DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 25 July 2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 25 July 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 March 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 July 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Maintaining Connection with a Remote User Equipment (UE) In Sidelink Communication
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5, 8-14 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 5 recites the limitation “and/or”. It is suggested to clarify with the use of words instead of “/”. Please apply to Claims 9-12 and 16 as well.
Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claims 4-5 and 13-14 are also objected to since they are dependent upon the objected claims set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, lines 3-4 recites the limitation “a system information request”. It is unclear whether “a system information request” in Claim 3, line 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lenovo et al (“Relay (re)selection for L2 and L3 relay”), hereinafter Lenovo NPL.
Regarding Claim 1, Lenovo NPL discloses a communication maintaining device, configured in a terminal equipment, the device comprising:
a receiver (see page 2, Proposal 2; a receiver/remote UE contains a receiver) configured to receive a first notification message transmitted by a relay device (see page 2, Proposal 2; configured to receive/receives a first notification message/PC5-S transmitted/from by a relay device/relay UE), a cause value or indication type in the first notification message being handover of relay device or cell reselection (see page 2, Proposal 2; an indication type/(keep/release PC5 connection) in the first notification message/PC5-S being handover/handover of relay device/relay UE); and
processor circuitry (see page 2, Proposal 2; processor circuitry/remote UE contains a processor circuitry) configured to decide to maintain connection with the relay device (see page 4, Proposals 2 and 4; configured to decide to maintain/keep connection/(keep PC5 connection) with the relay device/relay UE), and suspend data transmission with the relay device (see page 4, Proposal 4; and suspend/suspend data transmission/(SL data transmission) with the relay device/relay UE).
Regarding Claim 2, Lenovo NPL discloses the device, wherein the processor circuitry suspends data transmission with the relay device comprising:
if the terminal equipment is in a connected state (see Section 2. Discussion; if the terminal equipment/(relay UE) is in a connected state/connected state), the processor circuitry (see Section 2. Discussion; the processor circuitry/relay UE contains a processor circuitry) performs at least one of the following operations:
stopping or suspending transmission of physical layer data or signaling to the relay device (see page 2, Proposal 4; suspending/suspend transmission/(SL data transmission) of signaling/(UL data) to/towards the relay device/relay UE).
Regarding Claim 7, Lenovo NPL discloses the device, wherein
the processor circuitry first decides whether to maintain the connection with the relay device (see page 2, Proposal 2; the processor circuitry first decides whether to maintain/(keep PC5 connection) the connection/connection with the relay device/relay device), and then suspends the data transmission with the relay device (see page 2, Proposal 4; and then suspends/suspend the data transmission/(SL data transmission) with the relay device/relay device).
Regarding Claim 15, Lenovo NPL discloses a communication maintaining device, configured in a terminal equipment, the device comprising:
first processor circuitry (see page 2, Proposal 2; first processor circuitry/remote UE contains a processor circuitry) configured to maintain connection with a relay device after the terminal equipment receives a first notification message transmitted by the relay device (see page 2, Proposal 2; configured to maintain/keep connection/(PC5 connection) with a relay device/(relay UE) after the terminal equipment/(remote UE) receives/receives a first notification message/PC5-S transmitted/receive by the relay device/relay UE); and
second processor circuitry (see page 2, Proposal 2; second processor circuitry/remote UE contains a processor circuitry) configured to recover data transmission with the relay device after the terminal equipment receives a second notification message transmitted by the relay device (see page 2, Proposals 5-6; configured to recover/resume data transmission/(SL data transmission) with the relay device/(relay UE) after the terminal equipment/(remote UE) receives/receives a second notification message/(recovery failure notification) transmitted/receives by the relay device/relay UE).
Regarding Claim 16, Lenovo NPL discloses the device, wherein, a cause value or indication type in the first notification message is handover of relay device or cell reselection (see Section 2. Discussion, Proposal 2; a indication type/(handover command) in the first notification message/PC5-S is handover/handover of relay device/relay device).
Regarding Claim 17, Lenovo NPL discloses the device, wherein the first notification message and the second notification message are different PC5 interface radio resource control (PC5 RRC) messages (see Section 2. Discussion and page 2, Proposal 5; wherein the first notification message/PC5-S and the second notification message/(recovery failure notification) are different PC5 interface radio resource control (PC5 RRC) messages/PC5-RRC).
Regarding Claim 20, Lenovo NPL discloses the device, wherein, the second notification message is transmitted by the relay device when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied that:
the relay device successfully performs a handover process (see page 2 and Proposals 7-8; the relay device successfully performs a handover process/successful handover upon HO success).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo NPL in view of ZTE et al (“Further Discussion on Relay Selection”), hereinafter ZTE NPL [provided in the IDS dated 3/17/2025].
