CTNF 18/783,780 CTNF 101718 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on November 4, 2024 (11/4/2024) . The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement was considered by the examiner. The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on April 16, 2025 (4/16/2025) . The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement was considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 7-8, 11-13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Zembutsu et al. (US 2017/0250789) . Regarding Claim 1, Zembutsu teaches a communication method, comprising: receiving, by an access management entity, a first connection request message from an access network device, wherein the first connection request message comprises user access information, and is used to request to establish a connection between the access network device and a mobility management entity; (Fig. 2, Par. [0267] “To transmit an Attach Request to an SGSN, first, the UE 101 establishes RRC Connection with the RNC 171. To establish RRC Connection, first, the UE 101 transmits an RRC Connection Request signal to the RNC 171” and Par. [0268] “In this signal, the UE 101 sets a parameter indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 (a User Identity, a new Value or a new parameter of establishment Cause (a value or a parameter newly introduced in the present example)” and Par. [0270] “After establishing RRC Connection, the UE 101 transmits an Attach Request (1) and the NodeB 111 receives the Attach Request (1). Next, the NodeB 111 forwards the Attach Request to the RNC 171”), sending, by the access management entity, a second connection request message to the mobility management entity based on the first connection request message, wherein the second connection request message is used to request to establish a connection between the access management entity and the mobility management entity, and the mobility management entity is determined by the access management entity based on the user access information; (Fig. 2, Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101”), receiving, by the access management entity, a second connection response message from the mobility management entity, wherein the second connection response message indicates information about the connection between the access management entity and the mobility management entity; (Fig. 2, Par. [0272] “After receiving the Attach Request signal, the Customized SGSN 122 continues a normal Attach Procedure”), and sending, by the access management entity, a first connection response message to the access network device, wherein the first connection response message indicates information about a connection between the access network device and the access management entity (Fig. 2, Par. [0272] “After receiving the Attach Request signal, the Customized SGSN 122 continues a normal Attach Procedure” and Par. [0275] “As described above, in the present example, the UE 101 instructs the RNC 171 to select an SGSN. In response to the instruction, the RNC 171 specifies the Customized SGSN and an Attach Procedure is continued”). Regarding Claim 2, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching wherein the first connection request message further comprises an access network connection identifier of the access network device, and the second connection request message comprises an access management connection identifier of the access management entity; (Par. [0269] “When receiving the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 stores information indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 and continues the subsequent RRC Connection Procedure” and Par. [0270] “After establishing RRC Connection, the UE 101 transmits an Attach Request (1) and the NodeB 111 receives the Attach Request (1). Next, the NodeB 111 forwards the Attach Request to the RNC 171”), the information about the connection between the access management entity and the mobility management entity comprises an association relationship between the access management connection identifier and a mobility management connection identifier of the mobility management entity; (Par. [0269] “When receiving the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 stores information indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 and continues the subsequent RRC Connection Procedure” and Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101. The UE 101 cannot store information about all the SGSNs in the core network, information indicating an SGSN type, a service type, or the like is used for the instruction given to the RNC 171, instead of an identifier by which a unique SGSN can be selected”), and the information about the connection between the access network device and the access management entity comprises an association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the access network connection identifier (Par. [0270] “After establishing RRC Connection, the UE 101 transmits an Attach Request (1) and the NodeB 111 receives the Attach Request (1). Next, the NodeB 111 forwards the Attach Request to the RNC 171” and Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101. The UE 101 cannot store information about all the SGSNs in the core network, information indicating an SGSN type, a service type, or the like is used for the instruction given to the RNC 171, instead of an identifier by which a unique SGSN can be selected”). Regarding Claim 3, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 2, further teaching the user access information comprises a user identifier and information about a user network, (Par. [0268] “In this signal, the UE 101 sets a parameter indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 (a User Identity, a new Value or a new parameter of establishment Cause (a value or a parameter newly introduced in the present example), or an identifier of a part of such parameters (a PLMN-id included in the IMSI, for example))”), and the sending, by the access management entity, a second connection request message to the mobility management entity based on the first connection request message comprises: determining, by the access management entity based on the user identifier and the information about the user network, that a mobility management entity that is associated with the user identifier and that supports the user network is the mobility management entity that receives the second connection request message; or