This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 7/25/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Republic of Korea on 1/28/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2022-0013564 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. See file named “Document indicating retrieval request was unsuccessful” in the record for more details.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “one of A, B or C” (see MPEP §2117). For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B or C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 11, 12, 17 & 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the STA is configured to operate in a receiving mode or a listening mode, the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame, and the STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame.”. Because claim 2 is dependent on claim 1, it is contradictory to claim “the STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame”, as recited in claim 2, and “receiving, by the processor, a data frame from the AP within the rTWT SP without receiving an initial control frame of the AP”, as recited in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting claim 2 as “The method of claim 1, wherein the STA is configured to operate in a receiving mode and a second STA is configured to operate in a listening mode, the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame, and the second STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame.
Claim 3 recites “The method of claim 2, further comprising: transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP.”. Because claim 3 depends on claim 1 and claim 2, it is contradictory to claim “transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the listening mode to the receiving mode”, as recited in claim 3, and “receiving, by the processor, a data frame from the AP within the rTWT SP without receiving an initial control frame of the AP”, as recited by claim 1, and “the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame”, and recited by claim 2. For the STA to receive the data frame without receiving an initial control frame, the STA must have been in receiving mode, per claim 1 and claim 2, and thus the STA cannot transition from listening mode to receiving mode because the STA is already in receiving mode. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of this review examiner is interpreting claim 3 as “The method of claim 2, further comprising: transitioning an operating mode of the second STA from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP.”.
Claim 11 recites “The method of claim 10, wherein the STA is configured to operate in a receiving mode or a listening mode, the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame, and the STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame.”. Because claim 11 is dependent on claim 10, it is contradictory to claim “the STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame”, as recited in claim 11, and “receiving, by the processor, a data frame from the AP within the rTWT SP without receiving an initial control frame of the AP”, as recited in claim 10. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting claim 11 as “The method of claim 10, wherein the STA is configured to operate in a receiving mode and a second STA is configured to operate in a listening mode, the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame, and the second STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame.
Claim 12 recites “The method of claim 11, wherein an operating mode of the STA transitions from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP, and the operating mode of the STA transitions from the receiving mode to the listening mode after the end time of the rTWT SP.”. Because claim 12 depends on claim 10 and claim 11, it is contradictory to claim “transitions from the listening mode to the receiving mode”, as recited in claim 12, and “transmitting, by the processor, a data frame to a station (STA) without transmitting an initial control frame within a rTWT SP configured by the rTWT SP information”, as recited by claim 10, and “the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame”, and recited by claim 11. For the STA to receive the data frame without receiving an initial control frame, the STA must have been in receiving mode, per claim 10 and claim 11, and thus the STA cannot transition from listening mode to receiving mode because the STA is already in receiving mode. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of this review examiner is interpreting claim 12 as “The method of claim 11, wherein an operating mode of the second STA transitions from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP, and the operating mode of the STA transitions from the receiving mode to the listening mode after an end time of the rTWT SP.”.
Claim 17 recites “The STA of claim 16, wherein the STA operates in a receiving mode or a listening mode, the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame, and the STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame.”. Because claim 17 is dependent on claim 16, it is contradictory to claim “the STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame”, as recited in claim 17, and “receiving, by the processor, a data frame from the AP within the rTWT SP without receiving an initial control frame of the AP”, as recited in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting claim 17 as “The STA of claim 16, wherein the STA operates in a receiving mode and a second STA operates in a listening mode, the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame, and the second STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame.
Claim 18 recites “The STA of claim 17, wherein the processor further causes the STA to perform: transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP.”. Because claim 18 depends on claim 16 and claim 17, it is contradictory to claim “transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the listening mode to the receiving mode”, as recited in claim 18, and “receiving, by the processor, a data frame from the AP within the rTWT SP without receiving an initial control frame of the AP”, as recited by claim 16, and “the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame”, and recited by claim 17. For the STA to receive the data frame without receiving an initial control frame, the STA must have been in receiving mode, per claim 16 and claim 17, and thus the STA cannot transition from listening mode to receiving mode because the STA is already in receiving mode. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of this review examiner is interpreting claim 18 as “The method of claim 17, , wherein the processor further causes the STA to perform: transitioning an operating mode of the second STA from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 11, 16 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jia et al. (US 2017/0339680)(herein after “Jia”).
