DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to detailed illustrations in FIG. 1 & 3. as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. The unlabeled rectangular boxes shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels. See MPEP 608.02(b). The drawings are objected to because the drawings do not show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels and numbers are not considered to be “descriptive text labels”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as "amended." If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either "Replacement Sheet" or "New Sheet" pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-11, 14, & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murugappan et al (US20160113592A1) in view of Popescu (US20130342350A1) in view of Burbar et al (US20220125395A1).
Claim 1: Murugappan discloses, A medical imager (MRI system 108, FIG. 1), comprising:
a couch (table 106) configured to receive an object (patient 116) positioned for a medical imaging examination and to be moved into a recording region of the medical imager; (¶0026 – The MRI system 108 generates images of the body using magnetic field, which includes a table 106 where the patient lies during the scanning procedure. The table and patient are positioned relative to the bore of the MRI system where the actual recording or imaging takes place (i.e., the recording region of the medical imager), FIG. 1)
first acquisition circuitry (The MRI setup system 120 that includes the landmarking application 316) configured to acquire a position of a region of the object to be examined for a medical imaging examination; (¶0027, ¶0036, ¶0039 – The gesture sensing input device 122 equipped with optical, infrared and depth sensors captures stereoscopic images. This device 122 works in concert with a landmarking application 316 (i.e., first acquisition circuitry) to identify the specific portion of the patient’s body to be scanned. The landmark sensing module 604 of the landmarking application 316 is utilized to determine the exact scanning region and boundaries.)
a projector (projector 110) configured to project and/or display a feedback marking at the acquired position of the region of the object to be examined; (¶0028, ¶0029 – The visual markings utilize a projector 110 configured t generate a project of visual markings 118 directly onto a portion of the patient’s body. These visual markings are represented by lines or visual indicators that identify portions of the body to be scanned, which act as feedback to identify the landmarking positions and boundaries where the MRI system will perform the scan. Furthermore, the medical operator can perform gestures to adjust and redefine these visual marked boundaries on the patient’s body.)
second acquisition circuitry (gesture sensing input device (122)) configured to acquire position data of a medical operator (operator 114) during preparation of the object for the medical imaging examination, (¶0027, ¶0031 – To track the medical operator during preparation, the gesture sensing input device (122) captures the movements of the operator 114 to generate motion data. A user motion capture module 308 translates this data into a skeletal model of the operator’s 114 body based on their movements in the predefined area adjacent to the table (i.e., position data).)
wherein the second acquisition circuitry is configured to use the acquired position data of the medical operator to track a position of the medical operator relative to the longitudinal direction of the couch during the preparation of the object for the medical imaging examination (¶0027, ¶0031, ¶0036, ¶0039 – Specifically, the model of the gesture sensing input device 122 tracks the technician in a predefined are that is next to and adjacent to the table 106 during the setup. When the operator extends their hands over the patients, the system tracks these portions to define the specific scanning boundaries for the MRI procedure with respect to the identified specific portions of the patient’s body to be scanned. This model is actively updated based on the body motion of the technician to represent their corresponding motion in the predefined are next to the table, ¶0027, ¶0031. When defining the area relative to the patient, the operator can perform ongoing gestures, such as moving hands outward, ¶0029, wherein the operator may further adjust the size of the region to be examined via gestures.)
Murugappan fails to disclose:
a linear axis positioner configured to move the projector, wherein the linear axis positioner is configured to use the acquired position data of the medical operator to move the projector to track a position of the medical operator relative to the longitudinal direction of the couch during the preparation of the object for the medical imaging examination.
However, Popescu in the context of medical imaging for communication between a control unit and a patient and operator teaches: a linear axis positioner (positioning units) configured to move the projector, wherein the linear axis positioner is configured to use the acquired data of the medical operator to move the projector to track a position of the medical operator relative to the longitudinal direction of the couch during the preparation of the object for the medical imaging examination.
