DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20110193668 A1, hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding Claim 12, Park teaches a system comprising a transformer (par 0035 Fig 1 transformer assembly 100 formed as the transformer 10 is coupled to a printed circuit board (PCB) 80), the transformer including:
a housing including a first end (par 0043 Fig 1 housing construed as comprising a first end comprising base plate 60 with at least lead frame 64) and a second end (par 0037 Fig 1 housing construed as comprising a second end comprising core 40 with at least bobbin 20), wherein
the first end is opposite to the second end (par 0037 Fig 1 shows such); and
one or more leads disposed at the first end and disposed substantially perpendicular to the first end in a direction of the second end (par 0043 Fig 1 a plurality of leads 64 disposed at the first end lead frame portion of plate 60; par 0049 Fig 1 lead frame 64 may be bent to extend in the direction of the second end/core 40).
Regarding Claim 15, Park teaches the system of claim 12, wherein
the one or more leads further include:
a transformer connection end (par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 upper ends are connected to transformer 10 coil 40), wherein
the transformer connection end of the one or more leads and the first end of the housing are configured to be disposed on a first side of a PCB (par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 upper ends and housing first end comprising base plate 60 with at least lead frame 64 are configured to be disposed on a first side of a PCB 80 there above); and
a PCB connection end (par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 lower ends to be connected with the PCB 80), wherein
the PCB connection end of the one or more leads and the second end of the housing are configured to be disposed on a second side of the PCB (par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 lower ends and housing second end comprising core 40 with at least bobbin 20 are configured to be disposed on a second lower side of a PCB 80 there below).
Regarding Claim 17, Park teaches a system (par 0035 Fig 1 transformer assembly 100 formed as the transformer 10 is coupled to a printed circuit board (PCB) 80) comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB), wherein the PCB includes an opening (par 0042 Fig 2 through hole 82 allowing the core 40 to pass therethrough is formed on the PCB 80); and
a transformer (par 0031 transformer 10) including:
a housing includes a first end extending in a first plane (par 0043 Fig 1 housing construed as comprising a first end comprising base plate 60 with at least lead frame 64, extending in a first plane top of the plate 60) and a second end extending in a second plane (par 0037 Fig 1 housing construed as comprising a second end comprising core 40 with at least bobbin 20, extending in a second plane bottom of core 40), the second end configured to be inserted into the opening in the PCB (par 0042 Fig 2 the second core 40 end to be inserted into opening 82 in the PCB 80); and
one or more leads extend from the housing (par 0043 Fig 1 a plurality of leads 64 disposed at the first end lead frame portion of plate 60; par 0049 Fig 1 lead frame 64 may be bent to extend in the direction of the second end/core 40), and
an end of the one or more leads configured to be connected to the PCB (par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 lower ends to be connected with the PCB 80) are between the first plane and the second plane (par 0050 Fig 4 leads 64 lower ends portion to be connected with the PCB 80 is disposed between the first plane and the second plane).
Regarding Claim 18, Park teaches the system of claim 17, wherein
the one or more leads extend in a direction toward the second end and perpendicular to the first end (Park par 0043 Fig 1 a plurality of leads 64 disposed at the first end lead frame portion of plate 60; par 0049 Fig 1 lead frame 64 may be bent to extend perpendicular to the first end in the direction of the second end/core 40).
Regarding Claim 20, Park teaches the system of claim 17, wherein
the transformer is configured to be mounted in the opening in the PCB so that the first end of the housing is on a first side of the PCB (Park par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 upper ends and housing first end comprising base plate 60 with at least lead frame 64 are configured to be disposed on a first side of a PCB 80 there above), and
the second end of the housing is on a second side of the PCB opposite to the first side (Park par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 lower ends and housing second end comprising core 40 with at least bobbin 20 are configured to be disposed on a second lower side of a PCB 80 there below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20110193668 A1, hereinafter “Park”) in view of Sperber et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20240032187 A1, hereinafter “Sperber”).
