DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-10 and 12, drawn to a filter pressing system, classified in B30B9/042,06 & B01D63/069,04,10.
II. Claim 11, drawn to a filter pressing method, classified in G01N33/15.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case The process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product, such as a system that does not utilize a clamping device and/or filter pressing bottle group carrier.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Charles Gray on 5/8/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute Invention I, a filter pressing system, claims 1-10 and 12. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Para [0041], Line 14 incorrectly calls out component 14 as the second filter pressing bottle - "the second filter pressing bottle 14" - when applicant has stated component 15 as second filter pressing bottle.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the bottom of the first pressing bottle" in lines 2 and 5, and the limitation “the bottom of the second filter pressing bottle” in lines 3 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The phrase “in the case” in line 5 of claim 4 is indefinite. If “the case” is not met, it is unclear if the limitations after “in the case” are positively claimed. For examination purposes, “the case” is not met; thus, the limitations after “in the case” do not have to be found.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. CN 118272214 A in view of Lee et al. WO 2015056876 A1 and Xu CN 206411072 U. CN 118272214 A is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Fu patent; WO 2015056876 A1 is a published patent application hereinafter to be referred to as the Lee patent; CN 206411072 U is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Xu patent.
Regarding claim 1, Fu discloses a filter pressing system, comprising a filter pressing bottle group transfer module (Fu – Vertical Slide Plate 1032, FIG. 2), provided with a filter pressing position at one end thereof in a Y-axis direction (See Fu FIG. 1 below), used to drive a filter pressing bottle group carrier (Fu – Sample Loading Mechanism 1, FIG. 1), the filter pressing bottle group carrier (Fu – 1) being used to load a filter pressing bottle group, the filter pressing bottle group comprising a first filter pressing bottle (Fu – First Sample Tube 2, FIG. 1) and a second filter pressing bottle (Fu – Second Sample Tube 3, FIG. 1), and a filter pressing transfer module (Fu – Transfer Assembly 501, FIG. 1), used to drive a first clamping device (Fu – Clamping Unit 5015, FIG. 1) to move in a second predetermined direction comprising an X-axis direction and a Z-axis direction to clamp the first filter pressing bottle (Fu – 2) and move to the filter pressing position, cooperate with the second filter pressing bottle (Fu – 3) that moves to the filter pressing position. Fu discloses the filter pressing bottle group carrier moving in the X-axis direction, however, filter pressing bottle group carrier (Fu – 1) can be positioned such that the filter pressing bottle group carrier can move in the Y-axis direction.
Fu FIG. 1
Fu fails to disclose the first filter pressing bottle being connected to the second filter pressing bottle through a filter pressing membrane provided; a liquid transfer module, used to drive a liquid transfer component filled with reaction liquid to move in a first predetermined direction, the first predetermined direction comprising an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction, when the liquid transfer component moves above the filter pressing bottle group, a controller controlling the liquid transfer component to inject the reaction liquid into a target filter pressing bottle; the target filter pressing bottle being the first filter pressing bottle or the second filter pressing bottle; and apply pressure to the second filter pressing bottle through the first filter pressing bottle to filter press the reaction liquid in the target filter pressing bottle through the filter pressing membrane.
Lee teaches a liquid transfer module (Lee – Transfer Module 104, FIG. 2(B)), used to drive a liquid transfer component (Lee – Reagent Supply Module 128, FIG. 4(A)) filled with reaction liquid to move in a first predetermined direction, the first predetermined direction comprising an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction (Lee Description Page 3, Lines 9-13: A reagent supply module (128) mounted on the transfer module (104) to selectively inject reagents required for smearing by a reagent pump into the centrifuge tube, and mounted on the transfer module (104) to the X-axis of the transfer module (104). X-axis guide bar to move Transfer module (104) including a 110 and the Y-axis guide bar 111 to move to the Y-axis), when the liquid transfer component (Lee – 128) moves above the filter pressing bottle group, a controller (Lee – Control Unit 133) controlling the liquid transfer component to inject the reaction liquid into a target filter pressing bottle (Lee Description Page 3, Lines 24-26: The control unit (133) is a first injecting the cell separation reagent into the one or more centrifuge tube 113 placed in the centrifuge tube holder 102 by the reagent supply module (128) mounted to the transfer module (104)); the target filter pressing bottle being the first filter pressing bottle or the second filter pressing bottle.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter pressing system disclosed in Fu to include a liquid transfer module, used to drive a liquid transfer component filled with a reaction liquid to move in an X-axis direction and Y-axis direction, as taught by Lee, to provide a means for the liquid transfer component to be moved to a desired position to inject the reactant liquid into the first or second bottle (Lee Description Page 6, Lines 1-5: in order to inject a sample or reagent from the workbench…a transfer module (104) is installed on the workbench to allow the reagent supply module…to move from the workbench. The transfer module (104) can be moved to a desired position by the X-axis guide bar 110, the Y-axis guide bar 111 formed on the X-axis or Y-axis side of the workbench.).