-During the preparation of the patient, the object data acquisition unit focuses on the region of the operator together with the table, ¶0061-0063. This data is sent to the control unit, which calculates the position, movement, and viewing direction of the operator, ¶0017, ¶0066-0067. The system of Popescu then uses a combination of positioning components to move the projector. Specifically, a first positioning unit (i.e., with a motor unit located in the control room) which uses an additional positioning unit that transfer mechanical force to execute spatial alignment and adjustment of the projector, ¶0032, ¶0058. The control unit uses the acquired position and movement data to continuously [emphasis added] select an appropriate presentation surface, ¶0014-0015, ¶0077. The control unit then controls the positioning units to align the project’s optical axis accordingly, allowing the operator to view the projected information without interrupting their movement progression. Hence, the positioning unit uses the commands of the control unit which uses the position data from the object data acquisition unit to continuously moves the projector to adjust its alignment, effectively tracking the operator’s movements around the table during patient preparation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projector of modified Murugappan to include a linear axis positioner configured to move the projector, wherein the linear axis positioner is configured to use the acquired position data of the medical operator to move the projector to track a position of the medical operator relative to the longitudinal direction of the couch during the preparation of the object for the medical imaging examination as taught by Popescu. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving images (for example) that can be projected onto the scan region of the patient who is to be examined during a preparation of the patient for the medical imaging examination, and an advantageous monitoring is thereby provided to the operator for the selection of the scan region, as suggested by Popescu, ¶0018.
Murugappan in view of Popescu fail to explicitly disclose: wherein the linear axis positioner is arranged above the couch and parallel to a longitudinal direction of the couch; and
However, Burbar in the context of medical imaging an projecting images in MRI discloses, wherein the linear axis positioner is arranged above the couch and parallel to a longitudinal direction of the couch; (FIG. 6, ¶0032, ‘the projector 28 is coupled to a translatable linear motion track 44, where the track is shown directly coupled to the gantry 12. The linear motion track 44 is in communication with the motion control system of the patient table 22 (not shown) and translates the projector 28 in tandem with the patient table, at the same acceleration and velocity speed/direction VX.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify linear axis positioner of modified Murogappan such that it is arranged above the couch and parallel to a longitudinal direction of the couch as taught by Burbar for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus with such an apparatus being able to translate the projector in tandem with the patient table as suggested by Burbar, ¶0032.
Claim 2: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Murugappan discloses: wherein the medical imager comprises a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) device (MRI system 108, FIG. 1, see also ¶Abstract).
Claim 3: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Murugappan discloses: wherein the second acquisition circuitry (gesture sensing input device (122)) comprises a sensor configured to acquire the position data of the medical operator, and wherein the sensor has a field of view that comprises a region proximate to the couch (¶0027, Regarding the device 122 may include optical sensors such as infrared and depth sensors to capture images of the operator and patient. This device generates images to determine the distance of the operator to the gestures. Murugappan further emphasizes that the optical sensors have a field view that includes the body of the patient and the operator.)
Claim 4: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 3, Murugappan discloses: wherein the sensor comprises at least one thermal imaging sensor (¶0027, ‘The gesture sensing input device 122 may include optical sensors such as infrared and depth sensors configured to capture stereoscopic images of the operator 114 and the patient 116.’).
Claim 8: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Murugappan discloses: wherein the second acquisition circuitry comprises evaluation circuitry that is configured to evaluate the acquired position data. (¶0027, ¶0032, ¶0039, -regarding the evaluation of analyzing, identifying and discriminating, and determining actionable insights from the medical operator’s tracked position data).
Claim 10: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Murugappan discloses: wherein the second acquisition circuitry comprises optical data transfer circuity configured to transfer an item of position information of the medical operator to the medical imager (¶0016, ¶0039, ¶0042-0045, Claim 1) and/or to the linear axis positioner.
Claim 11: Murugappan discloses, A method (¶Abstract), comprising:
acquiring, via first acquisition circuitry (The MRI setup system 120 that includes the landmarking application 316), a position of a region of an object (patient 116) to be examined for a medical imaging examination via a medical imager (MRI system 108, FIG. 1); (¶0027, ¶0036, ¶0039 – The gesture sensing input device 122 equipped with optical, infrared and depth sensors captures stereoscopic images. This device 122 works in concert with a landmarking application 316 (i.e., first acquisition circuitry) to identify the specific portion of the patient’s body to be scanned. The landmark sensing module 604 of the landmarking application 316 is utilized to determine the exact scanning region and boundaries.)
positioning the object on a couch (table 106) configured to be moved into a recording region of the medical imager; (¶0024-0026, ¶0035, ¶0040)
acquiring, via second acquisition circuitry, (gesture sensing input device (122)) position data of a medical operator during positioning of the object; (¶0027, ¶0031 – To track the medical operator during preparation, the gesture sensing input device (122) captures the movements of the operator 114 to generate motion data. A user motion capture module 308 translates this data into a skeletal model of the operator’s 114 body based on their movements in the predefined area adjacent to the table (i.e., position data).)