Regarding Claim 1, Park teaches a system (par 0035 Fig 1 transformer assembly 100 formed as the transformer 10 is coupled to a printed circuit board (PCB) 80) comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB), wherein the PCB includes an opening (par 0042 Fig 2 through hole 82 allowing the core 40 to pass therethrough is formed on the PCB 80); and
a transformer (par 0031 transformer 10) including:
a housing including a first end extending in a first plane (par 0043 Fig 1 housing construed as comprising a first end comprising base plate 60 with at least lead frame 64, extending in a first plane top of the plate 60) and a second end extending in a second plane (par 0037 Fig 1 housing construed as comprising a second end comprising core 40 with at least bobbin 20, extending in a second plane bottom of core 40), the second end configured to be inserted into the opening in the PCB (par 0042 Fig 2 the second core 40 end to be inserted into opening 82 in the PCB 80); and
one or more leads extending from the housing (par 0043 Fig 1 a plurality of leads 64 disposed at the first end lead frame portion of plate 60; par 0049 Fig 1 lead frame 64 may be bent to extend in the direction of the second end/core 40), wherein
an end of the one or more leads is configured to be connected to the PCB (par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 lower ends to be connected with the PCB 80) and to be disposed between the first plane and the second plane (par 0050 Fig 4 leads 64 lower ends portion to be connected with the PCB 80 is disposed between the first plane and the second plane).
However, Park appears not to expressly teach
an inverter to convert DC power from a battery to AC power to drive a motor.
Sperber teaches an inverter to convert DC power from a battery to AC power (par 0003 Fig 9 conversion of DC [par 0016 from a battery] to AC) to drive a motor (paras 0016,0047 Fig 5 Sperber’s high current press-fit connections are used at i.e. the AC interface to the electric motor), wherein the inverter includes: (paras 0034-0035 Fig 5 high current components [e.g. component 21] with press-fit leads 111-151 into a high current PCB 20).
Park and Sperber are analogous art as they each pertain to high current component connection arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system comprising a transformer of Park within the application of using such high current components in an AC-DC inverter for a motor of Sperber. The motivation would have been in order to provide a motor and an inverter with improved performance wherein the high current contacting can be adapted to the installation space and therefore space can be saved (Sperber par 0009).
Regarding Claim 2, Park as modified teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
the one or more leads include one or more of a press fit lead (Sperber par 0045 Fig 6 assembly takes place by means of mechanical pressing of the pins 111-151 into a defined press fit) or a solder lead.
Park and Sperber are analogous art as they each pertain to high current component connection arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system comprising a transformer of Park to include the press-fit leads of Sperber. The motivation would have been in order to provide a hole matrix in the PCB set up to provide positive electrical contacting of at least one copper layer of the high-current printed circuit board by introducing the described high-current leads into the hole matrix (Sperber par 0015).
Regarding Claim 3, Park as modified teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
the one or more leads include a press fit lead (Sperber par 0045 Fig 6 assembly takes place by means of mechanical pressing of the pins 111-151 into a defined press fit), and wherein
an insertion depth of the second end in the opening in the PCB is dependent on a height of the first end (Park par 0047 Fig 3 a lower surface of the base plate 60 may be separated from the upper surface of the PCB 80 by a space equal to the distance by which the core 40 is exposed (i.e., protruded) from the upper surface of the PCB 80; par 0047 Fig 2 thus the insertion depth of the second core 40 end in an opening 82 in a PCB is dependent on a height of the first base plate 60 end’s disposition relative to the PCB surface).
Park and Sperber are analogous art as they each pertain to high current component connection arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system comprising a transformer of Park to include the press-fit leads of Sperber. The motivation would have been in order to provide a hole matrix in the PCB set up to provide positive electrical contacting of at least one copper layer of the high-current printed circuit board by introducing the described high-current leads into the hole matrix (Sperber par 0015).
Regarding Claim 7, Park as modified teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
the one or more leads extend in a direction toward the second end and perpendicular to the first end (Park par 0043 Fig 1 a plurality of leads 64 disposed at the first end lead frame portion of plate 60; par 0049 Fig 1 lead frame 64 may be bent to extend in the direction of the second end/core 40).