Regarding claims 1 & 16, Jia discloses an STA comprising a processor, or a method of operating a station (STA) in a wireless local area network (LAN) ([0007] discloses a method for managing communications between an access point (AP) and a plurality of wireless stations (STAs). [0003] discloses that one or more APs and a number of STAs may form a wireless local area network (WLAN). [0034] discloses that each station (i.e. STA) may include one of more processors for performing the embodiments disclosed.), the method comprising:
identifying, by the processor or by a processor of the station, a restricted target wake time (rTWT) service period (SP) configured by an access point (AP) ([0034] discloses that each station (i.e. STA) may include one of more processors for performing the embodiments disclosed. Fig 4 & [0057]-[0058] discloses an AP sending TWT schedule information in a beacon, for a subset of STAs determined based on the scheduling, of a first TWT1 service period for a primary subset of STAs consisting of STA1 and STA2 and a secondary subset of STAs consisting of STA3 and STA4 (i.e. STA1-4 identify, through scheduling received from an AP, a TWT1 service period restricted to STA1, STA2, STA3 and STA4).); and
receiving, by the processor, a data frame from the AP within the rTWT SP without receiving an initial control frame of the AP (Fig 4 & [0060] disclose that STA3 and STA4 receiving DL data, transmitted by the AP, starting at the exact start time t0 of TWT1 and ending within TWT1 prior to t1, without receiving any initial control frame from the AP.).
Regarding claims 2, 11 & 17, Jia discloses wherein the STA is configured to operate in a receiving mode or a listening mode, the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame, and the STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame (Fig 4 and [0060] disclose STA3 and STA4 operating in a mode (i.e. a receiving mode) wherein STA3 and STA4 receive DL data between time t0 and t1 without receiving an initial control frame. Fig 4 and [0061]-[0064] disclose STA1 and STA2 operating in a mode (i.e. a receiving mode) wherein STA1 and STA2 receive DL data between time t3 and t4 after receiving a TWT trigger frame (i.e. an initial control frame) between time t2 and t3.).
Regarding claim 6, Jia discloses further comprising: receiving a beacon frame including rTWT SP information from the AP, wherein the rTWT SP information includes at least one of information on a start time of the rTWT SP or information on a duration of the rTWT SP, and the rTWT SP is identified based on the rTWT SP information (Fig 2 & [0038] discloses STA1-STA4 receiving a beacon frame from an AP including scheduling information indicating access times for STA1-STA4. The scheduling information may include a TWT schedule specifying target wake up times (i.e. start time of an rTWT SP) and service periods (i.e. duration of an rTWT SP) for TWT1 SP and TWT2 SP. The TWT SP for TWT1 and TWT2 are identified based on the scheduling information in the beacon.).
Regarding claim 9, Jia discloses wherein the STA receives the data frame using multiple spatial streams (Fig 4 and [0061] & [0064] disclose that the AP may communicate to STA1 and STA2 using MU-MIMO techniques where the AP transmits DL data to STA1 and STA2 via a plurality of spatial streams.).
Regarding claim 10, Jia discloses a method of operating an access point (AP) in a wireless local area network (LAN) ([0007] discloses a method for managing communications between an access point (AP) and a plurality of wireless stations (STAs). [0003] discloses that one or more APs and a number of STAs may form a wireless local area network (WLAN).), the method comprising:
transmitting, by a processor of the access point, restricted target wake time (rTWT) service period (SP) information ([0033] discloses that the AP may include one of more processors for performing the embodiments disclosed. Fig 4 & [0057]-[0058] discloses an AP sending a first TWT1 service period for a primary subset of STAs consisting of STA1 and STA2 and a secondary subset of STAs consisting of STA3 and STA4.); and
transmitting, by the processor, a data frame to a station (STA) without transmitting an initial control frame within a rTWT SP configured by the rTWT SP information (Fig 2 & [0038]-[0039] disclose that the AP transmits DL data to STA1 and STA2 during TWT1 SP without transmitting any initial control frame within TWT1 SP configured by the AP through scheduling information including the schedule for TWT1 SP sent in a beacon.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 7, 12, 14 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2017/0339680)(herein after “Jia”) in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US 9713087)(herein after “Asterjadhi”).
