DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 28 March 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated unpatentable over Lin et al (US 20210153193 A1) (hereinafter Lin).
In regards to claim 20, Lin teaches a preamble transmission method, comprising:
obtaining, by a first communication apparatus, first information, wherein the first information comprises (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]-[0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0574] In another embodiment, a base station could provide a timing information to a UE. The timing information could comprise an absolute time. The timing information could be used to assist the UE to derive UL transmission timing. The timing information may correspond to when a UL subframe begins at a base station, or when a DL subframe begins at a base station. The timing information could also correspond to a timing difference between DL subframe and UL subframe at the base station.):
historical timing advance (TA) information, geographical location information, and/or power information of the first communication apparatus (Lin, fig. 1, fig. 4, [0029]-[0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0103] UE may change its location due to mobility, or the path between a base station and the UE changes, resulting in desired TA value change. The base station could send a TA adjustment value to update UE's TA value. The base station could send an order to request UE to perform a random access procedure. The UE could acquire new TA during the random access procedure. A TA validity timer is maintained by a UE (as well as by a base station) to judge whether a UE has a valid TA or not. If UE does not have valid TA, it is not allowed to transmit most of the UL signal. For example, if UE does not have valid TA, it is not allowed to transmit PUCCH and/or PUSCH and/or SRS. If UE does not have valid TA, it is allowed to transmit PRACH. More details of procedures related to timing advance are provided below from 3GPP TS 38.213, TS 38.211, and TS 38.321.);
determining, by the first communication apparatus, a first TA value based on the first information, and determining, based on the first TA value, first time at which a first preamble is sent to a network device, wherein the first preamble is one of
preambles, and
is a positive integer greater than 1 (Lin, fig. 1, fig. 4, [0029]-[0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: See above for paragraph [0103]. [0139] Prior to initiation of the physical random access procedure, Layer 1 receives the following information from the higher layers: [0140] Configuration of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission parameters (PRACH preamble format, time resources, and frequency resources for PRACH transmission). [0141] Parameters for determining the root sequences and their cyclic shifts in the PRACH preamble sequence set (index to logical root sequence table, cyclic shift (N.sub.CS), and set type (unrestricted, restricted set A, or restricted set B)).); and
sending, by the first communication apparatus, the first preamble to the network device at the first time (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0253] Amongst the contention-based Random Access Preambles associated with an SSB (as defined in TS 38.213 [6]), the first numberOfRA-PreamblesGroupA Random Access Preambles belong to Random Access Preambles group A. The remaining Random Access Preambles associated with the SSB belong to Random Access Preambles group B (if configured). [0356] 4> select the Random Access Preambles group A. [0359] 2> select a Random Access Preamble randomly with equal probability from the Random Access Preambles associated with the selected SSB and the selected Random Access Preambles group. [0360] 2> set the PREAMBLE_INDEX to the selected Random Access Preamble.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 12-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US 20210153193 A1) (hereinafter Lin) in view of Xiong et al. (US 20200351853 A1) (hereinafter Xi).