Regarding Claim 8, Park as modified teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
the one or more leads further include:
a transformer connection end (Park par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 upper ends are connected to transformer 10 coil 40), wherein
the transformer connection end of the one or more leads and the first end of the housing are configured to be disposed on a first side of the PCB (Park par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 upper ends and housing first end comprising base plate 60 with at least lead frame 64 are configured to be disposed on a first side of a PCB 80 there above); and
a PCB connection end (Park par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 lower ends to be connected with the PCB 80), wherein the PCB connection end of the one or more leads and the second end of the housing are configured to be disposed on a second side of the PCB (Park par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 lower ends and housing second end comprising core 40 with at least bobbin 20 are configured to be disposed on a second lower side of a PCB 80 there below).
Regarding Claim 11, Park as modified teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising:
the battery configured to supply the DC power to the inverter (Sperber par 0003 Fig 9 conversion of DC [par 0016 supplied from a battery] to AC); and
the motor configured to receive the AC power from the inverter to drive the motor (Sperber paras 0016,0047 Fig 5 Sperber’s high current press-fit connections are used at i.e. the AC interface to the electric motor), wherein
the system is provided as a vehicle including the inverter, the battery, and the motor (Sperber par 0018 such a vehicle application is taught).
Park and Sperber are analogous art as they each pertain to high current component connection arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system comprising a transformer of Park within the application of using such high current components in an AC-DC inverter for a motor of Sperber. The motivation would have been in order to provide a motor and an inverter with improved performance wherein the high current contacting can be adapted to the installation space and therefore space can be saved (Sperber par 0009).
Regarding Claim 19, Park teaches the system of claim 17, wherein
the one or more leads include a press fit lead, and wherein
an insertion depth of the second end in the opening in the PCB is dependent on a height of the first end.
Regarding Claim 3, Park as modified teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
an insertion depth of the second end in the opening in the PCB is dependent on a height of the first end (Park par 0047 Fig 3 a lower surface of the base plate 60 may be separated from the upper surface of the PCB 80 by a space equal to the distance by which the core 40 is exposed (i.e., protruded) from the upper surface of the PCB 80; par 0047 Fig 2 thus the insertion depth of the second core 40 end in an opening 82 in a PCB is dependent on a height of the first base plate 60 end’s disposition relative to the PCB surface).
However, Park appears not to expressly teach
the one or more leads include a press fit lead.
Sperber teaches
the one or more leads include a press fit lead (Sperber par 0045 Fig 6 assembly takes place by means of mechanical pressing of the pins 111-151 into a defined press fit).
Park and Sperber are analogous art as they each pertain to high current component connection arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system comprising a transformer of Park to include the press-fit leads of Sperber. The motivation would have been in order to provide a hole matrix in the PCB set up to provide positive electrical contacting of at least one copper layer of the high-current printed circuit board by introducing the described high-current leads into the hole matrix (Sperber par 0015).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20110193668 A1, hereinafter “Park”) in view of Sperber et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20240032187 A1, hereinafter “Sperber”) and further in view of Vinciarelli et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 11751338 B1, hereinafter “Vinciarelli”).
Regarding Claim 4, Park as modified teaches the system of claim 1. However, Park as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein:
the inverter further includes a first thermal pad disposed on the first end, and
a second thermal pad disposed on the second end, and
the transformer is disposed between the first thermal pad and the second thermal pad.
Vinciarelli teaches wherein:
the inverter further includes a first thermal pad disposed on the first end (col 14 lines 60-61 Fig 8 compliant pads 136 may be provided on the [top and bottom] surfaces of the [transformer] cores 131-1 and 131-2, thus a first thermal pad 136 is disposed on the first end), and
a second thermal pad disposed on the second end (col 14 lines 60-61 Fig 8 compliant pads 136 may be provided on the [top and bottom] surfaces of the [transformer] cores 131-1 and 131-2, thus a second thermal pad 136 is disposed on the first end), and
the transformer is disposed between the first thermal pad and the second thermal pad (col 14 lines 60-61 Fig 8 transformer comprising cores 131-1 and 131-2 is disposed between first and second compliant thermal pads 136, col 27 line 63 - col 28 line 3).