based upon an item of position information of the medical operator ascertained using the acquired position to track a position of the medical operator; (¶0027, ¶0031, ¶0036, ¶0039 – Specifically, the model of the gesture sensing input device 122 tracks the technician in a predefined are that is next to and adjacent to the table 106 during the setup. When the operator extends their hands over the patients, the system tracks these portions to define the specific scanning boundaries for the MRI procedure with respect to the identified specific portions of the patient’s body to be scanned. This model is actively updated based on the body motion of the technician to represent their corresponding motion in the predefined are next to the table, ¶0027, ¶0031. When defining the area relative to the patient, the operator can perform ongoing gestures, such as moving hands outward, ¶0029, wherein the operator may further adjust the size of the region to be examined via gestures.)
repeating the steps of positioning the object, acquiring the position data of the medical operator until the region of the object to be examined is defined via a positioning of a marker element (¶0027 - recognize hand gestures of the operator 114);
- Murugappan discloses an iterative or continuous process of acquiring the operation’s position and gesture to define and adjust the scanning region until it is properly set, ¶0028, ¶0029 ¶0035, ¶0038-0040.
acquiring, via the first acquisition circuitry, a position of the marker element (¶0027, ¶0039, ¶0042-0043); and
projecting and/or displaying, via a projector, a feedback marking at the acquired position of the region of the object to be examined. (¶0028, ¶0029 – The visual markings utilize a projector 110 configured t generate a project of visual markings 118 directly onto a portion of the patient’s body. These visual markings are represented by lines or visual indicators that identify portions of the body to be scanned, which act as feedback to identify the landmarking positions and boundaries where the MRI system will perform the scan. Furthermore, the medical operator can perform gestures to adjust and redefine these visual marked boundaries on the patient’s body.)
Murugappan fails to disclose:
moving, based upon an item of position information of the medical operator ascertained using the acquired position data, a projector in a direction of the couch to track a position of the medical operator;
moving the projector until the region of the object to be examined is defined via a positioning of a marker element.
However, Popescu in the context of medical imaging for communication between a control unit and a patient and operator teaches: moving, based upon an item of position information of the medical operator ascertained using the acquired position data, a projector in a direction of the couch to track a position of the medical operator; repeating moving the projector until the region of the object to be examined is defined via a positioning of a marker element.
-During the preparation of the patient, the object data acquisition unit focuses on the region of the operator together with the table, ¶0061-0063. This data is sent to the control unit, which calculates the position, movement, and viewing direction of the operator, ¶0017, ¶0066-0067. The system of Popescu then uses a combination of positioning components to move the projector. Specifically, a first positioning unit (i.e., with a motor unit located in the control room) which uses an additional positioning unit that transfer mechanical force to execute spatial alignment and adjustment of the projector, ¶0032, ¶0058. The control unit uses the acquired position and movement data to continuously [emphasis added] select an appropriate presentation surface, ¶0014-0015, ¶0077. The control unit then controls the positioning units to align the project’s optical axis accordingly, allowing the operator to view the projected information without interrupting their movement progression. Hence, the positioning unit uses the commands of the control unit which uses the position data from the object data acquisition unit to continuously moves the projector to adjust its alignment, effectively tracking the operator’s movements around the table during patient preparation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projector of modified Murugappan to moving, based upon an item of position information of the medical operator ascertained using the acquired position data, a projector in a direction of the couch to track a position of the medical operator; & repeat moving the projector until the region of the object to be examined is defined via a positioning of a marker element as taught by Popescu. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving images (for example) that can be projected onto the scan region of the patient who is to be examined during a preparation of the patient for the medical imaging examination, and an advantageous monitoring is thereby provided to the operator for the selection of the scan region, as suggested by Popescu, ¶0018.
Murugappan in view of Popescu fail to explicitly disclose: moving the projector in a longitudinal direction of the couch.
However, Burbar in the context of medical imaging an projecting images in MRI discloses, moving the projector in a longitudinal direction of the couch. (FIG. 6, ¶0032, ‘the projector 28 is coupled to a translatable linear motion track 44, where the track is shown directly coupled to the gantry 12. The linear motion track 44 is in communication with the motion control system of the patient table 22 (not shown) and translates the projector 28 in tandem with the patient table, at the same acceleration and velocity speed/direction VX.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify projector of modified Murogappan such that it is arranged above the couch and parallelly moving in a longitudinal direction of the couch as taught by Burbar for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus with such an apparatus being able to translate the projector in tandem with the patient table as suggested by Burbar, ¶0032.