In regards to claim 1, Lin-Xi teaches a preamble transmission method, comprising:
obtaining, by a first communication apparatus, first information, wherein the first information comprises (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]-[0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0574] In another embodiment, a base station could provide a timing information to a UE. The timing information could comprise an absolute time. The timing information could be used to assist the UE to derive UL transmission timing. The timing information may correspond to when a UL subframe begins at a base station, or when a DL subframe begins at a base station. The timing information could also correspond to a timing difference between DL subframe and UL subframe at the base station.):
historical timing advance (TA) information, geographical location information, and/or power information of the first communication apparatus (Lin, fig. 1, fig. 4, [0029]-[0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0103] UE may change its location due to mobility, or the path between a base station and the UE changes, resulting in desired TA value change. The base station could send a TA adjustment value to update UE's TA value. The base station could send an order to request UE to perform a random access procedure. The UE could acquire new TA during the random access procedure. A TA validity timer is maintained by a UE (as well as by a base station) to judge whether a UE has a valid TA or not. If UE does not have valid TA, it is not allowed to transmit most of the UL signal. For example, if UE does not have valid TA, it is not allowed to transmit PUCCH and/or PUSCH and/or SRS. If UE does not have valid TA, it is allowed to transmit PRACH. More details of procedures related to timing advance are provided below from 3GPP TS 38.213, TS 38.211, and TS 38.321.);
determining, by the first communication apparatus, one group of preambles from KG groups of preambles based on the first information, wherein KG is an integer greater than 1… (Lin, fig. 1, fig. 4, [0029]-[0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0252] if groupBconfigured is configured, then Random Access Preambles group B is configured. [0253] Amongst the contention-based Random Access Preambles associated with an SSB (as defined in TS 38.213 [6]), the first numberOfRA-PreamblesGroupA Random Access Preambles belong to Random Access Preambles group A. The remaining Random Access Preambles associated with the SSB belong to Random Access Preambles group B (if configured). [0254] NOTE 2: If Random Access Preambles group B is supported by the cell Random Access Preambles group B is included for each SSB. [0255] if Random Access Preambles group B is configured: [0256] ra-Msg3SizeGroupA: the threshold to determine the groups of Random Access Preambles; [0257] msg3-DeltaPreamble: Δ.sub.PREAMBLE_Msg3 in TS 38.213 [6]; [0258] messagePowerOffsetGroupB: the power offset for preamble selection; [0259] numberOfRA-PreamblesGroupA: defines the number of Random Access Preambles in Random Access Preamble group A for each SSB.); and
sending, by the first communication apparatus, a first preamble in the one group of preambles to a network device (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0253] Amongst the contention-based Random Access Preambles associated with an SSB (as defined in TS 38.213 [6]), the first numberOfRA-PreamblesGroupA Random Access Preambles belong to Random Access Preambles group A. The remaining Random Access Preambles associated with the SSB belong to Random Access Preambles group B (if configured). [0356] 4> select the Random Access Preambles group A. [0359] 2> select a Random Access Preamble randomly with equal probability from the Random Access Preambles associated with the selected SSB and the selected Random Access Preambles group. [0360] 2> set the PREAMBLE_INDEX to the selected Random Access Preamble.).
Thus, the system of Lin does not explicitly teach a total quantity of preambles in the KG groups of preambles is positively correlated with a quantity of preamble cyclic shifts, and the quantity of preamble cyclic shifts is positively correlated with the quantity KG of groups of preambles.
Similar to the system of Lin, Xi teaches configuring cyclic shifts and the number of available random access preambles, wherein the number of available random access preambles is based on cyclic shift configurations, which can be seen as, a total quantity of preambles in the KG groups of preambles is positively correlated with a quantity of preamble cyclic shifts, and the quantity of preamble cyclic shifts is positively correlated with the quantity KG of groups of preambles (Xi, fig. 3-8, fig. 13, [0278]-[0348], [0349]-[0433], [0434]-[0525], [0526]-[0620], [0621]-[0720], [0721]-[0815], [0816]-[0885]: [0277] From the network device side, a gNB will configure preamble resources for a random access in system information, including root sequence indices, cyclic shifts and number of available random access preambles (wherein the total number of available preambles and/or the number of preambles for a contention-based random access and/or the number of preambles for a contention-free random access can be included). [0289] ii. the preamble index may be determined according to the number of preambles to be supported by the beam failure recovery request within the cyclic shift value of every contention-free preamble. For example, within one cyclic shift value, the gNB also supports M preambles for the beam failure recovery request. Therefore, the preamble index here is indicated to be given a value from 0 to M−1, and preambles for the beam failure recovery request, which are determined finally, are collectively confirmed according to random access preamble configuration information and preamble configuration information for the beam failure recovery request.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin with Xi to improve the performance of random access (Xi, [0019]).
