation, by iteratively (i) enriching the graph with additional information and (Schmidt Col. 23 Ln. 30-50 teaches, the graph database may be enriched with custom data of the cognition feature.)
select in the graph a trigger node that serves as an initial trigger for a given cyber-security investigation; (Schmidt Col. 23 Ln. 17-30 teaches, the process is configured to start from source nodes (selected to be the source of risk, for example) and traverse paths through nodes and edges connecting the source nodes to a specific target node. The paths found from that traversal are the cognitions subgraph (there can be multiple paths from a source node to a target or from multiple source nodes to the target node).)
decide on a result of the given cyber-security investigation based on the sub-graph. (Schmidt Col. 24 Ln. 30-35 teaches, The platform is configured to apply additional processes to the extracted subgraph to determine a risk value for the target node relative to the risk category under investigation.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Twigg with Schmidt, to modify the system for monitoring a cloud environment of Twigg with the cognition feature and rules for subgraphs of Schmidt, Col. 1 Ln. 35-36. to assist in monitoring, investigating, and avoiding risks posed by global security threats.
(ii) expanding the sub-graph with one or more additional nodes from the graph in response to the additional information; and (Choud ¶ 126 teaches, the network analysis tool can process each incoming new edge for the data graph by performing operations to (a) add the new edge to the data graph, (b) perform searches for all appropriate query subgraphs around the new edge (which, for “lazy searching,” may be the most selective query subgraph and any triggered query subgraphs), and (c) update the SJ tree by adding the partial matches found in step (b) and joining small partial matches, when possible, to produce larger partial matches or even complete matches in the SJ tree. ¶ 82 teaches, when one or more new vertices/edges are added to the dynamic data graph, the continuous subgraph matcher can evaluate whether the query graph (or one or more of its query subgraphs) appears in the dynamic data graph at the new edges/vertices. Operations of the continuous subgraph matcher can be executed in parallel with multiple processing cores of the node at which the network analysis tool operates.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Twigg in view of Schmidt with Choud, to modify the system for monitoring a cloud environment of Twigg with the cognition feature and rules for subgraphs of Schmidt with the dynamic subgraphs of Choud. The motivation to do so, Choud ¶ 6, in order to identify emerging trends in the data.
Twigg-Schmidt-Choud does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
a number of computer systems, among multiple computer systems, in each of which a same time-static feature represented by a given artifact-node is found(Rostami Col. 11 Ln. 63-67 teaches, a VirusTotal hit (e.g., a number of times that this sample has been detected by VirtusTotal); and a MultiScanner hit (e.g., a number of other vendors that have also identified this sample as malware using multiscanners (e.g., antivirus engines running concurrently)). Col. 46 Ln. 55-60 teaches, a File Analysis tab for a sample can display high-risk artifacts and the number of times the artifact was observed with malware, grayware, or benign samples (e.g., as shown, dynamic analysis categories of artifacts include observed behavior, process activity, connection activity, and service activity).)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Twigg-Schmidt-Choud with Rostami, to modify the system for monitoring a cloud environment of Twigg with the cognition feature and rules for subgraphs of Schmidt with the with the prevalence data of Rostami. The motivation to do so, Rostami Col. 46 Ln. 31-32, to determine if an artifact is Suspicious or Highly Suspicious.
Regarding Claim(s) 2 and 10 Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches:
The system according to claim 1, (Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the one or more processors are further configured to initiate a responsive action based on the result of the given cyber- security investigation. (Twigg ¶ 647 teaches, detecting and/or remediating (i.e., responsive action) ransomware attacks and/or other malicious action taken with respect to data, systems, and/or other resources associated with one or more entities.)
Regarding Claim(s) 3, 11, and 18 Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches:
The system according to claim 1, (Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches the parent claim above.)
wherein the one or more processors are configured to enrich the graph by fetching at least part of the additional information from the computer system. (Schmidt Col. 5 Ln. 40-55 teaches, the cognition feature configures the platform to be able add new categories or themes to an existing and developing graph database. It can allow for a dynamic evolution of risk categories. The graph database may have defined node types and edge types, and the platform may have added a large data set into the graph database in accordance with the graph schema. The platform can be configured to define and add risk categories and assign each risk category to certain nodes in the graph database.)
