DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 1/16/2026. Claims 1-6, 8-9, 18, 20-30 are pending. Claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 21-30 are new.
Claims 1-7 and 18-20 were rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,540. The Terminal Disclaimer filed on 1/16/2026 has been disapproved on 1/30/2026 because the person who signed the Terminal Disclaimer is not the applicant, patentee, or an attorney or agent of record. The rejection of claims 2-7 and 18-20 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,540 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments. The rejection of claims 1, and 18 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,540 still appears to be appropriate so has been maintained.
Claims 1-7 and 18-20 were rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,313,632. The rejection of claims 2-7 and 18-20 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,313,632 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments. The rejection of claims 1, and 18 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,313,632 still appears to be appropriate so has been maintained.
The rejections of claims 4 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1 and 7 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krowech (US 2009/0282631). Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Krowech ‘631 does not disclose an elongate wedge because the tines 44/44a/48 do not constitute a first wedge half and a second wedge half. This is not persuasive because the tines 44/44a/48 collectively form a hydraulic wedge device (40), and the separate tines, as they spread apart, can be broadly and reasonably construed as being the wedge halfs of the wedge (Figure 11). Additionally, Applicant argues that the tines 44/44a/48 separate at a far end resulting in the tubes and fins being separated more at the far end. This is not persuasive because either end of the wedge device (40) can be construed as the near end or the far end, such that a portion near the pivot point or the stop blocks (50) can be at the far end. Furthermore, both the portion of the wedge (40) at the pivot point or stop blocks (50) and the tip portion of the tines (44/44a/48) can laterally separate to spread apart tubes (Figure 11). The rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krowech (US 2009/0282631) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krowech (US 2016/0116158) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments. Claim 18 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krowech (US 2016/0116158) and has been amended to recite additional details of the plate and elongate wedge. However, Krowech ‘158 is still considered to meet claim 18 because it has a plate (at 44 or 110) and an elongate wedge (40) that both extend in 3-dimensions, and the plate and near end of the wedge can be sliced in arbitrary planes and arbitrary locations to meet the cross-sectional area limitations.
The rejections of claims 4 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combinations of Krowech ‘158 and Krowech ‘631 are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
In response to Applicant’s amendments, new ground(s) of rejection are applied below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 18, 25, and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,540. Although the claims at issue
are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims
are substantially anticipated by the conflicting claims, except for minor differences in language
and/or minor obvious differences. Additionally, see the following prior art rejections for discussions of what is known in the prior art and considered to be obvious to a PHOSITA.
Claims 1, 18, 25, and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as
being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,313,632. Although the claims at issue
are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims
are substantially anticipated by the conflicting claims, except for minor differences in language
and/or minor obvious differences. Additionally, see the following prior art rejections for
discussions of what is known in the prior art and considered to be obvious to a PHOSITA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 20-24, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-6 and 28-30 are drawn to an embodiment having features of a plate which is shown as element 58 in Figures 20-26. Claims 2-6 and 28-30 are dependent from claims 1 and 27, respectively, which are drawn to an embodiment having an elongate wedge having a first wedge half and a second wedge half shown as elements 28, 76, and 78 in Figures 27-32. There is no apparent original support for an embodiment combining the features of the species shown in Figures 20-26 with the species shown in Figures 27-32. The claimed invention has not been described in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claims 20-24 are drawn an embodiment having features of an elongate wedge having a first wedge half and a second wedge half shown as elements 28, 76, and 78 in Figures 27-32. Claims 20-24 are dependent from claim 18 which is drawn to an embodiment having a plate which is shown as element 58 in Figures 20-26. There is no apparent original support for an embodiment combining the features of the species shown in Figures 20-26 with the species shown in Figures 27-32. The claimed invention has not been described in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claims 2-6, 20-24, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 2-6 and 28-30 are drawn to an embodiment having features of a plate which is shown as element 58 in Figures 20-26. Claims 2-6 and 28-30 are dependent from claims 1 and 27, respectively, which are drawn to an embodiment having an elongate wedge having a first wedge half and a second wedge half shown as elements 28, 76, and 78 in Figures 27-32. There is no apparent original support for an embodiment combining the features of the species shown in Figures 20-26 with the species shown in Figures 27-32. The disclosure is insufficient to enable one skilled in the art to make and use the claimed invention because the disclosure lacks sufficient details of the construction and structure of the claimed apparatus to enable a PHOSITA to make and/or use the invention without undue experimentation. The specification appears to be silent with regard to any details of how the different embodiments would be combined, lacking direction provided by the inventor and any working examples. The embodiment shown in Figures 27-32 includes structural elements, such as an expanding wedge (76, 78), a threaded rod (80), a parallel oriented gate (82), and a hose (86) that appear not to readily cooperate with or to interfere with the plate structure (58) of the embodiment of Figures 20-26, such that a combination of these embodiments would likely require substantial reengineering and undue experimentation. Additionally, there is no indication that such an embodiment is known in the prior art. Based on these factors, the disclosure is considered not to be enabling for the claimed embodiment.