In regard to claim 2, Lin teaches the method according to claim 1:
wherein the determining, of the one group of preambles from KG groups of preambles based on the first information comprises (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0252] if groupBconfigured is configured, then Random Access Preambles group B is configured. [0253] Amongst the contention-based Random Access Preambles associated with an SSB (as defined in TS 38.213 [6]), the first numberOfRA-PreamblesGroupA Random Access Preambles belong to Random Access Preambles group A. The remaining Random Access Preambles associated with the SSB belong to Random Access Preambles group B (if configured). [0254] NOTE 2: If Random Access Preambles group B is supported by the cell Random Access Preambles group B is included for each SSB. [0255] if Random Access Preambles group B is configured: [0256] ra-Msg3SizeGroupA: the threshold to determine the groups of Random Access Preambles; [0257] msg3-DeltaPreamble: Δ.sub.PREAMBLE_Msg3 in TS 38.213 [6]; [0258] messagePowerOffsetGroupB: the power offset for preamble selection; [0259] numberOfRA-PreamblesGroupA: defines the number of Random Access Preambles in Random Access Preamble group A for each SSB.):
determining, by the first communication apparatus, a first parameter based on the first information, and determining the one group of preambles from the KG groups of preambles based on a correspondence between the first parameter and the KG groups of preambles (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0256] ra-Msg3SizeGroupA: the threshold to determine the groups of Random Access Preambles. [0351] 3> if Random Access Preambles group B is configured: [0352] 4> if the potential Msg3 size (UL data available for transmission plus MAC header and, where required, MAC CEs) is greater than ra-Msg3SizeGroupA and the pathloss is less than PCMAX (of the Serving Cell performing the Random Access Procedure) preambleReceivedTargetPower msg3-DeltaPreamble messagePowerOffsetGroupB; or [0353] 4> if the Random Access procedure was initiated for the CCCH logical channel and the CCCH SDU size plus MAC subheader is greater than ra-Msg3SizeGroupA: 5> select the Random Access Preambles group B. [0354] 4> else: 5> select the Random Access Preambles group A. [0355] 3> else: [0356] 4> select the Random Access Preambles group A.).
In regards to claim 6, Lin teaches the method according to claim 2:
wherein the first information comprises the historical TA information of the first communication apparatus, and the first parameter comprises the historical TA information of the first communication apparatus (Lin, fig. 1, fig. 4, [0029]-[0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0103] UE may change its location due to mobility, or the path between a base station and the UE changes, resulting in desired TA value change. The base station could send a TA adjustment value to update UE's TA value. The base station could send an order to request UE to perform a random access procedure. The UE could acquire new TA during the random access procedure. A TA validity timer is maintained by a UE (as well as by a base station) to judge whether a UE has a valid TA or not. If UE does not have valid TA, it is not allowed to transmit most of the UL signal. For example, if UE does not have valid TA, it is not allowed to transmit PUCCH and/or PUSCH and/or SRS. If UE does not have valid TA, it is allowed to transmit PRACH. More details of procedures related to timing advance are provided below from 3GPP TS 38.213, TS 38.211, and TS 38.321.).