Xu teaches the first filter pressing bottle being (Xu – Plunger Tube 200, FIG. 2) connected to the second filter pressing bottle (Xu – Outer Cylinder 100, FIG. 3) through a filter pressing membrane (Xu – Filter Membrane 290, FIG. 4), and apply pressure to the second filter pressing bottle through the first filter pressing bottle to filter press the reaction liquid in the target filter pressing bottle through the filter pressing membrane (Xu Description Page 3, Lines 47-49: when chromatographic liquid sample into the outer cylinder, pressing downwards to the bottom of the outer cylinder from the plunger pipe entrance through the plunger tube, forcing the chromatogram sample flows upward.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter pressing bottle group of the filter pressing system disclosed by Fu to include a first filter pressing bottle and a second filter pressing bottle, the first filter pressing bottle being connected to the second filter pressing bottle through a filter pressing membrane provided, as taught by Xu, to provide more accurate test results and ensure a filtering effect (Xu Description Page 4, Lines 2-5: can obtain more accurate test result, and under high pressure will not drop out, and ensure filtering effect, can effectively prevent the sample through filter membrane directly into the plunger tube is to prevent the particle sample in destroying the subsequent detection instrument).
Regarding claim 4, Fu in view of Lee and Xu discloses a filter pressing system (See claim 1 rejection above), however, Fu fails to disclose a first carrying portion used to carry a first filter pressing membrane is provided at the bottom of the first filter pressing bottle, and the target filter pressing bottle is the second filter pressing bottle in case that the bottom of the second filter pressing bottle is sealed; and in the case a carrier membrane is embedded at the bottom of the first filter pressing bottle, and a second carrying portion used to carry a second filter pressing membrane is provided away from the bottom of the second filter pressing bottle, the target filter pressing bottle is the first filter pressing bottle.
Xu teaches a first carrying portion (Xu – Lantern Ring 260, FIG. 2) used to carry a first filter pressing membrane (Xu – 290) is provided at the bottom of the first filter pressing bottle (Xu – 200), and the target filter pressing bottle is the second filter pressing bottle (Xu – 100) in case that the bottom of the second filter pressing bottle is sealed; and in the case a carrier membrane is embedded at the bottom of the first filter pressing bottle, and a second carrying portion (Xu – Cylindrical Protrusion 110, FIG. 3) used to carry a second filter pressing membrane is provided away from the bottom of the second filter pressing bottle, the target filter pressing bottle is the first filter pressing bottle.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter pressing bottle group of the filter pressing system disclosed by Fu to include a first filter pressing bottle and a second filter pressing bottle, wherein a first filter pressing membrane is provided at the bottom of the first filter pressing bottle, as taught by Xu, to prevent damage to a subsequent detection instrument (Xu Description Page 4, Lines 2-5: can obtain more accurate test result, and under high pressure will not drop out, and ensure filtering effect, can effectively prevent the sample through filter membrane directly into the plunger tube is to prevent the particle sample in destroying the subsequent detection instrument).
