Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "GaN seen crystal" must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
reference characters "1" and "11" have both been used to designate "a seed crystal substrate".
reference characters "2" and "12" have both been used to designate "a substrate".
reference characters "3" and "13" have both been used to designate "an adhesion layer".
reference characters "5" and "15" have both been used to designate a carbon film.
reference characters "21”, “23", "31", "33", “41” and "43" have both been used to designate “a graphite susceptor”.
reference characters "25", "35" and "45" have both been used to designate a fixing layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “wherein the substrate includes a GaN single crystal substrate or a sapphire substrate with a GaN film”. This claim language is considered indefinite because it does not make clear if the GaN single crystal substrate includes or excludes a GaN film (e.g. "with a GaN film" could be read as solely be applicable to the sapphire substrate). For purposes of examination, the claim language is interpreted as meaning that the GaN substrate does not also include a GaN film. This is consistent with the parameters set forth in the specification as per paragraph 36, which distinctly does not mention the presence of a GaN film, while paragraph 37 does mention the presence of a GaN film on the Sapphire substrate embodiment of the invention.
Claim 4 states “an expanded graphite sheet disposed on a back surface side of the carbon film”. This claim language is considered indefinite because there is no indication of what would make the graphite sheet particularly "expanded". For purposes of examination the claim language is interpreted as meaning the presence of a graphite sheet. This is consistent with the parameters set forth in the specification in paragraph 45, as there is no elaboration on the meaning of the term "expanded". In order to address the issue of indefiniteness, the applicant should take into consideration the following unsettled questions: Are there any specific structural specifications to the graphite sheet that necessarily make it "expanded"?
Claim 6 recites the limitation "an absolute value of a difference in average coefficient of thermal expansion between the substrate and the graphite susceptor is 0.5×10-6 K-1 or less" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation is unclear as to whether the substrate is referring to a GaN or Sapphire (with a GaN film) substrate as stated in claim 1, or the entirety of the seed crystal substrate structure (which includes carbon layers) referenced in other instances in claim 6. For purposes of examination, “the substrate” is the GaN or Sapphire (with a GaN film) substrate as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "an absolute value of a difference in average coefficient of thermal expansion between the substrate and the graphite susceptor is 0.5×10-6 K-1 or less" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation is unclear as to whether the substrate is referring to a GaN or Sapphire (with a GaN film) substrate as stated in claim 1, or the entirety of the seed crystal substrate structure (which includes carbon layers) referenced in other instances in claim 9. For purposes of examination, “the substrate” is the GaN or Sapphire (with a GaN film) substrate as stated in claim 1.
Claims 2-3, 5, 7-8 and 10 are rejected since they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ehrentraut et al. (US 20230340695 A1). Claim 1 is anticipated by Ehrentraut et al., which teaches:
A seed crystal substrate , said seed crystal substrate is anticipated by the structure shown in figs. 19B and 19E.
a substrate having a GaN seed crystal on a front surface thereof, said seed crystal is anticipated by part of 370 as shown in annotated figs. 19B and 19E. Furthermore, “seed crystals 370, such as substrates 101, which can be used during a crystal growth process” (paragraph 94) teaches that seed crystals can be considered interchangeable with substrates. Therefore, part of 370 is considered the seed crystal and part of 370 is considered the substrate. The (not necessarily planar) surface that forms the boundary between the seed crystal and the substrate is considered the front surface.
Fig. 19B (Annotated)
an adhesion layer formed on a back surface of the substrate, said adhesion layer is anticipated by an “adhesion layer”, which “may be deposited on […] the back side of [370]” (paragraph 125). This adhesion layer is located as shown in annotated figure 19B and thus is on a back surface of the GaN substrate.
Fig. 19E(1) (Annotated)
and a carbon film covering the adhesion layer, said carbon film is anticipated by 1921 which “may include or consist of one or more of graphite [and] pyrolytic graphite” (paragraph 107 and Fig. 19E). As seen in annotated Fig. 19E(1), the adhesion layer is covered on one side by the carbon film 1921.