In regards to claim 7, Lin teaches the method according to claim 2:
the first information comprises the geographical location information of the first communication apparatus, and the geographical location information of the first communication apparatus is a distance between the first communication apparatus and the network device (Lin, fig. 1, fig. 4, [0029]-[0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: See above for paragraph [0103].); and
the determining, of the first parameter based on the first information comprises (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0256] ra-Msg3SizeGroupA: the threshold to determine the groups of Random Access Preambles. [0351] 3> if Random Access Preambles group B is configured: [0352] 4> if the potential Msg3 size (UL data available for transmission plus MAC header and, where required, MAC CEs) is greater than ra-Msg3SizeGroupA and the pathloss is less than PCMAX (of the Serving Cell performing the Random Access Procedure) preambleReceivedTargetPower msg3-DeltaPreamble messagePowerOffsetGroupB; or [0353] 4> if the Random Access procedure was initiated for the CCCH logical channel and the CCCH SDU size plus MAC subheader is greater than ra-Msg3SizeGroupA: 5> select the Random Access Preambles group B. [0354] 4> else: 5> select the Random Access Preambles group A. [0355] 3> else: [0356] 4> select the Random Access Preambles group A.):
determining, by the first communication apparatus, the first parameter based on the distance between the first communication apparatus and the network device, a cell radius of a cell in which the first communication apparatus is located, and a maximum TA value, wherein the first parameter is TA information, and the first parameter is the same as one of at least one piece of TA information corresponding to the one group of preambles determined from the KG groups of preambles (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0365] 2> determine the next available PRACH occasion from the PRACH occasions corresponding to the selected SSB permitted by the restrictions given by the ra-ssb-OccasionMaskIndex if configured or indicated by PDCCH (the MAC entity shall select a PRACH occasion randomly with equal probability amongst the consecutive PRACH occasions according to clause 8.1 of TS 38.213 [6], corresponding to the selected SSB; the MAC entity may take into account the possible occurrence of measurement gaps when determining the next available PRACH occasion corresponding to the selected SSB). [0366] 1> else if a CSI-RS is selected above: [0367] 2> if there is no contention-free Random Access Resource associated with the selected CSI-RS: [0368] 3> determine the next available PRACH occasion from the PRACH occasions, permitted by the restrictions given by the ra-ssb-OccasionMaskIndex if configured, corresponding to the SSB in candidateBeamRSList which is quasi-colocated with the selected CSI-RS as specified in TS 38.214 [7] (the MAC entity shall select a PRACH occasion randomly with equal probability amongst the consecutive PRACH occasions according to clause 8.1 of TS 38.213 [6], corresponding to the SSB which is quasi-colocated with the selected CSI-RS; the MAC entity may take into account the possible occurrence of measurement gaps when determining the next available PRACH occasion corresponding to the SSB which is quasi-colocated with the selected CSI-RS). [0369] 2> else: [0370] 3> determine the next available PRACH occasion from the PRACH occasions in ra-OccasionList corresponding to the selected CSI-RS (the MAC entity shall select a PRACH occasion randomly with equal probability amongst the PRACH occasions occurring simultaneously but on different subcarriers, corresponding to the selected CSI-RS; the MAC entity may take into account the possible occurrence of measurement gaps when determining the next available PRACH occasion corresponding to the selected CSI-RS). [0371] 1> perform the Random Access Preamble transmission procedure (see clause 5.1.3). [0372] NOTE: When the UE determines if there is an SSB with SS-RSRP above rsrp-ThresholdSSB or a CSI-RS with CSI-RSRP above rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS, the UE uses the latest unfiltered L1-RSRP measurement.).