Regarding claim 3, Jia discloses the method of claim 2.
Jia fails to disclose but Asterjadhi teaches further comprising: transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP (Fig 2 & col 11, lines 32-56 disclose a TWT response including a trigger field that indicates whether or not a trigger frame is to be sent at the start of or during a TWT service period. As an example, if a TWT response from an AP has the trigger field set to 0, then the STA would transition to a mode (i.e. receiving mode) where the STA does not expect to receive a trigger frame prior to receiving a data frame, but if the TWT response from the AP has the trigger field set to 1, then the STA would transition to a mode (i.e. listening mode) where the STA expects to receive a trigger frame prior to receiving a data frame. Col 2, lines 13-22 & col 17, lines 44-58 disclose that the trigger field in the response message (i.e. second message) may be determined by the AP and that the response message may be transmitted without receiving a first request message.).
Note that combining Jia with Asterjadhi, STA1 and STA2 of fig 4 & [0064]-[0066] of Jia may receive a TWT response message, as taught by Asterjadhi, between time t3 to t4, with trigger field set to 0, causing STA1 and STA2 to transition from a mode (i.e. listening mode) of expecting to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving DL data to a mode (i.e. receiving mode) of not expecting to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving DL data at time t5 to t6 (i.e. at the start time of the TWT2 Service Period).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 2, as disclosed by Jia, further comprising: transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP, as taught by Asterjadhi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for an STA to be in a mode of receiving DL MU-MIMO data after receiving a TWT trigger frame from an AP, and the AP sends a message to the STA with a trigger field set to indicate the STA should not expect a trigger to be sent at the start time of a TWT service period where the STA is to receive a DL data frame, causing the STA to transition to a mode where the STA expects to receive a DL data frame without receiving a TWT trigger, so that the AP can schedule the TWT service period and send a DL data frame to the STA without sending a TWT trigger in order optimize usage of the TWT service period by eliminating the need to send TWT triggers.
Regarding claim 4, Jia discloses the method of claim 2.
Jia fails to disclose but Asterjadhi teaches further comprising: transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the receiving mode to the listening mode after an end time of the rTWT SP (Fig 2 & col 11, lines 32-56 disclose a TWT response including a trigger field that indicates whether or not a trigger frame is to be sent at the start of or during a TWT service period. As an example, if a TWT response from an AP has the trigger field set to 0, then the STA would transition to a mode (i.e. receiving mode) where the STA does not expect to receive a trigger frame prior to receiving a data frame, but if the TWT response from the AP has the trigger field set to 1, then the STA would transition to a mode (i.e. listening mode) where the STA expects to receive a trigger frame prior to receiving a data frame. Col 2, lines 13-22 & col 17, lines 44-58 disclose that the trigger field in the response message (i.e. second message) may be determined by the AP and that the response message may be transmitted without receiving a first request message.).
Note that combining Jia with Asterjadhi, STA3 and STA4 of fig 4 & [0064]-[0066] of Jia may receive a TWT response message, as taught by Asterjadhi, between time t0 and t1, with trigger field set to 1, causing STA3 and STA4 to transition from a mode (i.e. receiving mode) of not expecting to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving DL data to a mode (i.e. listening mode) of expecting to receive a TWT trigger, at time t7 to t8, prior to receiving DL data at time t8 to t9 (i.e. after the end of the TWT1 Service Period).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 2, as disclosed by Jia, further comprising: transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the receiving mode to the listening mode after an end time of the rTWT SP, as taught by Asterjadhi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for an STA to be in a mode to receive DL data from an AP without receiving a TWT trigger frame from the AP, during a first TWT service period, and the AP sends a TWT message to the STA with a trigger field set to indicate the AP will send a TWT trigger during a second TWT Service Period after the end of the first TWT service period and before a data frame is sent in the second TWT Service Period, causing the STA to transition to a mode where the STA expects to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving a data frame, so that the AP can schedule the TWT service period to include a TWT trigger to be sent indicating how the STA can receive and decode a DL MU-MIMO data frame in order optimize usage of the TWT service period through the use of MU-MIMO in scheduling multiple STAs simultaneously during the TWT Service Period.
