DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Discoe [US 20080038955 A1].
Regarding Claim 1, Discoe discloses an anti-dropout structure for plugs, wherein the anti-dropout structure (1, Fig 1) comprises a ring sleeve (receptacle 7 formed by base 2, first upright member 3, and second upright member 5), the ring sleeve has an axial through hole (central long passageway of receptacle 7 with u-shaped openings 10,11), and the through hole of the ring sleeve (2) is configured for accommodating a male plug and a female plug (cord plug and cord socket, see Fig 3); wherein the ring sleeve (2) is provided with a circumferential gap (longitudinal opening between upright members 3 and 5) including an opening and closing structure (hinged flap 15 with slot 17 and tab 18 with flange 19); wherein the male plug and female plug are configured to enter the through hole through the circumferential gap (plug and socket placed directly into receptacle 7 through the top open gap when flap 15 is open), and the ring sleeve (2) further comprises anti-dropout walls (upright members 3,5 and side walls 12,13 defining inner channels 8,9 and outer channels 4, 6) protruding toward the through hole for preventing the male plug and the female plug from dropping out of the anti-dropout structure (1); wherein the anti-dropout walls comprise first position-limiting structures (outer channels 4,6 and inner channels 8, 9), and each of the male plug and female plug is provided with second position-limiting structures (extending tabs and circumferential flanges on the plug and socket bodies, see Fig 3; [0020]); wherein the first position-limiting structures (outer channels 4,6 and inner channels 8, 9) are configured to abut the second position-limiting structures (extending tabs and circumferential flanges) to prevent the male plug and the female plug from dropping out of the anti-dropout structure (1).
Regarding Claim 2, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Discoe further discloses the opening and closing structure comprises a mounting buckle (tab 18 with flange 19) and an active leaf (flap 15), the ring sleeve (2) comprises a first edge (second upright member 5 via integrated hinge 16) and a second edge (first upright member 3), and the first edge (5) is spaced apart from the second edge (3) to form the gap; wherein one side of the active leaf (15) is connected to the first edge (5), and the active leaf (15) is rotatable around the first edge (5); wherein the mounting buckle (tab 18 with flange 19) is disposed on the second edge (3), and the active leaf (15) is provided with a mounting hole (17) snap-fittedly connected to the mounting buckle (18,19).
Regarding Claim 5, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Discoe further discloses the ring sleeve (2) is formed by one-piece molding using soft materials (injection-molded plastic; [0016]).
Regarding Claim 6, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Discoe further discloses each of the second position-limiting structures (extending tabs and circumferential flanges) of the male plug is disposed at a side surface of the male plug and the second position-limiting structures of the male plug comprise protrusions from two side surfaces of the male plug; wherein the second position-limiting structures of the male plug are configured to abut the first position-limiting structures, to prevent the male plug from being disconnected with the female plug (radially extending tabs and circumferential flanges extending from opposing outer side surfaces of the plug and socket body; see [0020]).
Regarding Claim 7, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 6, Discoe further discloses each of the second position-limiting structures of the female plug is disposed at a side surface of the female plug and the second position-limiting structures of the female plug comprise protrusions from two side surfaces of the female plug; wherein the second position-limiting structures of the female plug are configured to abut the first position-limiting structures, to prevent the female plug from being disconnected with the male plug (as disclosed above, radially extending tabs and circumferential flanges extending from opposing outer side surfaces of the plug and socket body; see [0020]).
Regarding Claim 8, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Discoe further discloses each of the second position-limiting structures of the male plug is disposed at a side surface of the male plug and the second position-limiting structures of the male plug comprise protrusions from three side surfaces of the male plug; wherein the second position-limiting structures of the male plug are configured to abut the first position-limiting structures, to prevent the male plug from being disconnected with the female plug (as disclosed above, radially extending tabs and circumferential flanges extending from opposing outer side surfaces of the plug and socket body; see [0020]).
Regarding Claim 9, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 8, Discoe further discloses each of the second position-limiting structures of the female plug is disposed at a side surface of the female plug and the second position-limiting structures of the female plug comprise protrusions from three side surfaces of the female plug; wherein the second position-limiting structures of the female plug are configured to abut the first position-limiting structures, to prevent the female plug from being disconnected with the male plug (as disclosed above, radially extending tabs and circumferential flanges extending from opposing outer side surfaces of the plug and socket body; see [0020]).
Regarding Claim 10, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Discoe further discloses each of the second position-limiting structures of the male plug is disposed at a side surface of the male plug and the second position-limiting structures of the male plug comprise protrusions from all side surfaces of the male plug; wherein the second position-limiting structures of the male plug are configured to abut the first position-limiting structures, to prevent the male plug from being disconnected with the female plug (as disclosed above, radially extending tabs and circumferential flanges extending from opposing outer side surfaces of the plug and socket body; see [0020]).