The motive given in Claim 1, 9, and 17 is equally applicable to the above claim.
Regarding Claim(s) 4, 12, and 19 Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches:
The system according to claim 1, (Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches the parent claim above.)
wherein the one or more processors are configured to iteratively expand the sub-graph, starting from the trigger node, until failing to find additional nodes whose distance from the trigger node is below one or more defined cut-off distances. (Schmidt Col. 23 Ln. 20-30 teaches, the paths found from that traversal are the cognitions subgraph (there can be multiple paths from a source node to a target or from multiple source nodes to the target node). In some embodiments, there may be configurable rules for the cognition feature that may limit or prune the subgraph and principally as discussed, this could include a maximum node traversal limit.)
The motive given in Claim 1, 9, and 17 is equally applicable to the above claim.
Regarding Claim(s) 5 and 13 Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches:
The system according to claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: (Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches the parent limitation above.) assign respective significance scores to the nodes; and (Schmidt Col. 2 Ln. 15-20 teaches, determine an exposure score for the risk category at a node in the traversed path as a function of the value of the risk assigned to the starting seed and, in some instances, also as a function of one or more interrelationships between two or more risk categories.)
calculate a distance between a candidate node and the trigger node (Twigg ¶ 220 teaches, comparing internal neighbors and calculating a set membership Jaccard distance the pairs of nodes are then ordered by decreasing similarity (i.e., with the most similar sets first).) responsively to the significance scores of one or more nodes that lie along a shortest path through the graph between the candidate node and the trigger node. (Schmidt Col. 25 Ln. 60-65 teaches, The risk propagation rules can be configured to only use n edge connections such as three edges connection and select the three edges by determining which three edges generated the highest risk value.)
The motive given in Claim 1 and 9 is equally applicable to the above claim.
Regarding Claim(s) 6 and 14 Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches:
The system according to claim 1, (Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches the parent claim above.)
wherein the one or more processors are configured to enrich the graph in accordance with a predefined bank of enrichment rules. (Schmidt Col. 7 Ln. 25-35 teaches, System may be configured for example to include a graph database such that system adds or updates the graph database from various sources based on automation (e.g., using a set of configured rules))
The motive given in Claim 1 and 9 is equally applicable to the above claim.
Regarding Claim(s) 7, 15, and 20 Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches:
The system according to claim 1, (Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the one or more processors are configured to decide on the result of the given cyber-security investigation by running multiple attack detection modules, each attack detection module associated with a respective type of malicious attack. (Choud ¶ 15 teaches, the different available templates can represent different patterns for network intrusions or other cyber attacks, different social media filters, or other target patterns.)
The motive given in Claim 1, 9, and 17 is equally applicable to the above claim.
Regarding Claim(s) 8 and 16 Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches:
The system according to claim 7, (Twigg-Schmidt-Choud-Rostami teaches the parent limitation above.) wherein a given attack detection module is configured to calculate for the sub-graph a maliciousness score indicative of a likelihood that the sub-graph represents a malicious attack of the respective type. (Choud ¶ 15 teaches, a query graph building tool simplifies the process of generating query graphs, for use in execution of continuous subgraph matching queries on graph-structured data. The query graph building tool receives user input that indicates a selection, from a library of multiple available templates, of a template for a query graph. For example, the different available templates can represent different patterns for network intrusions or other cyber attacks, different social media filters, or other target patterns. In any case, the query graph can include vertices, attributes of the vertices, edges between the vertices, and attributes of the edges for a target pattern.)
The motive given in Claim 1 is equally applicable to the above claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2024/0386015 A1 - COMPOSITE SYMBOLIC AND NON-SYMBOLIC ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE SYSTEM FOR ADVANCED REASONING AND SEMANTIC SEARCH
/J.B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408