Regarding claim 7, Jia discloses the method of claim 1.
Jia discloses wherein the initial control frame is a buffer status report poll (BSRP) trigger frame (Fig 4 & [0062] disclose that the TWT trigger frame may be used to poll STA1 and STA2 for their respective buffer sizes (i.e. a BSRP trigger frame).).
Jia fails to disclose but Asterjadhi teaches wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user (MU)-request-to-send (RTS) frame (Col 40, lines 57-61 discloses that the AP may indicate that scheduled data exchanges during a TWT SP (e.g. TWT1 SP) may be preceded by a multi-user (MU) request to send (RTS) message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Jia, wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user (MU)-request-to-send (RTS) frame, as taught by Asterjadhi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for an STA to be in a mode to receive DL data from an AP without receiving a TWT trigger frame from the AP, during a first TWT service period, wherein the TWT trigger frame would poll for buffer size of the STA, so that the AP can schedule the TWT service period and send a DL data frame to the STA without sending a buffer polling TWT trigger in order optimize usage of the TWT service period by eliminating the need to send buffer polling TWT triggers.
Regarding claims 12 & 18, Jia discloses the method of claim 11 and the STA of claim 17.
Jia fails to disclose but Asterjadhi teaches wherein an operating mode of the STA, or wherein the processor further causes the STA to perform, transitions from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP, and the operating mode of the STA, or the processor further causes the STA to perform, transitions from the receiving mode to the listening mode after an end time of the rTWT SP (Fig 2 & col 11, lines 32-56 disclose a TWT response including a trigger field that indicates whether or not a trigger frame is to be sent at the start of or during a TWT service period. As an example, if a TWT response from an AP has the trigger field set to 0, then the STA would transition to a mode (i.e. receiving mode) where the STA does not expect to receive a trigger frame prior to receiving a data frame, but if the TWT response from the AP has the trigger field set to 1, then the STA would transition to a mode (i.e. listening mode) where the STA expects to receive a trigger frame prior to receiving a data frame. Col 2, lines 13-22 & col 17, lines 44-58 disclose that the trigger field in the response message (i.e. second message) may be determined by the AP and that the response message may be transmitted without receiving a first request message.).
Note that combining Jia with Asterjadhi, STA1 and STA2 of fig 4 & [0064]-[0066] of Jia may receive a TWT response message, as taught by Asterjadhi, between time t3 to t4, with trigger field set to 0, causing STA1 and STA2 to transition from a mode (i.e. listening mode) of expecting to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving DL data to a mode (i.e. receiving mode) of not expecting to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving DL data at time t5 to t6 (i.e. at the start time of the TWT2 Service Period), and receive another TWT response message between time t5 and t6, with trigger field set to 1, causing STA1 and STA2 to transition from a mode (i.e. receiving mode) of not expecting to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving DL data to a mode (i.e. listening mode) of expecting to receive a TWT trigger after the end of the TWT2 Service Period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 11 or the STA of claim 17, as disclosed by Jia, wherein an operating mode of the STA, or wherein the processor further causes the STA to perform, transitions from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP, and the operating mode of the STA, or the processor further causes the STA to perform, transitions from the receiving mode to the listening mode after an end time of the rTWT SP, as taught by Asterjadhi. The motivation to do so would have been to have an STA, or method for an AP to transmit TWT scheduling information to configure an STA to, be in a mode of receiving DL MU-MIMO data after receiving a TWT trigger frame from an AP, and the AP sends a message to the STA with a trigger field set to indicate the STA should not expect a trigger to be sent at the start time of a TWT service period where the STA is to receive a DL data frame, causing the STA to transition to a mode where the STA expects to receive a DL data frame without receiving a TWT trigger, and then the AP sends a TWT message to the STA with a trigger field set to indicate the AP will send a TWT trigger during a third TWT Service Period after the end of the second TWT service period and before a data frame is sent in the third TWT Service Period, causing the STA to transition back to a mode where the STA expects to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving a data frame, so that the AP can schedule TWT service periods and send DL data frames to the STA with and without sending a TWT trigger in order optimize usage of the TWT service period by eliminating the need to send TWT triggers during certain TWT Service Periods and can include a TWT trigger to be sent indicating how the STA can receive and decode a DL MU-MIMO data frame in order optimize usage of the TWT service period through the use of MU-MIMO in scheduling multiple STAs simultaneously during other TWT Service Periods.