Regarding claim 7, Fu in view of Lee and Xu discloses the filter pressing system, wherein the filter pressing transfer module (Fu – 501) comprises a filter pressing X-axis transfer module (Fu – First Mobile Unit 5018, FIG. 1) and a filter pressing Z-axis transfer module (Fu – Third Mobile Unit 5020. FIG. 1), and the filter pressing X-axis transfer module (Fu – 5018) is provided above the X-axis where the filter pressing position is (See Fu FIG. 1 above); the first clamping device (Fu – 5015) is provided on the filter pressing Z-axis transfer module (Fu – 5020)(FIG. 1), and the filter pressing X-axis transfer module (Fu – 5018) and the filter pressing Z-axis transfer module (Fu -5020) are linked to drive the first clamping device to move (Fu Description Page 9, Lines 34-36: the first moving unit 5018 is arranged along the first direction, the second moving unit 5019 is set on the first moving unit (5018) and can move along the first direction, the third moving unit (5020) is set on the second moving unit 5019 and can move along the second direction).
Regarding claim 8, Fu in view of Lee and Xu discloses the filter pressing system (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein a liquid receiving component (See Lee FIG. 4(A) below) is provided directly below the liquid transfer component (Lee – 128), and the liquid receiving component is configured to collect the reaction liquid dripped from the liquid transfer component (Lee – 128) (See Lee FIG. 4(A) below).
Lee FIG. 4(A)
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Lee et al. and Xu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. CN 111979119 A. CN 111979119 A is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Yang patent.
Regarding claim 2, Fu in view of Lee and Xu discloses the filter pressing system (See claim 1 rejection above), however, Fu in view of Lee and Xu fails to disclose the filter pressing system further comprises an analysis disk transfer module, used to drive an analysis disk to move in the Y-axis direction, and the analysis disk transfer module is adjacent to the filter pressing bottle group transfer module parallel to the Y-axis; and the end of the analysis disk transfer module close to the filter pressing position is a filter pressing bottle group placement position.
Yang teaches an analysis disk transfer module (Yang – the first clamping mechanical arm 2.1, FIG. 1), used to drive an analysis disk to move in the Y-axis direction (Yang Description Page 7. Lines 33-34: the structure of the first clamping mechanical arm 2.1, the structure of the second clamping mechanical arm shown in FIG. 10 are the same. Yang Description Page 14. Lines 42-43: then, clamping the first clamping mechanical hand (2.1) of the cell hole plate along the X direction and continuously moving to the right side of the observation area (2)). After modification, since the analysis disk transfer module of Yang moves along the Y-axis, it is parallel to the Y-axis. After modification, the analysis disk transfer module would be adjacent to the filter pressing bottle group transfer module since they both would be mounted to the same surface within the same system.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter pressing system disclosed by Fu in view of Lee and Xu to include an analysis disk transfer module used to drive an analysis disk to move in the Y-axis direction, as taught by Yang, in order to move material (Yang Description Page 14, Lines 37-44: the first clamping mechanical hand (2.1) moves to the left side of the observation area (2) along the X direction, and from the transmission opening of the left side of the observation area (2), taking cell hole plate, then, the first clamping mechanical hand (2.1) reversely moves to the front of the observation device (2.2) along the X direction, and then the first clamping mechanical hand (2.1) to rotate, so as to put the cell hole plate in the observation field of the observation device (2.2); observing the cell hole plate through the observation device (2.2); then, clamping the first clamping mechanical hand (2.1) of the cell hole plate along the X direction and continuously moving to the right side of the observation area (2)).