In regards to claim 8, Lin teaches the method according to claim 2:
the first information comprises the historical TA information of the first communication apparatus and the geographical location information of the first communication apparatus, and the geographical location information of the first communication apparatus is a distance between the first communication apparatus and the network device (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0176] If the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by the corresponding RA-RNTI and receives a transport block in a corresponding PDSCH, the UE may assume same DM-RS antenna port quasi co-location properties, as described in [6, TS 38.214], as for a SS/PBCH block or a CSI-RS resource the UE used for PRACH association, as described in Subclause 8.1, regardless of whether or not the UE is provided TCI-State for the CORESET where the UE receives the PDCCH with the DCI format 1_0. If the UE attempts to detect the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by the corresponding RA-RNTI in response to a PRACH transmission initiated by a PDCCH order that triggers a contention-free random access procedure for the SpCell [11, TS 38.321], the UE may assume that the PDCCH that includes the DCI format 1_0 and the PDCCH order have same DM-RS antenna port quasi co-location properties. If the UE attempts to detect the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by the corresponding RA-RNTI in response to a PRACH transmission initiated by a PDCCH order that triggers a contention-free random access procedure for a secondary cell, the UE may assume the DM-RS antenna port quasi co-location properties of the CORESET associated with the Type1-PDCCH CSS set for receiving the PDCCH that includes the DCI format 1_0.; and
the determining of the first parameter based on the first information comprises: determining, by the first communication apparatus, the first parameter based on a historical TA value of the first communication apparatus, the distance between the first communication apparatus and the network device, a cell radius of a cell in which the first communication apparatus is located, and a maximum TA value, wherein the first parameter is TA information, and the first parameter is the same as one of at least one piece of TA information corresponding to the one group of preambles determined from the KG groups of preambles (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0540] In conventional system, Uplink (UL) transmission timing is acquired based on relative timing. In other words, UL transmission timing is derived based on (or relative to) a Downlink (DL) reception timing. For NTN, one-way propagation delay or the RTT could be quite large, e.g. up to hundreds of ms, since a distance between base station (e.g. satellite) could be quite large (e.g. 300˜36,000 km). Therefore, the latency of obtaining Timing Advance (TA) could be larger than conventional system. As discussed above, one or two round trip(s) is required to obtain an initial TA value or to update TA value, e.g. via random access procedure or a TA command Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). Another factor to introduce delay is DL synchronization procedure. As discussed above, Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) periodicity is selected by a base station. The value could be up to 160 ms. A 160 ms SSB periodicity corresponds to an average of ˜80 ms DL synchronization acquisition delay (e.g. for the case UE has not obtained DL synchronization). In summary, a relative timing based UL timing determination would induce delay comprising UL TA obtaining delay and/or DL sync delay.).
In regards to claim 12, Lin teaches the method according to claim 2:
wherein the first information comprises the geographical location information of the first communication apparatus, the geographical location information of the first communication apparatus is a distance between the first communication apparatus and the network device, and the first parameter comprises the geographical location information of the first communication apparatus (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0551] Throughout the application, the method could be used under some cases (e.g. (up-to-date) GPS information (such as location and/or satellite ephemeris) is available and/or UE's clock is precise and/or the absolute time could be derived and/or the UE is in connected mode and/or the UE has performed random access procedure (in the cell)). Conventional method to obtain UL transmission timing (e.g. based on TA or relative timing) could be used for other cases, (e.g. (up-to-date) GPS information (such as location and/or satellite ephemeris) is not available and/or UE's clock is not precise and/or the absolute time could not be derived and/or the UE is in idle mode and/or the UE has not performed random access procedure (in the cell)).).
In regards to claim 13, Lin teaches the method according to claim 2:
wherein the first information comprises the historical TA information of the first communication apparatus (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: See above for paragraph [0176]); and
the determining of the, first parameter based on the first information comprises: determining, by the first communication apparatus, the first parameter based on a historical TA value of the first communication apparatus, a cell radius of a cell in which the first communication apparatus is located, and a maximum TA value, wherein the first parameter is a radius value, and the first parameter is the same as one of at least one radius value corresponding to the one group of preambles determined from the KG groups of preambles (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0082] For the downlink, the higher-layer parameter txDirectCurrentLocation in the SCS-SpecificCarrier IE indicates the location of the transmitter DC subcarrier in the downlink for each of the numerologies configured in the downlink. Values in the range 0-3299 represent the number of the DC subcarrier and the value 3300 indicates that the DC subcarrier is located outside the resource grid. [0083] For the uplink, the higher-layer parameter txDirectCurrentLocation in the UplinkTxDirectCurrentBWP IE indicates the location of the transmitter DC subcarrier in the uplink for each of the configured bandwidth parts, including whether the DC subcarrier location is offset by 7.5 kHz relative to the center of the indicated subcarrier or not. Values in the range 0-3299 represent the number of the DC subcarrier, the value 3300 indicates that the DC subcarrier is located outside the resource grid, and the value 3301 indicates that the position of the DC subcarrier in the uplink is undetermined.).