Regarding claim 14, Jia discloses the method of claim 10.
Jia discloses wherein the rTWT SP information includes at least one of information on a start time of the rTWT SP or information on a duration of the rTWT SP, the initial control frame is a buffer status report poll (BSRP) trigger frame, and the data frame is transmitted using multiple spatial streams (Fig 2 & [0038] discloses STA1-STA4 receiving a beacon frame from an AP including scheduling information indicating access times for STA1-STA4. The scheduling information may include a TWT schedule specifying target wake up times (i.e. start time of an rTWT SP) and service periods (i.e. duration of an rTWT SP) for TWT1 SP and TWT2 SP. The TWT SP for TWT1 and TWT2 are identified based on the scheduling information in the beacon. Fig 4 & [0062] disclose that the TWT trigger frame may be used to poll STA1 and STA2 for their respective buffer sizes (i.e. a BSRP trigger frame). Fig 4 and [0061] & [0064] disclose that the AP may communicate to STA1 and STA2 using MU-MIMO techniques where the AP transmits DL data to STA1 and STA2 via a plurality of spatial streams.).
Jia fails to disclose but Asterjadhi teaches wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user (MU)-request-to-send (RTS) frame (Col 40, lines 57-61 discloses that the AP may indicate that scheduled data exchanges during a TWT SP (e.g. TWT1 SP) may be preceded by a multi-user (MU) request to send (RTS) message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 10, as disclosed by Jia, wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user (MU)-request-to-send (RTS) frame, as taught by Asterjadhi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for an STA to be in a mode to receive DL data from an AP without receiving a TWT trigger frame from the AP, during a first TWT service period, wherein the TWT trigger frame would poll for buffer size of the STA, so that the AP can schedule the TWT service period and send a DL data frame to the STA without sending a buffer polling TWT trigger in order optimize usage of the TWT service period by eliminating the need to send buffer polling TWT triggers.
Claims 5, 13 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2017/0339680)(herein after “Jia”), as applied to claims 2, 11 & 17, in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US 9713087)(herein after “Asterjadhi”) and further in view of Hou et al. (US 2018/0332534)(herein after “Hou”) and Xin et al. (US 2023/0047705)(herein after “Xin”).
Regarding claims 5 & 19, Jia disclose the method of claim 2 and the STA of claim 17.
Jia fails to disclose but Asterjadhi teaches further comprising, or wherein the processor further causes the STA to perform: in response to a listening mode transition indicator, transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the receiving mode to the listening mode (Fig 2 & col 11, lines 32-56 disclose a TWT response including a trigger field that indicates whether or not a trigger frame is to be sent at the start of or during a TWT service period. As an example, if a TWT response from an AP has the trigger field set to 0, then the STA would transition to a mode (i.e. receiving mode) where the STA does not expect to receive a trigger frame prior to receiving a data frame, but if the TWT response from the AP has the trigger field set to 1, then the STA would transition to a mode (i.e. listening mode) where the STA expects to receive a trigger frame prior to receiving a data frame. Col 2, lines 13-22 & col 17, lines 44-58 disclose that the trigger field in the response message (i.e. second message) may be determined by the AP and that the response message may be transmitted without receiving a first request message.).
Note that combining Jia with Asterjadhi, STA3 and STA4 of fig 4 & [0064]-[0066] of Jia may receive a TWT response, as taught by Asterjadhi, between time t0 and t1, with trigger field set to 1, and in response, STA3 and STA4 transition from a mode (i.e. receiving mode) of not expecting to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving DL data to a mode (i.e. listening mode) of expecting to receive a TWT trigger, at time t7 to t8, prior to receiving DL data at time t8 to t9 (i.e. after the end of the TWT1 Service Period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 2, or the STA of claim 17, as disclosed by Jia, further comprising, or wherein the processor further causes the STA to perform: in response to a listening mode transition indicator, transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the receiving mode to the listening, as taught by Asterjadhi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for an STA to be in a mode to receive DL data from an AP without receiving a TWT trigger frame from the AP, during a first TWT service period, and the AP sends a TWT message to the STA with a trigger field set to indicate the AP will send a TWT trigger during a second TWT Service Period after the end of the first TWT service period and before a data frame is sent in the second TWT Service Period (i.e. a listening mode transition indicator), causing the STA to transition to a mode where the STA expects to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving a data frame, so that the AP can schedule the TWT service period to include a TWT trigger to be sent indicating how the STA can receive and decode a DL MU-MIMO data frame in order optimize usage of the TWT service period through the use of MU-MIMO in scheduling multiple STAs simultaneously during the TWT Service Period.