Regarding claim 3, Fu in view of Lee and Xu, and in further view of Yang discloses the filter pressing system (See claim 2 rejection above), characterized in that, the filter pressing system further comprises an analysis disk discharge component (the second clamping mechanical hand 3.1, FIG. 1); the analysis disk discharge component comprises an analysis disk Y-axis transfer module (Yang – a third single-degree-of-freedom linear motion module 3.15, FIG. 10), an analysis disk Z-axis transfer module (Yang – a second lifting module 3.1.3, FIG. 10) and a second clamping device (Yang – second electric finger 3.1.1, FIG. 10), and the second clamping device (Yang – 3.1.1) is provided on the analysis disk Z-axis transfer module (FIG. 10); the analysis disk transfer module is configured to drive the analysis disk to arrive at the filter pressing bottle group placement position (Yang Description Page 14, Lines 47-50: the second clamping mechanical hand (3.1) moves to the position close to the transmission door along the X direction; the second clamping mechanical hand (3.1) clamps the cell hole plate; then the first clamping mechanical hand (2.1) releases the cell hole plate, realizing the handover of cell pore plate); the filter pressing transfer module (Fu – 501) drives the filter pressing bottle group to move to the filter pressing bottle group placement position to place the filter pressing bottle group on the analysis disk; and the analysis disk Y-axis transfer module (Yang – 3.15) and the analysis disk Z-axis transfer module (Yang – 3.1.3) are linked (FIG. 10) to drive the second clamping device (Yang – 3.1.1) to move to the filter pressing bottle group placement position to clamp the analysis disk filled with the filter pressing bottle group to move to the next step (Yang Description Page 14, Lines 47-50: the second clamping mechanical hand (3.1) moves to the position close to the transmission door along the X direction; the second clamping mechanical hand (3.1) clamps the cell hole plate; then the first clamping mechanical hand (2.1) releases the cell hole plate, realizing the handover of cell pore plate).
Regarding claim 5, Fu in view of Lee and Xu, and further in view of Yang discloses the filter pressing system (See claim 2 rejection above), wherein there is one group of the filter pressing bottle group transfer module. However, Fu in view of Lee and Xu, and in further view of Wang does not disclose two groups of the filter bottle transfer modules, and the two groups of filter pressing bottle group transfer modules are adjacent to the analysis disk transfer module parallel to the Y-axis. MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B) states that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)). Regarding the two groups of filter pressing bottle group transfer modules adjacent to the analysis disk transfer module parallel to the Y-axis, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize the filter pressing bottle group transfer modules to be adjacent the analysis disk transfer module since they would be on the same surface and same system after modification.
Regarding claim 6, Fu in view of Lee and Xu, and in further view of Yang discloses the filter pressing system, wherein the liquid transfer module (Lee – 128) comprises a liquid transfer X-axis transfer module (Lee – X-axis Guide Bar 110) and a liquid transfer Y-axis transfer module (Y-axis Guide Bar 111), and the liquid transfer X-axis transfer module (Lee – 110) and the liquid transfer Y-axis transfer module (Lee – 111) are linked to drive the liquid transfer component to move (Lee Disclosure Page 3, Lines 9-13: A reagent supply module (128) mounted on the transfer module (104) to selectively inject reagents required for smearing by a reagent pump into the centrifuge tube, and mounted on the transfer module (104) to the X-axis of the transfer module (104). X-axis guide bar to move Transfer module (104) including a 110 and the Y-axis guide bar 111 to move to the Y-axis). However, Fu in view of Lee and Xu, and in further view of Yang does not disclose the liquid transfer X-axis transfer module is provided above the filter pressing bottle group transfer module; the liquid transfer Y-axis transfer module is adjacent to the analysis disk Y-axis transfer module parallel to the Y-axis, and the liquid transfer component to move above the filter pressing bottle group transfer module.
Regarding the liquid transfer X-axis transfer module provided above the filter pressing bottle group transfer module, and the liquid transfer Y-axis module is adjacent to the analysis disk Y-axis transfer module parallel to the Y-axis, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize the liquid transfer X-axis transfer module to be provided above the filter pressing bottle group transfer module, and the liquid transfer Y-axis transfer module to be adjacent to the analysis disk Y-axis transfer module parallel to the Y-axis since the liquid transfer X-axis and Y-axis modules since the modules are located above the surface of bottles, and would be within the same system as the filter pressing bottle group transfer module after modification.
