DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has not been received and the electronic retrieval attempt has failed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 25 July 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai et al. (US 2022/0258472 A1) in view of ITO et al. (US 2018/0264807 A1).
As related to independent claim 1, Hirai et al. teaches a liquid ejecting head comprising: a pressure chamber substrate including a first pressure chamber line having a plurality of pressure chambers arranged in a first direction, and a second pressure chamber line having a plurality of pressure chambers arranged in the first direction (Hirai et al. – Figures 3 & 4, Reference #12, shown below), the first pressure chamber line and the second pressure chamber line being provided in such a way as to be arranged in a second direction intersecting with the first direction (Hirai et al. – Figures 3 & 4, Reference #12, shown below); a plurality of individual electrodes individually provided to the respective pressure chambers of the first pressure chamber line and the second pressure chamber line (Hirai et al. – Page 4, Paragraphs 53-57 and Figures 3 & 5, Reference #60, shown below); at least one common electrode provided in common to the respective pressure chambers of the first pressure chamber line and the second pressure chamber line (Hirai et al. – Page 4, Paragraphs 53-57 and Figures 3 & 5, Reference #80, shown below); piezoelectric bodies provided between the plurality of individual electrodes and the at least one common electrode, respectively (Hirai et al. – Page 4, Paragraphs 53-57 and Figures 3 & 5, Reference #300 & #70, shown below), and driven in order to apply a pressure to a liquid inside the plurality of pressure chambers (Hirai et al. – Page 2, Paragraphs 29-32; Page 3, Paragraphs 43-44; Page 4, Paragraphs 53-57 and Figures 3 & 5, Reference #300, #70, & #12, shown below); a first detection resistor formed from an identical material to a material of at least any of the plurality of individual electrodes and the at least one common electrode, and designed to change a resistance value depending on a temperature of the liquid inside the plurality of pressure chambers included in the first pressure chamber line (Hirai et al. – Page 5, Paragraph 59; Page 7, Paragraphs 82-87; Page 9, Paragraphs 106-107; and Figure 9, Reference #403, shown below); a second detection resistor formed from the identical material to the material of at least any of the plurality of individual electrodes and the at least one common electrode, and designed to change a resistance value depending on a temperature of the liquid inside the plurality of pressure chambers included in the second pressure chamber line (Hirai et al. – Page 5, Paragraph 59; Page 7, Paragraphs 82-87; Page 9, Paragraphs 106-107; and Figure 9, Reference #402, shown below); a wiring board (Hirai et al. – Page 4, Paragraph 54 and Figure 4, Reference #120, shown below).
Continuing with independent claim 1, Hirai et al. teaches a first coupling terminal that couples one end of the first detection resistor and one end of the second detection resistor in common to the wiring board (Hirai et al. – Page 9, Paragraphs 106-107; and Figure 9, Reference #93, #93b, #403, & #93a, & #402, shown above); and a second coupling terminal that couples another end of the first detection resistor and another end of the second detection resistor in common to the wiring board (Hirai et al. – Page 9, Paragraphs 106-107; and Figure 9, Reference #93, #93d, #403, & #93c, & #402, shown above). While teaching coupling terminals, Hirai et al. does not specifically depict the individual coupling terminals as a single object in the figure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the coupling terminal of Hirai et al. teaches the coupling terminal as claimed. Meanwhile, ITO et al. teaches a liquid ejecting head comprising a pressure chamber substrate including a first pressure chamber line and a second pressure chamber line (ITO et al. – Figure 2, shown below) and specifically teaches a first coupling terminal that is a single common contact and a second coupling terminal that is a single common contact (ITO et al. – Page 4, Paragraph 54 and Figure 2, Reference #12g, shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the coupling terminals of Hirai et al. to be common contact points as taught by ITO et al. in an effort to provide a liquid jetting head capable of accurately detecting the temperature of the liquid inside the flow channels and chambers of the substrate (ITO et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 5).
As related to dependent claim 2, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the at least one common electrode includes a first common electrode corresponding to the first pressure chamber line (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference #92, Left Side) and a second common electrode corresponding to the second pressure chamber line (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference #92, Right Side), and the liquid ejecting head further includes a third coupling terminal that couples a portion of the first common electrode to the wiring board (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference #91, Left Side), and a fourth coupling terminal that couples a portion of the second common electrode to the wiring board (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference #91, Right Side).
As related to further dependent claim 3, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a fifth coupling terminal that couples another portion of the first common electrode to the wiring board; and a sixth coupling terminal that couples another portion of the second common electrode to the wiring board (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference Arrows, shown below).