Claim 14: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Murugappan discloses: further comprising: evaluating, via the second acquisition circuity, the acquired position data; and transferring, via optical data transfer circuitry, an ascertained item of position information of the medical operator to the second acquisition circuitry. (¶0016, ¶0039, ¶0042-0045, Claim 1)
Murugappan fails to disclose transferring an ascertained item of the position information to a linear axis positioner for positioning the projector.
However, Popescu is relied upon above teaches a : a linear axis positioner (positioning units) for positioning the projector.
-During the preparation of the patient, the object data acquisition unit focuses on the region of the operator together with the table, ¶0061-0063. This data is sent to the control unit, which calculates the position, movement, and viewing direction of the operator, ¶0017, ¶0066-0067. The system of Popescu then uses a combination of positioning components to move the projector. Specifically, a first positioning unit (i.e., with a motor unit located in the control room) which uses an additional positioning unit that transfer mechanical force to execute spatial alignment and adjustment of the projector, ¶0032, ¶0058. The control unit uses the acquired position and movement data to continuously [emphasis added] select an appropriate presentation surface, ¶0014-0015, ¶0077. The control unit then controls the positioning units to align the project’s optical axis accordingly, allowing the operator to view the projected information without interrupting their movement progression. Hence, the positioning unit uses the commands of the control unit which uses the position data from the object data acquisition unit to continuously moves the projector to adjust its alignment, effectively tracking the operator’s movements around the table during patient preparation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projector of modified Murugappan to include a linear axis positioner configured for positioning the projector as taught by Popescu. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving images (for example) that can be projected onto the scan region of the patient who is to be examined during a preparation of the patient for the medical imaging examination, and an advantageous monitoring is thereby provided to the operator for the selection of the scan region, as suggested by Popescu, ¶0018.
Claim 17: Murugappan discloses, A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a medical imager to: (¶Abstract) (MRI system 108, FIG. 1, see also ¶0025)
acquire, via first acquisition circuitry (The MRI setup system 120 that includes the landmarking application 316), a position of a region of an object (patient 116) to be examined for a medical imaging examination via a medical imager (MRI system 108, FIG. 1); (¶0027, ¶0036, ¶0039 – The gesture sensing input device 122 equipped with optical, infrared and depth sensors captures stereoscopic images. This device 122 works in concert with a landmarking application 316 (i.e., first acquisition circuitry) to identify the specific portion of the patient’s body to be scanned. The landmark sensing module 604 of the landmarking application 316 is utilized to determine the exact scanning region and boundaries.)
position the object on a couch (table 106) configured to be moved into a recording region of the medical imager; (¶0024-0026, ¶0035, ¶0040)
acquire, via second acquisition circuitry (gesture sensing input device (122)), position data of a medical operator during positioning of the object; (¶0027, ¶0031 – To track the medical operator during preparation, the gesture sensing input device (122) captures the movements of the operator 114 to generate motion data. A user motion capture module 308 translates this data into a skeletal model of the operator’s 114 body based on their movements in the predefined area adjacent to the table (i.e., position data).)
based upon an item of position information of the medical operator ascertained using the acquired position data, to track a position of the medical operator; (¶0027, ¶0031, ¶0036, ¶0039 – Specifically, the model of the gesture sensing input device 122 tracks the technician in a predefined are that is next to and adjacent to the table 106 during the setup. When the operator extends their hands over the patients, the system tracks these portions to define the specific scanning boundaries for the MRI procedure with respect to the identified specific portions of the patient’s body to be scanned. This model is actively updated based on the body motion of the technician to represent their corresponding motion in the predefined are next to the table, ¶0027, ¶0031. When defining the area relative to the patient, the operator can perform ongoing gestures, such as moving hands outward, ¶0029, wherein the operator may further adjust the size of the region to be examined via gestures.)
repeat the steps of positioning the object, acquiring the position data of the medical operator until the region of the object to be examined is defined via a positioning of a marker element (¶0027 - recognize hand gestures of the operator 114);
- Murugappan discloses an iterative or continuous process of acquiring the operation’s position and gesture to define and adjust the scanning region until it is properly set, ¶0028, ¶0029 ¶0035, ¶0038-0040.
acquire, via the first acquisition circuitry, a position of the marker element (¶0027, ¶0039, ¶0042-0043); and
project and/or display, via a projector, a feedback marking at the acquired position of the region of the object to be examined. (¶0028, ¶0029 – The visual markings utilize a projector 110 configured t generate a project of visual markings 118 directly onto a portion of the patient’s body. These visual markings are represented by lines or visual indicators that identify portions of the body to be scanned, which act as feedback to identify the landmarking positions and boundaries where the MRI system will perform the scan. Furthermore, the medical operator can perform gestures to adjust and redefine these visual marked boundaries on the patient’s body.)