Regarding claim 10, Fu in view of Lee and Xu, and in further view of Yang discloses the filter pressing system (See claim 3 rejection above) further comprises a support component, and the support component comprises a support column and a support arm vertically provided with the support column (See Fu FIG. 1 above), the support column is configured to support the liquid transfer module (Lee – 128), filter pressing transfer module (Lee – 104), analysis disk discharge component (Yang – 3.5.1) and the support arm; and the liquid transfer module (Lee – 128) and the analysis disk discharge component (Yang – 3.5.1) are provided on the support arm, and in sliding connection (Lee Description Page 6, Lines 48-50: The transfer module (104) includes…a reagent supply module (128), as shown in Figure 4, these components are formed in each It is moved horizontally by the X-axis guide bar 110 and Y-axis guide bar 111 driven by the drive motor and the ball screw).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. in view Lee et al. and Xu as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Noda et al. JP 2005017224 A. JP 2005017224 A is a published patent application hereinafter to be referred to as the Noda patent.
Fu in view of Lee and Xu discloses the filter pressing system (See claim 8 rejection above), wherein the liquid receiving component comprises a liquid receiving tank (See Lee FIG. 4(A) above), and an installation plate (See Lee FIG. 4(A) above) used to connect with the liquid transfer component. However, Lee in view of Fu and Xu does not disclose a driving mechanism, the driving mechanism is configured to drive the liquid receiving tank to move.
Noda teaches a driving mechanism (Noda – First Electric Actuator 8, FIG. 3) configured to drive the liquid receiving tank (Noda – Cleaning Tank 6, FIG. 3) to move (Noda Para [0024]: The position of the plate 5 and the position of the cleaning tank 6 are controlled by a first electric actuator 8 that can move in the y direction.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter pressing system disclosed by Fu in view of Lee and Xu to include a driving mechanism configured to drive the liquid receiving tank to move, as taught by Noda, to enable the liquid receiving tank to move an arbitrary distance (See Lee Para [0058]: The first electric actuator (8) is controlled to move the first plate-like member 1 by an arbitrary distance in the y direction).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. in view of Xu , and Hodge WO 2022261041 A1. WO 2022261041 A1 is a published patent application hereinafter to be referred to as the Hodge patent.
Regarding claim 12, Fu discloses a filter pressing system comprising a controller (Fu Description Page 2, Lines 33-34, 46: the present invention provides a cup separating system, which comprises:…a controller configured to); a filter pressing bottle carrier comprising a first filter pressing bottle support receptacle (Fu – First Sample Carrier 106, FIG. 1) configured to receive and support the first filter pressing bottle (Fu – First Sample Tube 2, FIG. 1) and a second filter pressing bottle support receptacle (Fu – Second Sample Carrier 107, FIG. 1) configured to receive and support the second filter pressing bottle (Fu – Second Sample Tube 3, FIG. 1); a filter pressing transfer module (Fu – First Transfer Module 5012, FIG. 7) operable by the controller to grasp and remove the first filter pressing bottle from the first filter pressing bottle support receptacle (Fu – 106)(Fu Description Page 2, Lines 46, 51-52: a controller configured to: controlling the transfer assembly to transfer the first sample tube and the second sample tube from the sample carrier assembly to the first tray and the second tray, respectively), align and insert the first filter pressing bottle into the second filter pressing bottle to accomplish the pressing operation (Fu Description Page 9, Lines 12-13: the transfer component 501 comprises a mobile module 5011, a first transfer module (5012) and a second transfer module 5013; Lines 16-17: The control transfer assembly 501 transfers the first sample tube 2 from the first sample carrier (106) to the first tray 401); an analysis disk comprising a filter pressing bottle assembly receptacle (Fu – First Tray 402, FIG. 1) configured to receive and support the filter pressing bottle assembly (Fu Description Page 5, Lines 33-34: a first tray 401 and a second tray 402 for placing the first sample tube 2 and the second sample tube 3, respectively).
Fu fails to disclose a first filter pressing bottle defining a first filter pressing bottle receptacle; second filter pressing bottle defining a second filter pressing bottle receptacle configured to receive a bottom portion of the first filter pressing bottle during a pressing operation to form a filter pressing bottle assembly comprising the first filter pressing bottle and the second filter pressing bottle and to filter an insoluble substance from an unfiltered reaction fluid disposed in one of the first filter pressing bottle receptacle and the second filter pressing bottle receptacle to produce a filtered reaction fluid that is transferred to the other of the first filter pressing bottle receptacle and the second filter pressing bottle receptacle; a filter membrane through which the first filter pressing bottle receptacle and the second filter pressing bottle receptacle are in fluid communication in the filter pressing bottle assembly, wherein the filter membrane is configured to filter out the insoluble substance from the unfiltered reaction fluid; and an analysis disk discharge assembly operable by the controller to grasp the analysis disk and reposition the analysis disk for discharge of the analysis disk.