Park Sperber and Vinciarelli are analogous art as they each pertain to high current component connection arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system comprising a inverter transformer lowered into a PCB opening of Park/Sperber to include the thermal pads of Vinciarelli. The motivation would have been in order to provide good thermal conduction and optionally adhesive properties facilitating heat removal from the cores into the heat sink while optionally providing structural integrity to the assembly (Vinciarelli col 14 lines 60-65).
Regarding Claim 5, Park as modified teaches the system of claim 4, wherein:
the PCB includes a first side and a second side,
the first end is disposed on the first side of the PCB (Park par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 upper ends and housing first end comprising base plate 60 with at least lead frame 64 are configured to be disposed on a first side of a PCB 80 there above), and
the second end is disposed on the second side of the PCB (Park par 0043 Fig 1 leads 64 lower ends and housing second end comprising core 40 with at least bobbin 20 are configured to be disposed on a second lower side of a PCB 80 there below).
Regarding Claim 6, Park as modified teaches the system of claim 4, However, Park as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein:
the transformer further includes a cover disposed on a first side of the first thermal pad, and
a plate disposed on a second side of the second thermal pad, and
the first side of the first thermal pad is opposite to the second side of the second thermal pad.
Vinciarelli teaches wherein:
the transformer further includes a cover disposed on a first side of the first thermal pad (col 14 lines 57-59 Fig 8 the transformer further includes covering upper heat sink 121 disposed on a first side of the first upper thermal pad 136), and
a plate disposed on a second side of the second thermal pad (col 14 lines 57-59 Fig 8 the transformer further includes lower heat sink 122 disposed on a second side of the second lower thermal pad 136), and
the first side of the first thermal pad is opposite to the second side of the second thermal pad (such is taught in Fig 8).
Park Sperber and Vinciarelli are analogous art as they each pertain to high current component connection arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system comprising a inverter transformer lowered into a PCB opening of Park/Sperber to include the cover and plate of Vinciarelli. The motivation would have been in order to provide good thermal conduction and optionally adhesive properties facilitating heat removal from the cores into the heat sink while optionally providing structural integrity to the assembly (Vinciarelli col 14 lines 60-65).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20110193668 A1, hereinafter “Park”) in view of Sperber et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20240032187 A1, hereinafter “Sperber”) and further in view of Sharma et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20140247554 A1, hereinafter “Sharma”).
Regarding Claim 9, Park as modified teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
the second end inserted into the opening in the PCB lowers a center of gravity of the transformer in the PCB (Park teaches mounting the second end into the opening in the PCB; because a substantial portion of the component mass resides below the top surface of the PCB rather than entirely above it as in a surface mounted transformer, the center of gravity of Park’s arrangement is necessarily lower than its surface mounted transformer equivalent.)
However, Park as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
the second end inserted into the opening in the PCB lowers a center of gravity of the transformer in the PC.
Sharma teaches wherein
the second end inserted into (par 0072 Figs 6,7 teach lowering the center of gravity of a transformer mounted within an inverter by use of a bracket rather than by lowering the transformer in a hole in a PCB)
Park Sperber and Sharma are analogous art as they each pertain to high current component connection arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system comprising a inverter transformer lowered into a PCB opening of Park/Sperber to include the center of gravity lowering of Sharma. The motivation would have been in order to provide a transformer with lower center of gravity to reduce bending moment, rotation, deformation, and mechanical stress (Sperber par 0015).
Regarding Claim 10, Park as modified teaches the system of claim 9, wherein
lowering the center of gravity of the transformer reduces one or more of a vibration, a thermal stress, or a shock relative to a surface mount transformer (Sharma par 0028 Figs 6,7 systems disclosed herein can be designed to achieve performance metrics such as the ability of the inverter housing system to sustain the impact upon a free fall from a specified height (e.g., 1.0 meter) with no cracking or [shock] damage to the internal inverter components, and/or thermal management to avoid the formation of creep on the inverter housing system).
Park Sperber and Sharma are analogous art as they each pertain to high current component connection arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system comprising a inverter transformer lowered into a PCB opening of Park/Sperber to include the center of gravity lowering of Sharma. The motivation would have been in order to provide a transformer with lower center of gravity to reduce component shock damage (Sperber par 0028).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20110084789 A1, hereinafter “Park”) in view of Burani et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20190335584 A1, hereinafter “Burani”).