wherein the user access information comprises information about a user network, and the sending, by the access management entity, a second connection request message to the mobility management entity based on the first connection request message comprises: determining, by the access management entity based on the information about the user network, at least one mobility management entity that supports the user network; and determining, by the access management entity, one of the at least one mobility management entity as the mobility management entity that receives the second connection request message (Par. [0269] “When receiving the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 stores information indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 and continues the subsequent RRC Connection Procedure” and Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101. The UE 101 cannot store information about all the SGSNs in the core network, information indicating an SGSN type, a service type, or the like is used for the instruction given to the RNC 171, instead of an identifier by which a unique SGSN can be selected”). Regarding Claim 7, Zembutsu discloses a communication method, comprising: receiving, by a mobility management entity, a second connection request message from an access management entity, wherein the second connection request message is used to request to establish a connection between the access management entity and the mobility management entity; (Fig. 2, Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101”), and sending, by the mobility management entity, a second connection response message to the access management entity, wherein the second connection response message indicates information about the connection between the access management entity and the mobility management entity (Fig. 2, Par. [0272] “After receiving the Attach Request signal, the Customized SGSN 122 continues a normal Attach Procedure” and Par. [0275] “As described above, in the present example, the UE 101 instructs the RNC 171 to select an SGSN. In response to the instruction, the RNC 171 specifies the Customized SGSN and an Attach Procedure is continued”). Regarding Claim 8, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 7, further teaching the second connection request message comprises an access management connection identifier of the access management entity; (Par. [0269] “When receiving the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 stores information indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 and continues the subsequent RRC Connection Procedure” and Par. [0270] “After establishing RRC Connection, the UE 101 transmits an Attach Request (1) and the NodeB 111 receives the Attach Request (1). Next, the NodeB 111 forwards the Attach Request to the RNC 171”), and the information about the connection between the access management entity and the mobility management entity comprises an association relationship between the access management connection identifier and a mobility management connection identifier of the mobility management entity (Par. [0269] “When receiving the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 stores information indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 and continues the subsequent RRC Connection Procedure” and Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101. The UE 101 cannot store information about all the SGSNs in the core network, information indicating an SGSN type, a service type, or the like is used for the instruction given to the RNC 171, instead of an identifier by which a unique SGSN can be selected”). Regarding Claim 11, Zembutsu discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing computer instructions, which when executed by the processor cause the apparatus to: receive a first connection request message from an access network device, wherein the first connection request message comprises user access information, and is used to request to establish a connection between the access network device and a mobility management entity; (Fig. 2, Par. [0267] “To transmit an Attach Request to an SGSN, first, the UE 101 establishes RRC Connection with the RNC 171. To establish RRC Connection, first, the UE 101 transmits an RRC Connection Request signal to the RNC 171” and Par. [0268] “In this signal, the UE 101 sets a parameter indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 (a User Identity, a new Value or a new parameter of establishment Cause (a value or a parameter newly introduced in the present example)” and Par. [0270] “After establishing RRC Connection, the UE 101 transmits an Attach Request (1) and the NodeB 111 receives the Attach Request (1). Next, the NodeB 111 forwards the Attach Request to the RNC 171”), send a second connection request message to the mobility management entity based on the first connection request message, wherein the second connection request message is used to request to establish a connection between the communication apparatus and the mobility management entity, and the mobility management entity is determined by the communication apparatus based on the user access information; (Fig. 2, Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101”), receive a second connection response message from the mobility management entity, wherein the second connection response message indicates information about the connection between the communication apparatus and the mobility management entity; (Fig. 2, Par. [0272] “After receiving the Attach Request signal, the Customized SGSN 122 continues a normal Attach Procedure”), and send a first connection response message to the access network device, wherein the first connection response message indicates information about a connection between the access network device and the communication apparatus (Fig. 2, Par. [0272] “After receiving the Attach Request signal, the Customized SGSN 122 continues a normal Attach Procedure” and Par. [0275] “As described above, in the present example, the UE 101 instructs the RNC 171 to select an SGSN. In response to the instruction, the RNC 171 specifies the Customized SGSN and an Attach Procedure is continued”). Regarding Claim 12, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 11, further teaching the first connection request message further comprises an access network connection identifier of the access network device, and the second connection request message comprises an access