Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on February 7, 2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Chinese application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 24.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 4.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the rectangular or irregularly shaped light strip, the battery module, and the detachable connector between the table units must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.(claims 9, 10, 11 and 13)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinsdill (1,229,458). Hinsdill teaches a table (Fig. 1), comprising a tabletop (1,2), a table leg assembly (5), and a light strip (9; strip of wood holding lights 10), wherein the tabletop comprises a first table board (1) and a second table board (2), and the first table board and the second table board are detachably connected (via 5,11 and fasteners-see Fig. 4); wherein both ends of the light strip are placed on the table leg assembly (middle portions of outer 5,11) and the light strip is disposed between the first table board and the second table board (Fig. 1). Wherein the tabletop is rectangular, circular, or irregularly shaped. Wherein the light strip is rectangular, circular, or irregularly shaped.
Hinsdill further teaches a table (Fig. 1), comprising a tabletop (1,2), a table leg assembly (5), and a light strip (9), wherein the tabletop comprises a first table board (1) and a second table board (2), and the first table board and the second table board are detachably connected (via 5,11 and fasteners-see Fig. 4); wherein both ends of the light strip are placed on a support mechanism (11, 5 top flanges) and the light strip is disposed between the first table board and the second table board, and the support mechanism is fixed on the first table board and/or the second table board (Fig. 3) and/or the table leg assembly (5, 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinsdill (1,229,458) in view of Gray et al (2007/0277710). As stated above, Hinsdill teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12, including first and second table tops. For claims 11 and 13, Hinsdill fails to teach that the first table board and/or the second table board comprises at least two independent table units, wherein the table units are connected by a detachable connector and form a continuous tabletop surface. Gray teaches a first table board and/or the second table board (1, both sides in Fig. 1) comprising at least two independent table units (12), wherein the table units are connected by a detachable connector (25; Fig. 4) and form a continuous tabletop surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the table of Hinsdill by using table sections, such as is taught by Gray, for the first and/or second table boards, to provide for easy assembly and/or to provide for sectional removable of the table boards because of damage, etc. Furthermore, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Claims 1, 2, 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN205682772) in view of Stoller (2007/0074481) and Wiemer et al (2015/0182038). Wang teaches a table (Fig), comprising a tabletop (5,6), a table leg assembly (1-3), wherein the tabletop comprises a first table board (6) and a second table board (5), and the first table board and the second table board are connected via a support mechanism (4). The tabletop (6) being hingedly (and thus removably) attached thereto (via 61,62,7). For claims 1 and 12, Wang fails to specifically teach that the rear board is specifically detachably connected to the support mechanism and fails to teach a light strip between the boards. Stoller teaches a board detachably connected to a support mechanism (416 via fasteners 466; see paragraph 0049). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the table of Wang by using fasteners, such as is taught by Stoller, between the rear table board and support mechanism, to provide a specific means to attach the rear board to the support mechanism/legs. The means also allowing for detachment of the member for easy replacement. Wiemer teach a light strip (104) spanning the length of a horizontal surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the table of Wang in view of Stoller by adding a light strip, such as is taught by Wiemer, between the boards of Wang, to provide decorative and illumination functions on the table. Wang in view of Stoller and Wiemer would further teach that both ends of the light strip are placed on the table leg assembly/support mechanism (via members 4 of Wang).
For claim 2, Wang in view of Stoller and Wiemer further teaches that the table leg assembly comprises an upper support member (3 of Wang) and a lower support member (1), wherein the upper support member is mounted on a side of the tabletop facing the ground (via 4), and the lower support member is connected to the upper support member by a fastener (2) for providing an upward support force to the tabletop.
For claim 8, Wang in view of Stoller and Wiemer further teaches that the tabletop is rectangular, circular, or irregularly shaped.
For claim 9, Wang in view of Stoller and Wiemer further teaches that the light strip is rectangular, circular, or irregularly shaped.
For claim 10, Wang in view of Stoller and Wiemer that the light strip comprises a battery module and/or a power cord plug (105 of Wiemer), wherein the battery module is configured to accommodate a battery, and the power cord plug is configured to connect to an external power source.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN205682772) in view of Stoller (2007/0074481) and Wiemer et al (2015/0182038) as stated above, and further in view of Gray et al (2007/0277710). Wang in view of Stoller and Wiemer teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12, including first and second table tops. For claims 11 and 13, Wang in view of Stoller and Wiemer fails to teach that the first table board and/or the second table board comprises at least two independent table units, wherein the table units are connected by a detachable connector and form a continuous tabletop surface. Gray teaches a first table board and/or the second table board (1, both sides in Fig. 1) comprises at least two independent table units (12), wherein the table units are connected by a detachable connector (25; Fig. 4) and form a continuous tabletop surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the table of Wang in view of Stoller and Wiemer by using table sections, such as is taught by Gray, for the first and/or second table boards, to provide for easy assembly and/or to provide for sectional removable of the table boards because of damage, etc. Furthermore, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN205682772) in view of Stoller (2007/0074481) and Wiemer et al (2015/0182038) as stated above, and further in view of Hu (CN111557544). Wang in view of Stoller and Wiemer teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 2, including a table having an upper and lower support member. The lower support member comprises an even number of support rods (four). For claim 3, Wang in view of Stoller and Wiemer fails to teach that the upper support member has a rectangular structure, wherein the support rods are uniformly fixed on opposite sides along the circumference of the rectangular structure. Hu teaches a table having an upper support member (12-12.3) that has a rectangular upper structure (Fig. 6), wherein support rods (3) are uniformly fixed on opposite sides along the circumference of the rectangular structure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the table of Wang in view of Stoller and Wiemer using a rectangular frame for the support member structure, such as is taught by Hu, in place of the two beams presently used, to provide a stronger support structure for the table boards.
For claim 4, Wang in view of Stoller, Wiemer and Hu further teaches that
the lower support member comprises four support rods (3,c-see annotated figure).
For claim 5, Wang in view of Stoller, Wiemer and Hu further teaches that
the table leg assembly further comprises a base (1), wherein the base comprises two longitudinal support rods (a; see annotated figure) respectively mounted to a lower end of the lower support member and a transverse support rod (b; see annotated figure) fixedly connected to the two longitudinal support rods on the same side. Although the transverse support rod is not connection to the ends of the longitudinal support rods, it would have been an obvious consideration to move the transverse support rod to the rear ends of the longitudinal support rods, to provide more unobstructed leg room under the table while still providing lower frame reinforcement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References D1013423; 20230363528; 11592171; D925950; 20160312994; 2943897; and 20150182038 teach various tables.
Wilkens
January 29, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637