Jia fails to disclose but Hou further teaches wherein the data frame includes the listening mode transition indicator (Fig 3 & [0113]-[0115] disclose an AP sending a MAC frame (i.e. a data frame) that includes a trigger frame by using an A-MPDU.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 2, or the STA of claim 17, further comprising, or wherein the processor further causes the STA to perform: in response to a listening mode transition indicator, transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the receiving mode to the listening mode, as disclosed by Jia in view of Asterjadhi, wherein the data frame includes the listening mode transition indicator, as further taught by Hou. The motivation to do so would have been to have an STA, or a method for an STA to, be in a mode to receive DL data from an AP without receiving a TWT trigger frame from the AP, during a first TWT service period, and the AP sends a MAC frame to the STA including user data and a trigger field set using Aggregated MAC PDU bundling to indicate the AP will send a TWT trigger during a second TWT Service Period after the end of the first TWT service period and before a data frame is sent in the second TWT Service Period (i.e. a listening mode transition indicator), so that the AP can transition the STA to a mode where the STA expects to receive a TWT trigger before receiving a data frame using reduced protocol overhead compared to sending separate packets for the data and trigger field.
Jin fails to disclose but Xin further teaches wherein the transitioning of the operating mode of the STA from the receiving mode to the listening mode is after transmission of a response frame for the data frame (Fig 28 & [0251]-[0253] discloses an STA2 sending a Block Ack (BA) for a DL PPDU sent by AP1 within an R-TWT1 service period.).
Note that combining Jia and Asterjadhi with Xin, STA3 and STA4 of fig 4 & [0064]-[0066] of Jia may receive a MAC frame including data and a trigger field as part of an A-MPDU, STA3 and STA 4 may provide BA feedback within TWT1 Service Period, as taught by Hou, wherein the trigger field includes a TWT response, as taught by Asterjadhi, between time t0 and t1, with the trigger field set to 1, and in response, STA3 and STA4 transition from a mode (i.e. receiving mode) of not expecting to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving DL data to a mode (i.e. listening mode) of expecting to receive a TWT trigger, at time t7 to t8, prior to receiving DL data at time t8 to t9 (i.e. after the end of the TWT1 Service Period which is after the BA sent during TWT1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 2, or the STA of claim 17, further comprising, or wherein the processor further causes the STA to perform: wherein in response to a data frame including a listening mode transition indicator, transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the receiving mode to the listening mode, as disclosed by Jia in view of Asterjadhi and Hou, wherein the transitioning of the operating mode of the STA from the receiving mode to the listening mode is after transmission of a response frame for the data frame, as further taught by Xin. The motivation to do so would have been to have an STA, or a method for an STA to, be in a mode to receive DL data from an AP without receiving a TWT trigger frame from the AP, during a first TWT service period, and the AP sends, using Aggregated MAC PDU bundling, a MAC frame to the STA including user data and a trigger field set to indicate the AP will send a TWT trigger during a second TWT Service Period after the end of the first TWT service period, in which the STA sends a Block ACK (BA) for the user data in the MAC frame, and before a data frame is sent in the second TWT Service Period (i.e. a listening mode transition indicator), so that the AP can insure all user data sent to the STA has been acknowledged through BAs from the STA before the AP determines the data to send to the STA once the STA transitions to a mode where the STA expects to receive a TWT trigger before receiving a data frame in the second TWT service period.
Regarding claim 13, Jia discloses the method of claim 11.
wherein when the data frame includes a listening mode transition indicator, an operating mode of the STA transitions from the receiving mode to the listening mode after transmission of a response frame for the data frame.
