DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 25 July 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Starsinic et al. (US 2024/0007878 A1) (hereinafter Star).
In regards to claim 9, Star teaches a disaster roaming control method, comprising:
sending, by a first network side device, first indication information to a terminal, wherein the first indication information indicates to disable disaster roaming (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0206] the UE may receive an RRC Message notifying the UE the disaster condition is over. The RRC notification may further include a time period within which the UE must de-register from the network. The RRC Message may indicate that the disaster situation is still in place, but the UE is now in an area where the disaster no longer applies. The message may cause the UE to de-register from the network. ).
In regards to claim 10, Star teaches the method according to claim 9, further comprising:
sending, by the first network side device, second indication information to a second network side device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal to disable disaster roaming (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0112] The UE may verify that the second network is experiencing a disaster condition by sending a third network a NAS or RRC message to the network to query, or check, about the disaster situation. Examples of a NAS or RRC message that queries, or checks, about the disaster situation are described later in this document. The third network may be a network that the UE is already registered to when it receives a broadcast from the first network that the second network is experiencing a disaster condition. [0095] Fifth, the Disaster Level, or Disaster Type. This field indicates how much of the network is disabled (e.g., the RAN, Core, IMS domain, or combinations of the three). Alternatively, this field may indicate particular services that are disabled (e.g., voice, SMS, data, or combinations of the three). If the disaster level indicates that the RAN part of the network is disabled, it may further indicate which RAT types are disabled. For example, the disaster level may indicate that only the NR part of the RAN is disabled, only the non-3GPP part of the RAN is disable, or both the NR and non-3GPP parts of the RAN are disabled. Additionally, the Disaster Level information may indicate that certain parts of the network are not disabled. For example, the Disaster Level Information may indicate that the NR part of the RAN, non-3GPP part of the RAN, or Core Network are functional.);
wherein the second indication information comprises identification information of the terminal (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0100] Instead of sending all the disaster information to the network, the UE may send an identifier that is associated with the disaster information. The network may then resolve the identifier to the actual disaster information (e.g., PLMN IDs) and determine if the information is up to date. The identifier that is associated with the disaster information may have been received by the UE from the network with the Disaster Information.).
In regards to claim 11, Star teaches the method according to claim 9:
wherein the sending first indication information to a terminal comprises any one of the following (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0084] In cases where the UE is already connected to the network and the network can at least send control plane messages to the UE, the network can send a control plane message to the UE with the Disaster Information. The control plane message may be an RRC message from a RAN node or an NAS message from an AMF. In addition, the network may send a list of possible PLMNs that the UE can switch to during the disaster condition. Each PLMN in the list may be associated with a precedence number to imply the preference.):
sending, by the first network side device, the first indication information to the terminal by using UPU information; or
sending, by the first network side device, the first indication information to the terminal by using SOR information (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: See paragraph [0084]. [0206] Instead of de-registering from the network, the message may additionally indicate that the UE that the network is steering the UE to hand over to a cell that is in an Allowable PLMN. When this approach is used, the network can gradually move (e.g., handover) UEs to Allowable PLMNs of the UE, thus avoiding a situation where many UE's attempt to leave one network and connect to another network at the same time.).
In regards to claim 12, Star teaches the method according to claim 9:
wherein before the sending, by a first network side device, first indication information to a terminal, the method further comprises (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: See fig. 1):
sending, by the first network side device, first configuration information to the terminal, wherein the first configuration information is used to indicate a disaster roaming-related parameter of the terminal (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0142] The UE will first prioritize PLMNs that it has been explicitly notified will accept disaster roamers. Explicit notification includes receiving Disaster Information in a NAS or RRC message as described above. Alternatively, an explicit notification may include receiving SIM configuration information that indicates PLMN(s) that can serve the UE when a disaster situation applies. The SIM configuration information may also include location information such that the UE knows whether the PLMN(s) can, or cannot, serve the UE during disasters in certain locations. Alternatively, an explicit notification may be included in a NAS rejection message with a cause code that causes the PLMN to be added to the UE's forbidden list. ).
