DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, 18, 23-33 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 4, 18, 23, and 25 have been amended. Claims 31-33 are new.
The rejection of claims 1, and 26 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,540 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments. The rejection of claims 1, and 26 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,313,632 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments. It is also noted that the Terminal Disclaimer filed 1/16/2026 for U.S. Patent No. 12,270,540 has not been resubmitted after the Power of Attorney was filed on 5/5/2026. The review decision mailed 1/30/2026 indicated that a new copy of the Terminal Disclaimer is required, but no new fee is required. No Terminal Disclaimer has been filed for U.S. Patent No. 11,313,632.
The rejection of claims 18, and 25 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,540 is maintained as these rejections are still considered to be appropriate. The rejection of claims 18, and 25 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,313,632 is maintained as these rejections are still considered to be appropriate.
Claims 2-6, 20-24, and 28-30 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claims 2-6, 20-24, and 28-30 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. Applicant disagrees with these rejections and draws attention to the portion of the specification stating "all the disclosed features of each disclosed embodiment can be combined with, or substituted for, the disclosed features of every other disclosed embodiment except where such features are mutually exclusive" (paragraph 130). The Examiner respectfully disagrees because these embodiments as taught by the originally filed disclosure are mutually exclusive. For example, the embodiment of claims 2, 4-6, 23, 24, and 28-30 are drawn to embodiments shown in Figures 27-32 combined with the smash plate (58) from the embodiments shown in Figures 20-26. The rod (80) and gates (82) from the embodiment of Figures 27-30 and the hose (86) from the embodiment of Figures 31-32 would interfere with the smash plate (58) and the gates (82) and the bag (84) would interfere with the fasteners/bolts/hooks (62, 64, 66, 72, 74). The embodiments are mutually exclusive due to interfering parts and would require additional modification, not originally shown or described, for a combined embodiment. The specification also provides no showing that there is an actual reduction to practice or any showing that the invention was complete, supporting a conclusion that the inventor was not in possession of the claimed invention (MPEP 2163.02). For similar reasons the claims are not enabled since the disclosure lacks sufficient detail of the construction and structure of the claimed embodiments, and the claimed embodiments would require re-engineering and undue experimentation. For these reasons, the rejections are maintained.
The rejection of claims 23-24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claim(s) 1 and 26 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krowech (US 2009/0282631; hereafter “Krowech ‘631”) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
Claim(s) 18 and 25 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krowech (US 2016/0116158, hereafter “Krowech ‘158”). Claim 18 has been amended to recite “wherein the surface of contact of the removable plate is substantially larger than the surface of contact of the elongate wedge.” First, Applicant argues that Krowech ‘158 does not disclose a removable plate. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because elements 102, 112, or 114, for example, are plates, and they can be removed from the spreader bar 40 (see Figures 4-6). Applicant also argues that Krowech ‘158 does not disclose “wherein the surface of contact of the removable plate is substantially larger than the surface of contact of the elongate wedge.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The term surface of contact is broadly and reasonably interpreted as any surface which may be contacted by a user. This interpretation is consistent with the originally filed specification that indicates the surface of contact is a place where a user may contact the smash plate or wedge (paragraph 71). Since a user can choose where and how to contact any surface, the surface of contact is not limiting as it is based on an intended use and a user can choose to contact any arbitrary sized or located surface.
In response to Applicant’s amendments, new/modified ground(s) of rejection are applied below.
Double Patenting
Claims 18, 25, 31, and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,540. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are substantially anticipated by the conflicting claims, except for minor differences in language and/or minor obvious differences. Additionally, see the following prior art rejections for discussions of what is known in the prior art and considered to be obvious to a PHOSITA.
Claims 18, 25, 31, and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,313,632. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are substantially anticipated by the conflicting claims, except for minor differences in language and/or minor obvious differences. Additionally, see the following prior art rejections for discussions of what is known in the prior art and considered to be obvious to a PHOSITA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-6, 23, 24, 28-30, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2, 4-6, 28-30, and 33 are drawn to an embodiment having features of a plate which is shown as element 58 in Figures 20-26. Claims 2, 4-6, 28-30, and 33 are dependent from claims 1 and 27, respectively, which are drawn to an embodiment having an elongate wedge having a first wedge half and a second wedge half shown as elements 28, 76, and 78 in Figures 27-32. There is no apparent original support for an embodiment combining the features of the species shown in Figures 20-26 with the species shown in Figures 27-32. The claimed invention has not been described in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claims 23-24 are drawn an embodiment having features of an elongate wedge having a first wedge half and a second wedge half shown as elements 28, 76, and 78 in Figures 27-32. Claims 23-24 are dependent from claim 18 which is drawn to an embodiment having a plate which is shown as element 58 in Figures 20-26. There is no apparent original support for an embodiment combining the features of the species shown in Figures 20-26 with the species shown in Figures 27-32. The claimed invention has not been described in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claims 2, 4-6, 23, 24, 28-30, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 2, 4-6 28-30, and 33 are drawn to an embodiment having features of a plate which is shown as element 58 in Figures 20-26. Claims 2, 4-6, 28-30, and 33 are dependent from claims 1 and 27, respectively, which are drawn to an embodiment having an elongate wedge having a first wedge half and a second wedge half shown as elements 28, 76, and 78 in Figures 27-32. There is no apparent original support for an embodiment combining the features of the species shown in Figures 20-26 with the species shown in Figures 27-32. The disclosure is insufficient to enable one skilled in the art to make and use the claimed invention because the disclosure lacks sufficient details of the construction and structure of the claimed apparatus to enable a PHOSITA to make and/or use the invention without undue experimentation. The specification appears to be silent with regard to any details of how the different embodiments would be combined, lacking direction provided by the inventor and any working examples. The embodiment shown in Figures 27-32 includes structural elements, such as an expanding wedge (76, 78), a threaded rod (80), a parallel oriented gate (82), and a hose (86) that appear not to readily cooperate with or to interfere with the plate structure (58) of the embodiment of Figures 20-26, such that a combination of these embodiments would likely require substantial reengineering and undue experimentation. Additionally, there is no indication that such an embodiment is known in the prior art. Based on these factors, the disclosure is considered not to be enabling for the claimed embodiment.