management connection identifier of the communication apparatus; (Par. [0269] “When receiving the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 stores information indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 and continues the subsequent RRC Connection Procedure” and Par. [0270] “After establishing RRC Connection, the UE 101 transmits an Attach Request (1) and the NodeB 111 receives the Attach Request (1). Next, the NodeB 111 forwards the Attach Request to the RNC 171”), the information about the connection between the communication apparatus and the mobility management entity comprises an association relationship between the access management connection identifier and a mobility management connection identifier of the mobility management entity; (Par. [0269] “When receiving the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 stores information indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 and continues the subsequent RRC Connection Procedure” and Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101. The UE 101 cannot store information about all the SGSNs in the core network, information indicating an SGSN type, a service type, or the like is used for the instruction given to the RNC 171, instead of an identifier by which a unique SGSN can be selected”), and the information about the connection between the access network device and the communication apparatus comprises an association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the access network connection identifier (Par. [0270] “After establishing RRC Connection, the UE 101 transmits an Attach Request (1) and the NodeB 111 receives the Attach Request (1). Next, the NodeB 111 forwards the Attach Request to the RNC 171” and Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101. The UE 101 cannot store information about all the SGSNs in the core network, information indicating an SGSN type, a service type, or the like is used for the instruction given to the RNC 171, instead of an identifier by which a unique SGSN can be selected”). Regarding Claim 13, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 12, further teaching the user access information comprises a user identifier and information about a user network, (Par. [0268] “In this signal, the UE 101 sets a parameter indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 (a User Identity, a new Value or a new parameter of establishment Cause (a value or a parameter newly introduced in the present example), or an identifier of a part of such parameters (a PLMN-id included in the IMSI, for example))”), and when the computer instructions are executed by the processor, the computer instructions cause the communication apparatus to: determine, based on the user identifier and the information about the user network, that a mobility management entity that is associated with the user identifier and that supports the user network is the mobility management entity that receives the second connection request message; or wherein the user access information comprises information about a user network, and when the computer instructions are executed by the processor, the computer instructions cause the communication apparatus to: determine based on the information about the user network, at least one mobility management entity that supports the user network; and determining one of the at least one mobility management entity as the mobility management entity that receives the second connection request message (Par. [0269] “When receiving the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 stores information indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 and continues the subsequent RRC Connection Procedure” and Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101. The UE 101 cannot store information about all the SGSNs in the core network, information indicating an SGSN type, a service type, or the like is used for the instruction given to the RNC 171, instead of an identifier by which a unique SGSN can be selected”). Regarding Claim 17, Zembutsu teaches a communication apparatus, comprising at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing computer instructions, which when executed by the processor cause the apparatus to: receive a second connection request message from an access management entity, wherein the second connection request message is used to request to establish a connection between the access management entity and the communication apparatus; (Fig. 2, Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101”), and send a second connection response message to the access management entity, wherein the second connection response message indicates information about the connection between the access management entity and the communication apparatus (Fig. 2, Par. [0272] “After receiving the Attach Request signal, the Customized SGSN 122 continues a normal Attach Procedure” and Par. [0275] “As described above, in the present example, the UE 101 instructs the RNC 171 to select an SGSN. In response to the instruction, the RNC 171 specifies the Customized SGSN and an Attach Procedure is continued”). Regarding Claim 18, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 17, further teaching the second connection request message comprises an access management connection identifier of the access management entity; (Par. [0269] “When receiving the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 stores information indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 and continues the subsequent RRC Connection Procedure” and Par. [0270] “After establishing RRC Connection, the UE 101 transmits an Attach Request (1) and the NodeB 111 receives the Attach Request (1). Next, the NodeB 111 forwards the Attach Request to the RNC 171”), and the information about the connection between the access management entity and the communication apparatus entity comprises an association relationship between the access management connection identifier and a mobility management connection identifier of the communication apparatus (Par. [0269] “When receiving the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 stores information indicating that the UE 101 needs to be connected to the Customized SGSN 122 and continues the subsequent RRC Connection Procedure” and Par. [0271] “The RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request to an SGSN. From the information stored when the RNC 171 has received the RRC Connection Request