Regarding Claim 3, Although Lenovo NPL discloses the device as set forth above,
Lenovo NPL does not explicitly disclose “if the terminal equipment is in an idle state or an inactive state, the processor circuitry performs at least one of the following operations: initiating cell selection or cell reselection”.
However, ZTE NPL discloses the device, wherein the processor circuitry suspends data transmission with the relay device comprising:
if the terminal equipment is in an idle state or an inactive state (see Section 2.1 The Impact of Cell (Re)selection/RLF/HO; if the terminal equipment/(relay UE) is in an idle state/idle or an inactive state/inactive), the processor circuitry performs at least one of the following operations:
initiating cell selection or cell reselection (see Section 2.1 The Impact of Cell (Re)selection/RLF/HO; initiating/indication cell/cell reselection/re-selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “if the terminal equipment is in an idle state or an inactive state, the processor circuitry performs at least one of the following operations: initiating cell selection or cell reselection” as taught by ZTE NPL in the system of Lenovo NPL so relay UE performs cell (re)selection (see page 1, 1. Introduction of ZTE NPL).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo NPL in view of ZTE NPL, and further in view of Huawei et al (“SI Forwarding and Paging for L2 Sidelink Relay”), hereinafter Huawei NPL.
Regarding Claim 4, Although the combination of Lenovo NPL and ZTE NPL discloses the device as set forth above,
The combination of Lenovo NPL and ZTE NPL does not explicitly disclose “if the relay device transmits the first notification message to the terminal device after completing cell reselection or handover, the processor circuitry transmits a system information request to the relay device to request to update the system information”.
However, Huawei NPL discloses the device, wherein
if the relay device transmits the first notification message to the terminal device after completing cell reselection or handover (see Section 2.1 System Information Delivery and Proposal 1; if the relay device/(relay UE) transmits the first notification message/PC5-RRC to the terminal device/(remote UE) after completing cell reselection/cell reselection), the processor circuitry transmits a system information request to the relay device to request to update the system information (see Section 2.1 System Information Delivery and Proposal 1; the processor circuitry/(remote UE contains a processor) transmits/(remote UE receives) a system information request/(request the system information (SI)) to the relay device/(relay UE) to request/request to update/update the system information/system information (SI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “if the relay device transmits the first notification message to the terminal device after completing cell reselection or handover, the processor circuitry transmits a system information request to the relay device to request to update the system information” as taught by Huawei NPL in the combined system of Lenovo NPL and ZTE NPL to provide system information forwarding via PC5 (see Section 2.1 of Huawei NPL).
Regarding Claim 5, Although the combination of Lenovo NPL and ZTE NPL discloses the device as set forth above,
The combination of Lenovo NPL and ZTE NPL does not explicitly disclose “the relay device, without receiving the system information request transmitted by the processor circuitry, transmits system information of a service cell after the relay device is reselected or handed over to the terminal device after completing cell reselection or handover”.
However, Huawei NPL discloses the device, wherein
the relay device (see Section 2.1 System Information Delivery and Proposal 2; the relay device/relay UE), without receiving the system information request transmitted by the processor circuitry (see Section 2.1 System Information Delivery and Proposal 2; without/without receiving/(the need) the system information request/(remote UE request) transmitted/forwards by the processor circuitry/remote UE contains a processor), transmits system information of a service cell after the relay device is reselected to the terminal device after completing cell reselection (see Section 2.1 System Information Delivery and Proposal 2; transmits system information/(system information) of a service cell after the relay device/(relay UE) is reselected/(cell reselection) to the terminal device/(remote UE) after completing cell reselection/cell reselection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the relay device, without receiving the system information request transmitted by the processor circuitry, transmits system information of a service cell after the relay device is reselected or handed over to the terminal device after completing cell reselection or handover” as taught by Huawei NPL in the combined system of Lenovo NPL and ZTE NPL to provide system information forwarding via PC5 (see Section 2.1 of Huawei NPL).
Regarding Claim 14, Although the combination of Lenovo NPL and ZTE NPL discloses the device as set forth above,
The combination of Lenovo NPL and ZTE NPL does not explicitly disclose “the processor circuitry, when system information request transmitted by the terminal equipment is not received, transmits system information of a service cell after the relay device is reselected or handed over to the terminal device after completing cell reselection or handover”.
