DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the Cu" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jun et al (US 2021/0057153).
Regarding claims 1, Jun discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor (Fig. 1-5) comprising: a multilayer body (Fig. 1, 110) including a plurality of dielectric ceramic layers (Fig. 2, 111) and a plurality of internal electrode layers (Fig. 2, 121/122) laminated alternately in a lamination direction (Fig. 2, Z), a pair of main surfaces (Fig. 1, 1/ 2) opposed to each other in the lamination direction (Fig. 1), a pair of side surfaces (Fig. 1, 5/ 6) which are opposed to each other in a width direction (Fig. 1, Y) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction (Fig. 1), a pair of end surfaces (Fig. 1, 3/ 4) opposed to each other in a length direction (Fig. 1, X) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction and the width direction (Fig. 1); and a pair of external electrodes (Fig. 1, 131/132) connected to the internal electrode layers (Fig. 2); wherein the pair of external electrodes each include: a first external electrode layer (Fig. 5, 131a) connected to the internal electrode layers (Fig. 2); and a second external electrode layer (Fig. 5, 131c) on the first external electrode layer (Fig. 5); and a metal group including at least one of Sn ([0078]), In, Ga, Zn, Bi, Pb, Fe, V, or Y is included at an interface between the first external electrode layer and the second external electrode layer (Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 2, Jun further discloses that the first external electrode layer includes Ni ([0081]).
Regarding claims 4, Jun further discloses that the second external electrode layer includes Cu ([0087]).
Regarding claims 7, Jun further discloses that the second external electrode layer includes the metal group ([0077-0078] when 131b2 is considered part of the second electrode).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KANG et al (US 2023/0135148).
Regarding claims 18, KANG discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor (Fig. 1-6) comprising: a multilayer body (Fig. 1, 110) including a plurality of dielectric ceramic layers (Fig. 2, 111) and a plurality of internal electrode layers (Fig. 2, 121/122) laminated alternately in a lamination direction (Fig. 2, First direction), a pair of main surfaces (Fig. 1, 1/ 2) opposed to each other in the lamination direction (Fig. 1), a pair of side surfaces (Fig. 1, 5/ 6) which are opposed to each other in a width direction (Fig. 1, Third direction) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction (Fig. 1), and a pair of end surfaces (Fig. 1, 3/ 4) opposed to each other in a length direction (Fig. 1, Second direction) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction and the width direction (Fig. 1); and a pair of external electrodes (Fig. 1, 130/140) connected to the internal electrode layers (Fig. 2); wherein the pair of external electrodes each include: a first external electrode layer (Fig. 6, 131) connected to the internal electrode layers (Fig. 2); and a second external electrode layer (Fig. 6, 132) on the first external electrode layer (Fig. 6); the first external electrode layer includes Ni and a metal group including at least one of Sn ([0069]), In, Ga, Zn, Bi, Pb, Fe, V, or Y; the second external electrode layer includes Cu and a metal group including at least one of Sn ([0096]), In, Ga, Zn, Bi, Pb, Fe, V, or Y.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun et al (US 2021/0057153) in view of KANG et al (US 2023/0135148).
Regarding claims 3, Jun fails to teach the claim limitations.
KANG teaches that the first external electrode layer includes a dielectric region (Fig. 6, 131b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KANG to the invention of Jun, in order to improve mechanical bonding strength of the multilayer capacitor (KANG [0011]).
Regarding claims 6, Jun fails to teach the claim limitations.
KANG teaches that the first external electrode layer includes the metal group ([0069]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KANG to the invention of Jun, in order to improve mechanical bonding strength of the multilayer capacitor (KANG [0011]).
Regarding claims 9, Jun fails to teach the claim limitations.
KANG teaches that the metal group defines a solid solution in the Ni ([0069]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KANG to the invention of Jun, in order to improve mechanical bonding strength of the multilayer capacitor (KANG [0011]).
Regarding claims 10, Jun fails to teach the claim limitations.
KANG teaches that the metal group defines a solid solution in the Cu ([0096]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KANG to the invention of Jun, in order to improve mechanical bonding strength of the multilayer capacitor (KANG [0011]).
Regarding claims 11, Jun fails to teach the claim limitations.
KANG teaches that a concentration of the metal group defining the solid solution in the Cu is lower than a concentration of the metal group defining the solid solution in the Ni (Fig. 6, higher concentration of 131a in 131 than 132a in 132).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KANG to the invention of Jun, in order to improve mechanical bonding strength of the multilayer capacitor (KANG [0011]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun et al (US 2021/0057153) in view of HONG et al (US 2014/0233147).