signal, the RNC 171 forwards the Attach Request signal to the Customized SGSN 122” and Par. [0273] “In addition, the UE 101 is equipped with a function of instructing the RNC 171 about which one of the General SGSN 121 and the Customized SGSN 122 needs to be connected to the UE 101. The UE 101 cannot store information about all the SGSNs in the core network, information indicating an SGSN type, a service type, or the like is used for the instruction given to the RNC 171, instead of an identifier by which a unique SGSN can be selected”) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-6, 9-10, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zembutsu et al. (US 2017/0250789) in view of "3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; General Packet Radio Service (GPRS); Service description; Stage 2 (Release 14)", 3GPP DRAFT; 23060-E30_CRS_IMPLEMENTED, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES ; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE; 20170301 24 February 2017 (2017-02-24), XP051309175, total 367 pages. (hereinafter 3GPP 23.060) . Regarding Claim 4, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 2, but does not teach the first connection response message further comprises the mobility management connection identifier. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP 23.060 teaches the first connection response message further comprises the mobility management connection identifier (Pg. 92, Fig. 22, “9. Attach Accept” and Pg. 96-97, Par. 9) “The SGSN selects Radio Priority SMS, and sends an Attach Accept (P-TMSI, VLR TMSI, P-TMSI Signature…) message to the MS. P-TMSI is included if the SGSN allocates a new P-TMSI“). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 3GPP 23.060’s attach accept message with Zembutsu’s attach procedure to better reduce costs within a communication network. Regarding Claim 5, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 2, but does not teach receiving, by the access management entity, a first user request message from the access network device, wherein the first user request message comprises the access management connection identifier; sending, by the access management entity, a second user request message to the mobility management entity, wherein the second user request message comprises the mobility management connection identifier, and the mobility management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier; receiving, by the access management entity, a second user acknowledgment message from the mobility management entity, wherein the second user acknowledgment message comprises the access management connection identifier; and sending, by the access management entity, a first user acknowledgment message to the access network device, wherein the first user acknowledgment message comprises the access network connection identifier, and the access network connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the access network connection identifier. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP 23.060 teaches receiving, by the access management entity, a first user request message from the access network device, wherein the first user request message comprises the access management connection identifier; (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “1. Activate PDP Context Request” Par. 1) “the MS sends an Activate PDP Request message to the SGSN as defined in clause ‘PDP Context Activation Procedure’. The MS shall leave PDP Address empty and set PDP Type to IPv6 or IPv4v6”), sending, by the access management entity, a second user request message to the mobility management entity, wherein the second user request message comprises the mobility management connection identifier, and the mobility management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier; (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “2. Create PDP Context Request” Par. 2) “Upon reception of the Create PDP Context Request, the GGSN creates an IPv6 address composed of the prefix allocated to the PDP context and an interface identifier generated by the GGSN”), receiving, by the access management entity, a second user acknowledgment message from the mobility management entity, wherein the second user acknowledgment message comprises the access management connection identifier; (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “2. Create PDP Context Request” Par. 2) “This address is then returned in the PDP Address information element in the Create PDP Context Response, in both the SGSN and the GGSN, is otherwise as specified in clause ‘PDP Context Activation Procedure’”), and sending, by the access management entity, a first user acknowledgment message to the access network device, wherein the first user acknowledgment message comprises the access network connection identifier, and the access network connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the access network connection identifier (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “2. Activate PDP Context Accept” Par. 3) “The MS receives the IPv6 address produced by the GGSN in the Activate PDP Context Accept. The MS extracts the interface identifier from the address received and stores it. The MS shall use this interface identifier to build its link-local address and may also use it for building its full IPv6 address”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 3GPP 23.060’s PDP context procedure with Zembutsu’s attach procedure to better reduce costs within a communication network. Regarding Claim 6, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 2, but does not teach receiving, by the access management entity, a first network request message from the mobility management entity, wherein the first network request message comprises the access management connection identifier; and sending, by the access management entity, a second network request message to the access network device, wherein the second network request message comprises the access network connection identifier, and the access network connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the access network connection identifier. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP 23.060 teaches receiving, by the access management entity, a first network request message from the mobility management entity, wherein the first network request message comprises the access management connection identifier; (Pg. 170, Fig. 6.9.5-1: UE Radio Capability Match Request, “1. Iu: UE Radio Capability Match Request” Par. 6.9.5 UE Radio Capability Match Request “the SGSN may send a UE Radio Capability Match Request to the RAN” and “1. The SGSN indicates whether the SGSN wants to receive Voice support match indicator” and “2. Upon receiving a UE Radio Capability Match Request from the SGSN, if the RAN has not already received the UE capability from the MS the RAN requests the MS to upload the UE Capability information by sending the RRC UE Capability Enquiry”), and sending, by the access management entity, a second network request message to the access network device, wherein the second network request message comprises the access network connection identifier, and the access network connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the access network connection identifier (Pg. 170, Fig. 6.9.5-1: UE Radio Capability Match Request, “2. RRC: UE Capability Enquiry” Par. 6.9.5 UE Radio Capability Match Request “2. Upon receiving a UE Radio Capability Match Request from the SGSN, if the RAN has not already received the UE capability from the MS the RAN requests the MS to upload the UE Capability information by sending the RRC UE Capability Enquiry” and “3. The MS provides the RAN with its UE capabilities sending the RRC UE Capability Information” and 4. “Upon receiving a UE Radio Capability Match Request from the SGSN, the RAN checks whether the UE capabilities are compatible with the network configuration”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 3GPP 23.060’s UE capability matching with Zembutsu’s attach procedure to better reduce costs within a communication network. Regarding Claim 9, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 7, but does not teach receiving, by the mobility management entity, a second user request message from the access management entity, wherein the second user request message comprises the mobility management connection identifier; and sending, by the mobility management entity, a second user acknowledgment message to the access management entity, wherein the second user acknowledgment message comprises the access management connection identifier, and the access management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP 23.060 teaches receiving, by the mobility management entity, a second user request message from the access management entity, wherein the second user request message comprises the mobility management connection identifier; (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “2. Create PDP Context Request” Par. 2) “Upon reception of the Create PDP Context Request, the GGSN creates an IPv6 address composed of the prefix allocated to the PDP context and an interface identifier generated by the GGSN”), and sending, by the mobility management entity, a second user acknowledgment message to the access management entity, wherein the second user acknowledgment message comprises the access management connection identifier, and the access management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “2. Create PDP Context Request” Par. 2) “This address is then returned in the PDP Address information element in the Create PDP Context Response, in both the SGSN and the GGSN, is otherwise as specified in clause ‘PDP Context Activation Procedure’” and Par. 3) “The MS receives the IPv6 address produced by the GGSN in the Activate PDP Context Accept. The MS extracts the interface identifier from the address received and stores it. The MS shall use this interface identifier to build its link-local address and may also use it for building its full IPv6 address”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 3GPP 23.060’s PDP context procedure with Zembutsu’s attach procedure to better reduce costs within a communication network. Regarding Claim 10, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 7, but does not teach sending, by the mobility management entity, a first network request message to the access management entity, wherein the first network request message comprises the access management connection identifier, and the access management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP 23.060 teaches sending, by the mobility management entity, a first network request message to the access management entity, wherein the first network request message comprises the access management connection identifier, and the access management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier (Pg. 170, Fig. 6.9.5-1: UE Radio Capability Match Request, “1. Iu: UE Radio Capability Match Request” Par. 6.9.5 UE Radio Capability Match Request “the SGSN may send a UE Radio Capability Match Request to the RAN” and “1. The SGSN indicates whether the SGSN wants to receive Voice support match indicator” and “2. Upon receiving a UE Radio Capability Match Request from the SGSN, if the RAN has not already received the UE capability from the MS the RAN requests the MS to upload the UE Capability information by sending the RRC UE Capability Enquiry” and “3. The MS provides the RAN with its UE capabilities sending the RRC UE Capability Information” and 4. “Upon receiving a UE Radio Capability Match Request from the SGSN, the RAN checks whether the UE capabilities are compatible with the network configuration”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 3GPP 23.060’s UE capability matching with Zembutsu’s attach procedure to better reduce costs within a communication network. Regarding Claim 14, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 12, but does not teach the first connection response message further comprises the mobility management connection identifier. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP 23.060 teaches the first connection response message further comprises the mobility management connection identifier (Pg. 92, Fig. 22, “9. Attach Accept” and Pg. 96-97, Par. 9) “The SGSN selects Radio Priority SMS, and sends an Attach Accept (P-TMSI, VLR TMSI, P-TMSI Signature…) message to the MS. P-TMSI is included if the SGSN allocates a new P-TMSI“). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 3GPP 23.060’s attach accept message with Zembutsu’s attach procedure to better reduce costs within a communication network. Regarding Claim 15, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 12, but does not teach when the computer instructions are executed by the processor cause the communication apparatus to: receive a first user request message from the access network device, wherein the first user request message comprises the access management connection identifier; send a second user request message to the mobility management entity, wherein the second user request message comprises the mobility management connection identifier, and the mobility management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier; receive a second user acknowledgment message from the mobility management entity, wherein the second user acknowledgment message comprises the access management connection identifier; and send a first user acknowledgment message to the access network device, wherein the first user acknowledgment message comprises the access network connection identifier, and the access network connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the access network connection identifier. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP 23.060 teaches when the computer instructions are executed by the processor cause the communication apparatus to: receive a first user request message from the access network device, wherein the first user request message comprises the access management connection identifier; (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “1. Activate PDP Context Request” Par. 1) “the MS sends an Activate PDP Request message to the SGSN as defined in clause ‘PDP Context Activation Procedure’. The MS shall leave PDP Address empty and set PDP Type to IPv6 or IPv4v6”), send a second user request message to the mobility management entity, wherein the second user request message comprises the mobility management connection identifier, and the mobility management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier; (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “2. Create PDP Context Request” Par. 2) “Upon reception of the Create PDP Context Request, the GGSN creates an IPv6 address composed of the prefix allocated to the PDP context and an interface identifier generated by the GGSN”), receive a second user acknowledgment message from the mobility management entity, wherein the second user acknowledgment message comprises the access management connection identifier; (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “2. Create PDP Context Request” Par. 2) “This address is then returned in the PDP Address information element in the Create PDP Context Response, in both the SGSN and the GGSN, is otherwise as specified in clause ‘PDP Context Activation Procedure’”), and send a first user acknowledgment message to the access network device, wherein the first user acknowledgment message comprises the access network connection identifier, and the access network connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the access network connection identifier (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “2. Activate PDP Context Accept” Par. 3) “The MS receives the IPv6 address produced by the GGSN in the Activate PDP Context Accept. The MS extracts the interface identifier from the address received and stores it. The MS shall use this interface identifier to build its link-local address and may also use it for building its full IPv6 address”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 3GPP 23.060’s PDP context procedure with Zembutsu’s attach procedure to better reduce costs within a communication network. Regarding Claim 16, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 12, but does not teach when the computer instructions are executed by the processor, the computer instructions cause the communication apparatus to: receive a first network request message from the mobility management entity, wherein the first network request message comprises the access management connection identifier; and send a second network request message to the access network device, wherein the second network request message comprises the access network connection identifier, and the access network connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the access network connection identifier. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP 23.060 teaches when the computer instructions are executed by the processor, the computer instructions cause the communication apparatus to: receive a first network request message from the mobility management entity, wherein the first network request message comprises the access management connection identifier; (Pg. 170, Fig. 6.9.5-1: UE Radio Capability Match Request, “1. Iu: UE Radio Capability Match Request” Par. 6.9.5 UE Radio Capability Match Request “the SGSN may send a UE Radio Capability Match Request to the RAN” and “1. The SGSN indicates whether the SGSN wants to receive Voice support match indicator” and “2. Upon receiving a UE Radio Capability Match Request from the SGSN, if the RAN has not already received the UE capability from the MS the RAN requests the MS to upload the UE Capability information by sending the RRC UE Capability Enquiry”), and send a second network request message to the access network device, wherein the second network request message comprises the access network connection identifier, and the access network connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the access network connection identifier (Pg. 170, Fig. 6.9.5-1: UE Radio Capability Match Request, “2. RRC: UE Capability Enquiry” Par. 6.9.5 UE Radio Capability Match Request “2. Upon receiving a UE Radio Capability Match Request from the SGSN, if the RAN has not already received the UE capability from the MS the RAN requests the MS to upload the UE Capability information by sending the RRC UE Capability Enquiry” and “3. The MS provides the RAN with its UE capabilities sending the RRC UE Capability Information” and 4. “Upon receiving a UE Radio Capability Match Request from the SGSN, the RAN checks whether the UE capabilities are compatible with the network configuration”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 3GPP 23.060’s UE capability matching with Zembutsu’s attach procedure to better reduce costs within a communication network. Regarding Claim 19, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 17, but does not teach when the computer instructions are executed by the processor, the computer instructions cause the communication apparatus to: receive a second user request message from the access management entity, wherein the second user request message comprises the mobility management connection identifier; and send a second user acknowledgment message to