Regarding Claim 11, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 10, Discoe further discloses each of the second position-limiting structures of the female plug is disposed at a side surface of the female plug and the second position-limiting structures of the female plug comprise protrusions from all side surfaces of the female plug; wherein the second position-limiting structures of the female plug are configured to abut the first position-limiting structures, to prevent the female plug from being disconnected with the male plug (as disclosed above, radially extending tabs and circumferential flanges extending from opposing outer side surfaces of the plug and socket body; see [0020]).
Regarding Claim 12, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Discoe further discloses the second position-limiting structures of the male plug are disposed at a top portion, a middle portion, and/or a bottom portion of the male plug; wherein the second position-limiting structures of the female plug are disposed at a top portion, a middle portion and/or a bottom portion of the female plug (flanges and tabs positioned along designated longitudinal locations of the plug and socket bodies to align with channels 4, 6, 8 and 9).
Regarding Claim 13, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Discoe further discloses each of the second position-limiting structures of the male plug extends outward from a corresponding side surface of the male plug at an angle with said side surface, and each of the second position-limiting structures of the female plug extends outward from a corresponding side surface of the female plug at an angle with said side surface (tabs 18 and sloped flange 19 extending outward at an angle, Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 14, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Discoe further discloses each of the second position-limiting structures of the male plug and the female plug matches one of the first position-limiting structures; wherein the anti-dropout structure comprises at least two first position-limiting structures (outer channels 4,6 and inner channels 8,9 matching the shape and dimensions of the plug tabs and circumferential flanges).
Regarding Claim 16, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Discoe further discloses a plug (cord plug, Fig 3) comprising the anti-dropout structure (1) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Discoe [US 20080038955 A1] in view of Rynaski et al. [US 20130210264 A1].
Regarding Claim 3, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Discoe further discloses the anti-dropout structure (1) holding the cord plug/socket. Discoe does not explicitly disclose one or more extension lines and one or more collars, wherein a first end of each extension line is connected to the ring sleeve, a second end of each extension line is connected to one of the collars, and the collars are configured to be sleeved around cables of the plugs.
However, Rynaski discloses an assembly (500, Fig 8A-8C) comprising one or more extension lines (510, Fig 8b-8c) and one or more collars (loop structures 501a, 501b), wherein a first end of each extension line (510) is connected to the ring sleeve (coupler body 505), a second end of each extension line (510) is connected to one of the collars (501a, 501b), and the collars (501a, 501b) are configured to be sleeved around cables (503a, 503b) of the plugs.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Discoe as suggested by Rynaski to provide one or more extension lines and one or more collars, wherein a first end of each extension line is connected to the ring sleeve, a second end of each extension line is connected to one of the collars, and the collars are configured to be sleeved around cables of the plugs. Discoe explicitly teaches that securing cords plugged together at elevated heights presents operational challenges where retaining components can fall off or become misplaced when unclipped. Rynaski solves this problem by providing flexible band extension lines (510) connected to cable collars (501a 501b) sleeved around cords (503a, 503b) to retain the coupling member attached to the cable during disconnect. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification to ensure that when the flap 15 of Discoe’s invention is unlatched to disconnect the plugs, the clip body remains tethered directly to an electrical cable rather than dropping to the ground and getting lost or causing inconvenience during operation.
Regarding Claim 4, Discoe and Rynaski disclose all the limitations of claim 3, Rynaski further discloses the extension lines (510) comprise a first extension line and a second extension line, and the collars (501a, 501b) comprise a first collar (501a) and a second collar (501b); wherein a first end of the first extension line (510) is connected to the ring sleeve (coupler body 505), a second end of the first extension line (510) is connected to the first collar (501a), and the first collar (501a) is configured to sleeve around the cable (503a) of one of the male plug and the female plug; wherein a first end of the second extension line (510) is connected to the ring sleeve (coupler body 505), a second end of the second extension line (510) is connected to the second collar (501b), and the second collar (501b) is configured to sleeve around the cable (503b) of the other one of the male plug and the female plug.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Discoe [US 20080038955 A1] in view of Hester [US 5876234 A].
Regarding Claim 15, Discoe discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Discoe further discloses cord plug and socket having integral circumferential flanges and tabs (second position-limiting structure) extending directly from the outer plug/socket body, and that the anti-dropout structure (1) is formed of a single injection-molded piece. Discoe does not explicitly disclose the male and female plug along with their limiting structures being formed by one-piece molding of PVC plastic materials.
However, Hester discloses a male plug housing (5) and female connector housing (6) for electrical extension cords, the male/female connector bodies made of plastic materials such as thermoplastic rubber resins or the like (see Column 4, lines 47-53).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Discoe as suggested by Hester to provide the male and female plug along with their limiting structures being formed by one-piece molding of PVC plastic materials. Plastic materials such as PVC is commonly used in electrical connectors providing necessary electrical insulation, mechanical durability and such. Substituting standard PVC plastic material for the plug bodies of Discoe represents a predictable choice of known materials in the art to achieve expected structural integrity and cost-effective manufacturing as PVC is a commonly available and low-cost material.
Conclusion
/THASLIMUR RAHMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834