Regarding claims 5, Jun fails to teach that the conductive resin layer contains a glass component.
HONG teaches that the second external electrode layer (Fig. 3, 31b) includes a glass component ([0104]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of HONG to the invention of Jun, in order to construct the devices using known materials in the art to meet user needs based on known material properties and availability of those materials. The use of conventional materials/components to perform their known function is obvious. MPEP 2144.06.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun et al (US 2021/0057153).
Regarding claims 8, Jun fails to teach the claim limitations.
However, the examiner notes that the limitation of “wherein a thickness of the interface between the first external electrode and the second external electrode is about 10nm or more and about 80nm or less” is considered to be a result effective variable, as you can set a definition of an interface to be whatever size you want, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention to include the limitation of “wherein a thickness of the interface between the first external electrode and the second external electrode is about 10nm or more and about 80nm or less” as this limitation would be easily reached by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to construct the devices using understood variable specifications and designs in the art to best meet user needs based on known design possibilities.
Claim(s) 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANG et al (US 2023/0135148) in view of KIM et al (US 2017/0301468).
Regarding claim 12, KANG teaches a multilayer ceramic capacitor (Fig. 1-6) comprising: a multilayer body (Fig. 1, 110) including a plurality of dielectric ceramic layers (Fig. 2, 111) and a plurality of internal electrode layers (Fig. 2, 121/122) laminated alternately in a lamination direction (Fig. 2, First direction), a pair of main surfaces (Fig. 1, 1/ 2) opposed to each other in the lamination direction (Fig. 1), a pair of side surfaces (Fig. 1, 5/ 6) which are opposed to each other in a width direction (Fig. 1, Third direction) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction (Fig. 1), and a pair of end surfaces (Fig. 1, 3/ 4) opposed to each other in a length direction (Fig. 1, Second direction) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction and the width direction (Fig. 1); and a pair of external electrodes (Fig. 1, 130/140) connected to the internal electrode layers (Fig. 2); wherein the pair of external electrodes each include: a first external electrode layer (Fig. 6, 131) connected to the internal electrode layers (Fig. 2); and a second external electrode layer (Fig. 6, 132) on the first external electrode layer (Fig. 6); the first external electrode layer includes Ni and a metal group including at least one of Sn ([0069]), In, Ga, Zn, Bi, Pb, Fe, V, or Y; the second external electrode layer includes Cu.
However, KANG fails to teach that the metal group is included at an interface between the first external electrode layer and the second external electrode layer.
KIM teaches that the metal group is included at an interface between the first external electrode layer and the second external electrode layer (Fig. 4, at 132d [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KIM to the invention of KANG, in order to make it so that the equivalent series resistance (ESR) may be reduced by improving conductivity of external electrodes and improving electrical and mechanical adhesion (KIM [0009]).
Regarding claim 13, KANG, as muddied by KIM, further teaches that the second external electrode layer includes the metal group ([0096]).
Regarding claims 14, KANG fails to teach the claim limitations.
However, the examiner notes that the limitation of “wherein a thickness of the interface between the first external electrode and the second external electrode is about 10nm or more and about 80nm or less” is considered to be a result effective variable, as you can set a definition of an interface to be whatever size you want, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention to include the limitation of “wherein a thickness of the interface between the first external electrode and the second external electrode is about 10nm or more and about 80nm or less” as this limitation would be easily reached by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to construct the devices using understood variable specifications and designs in the art to best meet user needs based on known design possibilities.
Regarding claim 15, KANG, as muddied by KIM, further teaches that the metal group defines a solid solution in the Ni ([0069]).
Regarding claim 16, KANG, as muddied by KIM, further teaches that the metal group defines a solid solution in the Cu ([0096]).
Regarding claim 17, KANG, as muddied by KIM, further teaches that a concentration of the metal group defining the solid solution in the Cu is lower than a concentration of the metal group defining the solid solution in the Ni (Fig. 6, higher concentration of 131a in 131 than 132a in 132).
Cited Prior Art
Saito et al (US 2007/0242416) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-4.
PARK et al (US 2013/0120898) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-3.
MOON et al (US 2015/0090483) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-3.
OTANI (US 2017/0032896) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-3.
HAMANAKA et al (US 2018/0166215) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-3.
LEE et al (US 2020/0135403) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-5.
ONISHI et al (US 2020/0312560) teaches relevant art in [0072].
Conclusion
/MICHAEL P MCFADDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848