Murugappan fails to disclose: move, based upon an item of position information of the medical operator ascertained using the acquired position data, a projector in a direction of the couch to track a position of the medical operator; and repeating moving the projector until the region of the object to be examined is defined via a positioning of a marker element;
However, Popescu in the context of medical imaging for communication between a control unit and a patient and operator teaches: move, based upon an item of position information of the medical operator ascertained using the acquired position data, a projector in a direction of the couch to track a position of the medical operator; and repeating moving the projector until the region of the object to be examined is defined via a positioning of a marker element;
-During the preparation of the patient, the object data acquisition unit focuses on the region of the operator together with the table, ¶0061-0063. This data is sent to the control unit, which calculates the position, movement, and viewing direction of the operator, ¶0017, ¶0066-0067. The system of Popescu then uses a combination of positioning components to move the projector. Specifically, a first positioning unit (i.e., with a motor unit located in the control room) which uses an additional positioning unit that transfer mechanical force to execute spatial alignment and adjustment of the projector, ¶0032, ¶0058. The control unit uses the acquired position and movement data to continuously [emphasis added] select an appropriate presentation surface, ¶0014-0015, ¶0077. The control unit then controls the positioning units to align the project’s optical axis accordingly, allowing the operator to view the projected information without interrupting their movement progression. Hence, the positioning unit uses the commands of the control unit which uses the position data from the object data acquisition unit to continuously moves the projector to adjust its alignment, effectively tracking the operator’s movements around the table during patient preparation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projector of modified Murugappan to moving, based upon an item of position information of the medical operator ascertained using the acquired position data, a projector in a direction of the couch to track a position of the medical operator; & repeat moving the projector until the region of the object to be examined is defined via a positioning of a marker element as taught by Popescu. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving images (for example) that can be projected onto the scan region of the patient who is to be examined during a preparation of the patient for the medical imaging examination, and an advantageous monitoring is thereby provided to the operator for the selection of the scan region, as suggested by Popescu, ¶0018.
Murugappan in view of Popescu fail to explicitly disclose: move the projector in a longitudinal direction of the couch.
However, Burbar in the context of medical imaging an projecting images in MRI discloses, move the projector in a longitudinal direction of the couch. (FIG. 6, ¶0032, ‘the projector 28 is coupled to a translatable linear motion track 44, where the track is shown directly coupled to the gantry 12. The linear motion track 44 is in communication with the motion control system of the patient table 22 (not shown) and translates the projector 28 in tandem with the patient table, at the same acceleration and velocity speed/direction VX.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify projector of modified Murogappan such that it is arranged above the couch and parallelly moving in a longitudinal direction of the couch as taught by Burbar for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus with such an apparatus being able to translate the projector in tandem with the patient table as suggested by Burbar, ¶0032.
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murugappan et al (US20160113592A1) in view of Popescu (US20130342350A1) in view of Burbar et al (US20220125395A1), as applied to claim 3, in further view of Pommi (US20070030957A1).
Claim 5: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 3, Murugappan fails to disclose: wherein the second acquisition circuitry comprises field of view manipulation circuitry configured to fade out a region of the couch from the field of view of the sensor.
However, Pommi in the context of imaging an examination area of the patient based on a medical imaging procedure, discloses: wherein a second acquisition circuitry (housing 11) comprises field of view manipulation circuitry (diaphragm blades 12, 13) configured to fade out a region of the couch from the field of view of the sensor. (¶0051, ‘The field of view 20 of the digital camera 18 is restricted by the diaphragm blades, 12, 13’, FIG. 1 – the restricted field of view constitutes as a fade out of a region of the couch from the field of view of the sensor.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second acquisition circuitry of modified Murugappan to comprise field of view manipulation circuitry configured to fade out a region of the couch from the field of view of the sensor as taught by Pommi. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the boundaries of the targeted examination area before examination, as suggested by Pommi, ¶0051-0057.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murugappan et al (US20160113592A1) in view of Popescu (US20130342350A1) in view of Burbar et al (US20220125395A1) in view of Pommi (US20070030957A1), as applied to claim 5, in further view of Luster (US 5,975710).