In regards to claim 14, Lin teaches the method according to claim 2:
wherein the first information comprises: the historical TA information of the first communication apparatus and the geographical location information of the first communication apparatus, and the geographical location information of the first communication apparatus is a distance between the first communication apparatus and the network device (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0103] UE may change its location due to mobility, or the path between a base station and the UE changes, resulting in desired TA value change. The base station could send a TA adjustment value to update UE's TA value. The base station could send an order to request UE to perform a random access procedure. The UE could acquire new TA during the random access procedure. A TA validity timer is maintained by a UE (as well as by a base station) to judge whether a UE has a valid TA or not. If UE does not have valid TA, it is not allowed to transmit most of the UL signal. For example, if UE does not have valid TA, it is not allowed to transmit PUCCH and/or PUSCH and/or SRS. If UE does not have valid TA, it is allowed to transmit PRACH. More details of procedures related to timing advance are provided below from 3GPP TS 38.213, TS 38.211, and TS 38.321.); and
the determining, of the first parameter based on the first information comprises: determining, by the first communication apparatus, the first parameter based on a historical TA value of the first communication apparatus, the distance between the first communication apparatus and the network device, a cell radius of a cell in which the first communication apparatus is located, and a maximum TA value, wherein the first parameter is a radius value, and the first parameter is the same as one of at least one radius value corresponding to the one group of preambles determined from the KG groups of preambles (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0133] N.sub.T,2 is a time duration in msec of N.sub.2 symbols corresponding to a PUSCH preparation time for UE processing capability 1 [6, TS 38.214], N.sub.TA,max is the maximum timing advance value in msec that can be provided by a TA command field of 12 bits, N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ is the number of slots per subframe, and T.sub.sf is the subframe duration of 1 msec. [0139] Prior to initiation of the physical random access procedure, Layer 1 receives the following information from the higher layers: [0140] Configuration of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission parameters (PRACH preamble format, time resources, and frequency resources for PRACH transmission). [0141] Parameters for determining the root sequences and their cyclic shifts in the PRACH preamble sequence set (index to logical root sequence table, cyclic shift (N.sub.CS), and set type (unrestricted, restricted set A, or restricted set B)). [0540] In conventional system, Uplink (UL) transmission timing is acquired based on relative timing. In other words, UL transmission timing is derived based on (or relative to) a Downlink (DL) reception timing. For NTN, one-way propagation delay or the RTT could be quite large, e.g. up to hundreds of ms, since a distance between base station (e.g. satellite) could be quite large (e.g. 300˜36,000 km). Therefore, the latency of obtaining Timing Advance (TA) could be larger than conventional system. As discussed above, one or two round trip(s) is required to obtain an initial TA value or to update TA value, e.g. via random access procedure or a TA command Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). Another factor to introduce delay is DL synchronization procedure. As discussed above, Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) periodicity is selected by a base station. The value could be up to 160 ms. A 160 ms SSB periodicity corresponds to an average of ˜80 ms DL synchronization acquisition delay (e.g. for the case UE has not obtained DL synchronization). In summary, a relative timing based UL timing determination would induce delay comprising UL TA obtaining delay and/or DL sync delay.).
In regards to claim 16, Lin teaches the method according to claim 1:
wherein the first communication apparatus is a terminal device or a chip in the terminal device (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0593] Those of skill in the art would understand that information and signals may be represented using any of a variety of different technologies and techniques. For example, data, instructions, commands, information, signals, bits, symbols, and chips that may be referenced throughout the above description may be represented by voltages, currents, electromagnetic waves, magnetic fields or particles, optical fields or particles, or any combination thereof..