In regards to claim 13, Star teaches a disaster roaming control method, comprising:
receiving, by a second network side device, second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates a terminal to disable disaster roaming (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0111] When the UE receives information in a broadcast from a first network that indicates that a second network is experiencing a disaster condition, the UE needs a way to verify that the information is accurate. For example, it may be the case that the information was received from a malicious/fake network that was broadcasting inaccurate information.); and
performing, by the second network side device, a second operation based on the second indication information, wherein the second operation comprises at least one of the following (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: See fig. 5 and 6.):
sending a first message, wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: See fig. 5 and 6.):
a terminal configuration update message, a deregistration request message (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0224] When the disaster ends, a UE that is a disaster roamer may be in the RM-REGISTERED and CM-IDLE states. When the disaster ends, it is desirable to minimize the amount of signaling that is required for the network to inform the UE that that disaster is over and to move the UE to the RM-DEREGISTERED state. Once the UE is in the RM-DEREGISTERED state, the UE may attempt to select an EHPLMN or HPLMN and initiate the Initial Registration procedure with the HPLMN or EHPLMN. [0230] Alternatively, when the AMF sends a UE Paging Request to the RAN with the UE's Disaster Over Paging Identity Flag, the AMF may consider the UE to be implicitly Deregistered. In this alternative, the UE will move to the RM-DEREGISTERED state upon reception of a paging message that includes the UE's Disaster Over Paging Identity Flag. Thus, in this alternative, the UE can avoid sending a Deregistration request to the network.), or
a NAS rejection message;
skipping sending a second disaster roaming list provided by a VPLMN, or
sending an empty second disaster roaming list provided by a VPLMN; or
deleting a disaster roaming-related terminal context.
In regards to claim 14, Star teaches the method according to claim 13:
wherein the sending a first message comprises: in a case in which the terminal is executing a second service, sending, by the second network side device, the first message after the second service ends (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0113] The UE may alternatively verify that the second network is experiencing a disaster condition by attempting to register with the second network. The registration request may include an indication in the RRC and/or NAS parts of the message that the UE is checking if the network is in a disaster situation. If the network is not in a disaster situation, the network may respond by accepting the registration request or, if the network is in a disaster situation, the network may reject the registration attempt with an RRC or NAS cause code that indicates, or confirms, that the network is in a disaster situation.);
wherein the second service comprises at least one of the following: an emergency PDU session or a high-priority service (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0182] When the network provides the UE with a Disaster Configured NSSAI or a Disaster Mapping of Configured NSSAI, the network may also provide the UE with a PDU Session Count Limit for each slice in the Disaster Configured NSSAI or Disaster Mapping of Configured NSSAI. The PDU Session Count Limit may be a disaster limit that limits how many PDU Session(s) the UE may establish in each slice when connected to a network as a disaster roamer. Additionally, the PDU Session Count Limit may be set for the slice as a PDU session quota for maximum number of PDU sessions exclusively for Disaster Configured NSSAI or a Disaster Mapping of Configured NSSAI, which may be updated based on disaster situation and UE density. Alternatively, the limit for each S-NSSAI (e.g., slice) in the Disaster Configured NSSAI or Disaster Mapping of Configured NSSAI may be provided to the UE when the UE executes a PDU Session Establishment or PDU Session Modification procedure in the slice. [0289] The UE may perform a PLMN reselection procedure (7. Reselection). The UE may start searching sequentially from a PLMN having a higher priority in the PLMN list stored by the UE, and when a corresponding PLMN is found, select it and perform a registration procedure to be described later. In the embodiment of the present specification, PLMN A may be selected because the PLMN A to which the terminal has subscribed has a high priority and the connection will be possible after the disaster situation is over.).
In regards to claim 15, Star teaches the method according to claim 13:
wherein the terminal configuration update message comprises third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates at least one of the following (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: See fig. 2.):
disaster roaming not allowed;
disaster roaming network unavailable (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0177] During the Registration procedure, the AUSF may indicate to the UE that the AUSF does not belong to the UE's HPLMN, but belongs to the PLMN that the UE is attempting to register with. The AUSF will send this indication to the UE in situations where the PLMN cannot communicate with the AUSF of the HPLMN (e.g., because of the disaster). [0190] the Registration Reject message may provide the UE a rejection cause code that indicates that the UE's registration is being rejected because non-3GPP access to the UE's HPLMN or an EHPLMN of the UE may be available in the UE's current location.);
network unavailable; or
service not allowed.
In regards to claim 16, Star teaches the method according to claim 15:
wherein the third indication information comprises one cause value (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0105] a set of cell priorities that include cells of the PLMNs that can serve the UE during the disaster; and/or a back-off timer value in case the UE is not able to initially connect to the Forbidden PLMN. The Back-off timer may indicate how long the UE needs to wait before attempting to access the same PLMN.).
In regards to claim 17, Star teaches the method according to claim 13:
wherein the terminal context comprises a disaster roaming-related configuration parameter, wherein the disaster roaming-related configuration parameter comprises at least one of the following (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: See fig. 2.):
a network resource of the terminal;
a disaster roaming wait range (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0220] Note that, in the examples above, the network that is no longer in a disaster may still be broadcasting an indication that the disaster situation remains. The network may still be indicating failure in order to avoid a flood of UEs attempting to register. However, since the UE was notified by another network that the disaster condition no longer applies, the UE may be permitted to attempt to Register with any of the PLMN IDs in the notification are an Allowable PLMN or EHPLMN of the UE.); or
a disaster return wait range (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0219] If the UE received the notification when the UE is in the CM-CONNECTED state, the notification may further include a random or UE specific timer that indicates how long the UE may wait before deregistering from the network. If any of the PLMN IDs in the notification are an Allowable PLMN or EHPLMN of the UE, then the MT part of the UE may invoke an AT Command to indicate to the ME part of the UE that the disaster is over and the UE must de-register from the current network within a time period. The MT may then terminate existing PDU sessions and the UE may de-register from the network and connect to a PLMN that was identified in the notification.).