However, Huawei NPL discloses the device, wherein
the processor circuitry (see Section 2.1 System Information Delivery and Proposal 2; the processor circuitry/relay UE contains processor circuitry), when system information request transmitted by the terminal equipment is not received (see Section 2.1 System Information Delivery and Proposal 2; when system information request/(request the system information (SI)) transmitted/receive by the terminal equipment/(remote UE) is not received/receive), transmits system information of a service cell after the relay device is reselected to the terminal device after completing cell reselection (see Section 2.1 System Information Delivery and Proposal 2; transmits system information/(system information) of a service cell/(serving cell) after the relay device/(relay UE) is reselected to the terminal device/(remote UE) after completing cell reselection/cell reselection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the processor circuitry, when system information request transmitted by the terminal equipment is not received, transmits system information of a service cell after the relay device is reselected or handed over to the terminal device after completing cell reselection or handover” as taught by Huawei NPL in the combined system of Lenovo NPL and ZTE NPL to provide system information forwarding via PC5 (see Section 2.1 of Huawei NPL).
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo NPL in view of LG et al (“Relay Reselection When UE Performs HO”), hereinafter LG NPL.
Regarding Claim 6, Although Lenovo NPL discloses the device as set forth above,
Lenovo NPL does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first notification message is a PC5 interface radio resource control (PC5 RRC) message”.
However, LG NPL discloses the device, wherein the first notification message is a PC5 interface radio resource control (PC5 RRC) message (see Section 2. Discussion; wherein the first notification message/PC5 is a PC5 interface radio resource control (PC5 RRC) message/PC5 RRC message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the first notification message is a PC5 interface radio resource control (PC5 RRC) message” as taught by LG NPL in the system of Lenovo NPL to provide service continuity when Relay UE performs handover (HO) (see Section 1. Introduction of LG NPL).
Regarding Claim 13, Although Lenovo NPL discloses the device as set forth above,
Lenovo NPL does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first notification message is a PC5 interface radio resource control (PC5 RRC) message”.
However, LG NPL discloses the device, wherein the first notification message is a PC5 interface radio resource control (PC5 RRC) message (see Section 2. Discussion; wherein the first notification message/PC5 is a PC5 interface radio resource control (PC5 RRC) message/PC5 RRC message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the first notification message is a PC5 interface radio resource control (PC5 RRC) message” as taught by LG NPL in the system of Lenovo NPL to provide service continuity when Relay UE performs handover (HO) (see Section 1. Introduction of LG NPL).
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo NPL in view of Paladugu et al (WO 2021/252177 A1), hereinafter Paladugu [provided in the IDS dated 3/17/2025].
Regarding Claim 8, Lenovo NPL discloses a communication maintaining device, configured in a relay device, the device comprising:
a first transmitter (see page 2, Proposal 2; a first transmitter/remote UE contains a transmitter) configured to transmit a first notification message to a terminal equipment (see page 2, Proposal 2; configured to transmit/receives a first notification/PC5-S to a terminal equipment/relay UE), an indication type in the first notification message being handover of relay device (see page 2, Proposal 2; an indication type/(keep/release PC5 connection) in the first notification message/PC5-S being handover/handover of relay device/relay UE).
Although Lenovo NPL discloses a communication maintaining device as set forth above,
Lenovo NPL does not explicitly disclose “processor circuitry configured to buffer data from the terminal equipment”.
However, Paladugu discloses a communication maintaining device, configured in a relay device, the device comprising:
processor circuitry (see Figure 19 and paragraph 120; processor circuitry/baseband processor 1904) configured to buffer data from the terminal equipment (see paragraph 78; configured to buffer/buffering data/data from the terminal equipment/remote UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “processor circuitry configured to buffer data from the terminal equipment” as taught by Paladugu in the system of Lenovo NPL to provide wireless communication involving relaying between user equipment (UEs) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Paladugu).
Regarding Claim 12, Although Lenovo NPL discloses a communication maintaining device as set forth above,
Lenovo NPL does not explicitly disclose “a second transmitter configured to transmit the buffered or stored signaling and/or data to the network device after handover of relay device is completed or cell selection or reselection is completed or Uu interface RLF is recovered”.
However, Paladuga discloses the device, the device further comprising:
a second transmitter configured to transmit the buffered data to the network device after handover/handover of relay device/(relay UE) is completed (see paragraph 78; a second transmitter configured to transmit the buffered data to the network device/(network entity) after handover/handover of relay device/(relay UE) is completed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “processor circuitry configured to buffer data from the terminal equipment” as taught by Paladugu in the system of Lenovo NPL to provide wireless communication involving relaying between user equipment (UEs) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Paladugu).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo NPL in view of Paladugu, and further in view of Zhang et al (WO 2023/122976 A1), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding Claim 9, Although the combination of Lenovo NPL and Paladugu discloses the device as set forth above,
The combination of Lenovo NPL and Paladugu does not explicitly disclose “a PC5 interface radio link control protocol data unit (PC5 RLC PDU)”.