Jia fails to disclose but Asterjadhi teaches wherein when a listening mode transition indicator is included, an operating mode of the STA transitions from the receiving mode to the listening mode (Fig 2 & col 11, lines 32-56 disclose a TWT response including a trigger field that indicates whether or not a trigger frame is to be sent at the start of or during a TWT service period. As an example, if a TWT response from an AP has the trigger field set to 0, then the STA would transition to a mode (i.e. receiving mode) where the STA does not expect to receive a trigger frame prior to receiving a data frame, but if the TWT response from the AP has the trigger field set to 1, then the STA would transition to a mode (i.e. listening mode) where the STA expects to receive a trigger frame prior to receiving a data frame. Col 2, lines 13-22 & col 17, lines 44-58 disclose that the trigger field in the response message (i.e. second message) may be determined by the AP and that the response message may be transmitted without receiving a first request message.).
Note that combining Jia with Asterjadhi, STA3 and STA4 of fig 4 & [0064]-[0066] of Jia may receive a TWT response, as taught by Asterjadhi, between time t0 and t1, with trigger field set to 1, and in response, STA3 and STA4 transition from a mode (i.e. receiving mode) of not expecting to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving DL data to a mode (i.e. listening mode) of expecting to receive a TWT trigger, at time t7 to t8, prior to receiving DL data at time t8 to t9 (i.e. after the end of the TWT1 Service Period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 11, as disclosed by Jia, wherein when a listening mode transition indicator is included, an operating mode of the STA transitions from the receiving mode to the listening mode, as taught by Asterjadhi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for an AP to transmit TWT scheduling information to configure an STA to be in a mode to receive DL data from an AP without receiving a TWT trigger frame from the AP, during a first TWT service period, and wherein the AP sends a TWT message to the STA with a trigger field set to indicate the AP will send a TWT trigger during a second TWT Service Period after the end of the first TWT service period and before a data frame is sent in the second TWT Service Period (i.e. a listening mode transition indicator), causing the STA to transition to a mode where the STA expects to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving a data frame, so that the AP can schedule the TWT service period to include a TWT trigger to be sent indicating how the STA can receive and decode a DL MU-MIMO data frame in order optimize usage of the TWT service period through the use of MU-MIMO in scheduling multiple STAs simultaneously during the TWT Service Period.
Jia fails to disclose but Hou further teaches wherein the data frame includes the listening mode transition indicator (Fig 3 & [0113]-[0115] disclose an AP sending a MAC frame (i.e. a data frame) that includes a trigger frame by using an A-MPDU.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 11, wherein when a listening mode transition indicator is included, an operating mode of the STA transitions from the receiving mode to the listening mode, as disclosed by Jia in view of Asterjadhi, wherein the data frame includes the listening mode transition indicator, as further taught by Hou. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for an AP to transmit TWT scheduling information to configure an STA to be in a mode to receive DL data from an AP without receiving a TWT trigger frame from the AP, during a first TWT service period, and the AP sends a MAC frame to the STA including user data and a trigger field set using Aggregated MAC PDU bundling to indicate the AP will send a TWT trigger during a second TWT Service Period after the end of the first TWT service period and before a data frame is sent in the second TWT Service Period (i.e. a listening mode transition indicator), so that the AP can transition the STA to a mode where the STA expects to receive a TWT trigger before receiving a data frame using reduced protocol overhead compared to sending separate packets for the data and trigger field.
Jin fails to disclose but Xin further teaches wherein the transitioning of the operating mode of the STA from the receiving mode to the listening mode is after transmission of a response frame for the data frame (Fig 28 & [0251]-[0253] discloses an STA2 sending a Block Ack (BA) for a DL PPDU sent by AP1 within an R-TWT1 service period.).