"wherein the substrate includes a GaN single crystal substrate or a sapphire substrate with a GaN film", said GaN substrate is anticipated by 370, which is made of a GaN crystal (paragraph 107 and Fig. 19E).
"the adhesion layer contains Si", said adhesion layer is anticipated by the teaching: “The adhesion layer may include one or more of […] Si” (paragraph 125).
Claim 4 is anticipated by Ehrentraut et al., which teaches:
Claim 1.
an expanded graphite sheet disposed on a back surface side of the carbon film, said graphite sheet is anticipated by 1921b, which “may include or consist of one or more of graphite [or] pyrolytic graphite” (paragraph 96 and Fig. 19E). Annotated figure 19E(2) shows how the graphite sheet 1921b is deposited on a back surface side of the carbon film 1921a.
a joining layer that joins the carbon film and the expanded graphite sheet, said joining layer is anticipated by 1921c. 1921 may coat “a backside and, optionally, one or more edges and/or front side” of 370 (paragraph 96), thereby joining the carbon film and expanded graphite sheet as shown in annotated figure 19E(2).
Fig. 19E(2) (Annotated)
Claim 5 is anticipated by Ehrentraut et al., which teaches:
Claim 4.
the joining layer comprises: graphite particles, said graphite particles are anticipated by 1921, which “may include or consist of one or more of graphite [or] pyrolytic graphite[…] and is deposited by one or more of spraying particles suspended in a slurry […] or the like” (paragraph 96 and Fig. 19E).
a carbon layer interposed between the graphite particles, said interposed carbon layer is anticipated by 1921 , which “may include or consist of one or more of graphite [or] pyrolytic graphite […] and is deposited by one or more of spraying particles suspended in a slurry […] or the like. In certain embodiments [1921] is subjected to a heat treatment process” (paragraph 96 and Fig. 19E). The suspension of particles means that there is carbon interposed between the graphite particles. The heating treatment process of a slurry is consistent with the fixing layer outlined in the specification.
Claim 8 is anticipated by Ehrentraut et al., which teaches:
Claim 4.
A graphite susceptor with a seed crystal substrate, said graphite susceptor is anticipated by structure shown in figure 19E and described in paragraphs 106 and 107.
a graphite susceptor disposed on a back surface side of the seed crystal substrate, said graphite susceptor is anticipated by 1910, which is a susceptor that may be made of graphite (paragraph 106 and Fig. 19E). Annotated figure 19E(2) shows how susceptor 1910 is on a surface of the back end of the graphite sheet 1921b and thus on a back surface of the substrate 370.
a fixing layer that fixes the seed crystal substrate to the graphite susceptor, said fixing layer is anticipated by is anticipated by 1923, which as shown in Fig. 19E connects the graphite susceptor 1910 with the graphite sheet 1921b (the base part of the seed crystal substrate).
Claim 10 is anticipated by Ehrentraut et al., which teaches:
Claim 8.
the fixing layer comprises: graphite particles, said graphite particles are anticipated by 1923, which “may include or consist of […] graphite and is deposited by one or more of spraying particles suspended in a slurry […] or the like” (paragraph 106 and Fig. 19E).
a carbon layer interposed between the graphite particles, said interposed carbon layer is anticipated by 1923, which “may include or consist of […] graphite […] and is deposited by one or more of spraying particles suspended in a slurry […] or the like” (paragraph 106 and Fig. 19E). The suspension of carbon particles in a slurry means that there is carbon interposed between the graphite particles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-3, 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrentraut et al. (US 20230340695 A1) in view of D’Evelyn et al. (US 10400352 B2).
In reference to claim 2, Ehrentraut et al. does not specifically teach the claimed range of "the adhesion layer has a thickness of 10 nm or more and 200 nm or less". However, Ehrentraut et al. makes reference to D’Evelyn et al. (paragraph 125) that teaches “[t]he thickness of adhesion layer 113 may [… be] between about 10 nanometers and about 1 micron” (C10 L63-66).
