DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 08/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B and Species C, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/26/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, in claim 8, wherein the plate includes one or more protrusions, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gil et al. (US Patent No. 5,665,088) in view of O’Connor et al. (US PG Pub No. 2018/0280066 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gil discloses a prosthetic implant (Figs. 1-7) comprising: a body (Figs. 1-3, bone engaging member 10) comprising a first side (Figs. 1-3, inner surface J) and a second side (Figs. 1-3, outer surface I) opposite (see Fig. 2-3) the first side (J), wherein the first side (J) is configured to contact a tibia of a patient, and wherein the second side (I) is configured to be coupled to an articulation surface ; and at least one fixation component (Fig. 2, cable 50) extending away (Fig. 2) from the first side of the body (J), wherein the at least one fixation component (50) includes a first end (Fig. 2, cable 50 at T2) and a second end opposite (Fig. 2, cable 50 at T1) the first end (Fig. 2, cable 50 at T2), wherein the second end (Fig. 2, cable 50 at T1) of the at least one fixation component (50) is coupled to the body (Fig. 2, clamping screw 20, anchor for cable 50 on body 10).
The phrases “configured to contact a tibia of a patient” and “configured to be coupled to an articulation surface” are functional recitations that are not given full patentable weight. The prosthetic implant body is not positively recited here, but is instead merely recited as part of the intended use of the prosthetic implant. Therefore, the prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the particular features of the implant, but merely have the capability of being used on a tibia and articulation surface in order to meet the claim requirements. In the case, Gils’s device discloses all the claimed structural features, such as a prosthetic implant comprising a body with a first side and a second side in contact with a femur and is considered to be capable of being used on a tibia and therefore an articulation surface.
Gil fails to disclose wherein the first end of the at least one fixation component includes a button configured to rotate from a first position while traveling through the tibia of the patient to a second position after exiting the tibia of the patient, and wherein a tension of the at least one fixation component is adjustable to thereby adjust a force applied by the body to the tibia of the patient.
O’Connor also discloses a prosthetic implant (Figs. 1-2 and 15A-15B, second bolster device 104) comprising a first side (see annotated Fig. 2 below), a second side (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and at least one fixation component (Figs. 1-2 and 15A-15B, suture 110). O’Connor teaches wherein the first end (Figs. 1-2, first end 112) of the at least one fixation component (110) includes a button (Figs. 1-2 and 15A-15B, bolster device 102) configured to rotate (Paragraph [0040], Figs. 15A-15B) from a first position (Fig. 15A) while traveling through the tibia of the patient to a second position (Fig 15B) after exiting the tibia of the patient, and wherein a tension (Paragraph [0037]) of the at least one fixation component (102) is adjustable to thereby adjust a force applied by the body to the tibia of the patient (Paragraph [0037]). The button (102) is configured to rotate as it is mounted to a flexible member (110) and is capable of traveling through bone from a first position (Fig 15A) to a second position (Fig. 15B) and “rotates” from a linear position traveling through the bore in the bone to a transverse position for anchoring to the bone after exiting (Paragraph [0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gil’s fixation component wherein the first end of the at least one fixation component includes a button configured to rotate from a first position while traveling through the tibia of the patient to a second position after exiting the tibia of the patient, as taught by O’Connor, in order to apply tension on the tibia from a button (Paragraph [0037]) and wherein a tension of the at least one fixation component is adjustable to thereby adjust a force applied by the body to the tibia of the patient, as taught by O’Connor, in order to compress the bone during healing (Paragraphs [0001 and 0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Gil in view of O’Connor discloses wherein the at least one fixation component (Fig. 2, cable 50) comprises a suture (Col. 3, lines 64-65, “surgical cables”, wherein the cable is encompassed by the broadest reasonable interpretation of “suture”).
Regarding claim 3, Gil in view of O’Connor discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one fixation component (Fig. 2, cable 50) comprises a Nitinol wire (Col. 5, lines 12-18, “other biocompatible materials” therefore, nitinol).
Regarding claim 4, Gil in view of O’Connor discloses further comprising: one or more pegs (Fig. 2-7, spikes 48) coupled to and extending away (see Fig. 3) from the first side of the body (J).
Regarding claim 5, Gil in view of O’Connor discloses wherein the at least one fixation component (Fig. 2, cable 50) comprises: a first fixation component (Fig. 2, cable 50); a second fixation component (Fig. 2, cable 52); a third fixation component (Fig. 2, cable 54); but fails to disclose a fourth fixation component.
Regarding a fourth fixation component, “the courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the fixation components of Gil to include a fourth fixation component, as doing so would have yielded predictable results, namely improving fixation of the implant to a bone. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960): (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-B.
Regarding claim 9, Gil as modified by O’Connor discloses wherein a first end of the first fixation component (50) and a first end of the second fixation component (52) are positioned on an anterior side of the tibia of the patient, and wherein a first end of the third fixation component (54) and a first end of the fourth fixation component (see claim 5 above) are positioned on a posterior side of the tibia of the patient.