Regarding Claim 13, Park teaches the system of claim 12, wherein
an insertion depth of the second end in an opening in a PCB is dependent on a height of the first end (par 0047 Fig 3 a lower surface of the base plate 60 may be separated from the upper surface of the PCB 80 by a space equal to the distance by which the core 40 is exposed (i.e., protruded) from the upper surface of the PCB 80; par 0047 Fig 2 thus the insertion depth of the second core 40 end in an opening 82 in a PCB is dependent on a height of the first base plate 60 end’s disposition relative to the PCB surface).
However, Park appears not to expressly teach wherein
the one or more leads include a press fit lead.
Burani teaches wherein
the one or more leads include a press fit lead (par 0036 Fig 3 transformers 60 comprise first contact devices 64, 640 which are industry-standard press-fit contacts).
Park and Burani are analogous art as they each pertain to transformer arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transformer of Park with the inclusion of the press fit pins of Burani. The motivation would have been in order to provide at least sure retention during handling in assembly.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20110193668 A1, hereinafter “Park”) in view of Vinciarelli et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 11751338 B1, hereinafter “Vinciarelli”).
Regarding Claim 14, Park teaches the system of claim 12. However, Park appears not to expressly teach further including:
a first thermal pad disposed on the first end;
a second thermal pad disposed on the second end, wherein
the transformer is disposed between the first thermal pad and the second thermal pad;
a cover disposed on a first side of the first thermal pad; and
a plate disposed on a second side of the second thermal pad, wherein
the first side of the first thermal pad is opposite to the second side of the second thermal pad.
Vinciarelli teaches
a first thermal pad disposed on the first end (col 14 lines 60-61 Fig 8 compliant pads 136 may be provided on the [top and bottom] surfaces of the [transformer] cores 131-1 and 131-2, thus a first thermal pad 136 is disposed on the first end);
a second thermal pad disposed on the second end (col 14 lines 60-61 Fig 8 compliant pads 136 may be provided on the [top and bottom] surfaces of the [transformer] cores 131-1 and 131-2, thus a second thermal pad 136 is disposed on the first end), wherein
the transformer is disposed between the first thermal pad and the second thermal pad (col 14 lines 60-61 Fig 8 transformer comprising cores 131-1 and 131-2 is disposed between first and second compliant thermal pads 136, col 27 line 63 - col 28 line 3);
a cover disposed on a first side of the first thermal pad (col 14 lines 57-59 Fig 8 the transformer further includes covering upper heat sink 121 disposed on a first side of the first upper thermal pad 136); and
a plate disposed on a second side of the second thermal pad (col 14 lines 57-59 Fig 8 the transformer further includes lower heat sink 122 disposed on a second side of the second lower thermal pad 136), wherein
the first side of the first thermal pad is opposite to the second side of the second thermal pad (such is taught in Fig 8).
Park and Vinciarelli are analogous art as they each pertain to high current component connection arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system comprising a inverter transformer lowered into a PCB opening of Park to include the thermal pads of Vinciarelli. The motivation would have been in order to provide good thermal conduction and optionally adhesive properties facilitating heat removal from the cores into the heat sink while optionally providing structural integrity to the assembly (Vinciarelli col 14 lines 60-65).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20110084789 A1, hereinafter “Park”) in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20240047130 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 16, Park teaches the system of claim 12. However, Park appears not to expressly teach further comprising
an inverter including the transformer.
Wang teaches further comprising
an inverter including the transformer (paras 0004,0017 Fig 2 an inverter including a transformer 1, the transformer 1 having a lower portion at least 6 protruding through the PCB 7, the upper portion comprising elements 211,221,314,315 including downward extending pins).
Park and Wang are analogous art as they each pertain to transformer arrangements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transformer of Park with the inclusion of using it in an inverter of Wang. The motivation would have been in order to provide a motor and an inverter with improved performance by using a transformer with reduced leakage inductance and enhanced voltage cross regulation (Wang paras 0003,0027).
Conclusion
/MARK EDWARDS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624