In regards to claim 17, Lin-Xi teaches a preamble transmission method, comprising:
receiving, by a second communication apparatus, a first preamble, and determining a first time-domain channel based on the first preamble, wherein the first time-domain channel comprises Ncs regions (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0106] A UE receives the following synchronization signals (SS) in order to perform cell search: the primary synchronization signal (PSS) and secondary synchronization signal (SSS) as defined in [4, TS 38.211]. [0085] Each element in the resource grid for antenna port p and subcarrier spacing configuration μ is called a resource element and is uniquely identified by (k,l).sub.p,μ where k is the index in the frequency domain and l refers to the symbol position in the time domain relative to some reference point. Resource element (k,l).sub.p,μ corresponds to a physical resource and the complex value α.sub.k,l.sup.(p,μ). When there is no risk for confusion, or no particular antenna port or subcarrier spacing is specified, the indices p and μ may be dropped, resulting in α.sub.k,l.sup.(p) or α.sub.k,l. [0107] A UE assumes that reception occasions of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), PSS, and SSS are in consecutive symbols, as defined in [4, TS 38.211], and form a SS/PBCH block. The UE assumes that SSS, PBCH DM-RS, and PBCH data have same EPRE. The UE may assume that the ratio of PSS EPRE to SSS EPRE in a SS/PBCH block is either 0 dB or 3 dB. [0509] Satellite communication, also known as non-terrestrial network (NTN), has drawn attention as a candidate for providing mobile services. At least for area where convention base station is not deployed, e.g. polar area, desert region, high mountain or on airplane, NTN could be utilized to provide mobile services.; and
determining, by the second communication apparatus based on a correspondence between the Ncs regions of the first time-domain channel and cyclic shift indexes of KG groups of preambles, a cyclic shift index and a group sequence number that are of the first preamble, wherein a pth cyclic shift of an ith group of preambles in the KG groups of preambles corresponds to a ((p+i) mod Ncs)th region of the first time-domain channel, mod represents a modulo operation, and Ncs represents a quantity of cyclic shifts (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0139] Prior to initiation of the physical random access procedure, Layer 1 receives the following information from the higher layers: [0112] For paired spectrum operation [0113] For carrier frequencies smaller than or equal to 3 GHz, n=0,1. For carrier frequencies within FR1 larger than 3 GHz, n=0, 1, 2, 3. [0114] For unpaired spectrum operation [0115] For carrier frequencies smaller than or equal to 2.4 GHz, n=0,1. For carrier frequencies within FR1 larger than 2.4 GHz, n=0, 1, 2, 3. [0116] Case D—120 kHz SCS: the first symbols of the candidate SS/PBCH blocks have indexes {4, 8, 16, 20}+28.Math.n. For carrier frequencies within FR2, n=0, 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18. [0140] Configuration of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission parameters (PRACH preamble format, time resources, and frequency resources for PRACH transmission). [0141] Parameters for determining the root sequences and their cyclic shifts in the PRACH preamble sequence set (index to logical root sequence table, cyclic shift (N.sub.CS), and set type (unrestricted, restricted set A, or restricted set B)). [0036] The modulation symbols for all data streams are then provided to a TX MIMO processor 220, which may further process the modulation symbols (e.g., for OFDM). TX MIMO processor 220 then provides N.sub.T modulation symbol streams to N.sub.T transmitters (TMTR) 222a through 222t. In certain embodiments, TX MIMO processor 220 applies beamforming weights to the symbols of the data streams and to the antenna from which the symbol is being transmitted.).
Thus, the system of Lin does not explicitly teach group sequence number.
Similar to the system of Lin, Xi teaches preamble sequence resources, which can be seen as, group sequence number (Xi, fig. 3-8, fig. 13, [0278]-[0348], [0349]-[0433], [0434]-[0525], [0526]-[0620], [0621]-[0720], [0721]-[0815], [0816]-[0885]: [0317] For example, when the beam failure recovery request and random access are distinguished in the frequency domain, the configured preamble sequence is determined completely on the given root sequence according to the cyclic shift value and the preamble index for the beam failure recovery request. As shown in FIG. 3, the UE may determine the preamble sequence configured for itself on the network side from the starting point of the root sequence according to the cyclic shift value and preamble index.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin with Xi to improve the performance of random access (Xi, [0019]).