However, Zhang discloses the device, wherein the processor circuitry buffers signaling and/or data from the terminal equipment comprising:
a PC5 interface radio link control protocol data unit (PC5 RLC PDU) (see page 15, lines 37-39; a PC5 interface radio link control protocol data unit (PC5 RLC PDU)/PC5-RRC signaling radio link layer control protocol data unit (PC5-RLC PDU)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “a PC5 interface radio link control protocol data unit (PC5 RLC PDU)” as taught by Zhang in the combined system of Lenovo NPL and Paladugu to prevent frequent reselection of the relay terminal (see page 2, lines 4-5 of Zhang).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo NPL in view of Paladugu, and further in view of Lee et al (US 2017/303217 A1), hereinafter Lee ‘217.
Regarding Claim 10, Although the combination of Lenovo NPL and Paladugu discloses the device as set forth above,
The combination of Lenovo NPL and Paladugu does not explicitly disclose “the processor circuitry buffers or stores, in a Uu interface”.
However, Lee ‘217 discloses the device, wherein the processor circuitry buffers signaling and/or data from the terminal equipment comprising:
the processor circuitry buffers or stores, in a Uu interface Uu physical layer data (see paragraphs 38-39; in a Uu interface/(Uu interface) Uu physical layer data/physical layer data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the processor circuitry buffers or stores, in a Uu interface” as taught by Lee ‘217 in the combined system of Lenovo NPL and Paladugu to provide efficient method for transmitting a D2D synchronization signal (D2DSS) in D2D communication (see page 1, paragraph 5 of Lee ‘217).
Regarding Claim 11, Although the combination of Lenovo NPL and Lee discloses the device as set forth above,
The combination of Lenovo NPL and Lee does not explicitly disclose “wherein the signaling and/or data is/are signaling and/or data transmitted by the terminal equipment to a network device via the relay device”.
However, Paladugu discloses the device, wherein the data is data transmitted by the terminal equipment to a network device via the relay device (see paragraph 78; wherein the data/data is/are data/data transmitted/send by the terminal equipment/UE to a network device/(network entity) via the relay device/relay UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the data is data transmitted by the terminal equipment to a network device via the relay device” as taught by Paladugu in the combined system of Lenovo NPL and Lee ‘217 to provide wireless communication involving relaying between user equipment (UEs) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Paladugu).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo NPL in view of Lee et al (US 2021/0120618 A1), hereinafter Lee ‘618.
Regarding Claim 18, Although Lenovo NPL discloses the device as set forth above,
Lenovo NPL does not explicitly disclose “restarting signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1)”.
However, Lee ‘618 discloses the device, wherein the second processor circuitry recovers data transmission with the relay device comprising:
restarting signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) (see paragraph 74; restarting/restart signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1)/SRB1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “restarting signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1)” as taught by Lee ‘618 in the system of Lenovo NPL to provide an enhanced RRC connection re-establishment procedure (see page 1, paragraph 3 of Lee ‘618).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo NPL in view of Kim et al (US 2020/0100088 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 19, Although Lenovo NPL discloses the device as set forth above,
Lenovo NPL does not explicitly disclose “third processor circuitry configured to start a timer when the terminal equipment receives the first notification message, and stop the timer if the terminal equipment receives the second notification message during running of the timer”.
However, Kim discloses the device, the device further comprising:
third processor circuitry configured to start a timer when the terminal equipment receives the first notification message (see Figure 8 and paragraph 279; third processor circuitry configured to start/started a timer/timer when the terminal equipment/UE receives/receives the first notification message/PCS signaling message), and stop the timer if the terminal equipment receives the second notification message during running of the timer (see Figure 8 and paragraph 279; and stop/stops the timer/timer if the terminal equipment/UE receives the second notification message/(Direct_communication_release message) during running/running of the timer/timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “third processor circuitry configured to start a timer when the terminal equipment receives the first notification message, and stop the timer if the terminal equipment receives the second notification message during running of the timer” as taught by Kim in the system of Lenovo NPL so the remote UE and/or a relay UE can minimize power consumption (see paragraph 24 of Kim).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al (US 2024/0214288 A1) discloses Handling Radio Link Failure in the UU Interface In Case of Sidelink Relay. Specifically, see paragraphs 76-120.
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469