Claim 6: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 5, Murugappan fails to disclose: wherein the field of view manipulation circuitry is configured to divide and/or deflect the field of view of the sensor into two partial fields of view.
However, Pommi is relied upon above discloses, wherein the field of view manipulation circuitry (diaphragm blades 12, 13) is configured to divide the field of view of the sensor (¶0051, ‘The field of view 20 of the digital camera 18 is restricted by the diaphragm blades, 12, 13’, FIG. 1 – the restricted field of view constitutes as a fade out of a region of the couch from the field of view of the sensor.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field of view manipulation circuitry of modified Murugappan to comprise field of view manipulation circuitry configured to fade out a region of the couch from the field of view of the sensor as taught by Pommi. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the boundaries of the targeted examination area before examination, as suggested by Pommi, ¶0051-0057.
Murugappan as modified fails to disclose: into two partial fields of view. Specifically, that the field of view manipulation circuitry is configured to divide and/or deflect the field of view of the sensor into two partial fields of view, as required by the claim.
However, Luster in the context of optical imaging discloses, the field of view manipulation circuitry is configured to divide the field of view of the sensor into two partial fields of views (FIG. 1-3, [Col. 1 l.44-67 to Col. 2 l.1-19], [Col. 2 l.50-62])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field of view manipulation circuitry of modified Murugappan to include the mirror system of Luster configured to divide the field of view of the sensor into two partial field of views. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as allowing one detector to perform inspections of multiple fields thereby improving cost savings by eliminating the need to purchase and set up two separate cameras, as suggested by Luster ([Col. 1 l.44-67 to Col. 2 l.1-19], [Col. 2 l.50-62]).
Claim 7: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 5, Murugappan fails to disclose: wherein the field of view manipulation circuitry comprises a mirror system with two acquisition paths, and wherein each acquisition path comprises at least one mirror configured to divert a respective partial field of view.
However, Luster in the context of optical imaging discloses, wherein the field of view manipulation circuitry comprises a mirror system with two acquisition paths, and wherein each acquisition path comprises at least one mirror configured to divert a respective partial field of view. (FIG. 1-3, [Col. 1 l.44-67 to Col. 2 l.1-19], [Col. 2 l.50-62])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field of view manipulation circuitry of modified Murugappan to include the mirror system of Luster configured with two acquisition paths, and wherein each acquisition path comprises at least one mirror configured to divert a respective partial field of view. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as allowing one detector to perform inspections of multiple fields thereby improving cost savings by eliminating the need to purchase and set up two separate cameras, as suggested by Luster ([Col. 1 l.44-67 to Col. 2 l.1-19], [Col. 2 l.50-62]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murugappan et al (US20160113592A1) in view of Popescu (US20130342350A1) in view of Burbar et al (US20220125395A1), as applied to claim 11, in further view of Sommer et al (EP4212103A1).
Claim 12: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 11, Murugappan fails to disclose: wherein a region of the couch is faded out for acquiring the position data of the medical operator in a field of view of the second acquisition circuitry.
However, Sommer in the context of camera tracking during preparation of a medical image examination, such as a MRI examination discloses, wherein a region of the couch is faded out for acquiring the position data of the medical operator in a field of view of the second acquisition circuitry. (FIG. 4, ¶0079, ‘Fig. 4 shows pictorially an exemplar process of providing medical image acquisition unit assistance. A 2D image sensor such as a RGB sensor is indicated as 24, a depth sensor is indicated as 22. The image on the left has a border around the table indicating the table area that is excluded from network processing. The image on the left clearly shows the operator and their head. Head detection is indicated as 225, and the small circular marker as shown in the right hand image indicates where the operator's head as been determined or detected to be. Operator height estimation, as indicated as 230 is carried out, followed by table height adjustment, as indicated as 240.’; ¶0080, ‘Continuing with Fig. 4 the images produced by the camera's RGB sensor are first processed by a dedicated neural network that is trained to detect the operator's body landmarks. To account for the particular point of view of the camera, the network training can include a variety of top-view images of a large number of subjects. Creation of such a dataset can be realized in various ways, e.g. by combining / modifying publicly available data sources or by using the ceiling-mounted camera system itself. To avoid erroneous body height estimations due to the patient, the entire table area (marked by box around the table in Fig. 4 ) is excluded from the network processing by assigning a single value to all corresponding pixels.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second acquisition circuitry of modified Murugappan to be configured to include the teachings of Sommer. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as providing advantages to improve assistance to operators of medical aquation units, as suggested by Sommer, ¶0004.