Xu teaches a first filter pressing bottle (Xu – Plunger Tube 200, FIG. 2) defining a first filter pressing bottle receptacle; second filter pressing bottle (Xu – Outer Cylinder 100, FIG. 3) defining a second filter pressing bottle receptacle configured to receive a bottom portion of the first filter pressing bottle during a pressing operation to form a filter pressing bottle assembly comprising the first filter pressing bottle and the second filter pressing bottle (Xu Description Page 3, Lines 22-24: chromatographic sample filter, comprising an outer cylinder (100), the outer cylinder (100) is internally embedded with a plunger for filtration chromatography sample tube (200), outer cylinder (100) and plunger tube (200) inside are hollow structures); and to filter an insoluble substance from an unfiltered reaction fluid disposed in one of the first filter pressing bottle receptacle and the second filter pressing bottle receptacle to produce a filtered reaction fluid that is transferred to the other of the first filter pressing bottle receptacle and the second filter pressing bottle receptacle (Xu Description Page 3, Lines 47-49: when chromatographic liquid sample into the outer cylinder, pressing downwards to the bottom of the outer cylinder from the plunger pipe entrance through the plunger tube, forcing the chromatogram sample flows upward; Lines 50-52: the gap is provided with a filter membrane, the filter membrane is located between the first filter screen and the second filter screen, so it will not fall off under the high pressure, ensuring the filter effect); a filter membrane (Xu Filter Membrane 290, FIG. 4) through which the first filter pressing bottle receptacle (Xu – 200) and the second filter pressing bottle receptacle (Xu – 100) are in fluid communication in the filter pressing bottle assembly (Xu FIG. 1), wherein the filter membrane is configured to filter out the insoluble substance from the unfiltered reaction fluid.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter pressing bottle group of the filter pressing system disclosed by Fu to include a first filter pressing bottle and a second filter pressing bottle, wherein a first filter pressing member is provided at the bottom of the first filter pressing bottle, as taught by Xu, to prevent damage to a subsequent detection instrument (Xu Description Page 4, Lines 2-5: can obtain more accurate test result, and under high pressure will not drop out, and ensure filtering effect, can effectively prevent the sample through filter membrane directly into the plunger tube is to prevent the particle sample in destroying the subsequent detection instrument).
Hodge teaches an analysis disk discharge assembly operable by the controller (Hodge – Controller 116) to grasp the analysis disk and reposition the analysis disk for discharge of the analysis disk (Hodge Para [0062]: In some embodiments, the clamps may be arranged to open and close automatically. In some embodiments, operation of the clamps is directed by the controller 116…. For example, as will be appreciated, when the shell is secured around the container, the clamps may move in a direction towards a center of the shell to clamp the container at one of the noted areas. In such an example, the clamps may move in a direction away from the center of the shell to release the container at one of the noted areas.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter pressing system disclosed by Fu to include an analysis disk discharge assembly operated by a controller to grasp the analysis disk and reposition the analysis disk as taught by Hodge, wherein grasped analysis disk is able to be moved between one or more workstations (See Hodge Para [0092]: the system may include one or more robotic devices, such as robots or robotic arms, arranged to move the cell culture vessel between the incubator and one or more of the workstations.).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, Zhu et al. CN 113203869 A, and Guo et al. CN 118086031 A. Zhu discloses a full automatic sample processing system comprised of a test tube rack module, and a sample tube transmission module, both capable of moving along either an X-axis or Y-axis; a first and second carrier; and a sample tube clamping mechanism capable of moving along a Z-axis. Guo discloses an automatic cell sample transfer device comprised of a machine frame, a lifting driving device, a clamping device, and a horizontal moving platform.
Conclusion
D.N.I.
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725