The phrases “are positioned on an anterior side of the tibia of the patient” and “are positioned on a posterior side of the tibia of the patient” are functional recitations that are not given full patentable weight. The prosthetic implant is not positively recited here, but is instead merely recited as part of the intended use of the fixation component. Therefore, the prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the particular features of the implant, but merely have the capability of positioning the fixation components in order to meet the claim requirements. In the case, Gils’s device discloses all the claimed structural features, such as having flexible fixation components (Cables 50, 52, and 54 can be nitinol (Col. 5, lines 12-18) which is a flexible material) which are considered to be capable of being positioned in the claimed manner.
Regarding claim 10, Gil as modified by O’Connor discloses wherein the first end of the first fixation component (50) and the first end of the third fixation component (54) are positioned on a medial side of the tibia of the patient, and wherein the first end of the second fixation component (52) and the first end of the fourth fixation component (see claim 5 above) are positioned on a lateral side of the patient.
The phrases “are positioned on a medial side of the tibia of the patient” and “are positioned on a lateral side of the tibia of the patient” are functional recitations that are not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the particular arrangement of the implant components relative to bones of a patient, but merely have the capability of positioning the fixation components according to the claims in order to meet the claim requirements. In the case, Gils’s device discloses all the claimed structural features, such as having flexible fixation components (Cables 50, 52, and 54 can be nitinol (Col. 5, lines 12-18) which is a flexible material) which are considered to be capable of being positioned in the claimed manner.
Regarding claim 11, Gil as modified by O’Connor discloses wherein an angle between the first fixation component (50) and the second fixation component (52) in a transverse plane is about 90 degrees, wherein an angle between the second fixation component (52) and the third fixation component (54) in the transverse plane is about 90 degrees, wherein an angle between the third fixation component (54) and the fourth fixation component (see claim 5 above) in the transverse plane is about 90 degrees, and wherein an angle between the fourth fixation component (see claim 5 above) and the first fixation component (50) in the transverse plane is about 90 degrees.
The phrases “an angle between the first, second, third, and fourth fixation components in a transverse plane is about 90 degrees” are functional recitations that are not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the particular arrangement of implant components relative to one another, but merely have the capability of positioning the fixation components in order to meet the claim requirements. In the case, Gils’s device discloses all the claimed structural features, such as having flexible fixation components (Cables 50, 52, and 54 can be nitinol (Col. 5, lines 12-18) which is a flexible material) which are considered to be capable of being positioned in the claimed manner.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gil et al. (US Patent No. 5,665,088) in view of O’Connor et al. (US PG Pub No. 2018/0280066 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lyon (US PG Pub No. 2013/0123841 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Gil in view of O’Connor discloses further comprising: threaded fasteners (clamping screws 20) positioned adjacent the second side of the body (Figs. 1-3, outer surface I) and received in recesses (38, 54 and 66) to couple a second end (Fig. 2, cable 50 at T2) of the first fixation component (50), a second end (Fig. 2, cable 52 at T2) of the second fixation component (52), a second end (Fig. 2, cable 54 at T2) of the third fixation component (54), and a second end (see claim 5 above) of the fourth fixation component (see claim 5 above) to the implant body. Gil in view of O’Connor fails to disclose a plate positioned adjacent the second side of the body to which the second ends of the fixation components are coupled.
Lyon also discloses another prosthetic implant body (14) (Figs. 1-2 and 13-14) comprising a first side (40), a second side (42), at least one fixation component (sutures 18), and a threaded fastener (12) received in the recess (wall 52) of the opening (50) of the implant body for coupling fixation components (sutures 18) to the implant body. Lyon teaches that the threaded fastener (button 12) can include a plate shaped head (proximal rim 26 in Figure 2 [0042] or bar element (30) in Figures 6-8; [0057-0061]) that aids in securing the sutures (18) to the implant body. Lyons further teaches that multiple fixation components (sutures 18) can be coupled with one button suture clamping screw (12 and plate 30) [0070]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the suture clamping screws having a plate shaped element taught by Lyon for the suture clamping screws (20) of Gil, in order to aid in securing the fixation components to the implant body ([0042-0043]. The modification provides the capability of coupling second ends of multiple fixation components to one plate taught by Lyons, in order to accommodate for widely varying patient anatomy and trauma.
Regarding claim 7, Gil as modified by O’Connor, and Lyon further discloses wherein the second side of the body (Figs. 1-2, second side 42) includes a recess (Figs. 1-2, interior wall 52) configured to receive (Paragraphs [0042-0043]) the plate ( Figs. 1-2, proximal end portion 24 of the button 12).
Regarding claim 8, Gil as modified by O’Connor, and Lyon further discloses wherein the plate (24) includes one or more protrusions (Figs. 1-2, threads 36) configured to mate with one or more recesses (52) in the body (14) to prevent rotation of the plate in a transverse plane (Paragraph [0043], “locking mechanism”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kent et al. (US PG Pub No. 2023/0390068 A1) also discloses a prosthetic implant (Figs. 1-2, anchor 104) comprising a first side (Figs. 1-2, distal end 104b), a second side (Figs. 1-2, proximal end 104a), and at least one fixation component (Figs. 1-2, sutures 208).
Thornes (US PG Pub No. 2016/0051250 A1) also discloses a prosthetic implant (see Fig. 7) and at least one fixation component (Figs. 1-7, suture 18).
/K.L.C./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774