the access management entity, wherein the second user acknowledgment message comprises the access management connection identifier, and the access management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP 23.060 teaches when the computer instructions are executed by the processor, the computer instructions cause the communication apparatus to: receive a second user request message from the access management entity, wherein the second user request message comprises the mobility management connection identifier; (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “2. Create PDP Context Request” Par. 2) “Upon reception of the Create PDP Context Request, the GGSN creates an IPv6 address composed of the prefix allocated to the PDP context and an interface identifier generated by the GGSN”), and send a second user acknowledgment message to the access management entity, wherein the second user acknowledgment message comprises the access management connection identifier, and the access management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier (Pg. 229, Fig. 62, “2. Create PDP Context Request” Par. 2) “This address is then returned in the PDP Address information element in the Create PDP Context Response, in both the SGSN and the GGSN, is otherwise as specified in clause ‘PDP Context Activation Procedure’” and Par. 3) “The MS receives the IPv6 address produced by the GGSN in the Activate PDP Context Accept. The MS extracts the interface identifier from the address received and stores it. The MS shall use this interface identifier to build its link-local address and may also use it for building its full IPv6 address”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 3GPP 23.060’s PDP context procedure with Zembutsu’s attach procedure to better reduce costs within a communication network. Regarding Claim 20, Zembutsu teaches the invention of Claim 17, but does not teach when the computer instructions are executed by the processor, the computer instructions cause the communication apparatus to: send a first network request message to the access management entity, wherein the first network request message comprises the access management connection identifier, and the access management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier. In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP 23.060 discloses when the computer instructions are executed by the processor, the computer instructions cause the communication apparatus to: send a first network request message to the access management entity, wherein the first network request message comprises the access management connection identifier, and the access management connection identifier is determined based on the association relationship between the access management connection identifier and the mobility management connection identifier (Pg. 170, Fig. 6.9.5-1: UE Radio Capability Match Request, “1. Iu: UE Radio Capability Match Request” Par. 6.9.5 UE Radio Capability Match Request “the SGSN may send a UE Radio Capability Match Request to the RAN” and “1. The SGSN indicates whether the SGSN wants to receive Voice support match indicator” and “2. Upon receiving a UE Radio Capability Match Request from the SGSN, if the RAN has not already received the UE capability from the MS the RAN requests the MS to upload the UE Capability information by sending the RRC UE Capability Enquiry” and “3. The MS provides the RAN with its UE capabilities sending the RRC UE Capability Information” and 4. “Upon receiving a UE Radio Capability Match Request from the SGSN, the RAN checks whether the UE capabilities are compatible with the network configuration”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 3GPP 23.060’s UE capability matching with Zembutsu’s attach procedure to better reduce costs within a communication network . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Werner et al. (CN 102652455 provided in IDS) discloses “Therefore, first radio base station is set up toward the S1-AP signaling of a MME 10 and is connected, and connects toward the S1-AP signaling of the 2nd MME 11 of the different TAC of service” (Pg. 6 of provided foreign reference). Zhu et al. discloses “At step 1006 , the new MME may receive a Context Response including the access restriction or RAT restriction data associated with the UE from the old MME or the old AMF” (Par. [0179], Fig. 10-11). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSEPH NGHIA DINH whose telephone number is (571)272-7982. The examiner can normally be reached Mon. - Fri. 7:30AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Appiah can be reached at 571-272-7904. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.N.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2641 /CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 2 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 3 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 4 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 5 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 6 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 7 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 8 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 9 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 10 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 11 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 12 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 13 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 14 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 15 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 16 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 17 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 18 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 19 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 20 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 21 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 22 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 23 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 24 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 25 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 26 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 27 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 28 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 29 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 30 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/783,780 Page 31 Art Unit: 2641