In regards to claim 18, Lin-Xi teaches the method according to claim 17 further comprising:
determining, by the second communication apparatus, a TA value based on the group sequence number and the first preamble, and sending the TA value to a terminal device (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0103] UE may change its location due to mobility, or the path between a base station and the UE changes, resulting in desired TA value change. The base station could send a TA adjustment value to update UE's TA value. The base station could send an order to request UE to perform a random access procedure. The UE could acquire new TA during the random access procedure. A TA validity timer is maintained by a UE (as well as by a base station) to judge whether a UE has a valid TA or not. If UE does not have valid TA, it is not allowed to transmit most of the UL signal. For example, if UE does not have valid TA, it is not allowed to transmit PUCCH and/or PUSCH and/or SRS. If UE does not have valid TA, it is allowed to transmit PRACH. More details of procedures related to timing advance are provided below from 3GPP TS 38.213, TS 38.211, and TS 38.321.).
Thus, the system of Lin does not explicitly teach group sequence number.
Similar to the system of Lin, Xi teaches preamble sequence resources, which can be seen as, group sequence number (Xi, fig. 3-8, fig. 13, [0278]-[0348], [0349]-[0433], [0434]-[0525], [0526]-[0620], [0621]-[0720], [0721]-[0815], [0816]-[0885]: [0317] For example, when the beam failure recovery request and random access are distinguished in the frequency domain, the configured preamble sequence is determined completely on the given root sequence according to the cyclic shift value and the preamble index for the beam failure recovery request. As shown in FIG. 3, the UE may determine the preamble sequence configured for itself on the network side from the starting point of the root sequence according to the cyclic shift value and preamble index.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin with Xi to improve the performance of random access (Xi, [0019]).
In regards to claim 19, Lin teaches the method according to claim 17:
wherein the second communication apparatus is a network device or a chip in the network device (Lin, fig. 1, [0029]- [0065], [0066]-[0103], [0104]-[0171], [0172]-[0265], [0266]-[0300],[0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0427], [0428]-[0488], [0489]-[0527], [0528]-[0591]: [0102] An initial value of TA is obtained before UE perform regular UL transmission. The initial TA value is estimated by a random access procedure. A UE would firstly synchronize its DL timing to a DL signal, e.g. SSB from a base station. After obtaining DL timing, a UE transmits a preamble to a base station. The preamble is transmitted with TA value equal to 0 or a small offset value relative to the DL timing. Design of the preamble sequence allows a base station to estimate TA value of a UE (e.g. amount of time UE needs to advance its transmission timing comparing with transmitting a preamble) when receiving preamble from the UE. The base station would then transmit a response, random access response, comprising a TA value (for that preamble and/or that PRACH resource). The UE could use the TA value to adjust its following UL transmission timing (e.g. a Msg3 transmission). Whether the TA could be continuously used in the following UL transmission may subject to other condition(s), e.g. whether the random access procedure is successfully complete or not. This TA value would be maintained or updated from time to time, e.g. when UL transmission is to be performed.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9-11, and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Babaei et al (US 20190215870 A1) discloses configuring bandwidth (BWP) parameters for primary and secondary cells, monitoring downlink control information, and managing a bandwidth part inactivity timer to automatically switch from an active bandwidth part to a default bandwidth part when the timer expires.
Shimezawa et al (US 20190174516 A1) discloses controlling subframe transmission timing through selectable control modes, where the transmission timing is based on parameters associated with either the transmitting communication apparatus or the communication counterpart.
Dinan et al (US 20130258958 A1) discloses configuring and signaling time alignment timer values for different cell groups through MAC control messages, enabling independent management of uplink time alignment for multiple cell groups.
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468