Claim 2 is made obvious by Ehrentraut et al. in view of D’Evelyn et al. because It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the thickness of the adhesion layer is a known result effective variable that would directly impact the level of “good join” as desired by the use of the claimed adhesion layer width. D’Evelyn et al. teaches an adhesion layer that would ideally fall in the taught range. Applicant narrows that range to ensure “good join” above the 50% threshold. However, as the purpose of an adhesion layer is “good join” between given components. Therefore, varying the width of the adhesion layer would be a result effective variable that would impact the percentage of “good join” exhibited by the adhesion layer, and is clearly ascertainable through routine experimentation.
In reference to claim 3, Ehrentraut et al. does not teach the particular thickness of the carbon film " 5 nm or more and 100 nm or less". However, Ehrentraut et al. provides guidance on a carbon film (1921) that “is configured to accommodate any extrinsic or intrinsic stresses formed between […] the deposited layers without the […] deposited layers undergoing cracking or other failure” (paragraph 96).
Claim 3 is made obvious by Ehrentraut et al. in view of its guidance on minimizing stress in the carbon layer because It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the width of the carbon film is a result effective variable that would have direct impact on the structural integrity of the carbon film as desired by the claimed layer width. Ehrentraut et al. recognized that the carbon film (1921) is designed to reduce stress within the entirety of the structure, and thus would reduce peeling within the layer itself. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the thickness of the carbon film is a result effective variable that would reduce peeling in the carbon layer, and is clearly ascertainable through routine experimentation.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrentraut et al in view of its guidance on minimizing stresses of the carbon layer. Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under Ehrentraut et al., which teaches:
Claim 4.
the expanded graphite layer 1921b is optional, thus the susceptor 1910 would be on a surface on the back end of the substrate 370.
the fixing layer comprises: graphite particles, said graphite particles are anticipated by 1921, which “may include or consist of one or more of graphite [or] pyrolytic graphite […] and is deposited by one or more of spraying particles suspended in a slurry […] or the like” (paragraph 96 and Fig. 19E).
a carbon layer interposed between the graphite particles, said interposed carbon layer is anticipated by 1921, which “may include or consist of one or more of graphite [or] pyrolytic graphite […] and is deposited by one or more of spraying particles suspended in a slurry […] or the like. In certain embodiments [1921] is subjected to a heat treatment process” (paragraph 96 and Fig. 19E). The suspension of particles means that there is carbon interposed between the graphite particles. The heating treatment process of a slurry is consistent with the fixing layer outlined in the specification.
Ehrentraut et al. does not teach an absolute value of a difference in average coefficient of thermal expansion between the substrate and the graphite susceptor is 0.5×10-6 K-1 or less. Claim 6 is made obvious by Ehrentraut et al. because It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the difference in average coefficient of thermal expansion between the substrate structure and graphite susceptor is relating to a characteristic of the materials used as the substrate and the susceptor. Ehrentraut et al. discloses the same materials as applicant: a GaN substrate and a graphite susceptor. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a difference in average coefficient of thermal expansion between the substrate and the graphite susceptor is
0.5
*
10
-
6
K
-
1
or less when using identical materials.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrentraut et al. as applied to claim 8. The structure of claim 9 is identical to that of claim 8, except of the restrictions on the difference in the average coefficient of thermal expansion between the substrate and the graphite susceptor.
Ehrentraut et al. does not teach an absolute value of a difference in average coefficient of thermal expansion between the substrate and the graphite susceptor is
0.5
*
10
-
6
K
-
1
or less . However, claim 9 is made obvious by Ehrentraut et al. in view of its guidance on minimizing stress in the carbon layer because It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the difference in average coefficient of thermal expansion between the substrate structure and graphite susceptor is relating to a characteristic of the materials used as the substrate and the susceptor. Ehrentraut et al. discloses the same materials as applicant: a GaN substrate and a graphite susceptor. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a difference in average coefficient of thermal expansion between the substrate and the graphite susceptor is
0.5
*
10
-
6
K
-
1
or less.
Conclusion
/JAMES E CHAPMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898