In regards to claim 18, Star teaches a terminal, comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions that can be run on the processor, and when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, a step of the disaster roaming control method according to claim 1 is implemented (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0285] network entities may be logical entities that are implemented in the form of computer-executable instructions (software) stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus configured for wireless and/or network communications or a computer system, such as system 90 illustrated in FIG. 3G.).
In regards to claim 19, Star teaches a network side device, comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions that can be run on the processor, and when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, a step of the disaster roaming control method according to claim 9 is implemented (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0285] network entities may be logical entities that are implemented in the form of computer-executable instructions (software) stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus configured for wireless and/or network communications or a computer system, such as system 90 illustrated in FIG. 3G.).
In regards to claim 20, Star teaches a network side device, comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions that can be run on the processor, and when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, a step of the disaster roaming control method according to claim 13 is implemented (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0285] network entities may be logical entities that are implemented in the form of computer-executable instructions (software) stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus configured for wireless and/or network communications or a computer system, such as system 90 illustrated in FIG. 3G.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starsinic et al. (US 2024/0007878 A1) (hereinafter Star) in view of Chun (US 2022/0272651 A1) (hereinafter Chun).
In regards to claim 1, Star-Chun teaches a disaster roaming control method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates to disable disaster roaming (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0095] Fifth, the Disaster Level, or Disaster Type. This field indicates how much of the network is disabled (e.g., the RAN, Core, IMS domain, or combinations of the three). Alternatively, this field may indicate particular services that are disabled (e.g., voice, SMS, data, or combinations of the three). If the disaster level indicates that the RAN part of the network is disabled, it may further indicate which RAT types are disabled. For example, the disaster level may indicate that only the NR part of the RAN is disabled, only the non-3GPP part of the RAN is disable, or both the NR and non-3GPP parts of the RAN are disabled. Additionally, the Disaster Level information may indicate that certain parts of the network are not disabled. For example, the Disaster Level Information may indicate that the NR part of the RAN, non-3GPP part of the RAN, or Core Network are functional.); and
performing, by the terminal, a first operation based on the first indication information (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: See fig. 5, step 5b, [0076] In step 5b, the UE detects that the disaster is over. This detection may be based on the indication that was received from the network and described in the previous step, or it may be based on the UE reading information that is being broadcasted in the PLMN that was in a disaster situation or it may be based on the UE detecting that a PLMN stopped broadcasting an indication that it is in a disaster condition.), wherein
the first operation comprises at least one of the following (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6):
initiating a deregistration process (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0193] Reception of the UE Configuration Update message by the UE may cause the UE or Network to initiate the Deregistration procedure. Alternatively, the network may initiate a deregistration procedure and include the updated Disaster information in the Deregistration Request that is sent to the UE.);
receiving a first message, wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: a terminal configuration update message, a deregistration request message, or a non-access stratum (NAS) rejection message (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0193] Alternatively, the network may send a Registration Accept message to the UE and indicate to the UE that a UE Configuration Update message with updated disaster information is pending. The Registration Accept may include no Allowed NSSAI in order to indicate to the UE that it cannot obtain services from any network slice. The network may subsequently send a UE Configuration Update message to the UE that includes updated Disaster Level information and includes 5GS TAIs of the UE's HPLMN and EHPLMNs that can be used by the UE to construct an N3IWF Tracking/Location Area Identifier FQDN that may be reachable in the UE's current location. Reception of the UE Configuration Update message by the UE may cause the UE or Network to initiate the Deregistration procedure. Alternatively, the network may initiate a deregistration procedure and include the updated Disaster information in the Deregistration Request that is sent to the UE.); or
selecting a public land mobile network (PLMN) (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0204] As illustrated in step 5 of FIG. 1, when the UE is connected to a PLMN during a disaster situation (e.g., the UE is connected to a PLMN that is not an Allowable PLMN), the UE may receive a message that notifies the UE that the disaster condition is over.).
Thus, Star does not explicitly teach deleting a disaster roaming-related terminal context.
