DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 08/20/2026 are entered. The amendments made to claims 27 and 35 change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the currently amended claims as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 21, 29 and 37, the Applicant argues that previously cited reference, Ji, fails to disclose the claimed feature of “to selectively perform sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX, are configured to perform reception during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX for use in performing sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX”. The Applicant appears to argue that Ji discloses the claimed “sensing” during inactive time of the sidelink DRX but does not disclose the claimed “reception” during inactive time of the sidelink DRX in previously cited paragraph [0034] of Ji. However, it is clear that the Ji discloses the “monitoring” (which is equivalent to the claimed “sensing”) of resources outside the SL DRX on-duration as shown in paragraph [0034]. And Ji is also clear that this “monitoring” is conducted to receive transmission from the Tx terminal, as apparent in Fig. 2 and paragraph [0033], which recites “A data transmission from the Tx terminal device is illustrated by arrow 204 and a data transmission that is received by an Rx terminal device is illustrated by arrow 206. As can be seen from FIG. 2”. That is, each downward arrow 206 in Fig. 2 represents reception by the Rx terminal that occurs during monitoring occasion represented by the dotted arrow 208. Paragraph [0035] of Ji also recites “monitor for SL reception”, which suggests that the “monitoring” as disclosed in paragraph [0034], is a procedure that monitors for the SL reception such that the device also receives in addition to the monitoring/sensing during the indicated the resource. Therefore, it is clear that Ji discloses the claimed “reception” and the previously presented grounds of rejections are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 27-28 and 35-36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-26, 29-34 and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (US 2024/0349310) in view of Li (US 2022/0400469).
Ji discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 21, an apparatus for wireless communication at a UE (see terminal device 112 in Fig. 1, terminal device 326 in Fig. 3, or terminal device 400 in Fig. 4), comprising:
one or more memories (see memory 420 in Fig. 4); and
one or more processors (see processor 410 in Fig. 4) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
selectively perform sensing for sidelink resource selection during an inactive time of sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) based at least in part on an indication to perform sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see “In the initial SL data transmission, the Tx terminal device may further indicate the future reserved resources 208 for its SL data transmissions, which may be periodic and/or re-transmission. The indicating may be performed for example by using information elements (IEs) “Frequency resource assignment”, “Time resource assignment”, and/or “Resource reservation period” carried in the associated 1st stage SCI of the first transmission. Thus, after the Rx terminal devices receive the SCI and/or data in the first data transmission transmitted by the Tx terminal device, they may be aware of the future resources that will be used by the Tx terminal device for transmissions towards the Rx terminal devices. Thus, Rx terminal devices may decide to monitor only the indicated resources outside the SL DRX on-duration 202 or, that is, during the SL DRX off-duration 222 of the SL DRX cycle 220 for power saving purpose” recited in paragraph [0034]),
wherein the one or more processors, to selectively perform sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX, are configured to perform reception during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX for use in performing sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see “In the initial SL data transmission, the Tx terminal device may further indicate the future reserved resources 208 for its SL data transmissions, which may be periodic and/or re-transmission. The indicating may be performed for example by using information elements (IEs) “Frequency resource assignment”, “Time resource assignment”, and/or “Resource reservation period” carried in the associated 1st stage SCI of the first transmission. Thus, after the Rx terminal devices receive the SCI and/or data in the first data transmission transmitted by the Tx terminal device, they may be aware of the future resources that will be used by the Tx terminal device for transmissions towards the Rx terminal devices. Thus, Rx terminal devices may decide to monitor only the indicated resources outside the SL DRX on-duration 202 or, that is, during the SL DRX off-duration 222 of the SL DRX cycle 220 for power saving purpose” recited in paragraph [0034]; also see Fig. 2, paragraphs [0033] and [0035]).
Regarding claim 22, wherein the indication is for enabling the sensing to be performed during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see “In the initial SL data transmission, the Tx terminal device may further indicate the future reserved resources 208 for its SL data transmissions, which may be periodic and/or re-transmission. The indicating may be performed for example by using information elements (IEs) “Frequency resource assignment”, “Time resource assignment”, and/or “Resource reservation period” carried in the associated 1st stage SCI of the first transmission. Thus, after the Rx terminal devices receive the SCI and/or data in the first data transmission transmitted by the Tx terminal device, they may be aware of the future resources that will be used by the Tx terminal device for transmissions towards the Rx terminal devices. Thus, Rx terminal devices may decide to monitor only the indicated resources outside the SL DRX on-duration 202 or, that is, during the SL DRX off-duration 222 of the SL DRX cycle 220 for power saving purpose” recited in paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 23, receive the indication from a network entity (see “Tx terminal” recited in paragraph [0034] or “anchoring terminal device 310” in Fig. 3 that indicates the SCI that allows group members to monitor resources outside the SL DRX on-duration as shown in paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the one or more processors, to selectively perform sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX, are configured to: perform sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX based at least in part on a sidelink DRX configuration (see Fig. 3, wherein the terminal 326 receives the SCI to monitor outside the SL DRX on-duration based on SCI received in step 334 and DRX duration configured in step 330 as shown in Fig. 3, paragraphs [0040] and [0046]).