Claims 20-24 are drawn to an embodiment having an elongate wedge having a first wedge half and a second wedge half shown as elements 28, 76, and 78 in Figures 27-32. Claims 20-24 are dependent from claim 18 which is drawn to an embodiment having features of a plate which is shown as element 58 in Figures 20-26. There is no apparent original support for an embodiment combining the features of the species shown in Figures 20-26 with the species shown in Figures 27-32. The disclosure is insufficient to enable one skilled in the art to make and use the claimed invention because the disclosure lacks sufficient details of the construction and structure of the claimed apparatus to enable a PHOSITA to make and/or use the invention without undue experimentation. The specification appears to be silent with regard to any details of how the different embodiments would be combined, lacking direction provided by the inventor and any working examples. The embodiment shown in Figures 27-32 includes structural elements, such as an expanding wedge (76, 78), a threaded rod (80), a parallel oriented gate (82), and a hose (86) that appear not to readily cooperate with or to interfere with the plate structure (58) of the embodiment of Figures 20-26, such that a combination of these embodiments would likely require substantial reengineering and undue experimentation. Additionally, there is no indication that such an embodiment is known in the prior art. Based on these factors, the disclosure is considered not to be enabling for the claimed embodiment.
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitations “the first wedge half” and “the second wedge half." There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krowech (US 2009/0282631; hereafter “Krowech ‘631”).
Regarding claims 1 and 26, Krowech ‘631 discloses a deep cleaning alignment equipment used to clean a heat recovery steam generator system including a plurality of metallic tubes, wherein each of the plurality of tubes includes a base with a plurality of fins extending outwardly from the base, the deep cleaning alignment equipment comprising: an elongate wedge having a near end and a far end separated by a length, wherein the far end of the wedge is configured to contact and spread the plurality of tubes and the plurality of fins to form a channel therebetween (Figure 10: 40; either end could be construed as the far end or near end), the elongate wedge further comprising: a first wedge half (44/44a); and a second wedge half (48); wherein the first wedge half and the second wedge half are movable between: a collapsed configuration having a first width (Figures 10-11; paragraph 26); an expanded configuration having a second width where the first wedge half and the second wedge half are laterally separated at the near end (Figures 10-11; paragraph 26; both the tip of the tines and the portion at element 50 are laterally separated); and wherein the second width is wider than the first width (Figures 10-11; paragraph 26); and a wand configured to spray one of a liquid or a gas about the heat recovery steam generator system (20); wherein the elongate wedge contacts the plurality of tubes and the plurality of fins about an extended surface area to minimize a stress force between the wedge and the plurality tubes and the plurality of fins (see Figures 12-23; also note that this limitation is considered to be intended use of the apparatus); and wherein the wand is removably insertable into the channel (see Figures 12-23; also note that this limitation is considered to be intended use of the apparatus).
The limitations directed to the heat recovery steam generator system and the use of the
deep cleaning alignment equipment are intended use capable of being met by the apparatus of
Krowech '631. Also note that the limitation, "wherein the elongate wedge contacts the
plurality of tubes and the plurality of fins about an extended surface area to minimize a stress
force between the wedge and the plurality tubes and the plurality of fins" could be met by
having an appropriate heat recovery steam generator system and by using the apparatus of
Krowech '631 in such a way so as to minimize stress. The claimed intended use must result in a
structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably
distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claim 26, Krowech ‘631 discloses wherein the elongate wedge further comprises a hinge located between the first wedge half and the second wedge half at the far end (Figures 10-11; paragraph 26); and wherein the first wedge half and the second wedge half pivot about the hinge to the expanded configuration (Figures 10-11; paragraph 26).
Claim(s) 18 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krowech (US 2016/0116158, hereafter “Krowech ‘158”).
Regarding claim 18, Krowech '158 discloses a deep cleaning alignment equipment
comprising: an elongate wedge configured to contact and spread a plurality of tubes and fins to
form a channel therebetween and having a near end and a far end (40); a plate configured to be releasably secured to a near end of the elongate wedge, wherein the plate extends in the sagittal plane and the elongate wedge extends in the transverse plane substantially perpendicular to the sagittal plane (44 or 110; 40, 44, and 110 all extend in 3-dimensions); and a wand configured to spray one of a liquid or a gas about the heat recovery steam generator system (20); and wherein the wand is removably insertable into the channel (Figures 2, 3; note that this limitation is intended use); wherein the plate has a first cross sectional area (see Figures 4-6; note that the slice can be in any arbitrary location or plane, such as a diagonal plane); wherein the near end of the elongate wedge has a second cross sectional area (see Figures 4-6; note that the slice can be in any arbitrary location or plane, such as a diagonal plane); and wherein the first cross sectional area is greater than the second cross sectional area (see Figures 4-6; the cross sectional slices can be placed in appropriate locations to meet the area limitations).
The limitations directed to the tubes and fins and the use of the deep cleaning
alignment equipment are intended use capable of being met by the apparatus of Krowech '158.
The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention
and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claim 25, Krowech ‘158 discloses at least one fastener (76; paragraph 79); wherein the plate further comprises: a substantially planar base (Figure 6: upper portion of 112); at least one bracket extending from the substantially planar base (downwardly extending element 116); and at least one plate opening extending through that least one bracket (120); wherein the elongate wedge further comprises at least one wedge opening extending therethrough (see 40 at 76; paragraph 67, 79): wherein the at least one fastener extends through the at least one plate opening and the at least one wedge opening to secure the plate to the elongate wedge (76, 120; paragraphs 67, 79).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27 is allowed.
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose, or render obvious, the deep cleaning alignment equipment as recited in the combination of claims 1 and 8; the combination of claims 1 and 9; or as recited in claim 27. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Krowech (US 2009/0282631) or Krowech (US 2016/0116158), to further include the features of the deep cleaning alignment equipment recited in claims 8, 9, or 27.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711