Claim 13: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 11, Murugappan fails to disclose: wherein a field of view of the second acquisition circuitry is divided and/or deflected for acquiring the position data of the medical operator.
However, Sommer in the context of camera tracking during preparation of a medical image examination, such as a MRI examination discloses, wherein a field of view of the second acquisition circuitry is divided and/or deflected for acquiring the position data of the medical operator. (FIG. 4, ¶0079, ‘Fig. 4 shows pictorially an exemplar process of providing medical image acquisition unit assistance. A 2D image sensor such as a RGB sensor is indicated as 24, a depth sensor is indicated as 22. The image on the left has a border around the table indicating the table area that is excluded from network processing. The image on the left clearly shows the operator and their head. Head detection is indicated as 225, and the small circular marker as shown in the right hand image indicates where the operator's head as been determined or detected to be. Operator height estimation, as indicated as 230 is carried out, followed by table height adjustment, as indicated as 240.’; ¶0080, ‘Continuing with Fig. 4 the images produced by the camera's RGB sensor are first processed by a dedicated neural network that is trained to detect the operator's body landmarks. To account for the particular point of view of the camera, the network training can include a variety of top-view images of a large number of subjects. Creation of such a dataset can be realized in various ways, e.g. by combining / modifying publicly available data sources or by using the ceiling-mounted camera system itself. To avoid erroneous body height estimations due to the patient, the entire table area (marked by box around the table in Fig. 4 ) is excluded from the network processing by assigning a single value to all corresponding pixels.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second acquisition circuitry of modified Murugappan to be configured to include the teachings of Sommer. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as providing advantages to improve assistance to operators of medical aquation units, as suggested by Sommer, ¶0004.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murugappan et al (US20160113592A1) in view of Popescu (US20130342350A1) in view of Burbar et al (US20220125395A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Auboiroux et al (US 20130274590 A1).
Claim 9: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Murugappan fails to disclose: wherein the second acquisition circuitry comprises a shielding housing.
However, Auboiroux in the context of camera motion detection in magnetic resonance imaging discloses, wherein the second acquisition circuitry comprises a shielding housing. (Claim 20, ‘wherein said digital camera is MR compatible by being enclosed in RF shielding on said digital camera and by containing no magnetic components.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second acquition circuitry of modified Murugappan to comprise shielding housing as taught by Auboiroux for the advantage of providing digital camera circuitry with MR compatible parts, thus reducing magnetic interference during imaging.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murugappan et al (US20160113592A1) in view of Popescu (US20130342350A1) in view of Burbar et al (US20220125395A1), as applied to claim 11, in further view of Medlar et al (US 20020118280 A1).
Claim 15: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 11, Murugappan fails to disclose: further comprising: calculating an examination position of the couch using the acquired position of the region of the object to be examined.
However, Medlar in the context of positioning devices within magnetic resonance imaging discloses, further comprising: calculating an examination position of the couch using the acquired position of the region of the object to be examined. (¶0011, ¶0015-0016, ¶Abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus of modified Murugappan to further comprise the teachings of Medlar. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as providing simple, fast and exaction position into a center of the diagnostic device, as suggested by Medlar, ¶0008.
Claim 16: Murugappan as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 15, Murugappan fails to disclose: wherein the couch is automatically moved into the examination position for acquisition of medical imaging data of the region of the object to be examined.
However, Medlar in the context of positioning devices within magnetic resonance imaging discloses, wherein the couch is automatically moved into the examination position for acquisition of medical imaging data of the region of the object to be examined. (¶0011, ¶0015-0016, ¶Abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus of modified Murugappan to further comprise the teachings of Medlar. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as providing simple, fast and exaction position into a center of the diagnostic device, as suggested by Medlar, ¶0008.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weiss et al (US20220365150A1) discloses, mirrors for camera systems in MRI, ¶0013, “The non-metallic mirror(s) do not (electromagnetically) interfere with the radio frequency operation of the magnetic resonance examination system.”
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798