Regarding claim 25, perform a sidelink transmission based at least in part on performing sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see transmission 345 in Fig. 3 sent to the anchoring terminal device after performing sensing during the inactive time to obtain data 340, also see paragraphs [0046]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 29, a method of wireless communication performed by a UE see terminal device 112 in Fig. 1, terminal device 326 in Fig. 3, or terminal device 400 in Fig. 4), comprising:
selectively performing sensing for sidelink resource selection during an inactive time of sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) based at least in part on an indication to perform sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see “In the initial SL data transmission, the Tx terminal device may further indicate the future reserved resources 208 for its SL data transmissions, which may be periodic and/or re-transmission. The indicating may be performed for example by using information elements (IEs) “Frequency resource assignment”, “Time resource assignment”, and/or “Resource reservation period” carried in the associated 1st stage SCI of the first transmission. Thus, after the Rx terminal devices receive the SCI and/or data in the first data transmission transmitted by the Tx terminal device, they may be aware of the future resources that will be used by the Tx terminal device for transmissions towards the Rx terminal devices. Thus, Rx terminal devices may decide to monitor only the indicated resources outside the SL DRX on-duration 202 or, that is, during the SL DRX off-duration 222 of the SL DRX cycle 220 for power saving purpose” recited in paragraph [0034]),
wherein selectively performing sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX, are configured to perform reception during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX for use in performing sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see “In the initial SL data transmission, the Tx terminal device may further indicate the future reserved resources 208 for its SL data transmissions, which may be periodic and/or re-transmission. The indicating may be performed for example by using information elements (IEs) “Frequency resource assignment”, “Time resource assignment”, and/or “Resource reservation period” carried in the associated 1st stage SCI of the first transmission. Thus, after the Rx terminal devices receive the SCI and/or data in the first data transmission transmitted by the Tx terminal device, they may be aware of the future resources that will be used by the Tx terminal device for transmissions towards the Rx terminal devices. Thus, Rx terminal devices may decide to monitor only the indicated resources outside the SL DRX on-duration 202 or, that is, during the SL DRX off-duration 222 of the SL DRX cycle 220 for power saving purpose” recited in paragraph [0034]; also see Fig. 2, paragraphs [0033] and [0035]).
Regarding claim 30, wherein the indication is for enabling the sensing to be performed during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see “In the initial SL data transmission, the Tx terminal device may further indicate the future reserved resources 208 for its SL data transmissions, which may be periodic and/or re-transmission. The indicating may be performed for example by using information elements (IEs) “Frequency resource assignment”, “Time resource assignment”, and/or “Resource reservation period” carried in the associated 1st stage SCI of the first transmission. Thus, after the Rx terminal devices receive the SCI and/or data in the first data transmission transmitted by the Tx terminal device, they may be aware of the future resources that will be used by the Tx terminal device for transmissions towards the Rx terminal devices. Thus, Rx terminal devices may decide to monitor only the indicated resources outside the SL DRX on-duration 202 or, that is, during the SL DRX off-duration 222 of the SL DRX cycle 220 for power saving purpose” recited in paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 31, receive the indication from a network entity (see “Tx terminal” recited in paragraph [0034] or “anchoring terminal device 310” in Fig. 3 that indicates the SCI that allows group members to monitor resources outside the SL DRX on-duration as shown in paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 32, wherein selectively performing sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX comprises: performing sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX based at least in part on a sidelink DRX configuration (see Fig. 3, wherein the terminal 326 receives the SCI to monitor outside the SL DRX on-duration based on SCI received in step 334 and DRX duration configured in step 330 as shown in Fig. 3, paragraphs [0040] and [0046]).