Note that combining Jia and Asterjadhi with Xin, STA3 and STA4 of fig 4 & [0064]-[0066] of Jia may receive a MAC frame including data and a trigger field as part of an A-MPDU, STA3 and STA 4 may provide BA feedback within TWT1 Service Period, as taught by Hou, wherein the trigger field includes a TWT response, as taught by Asterjadhi, between time t0 and t1, with the trigger field set to 1, and in response, STA3 and STA4 transition from a mode (i.e. receiving mode) of not expecting to receive a TWT trigger prior to receiving DL data to a mode (i.e. listening mode) of expecting to receive a TWT trigger, at time t7 to t8, prior to receiving DL data at time t8 to t9 (i.e. after the end of the TWT1 Service Period which is after the BA sent during TWT1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 11, wherein when the data frame includes a listening mode transition indicator, an operating mode of the STA transitions from the receiving mode to the listening mode, as disclosed by Jia in view of Asterjadhi and Hou, wherein the transitioning of the operating mode of the STA from the receiving mode to the listening mode is after transmission of a response frame for the data frame, as further taught by Xin. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for an AP to transmit TWT scheduling information to configure an STA to be in a mode to receive DL data from an AP without receiving a TWT trigger frame from the AP, during a first TWT service period, and the AP sends, using Aggregated MAC PDU bundling, a MAC frame to the STA including user data and a trigger field set to indicate the AP will send a TWT trigger during a second TWT Service Period after the end of the first TWT service period, in which the STA sends a Block ACK (BA) for the user data in the MAC frame, and before a data frame is sent in the second TWT Service Period (i.e. a listening mode transition indicator), so that the AP can insure all user data sent to the STA has been acknowledged through BAs from the STA before the AP determines the data to send to the STA once the STA transitions to a mode where the STA expects to receive a TWT trigger before receiving a data frame in the second TWT service period.
Claims 8, 15 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2017/0339680)(herein after “Jia”) in view of Shafin et al. (US 2023/0103061)(herein after “Shafin”).
Regarding claims 8 & 15, Jia discloses the method of claim 1 and the method of claim 10.
Jia fails to disclose but Shafin teaches wherein the STA is affiliated with a STA multi-link device (MLD), the AP is affiliated with an AP MLD, and the STA supports enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) operations ([0012] discloses a non-AP MLD comprising STAs wherein each MLD STA forms a link with a corresponding AP of an AP MLD, and the MLD STA can be configured to transition to an EMLSR mode of operation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1 or the method of claim 10, as disclosed by Jia, wherein the STA is affiliated with a STA multi-link device (MLD), the AP is affiliated with an AP MLD, and the STA supports enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) operations, as taught by Shafin. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for an STA, or a method for an AP that transmits TWT scheduling information to configure an STA, that is a non-AP MLD and supports EMLSR, to be in a mode to receive DL data from an AP, of an AP MLD, without receiving a TWT trigger frame from the AP, during a first TWT service period, so that the AP can schedule the TWT service period and send a DL data frame to the STA without sending a TWT trigger in order optimize usage of the TWT service period by eliminating the need to send TWT triggers.
Regarding claim 20, Jia discloses the STA of claim 16.
Jia discloses wherein the STA receives the data frame using multiple spatial streams (Fig 4 and [0061] & [0064] disclose that the AP may communicate to STA1 and STA2 using MU-MIMO techniques where the AP transmits DL data to STA1 and STA2 via a plurality of spatial streams.).
Jia fails to disclose but Shafin teaches wherein the STA is affiliated with a STA multi-link device (MLD), the AP is affiliated with an AP MLD, the STA is an enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) STA supporting eMLSR operations ([0012] discloses a non-AP MLD comprising STAs wherein each MLD STA forms a link with a corresponding AP of an AP MLD, and the MLD STA can be configured to transition to an EMLSR mode of operation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to have the STA of claim 16, as disclosed by Jia, wherein the STA is affiliated with a STA multi-link device (MLD), the AP is affiliated with an AP MLD, and the STA supports enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) operations, as taught by Shafin. The motivation to do so would have been to have an STA that is a non-AP MLD and supports EMLSR, to be in a mode to receive DL data from an AP, of an AP MLD, without receiving a TWT trigger frame from the AP, during a first TWT service period, so that the AP can schedule the TWT service period and send a DL data frame to the STA without sending a TWT trigger in order optimize usage of the TWT service period by eliminating the need to send TWT triggers.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ghosh et al. (US 20170195954) discloses Restrictive Service Period for Power Save Devices.
Kwon et al. (US 12127254) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Multi-link Communication.
Chu et al. (US 20230026249) discloses a Device, System, and Method for Transmissions During a Restricted Target Wake Time (RTWT) Service Period (SP).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419