As related to further dependent claim 4, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a distance in the first direction between the first coupling terminal and the third coupling terminal is shorter than a distance in the first direction between the first coupling terminal and the fourth coupling terminal, and a distance in the first direction between the second coupling terminal and the fifth coupling terminal is longer than a distance in the first direction between the second coupling terminal and the sixth coupling terminal (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference Arrows, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 5, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a width in the first direction of the first coupling terminal [i.e. Hirai et al. as modified by ITO et al. to specify a single/common connection point] is larger than a width in the first direction of the third coupling terminal (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference #93, Arrows, & #91, Left Side, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 6, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a first parallel coupling terminal that is coupled in parallel with the first coupling terminal, and couples the one end of the first detection resistor and the one end of the second detection resistor in common to the wiring board (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference Arrows, #93b, & 93a, shown above); and a second parallel coupling terminal that is coupled in parallel with the second coupling terminal, and couples the other end of the first detection resistor and the other end of the second detection resistor in common to the wiring board (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference Arrows, #93d, & 93c, shown above).
As related to dependent claim 7, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a plurality of seventh coupling terminals that couple the plurality of individual electrodes corresponding, respectively, to the plurality of pressure chambers included in the first pressure chamber line to the wiring board, respectively (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference Arrows, Left Side, shown above); and a plurality of eighth coupling terminals that couple the plurality of individual electrodes corresponding, respectively, to the plurality of pressure chambers included in the second pressure chamber line to the wiring board, respectively (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference Arrows, Right Side, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 8, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a width in the first direction of the first coupling terminal [i.e. Hirai et al. as modified by ITO et al. to specify a single/common connection point] is larger than a width in the first direction of the seventh coupling terminal (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference #93, Arrows, Left Side, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 9, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a length in a direction of extension of the first coupling terminal [i.e. Hirai et al. as modified by ITO et al. to specify a single/common connection point] is larger than a length in a direction of extension of the third coupling terminal (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference Arrows & #91, Left Side, shown above) and larger than a length in a direction of extension of the fourth coupling terminal (Hirai et al. – Figure 9, Reference Arrows & #91, Right Side, shown above).
As related to dependent claim 10, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the at least one common electrode includes a third common electrode that corresponds to both the first pressure chamber line and the second pressure chamber line, and the liquid ejecting head further includes a ninth coupling terminal that couples a portion of the third common electrode to the wiring board (Hirai et al. – Page 4, Paragraph 56; Page 5, Paragraph 69 – Page 6, Paragraph 70; and Figures 6 & 9, Reference #80 & #12).
As related to dependent claim 11, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a liquid ejecting apparatus comprising the liquid ejecting head (Hirai et al. – Figure 1, shown below); a resistance value acquisition unit that acquires a resistance value of combined resistance of the first detection resistor and the second detection resistor through the first coupling terminal and the second coupling terminal; and a temperature acquisition unit [i.e. temperature detector] that acquires a temperature near the pressure chambers based on the resistance value acquired by the resistance value acquisition unit (Hirai et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 5; Page 2, Paragraph 29; Page 7, Paragraph 84 – Page 8, Paragraph 90; and Figure 1, Reference #580, shown below).
As related to further dependent claim 12, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a drive waveform determination unit that determines a drive waveform to be applied to the plurality of individual electrodes based on the temperature acquired by the temperature acquisition unit (Hirai et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 5; Page 2, Paragraph 29; Page 8, Paragraph 93; Page 9, Paragraph 108 – Page 10, Paragraph 109).
As related to further dependent claim 13, the combination of Hirai et al. and ITO et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a first correspondence relation that represents correspondence between the temperature and the resistance value when driving the first pressure chamber line and the second pressure chamber line; and a second correspondence relation that represents correspondence between the temperature and the resistance value when driving one of the first pressure chamber line and the second pressure chamber line, wherein the temperature acquisition unit acquires the temperature near the pressure chambers based on the resistance value acquired by the resistance value acquisition unit and on the first correspondence relation when driving the first pressure chamber line and the second pressure chamber line, and the temperature acquisition unit acquires the temperature near the pressure chambers based on the resistance value acquired by the resistance value acquisition unit and on the second correspondence relation when driving one of the first pressure chamber line and the second pressure chamber line (Hirai et al. – Page 9, Paragraphs 107-108 and Page 10, Paragraphs 111-114).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Satake (US 2004/0189752 A1) teaches a piezoelectric ink jet head having a plurality of pressure chamber lines. Kondo et al. (US 2010/0194826 A1) teaches a liquid ejecting head having multiple chamber lines. KONDO et al. (US 2013/0083102 A1) teaches a liquid jetting apparatus having a liquid ejecting head with a temperature sensor and a piezoelectric actuator. FUKUDA (US 2018/0134034 A1) teaches a liquid ejecting head in an apparatus having multiple pressure chambers; a temperature detecting element; and driving IC and a piezoelectric actuator. Nomura et al. (US 2018/0170051 A1) teaches a print element substrate having a plurality of temperature sensors corresponding to printing nozzles. IDE et al. (US 2023/0018898 A1) teaches a liquid discharge head unit having detection resistors in the head and a plurality of pressure chamber lines. YOKOO et al. (US 2023/0020830 A1) teaches a liquid discharge head having a plurality of pressure chamber lines and a resistance value acquisition unit which measures resistance values as related to temperature values.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular Figures & Reference Numbers, Columns, Paragraphs and Line Numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at (571) 272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853