Claims 23-24 are drawn to an embodiment having an elongate wedge having a first wedge half and a second wedge half shown as elements 28, 76, and 78 in Figures 27-32. Claims 23-24 are dependent from claim 18 which is drawn to an embodiment having features of a plate which is shown as element 58 in Figures 20-26. There is no apparent original support for an embodiment combining the features of the species shown in Figures 20-26 with the species shown in Figures 27-32. The disclosure is insufficient to enable one skilled in the art to make and use the claimed invention because the disclosure lacks sufficient details of the construction and structure of the claimed apparatus to enable a PHOSITA to make and/or use the invention without undue experimentation. The specification appears to be silent with regard to any details of how the different embodiments would be combined, lacking direction provided by the inventor and any working examples. The embodiment shown in Figures 27-32 includes structural elements, such as an expanding wedge (76, 78), a threaded rod (80), a parallel oriented gate (82), and a hose (86) that appear not to readily cooperate with or to interfere with the plate structure (58) of the embodiment of Figures 20-26, such that a combination of these embodiments would likely require substantial reengineering and undue experimentation. Additionally, there is no indication that such an embodiment is known in the prior art. Based on these factors, the disclosure is considered not to be enabling for the claimed embodiment.
Claims 2, 4-6, 18, 23-25, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, and 18 recites the limitations “a plate having a surface of contact significantly larger than the surface of contact of the near end,” and “wherein the surface of contact of the removable plate is significantly larger than the surface of contact of the elongate wedge," respectively. The term “significantly larger” is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “significantly” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 25, 31, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krowech (US 2016/0116158, hereafter “Krowech ‘158”).
Regarding claim 18, Krowech '158 discloses a deep cleaning alignment equipment
comprising: an elongate wedge configured to contact and spread a plurality of tubes and fins to
form a channel therebetween and having a near end having a surface of contact and a far end having a pointy end (40; surface of contact is any arbitrary sized/shaped portion which can be contacted by a user); a removable plate configured to be releasably secured to a near end of the elongate wedge, wherein the removable plate extends in the sagittal plane and the elongate wedge extends in the transverse plane substantially perpendicular to the sagittal plane, and wherein the removable plate has a surface of contact (44 or 110; 40, 44, and 110 all extend in 3-dimensions; in particular, note 102, 112, 114; surface of contact is any arbitrary sized/shaped portion which can be contacted by a user); and a wand configured to spray one of a liquid or a gas about the heat recovery steam generator system (20); and wherein the wand is removably insertable into the channel (Figures 2, 3; note that this limitation is intended use); and wherein the surface of contact of the removable plate is significantly larger than the surface of contact of the elongate wedge (since a user can choose where and how to contact any surface, the surface of contact is not limiting as it is based on an intended use and a user can choose to contact any arbitrary sized or located surface).
The limitations directed to the tubes and fins and the use of the deep cleaning
alignment equipment are intended use capable of being met by the apparatus of Krowech '158.
The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention
and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claim 25, Krowech ‘158 discloses at least one fastener (76; paragraph 79); wherein the removable plate further comprises: a substantially planar base (Figure 6: 102, or upper portion of 112); at least one bracket extending from the substantially planar base (112/114/116 and/or downwardly extending element 116); and at least one plate opening extending through that least one bracket (120); wherein the elongate wedge further comprises at least one wedge opening extending therethrough (see 40 at 76; paragraph 67, 79): wherein the at least one fastener extends through the at least one plate opening and the at least one wedge opening to secure the removable plate to the elongate wedge (76, 120; paragraphs 67, 79).
Regarding claims 31-32, Krowech ‘158 discloses wherein the plate has a first cross sectional area (see Figures 4-6; note that the slice can be in any arbitrary location or plane, such as a diagonal plane); wherein the near end of the elongate wedge has a second cross sectional area (see Figures 4-6; note that the slice can be in any arbitrary location or plane, such as a diagonal plane); and wherein the first cross sectional area is greater than the second cross sectional area (see Figures 4-6; the cross sectional slices can be placed in appropriate locations to meet the area limitations); the removable plate is movable between: an engaged position where the removable plate is secured to the elongate wedge (Figures 4-6); and a disengaged position where the removable plate is separated from the elongate wedge (see 96, 98, 120).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 8, 9, 26, and 27 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose, or render obvious, the deep cleaning alignment equipment as recited in the combination of claim 1; or as recited in claim 27. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Krowech (US 2009/0282631) or Krowech (US 2016/0116158), to further include the features of the deep cleaning alignment equipment recited in claims 1, or 27.
Conclusion
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711