Regarding claim 33, performing a sidelink transmission based at least in part on performing sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see transmission 345 in Fig. 3 sent to the anchoring terminal device after performing sensing during the inactive time to obtain data 340, also see paragraphs [0046]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 37, a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see memory 420 in Fig. 4 for terminal device 112 in Fig. 1, terminal device 326 in Fig. 3, or terminal device 400 in Fig. 4) storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a UE (see processor 410 in Fig. 4), cause the UE to:
selectively perform sensing for sidelink resource selection during an inactive time of sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) based at least in part on an indication to perform sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see “In the initial SL data transmission, the Tx terminal device may further indicate the future reserved resources 208 for its SL data transmissions, which may be periodic and/or re-transmission. The indicating may be performed for example by using information elements (IEs) “Frequency resource assignment”, “Time resource assignment”, and/or “Resource reservation period” carried in the associated 1st stage SCI of the first transmission. Thus, after the Rx terminal devices receive the SCI and/or data in the first data transmission transmitted by the Tx terminal device, they may be aware of the future resources that will be used by the Tx terminal device for transmissions towards the Rx terminal devices. Thus, Rx terminal devices may decide to monitor only the indicated resources outside the SL DRX on-duration 202 or, that is, during the SL DRX off-duration 222 of the SL DRX cycle 220 for power saving purpose” recited in paragraph [0034]),
wherein the one or more processors, to selectively perform sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX, are configured to perform reception during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX for use in performing sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see “In the initial SL data transmission, the Tx terminal device may further indicate the future reserved resources 208 for its SL data transmissions, which may be periodic and/or re-transmission. The indicating may be performed for example by using information elements (IEs) “Frequency resource assignment”, “Time resource assignment”, and/or “Resource reservation period” carried in the associated 1st stage SCI of the first transmission. Thus, after the Rx terminal devices receive the SCI and/or data in the first data transmission transmitted by the Tx terminal device, they may be aware of the future resources that will be used by the Tx terminal device for transmissions towards the Rx terminal devices. Thus, Rx terminal devices may decide to monitor only the indicated resources outside the SL DRX on-duration 202 or, that is, during the SL DRX off-duration 222 of the SL DRX cycle 220 for power saving purpose” recited in paragraph [0034]; also see Fig. 2, paragraphs [0033] and [0035]).
Regarding claim 38, wherein the indication is for enabling the sensing to be performed during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see “In the initial SL data transmission, the Tx terminal device may further indicate the future reserved resources 208 for its SL data transmissions, which may be periodic and/or re-transmission. The indicating may be performed for example by using information elements (IEs) “Frequency resource assignment”, “Time resource assignment”, and/or “Resource reservation period” carried in the associated 1st stage SCI of the first transmission. Thus, after the Rx terminal devices receive the SCI and/or data in the first data transmission transmitted by the Tx terminal device, they may be aware of the future resources that will be used by the Tx terminal device for transmissions towards the Rx terminal devices. Thus, Rx terminal devices may decide to monitor only the indicated resources outside the SL DRX on-duration 202 or, that is, during the SL DRX off-duration 222 of the SL DRX cycle 220 for power saving purpose” recited in paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 39, receive the indication from a network entity (see “Tx terminal” recited in paragraph [0034] or “anchoring terminal device 310” in Fig. 3 that indicates the SCI that allows group members to monitor resources outside the SL DRX on-duration as shown in paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 40, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the UE to selectively perform sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX, cause the UE to: perform sensing during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX based at least in part on a sidelink DRX configuration (see Fig. 3, wherein the terminal 326 receives the SCI to monitor outside the SL DRX on-duration based on SCI received in step 334 and DRX duration configured in step 330 as shown in Fig. 3, paragraphs [0040] and [0046]).
Ji does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 21, 29 and 37, wherein the selectively perform sensing occurs in a set of periodic partial sensing occasions only for a most-recent occasion of a periodicity associated with the set of periodic partial sensing occasions; regarding claims 26 and 34 wherein the periodicity is associated with a list of resource reservation periodicities.
Li discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 21, 29 and 37, selectively perform sensing for a sidelink resource selection outside of the DRX on duration (shown in Ji above) in a set of periodic partial sensing occasions only for a most-recent occasion of a periodicity associated with the set of periodic partial sensing occasions (see “periodic-based partial sensing” recited in paragraph [0423]; see “By default, the UE monitors the most recent sensing occasion for a given reservation periodicity before the resource (re)selection trigger slot n or the first slot of the set of Y candidate slots subject to processing time restriction” recited in paragraph [0424]; abstract, paragraphs [0005], [0351] shows that Li is directed to partial sensing for sidelink communication),
Regarding claims 26 and 34, wherein the periodicity is associated with a list of resource reservation periodicities (see “Preserve is a periodicity value from the configured set of possible resource reservation periods allowed in the resource pool (sl-ResourceReservePeriodList)” recited in paragraph [0382]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Ji using features, as taught by Li, in order to reduce power consumption of the UEs and enhancing NR sidelink (see paragraph [0351] and paragraph [0355] of Li).
Claim(s) 27-28 and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji and Li as applied to claims 21 and 29 above, and further in view of Selvanesan (US 2026/0164502 A1).
Ji and Li disclose the features as shown above.
Ji also discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 28 and 36, wherein the control message include communications associated with a first stage of SCI (see “1st stage of SCI” recited in paragraph [0034]; also see paragraph [0051]).
Ji does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 27 and 35, decode control messages during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX.
Selvanesan discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 27 and 35, wherein the one or more processors, to perform reception during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX, are configured to: decode control messages during the inactive time of the sidelink DRX (see “during the SL DRX OFF duration, the UE is to perform decoding of control information and carrying out the sensing of RSRP” recited in claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Ji and Li using features, as taught by Selvanesan, in order to ascertain whether resources to be used for a transmission are occupied by other UEs (see paragraph [0208] of Selvanesan).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUTAI KAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473