Similar to the system of Star, Chun teaches deleting a UE context, which can be seen as, deleting a disaster roaming-related terminal context (Chun, fig.6A-fig11, [0133]-[0181], [0182]-[0264], [0265]-[0306], [0307]-[0387], [0388]-[0443]: [0171] 20) The previous AMF transmits a UE Context Termination Request message to the PCF. [0172] If the previous AMF has previously requested that the UE context be established in the PCF, the old AMF may delete the UE context from the PCF. [0173] 21) The PCF may transmit a UE Context Termination Request message to the previous AMF.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Star with Chun to remove UE context that is no longer needed to improve network resource management (Chun, [0364]).
In regards to claim 2, Star teaches the method according to claim 1:
wherein the initiating a deregistration process comprises: in a case in which the terminal is executing a first service, initiating, by the terminal, the deregistration process after the first service ends (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0183] The PDU Session Count Limit may be considered by the UE when evaluating URSP rules. For example, when the UE evaluates a route (e.g., RSD) in a URSP rule to determine whether it should be associated with an application, the UE may consider the route invalid if a PDU Session that does not match the RSD has already been established in the slice that is indicated in the RSD. In other words, the URSP and RSD may indicate that it is preferred that the UE establish a new PDU Session, however, the UE may choose to instead use an existing PDU Session for the application traffic because the UE has already attained the PDU Session Count Limit. The existing PDU Session may be described by a lower priority RSD. [0184] The UE may also be provided back-off timers that can be used by the network to control the frequency of PDU Session Establishment. For example, the network can indicate that the UE may attempt to establish a new PDU Session no sooner than 5 minutes have a previous PDU Session was established.).
In regards to claim 3, Star teaches the method according to claim 2:
wherein the first service comprises at least one of the following: an emergency protocol data unit (PDU) session or a high-priority service (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0182] When the network provides the UE with a Disaster Configured NSSAI or a Disaster Mapping of Configured NSSAI, the network may also provide the UE with a PDU Session Count Limit for each slice in the Disaster Configured NSSAI or Disaster Mapping of Configured NSSAI. The PDU Session Count Limit may be a disaster limit that limits how many PDU Session(s) the UE may establish in each slice when connected to a network as a disaster roamer. Additionally, the PDU Session Count Limit may be set for the slice as a PDU session quota for maximum number of PDU sessions exclusively for Disaster Configured NSSAI or a Disaster Mapping of Configured NSSAI, which may be updated based on disaster situation and UE density. Alternatively, the limit for each S-NSSAI (e.g., slice) in the Disaster Configured NSSAI or Disaster Mapping of Configured NSSAI may be provided to the UE when the UE executes a PDU Session Establishment or PDU Session Modification procedure in the slice. [0289] The UE may perform a PLMN reselection procedure (7. Reselection). The UE may start searching sequentially from a PLMN having a higher priority in the PLMN list stored by the UE, and when a corresponding PLMN is found, select it and perform a registration procedure to be described later. In the embodiment of the present specification, PLMN A may be selected because the PLMN A to which the terminal has subscribed has a high priority and the connection will be possible after the disaster situation is over.).
In regards to claim 4, Chun teaches the method according to claim 1:
Thus, Star does not explicitly teach wherein the deleting a disaster roaming-related terminal context comprises at least one of the following: after sending a deregistration accept message, deleting, by the terminal, the disaster roaming-related terminal context; after successfully selecting the PLMN, deleting, by the terminal, the disaster roaming-related terminal context; after successfully registering with a first PLMN, deleting, by the terminal, the disaster roaming-related terminal context, wherein the first PLMN is another PLMN different from a PLMN in which the terminal resides; after a first timer expires, deleting, by the terminal, the disaster roaming-related terminal context.
Similar to the system of Star, Chun teaches deleting a terminal context after registration cancellation or timer expiration in a disaster roaming scenario, which can be seen as, wherein the deleting a disaster roaming-related terminal context comprises at least one of the following (Chun, fig.6A-fig11, [0133]-[0181], [0182]-[0264], [0265]-[0306], [0307]-[0387], [0388]-[0443]: [0171] 20) The previous AMF transmits a UE Context Termination Request message to the PCF. [0172] If the previous AMF has previously requested that the UE context be established in the PCF, the old AMF may delete the UE context from the PCF. [0173] 21) The PCF may transmit a UE Context Termination Request message to the previous AMF.):
after successfully registering with a first PLMN, deleting, by the terminal, the disaster roaming-related terminal context, wherein the first PLMN is another PLMN different from a PLMN in which the terminal resides (Chun, fig.6A-fig11, [0133]-[0181], [0182]-[0264], [0265]-[0306], [0307]-[0387], [0388]-[0443]: [0289] The UE may perform a PLMN reselection procedure (7. Reselection). The UE may start searching sequentially from a PLMN having a higher priority in the PLMN list stored by the UE, and when a corresponding PLMN is found, select it and perform a registration procedure to be described later. In the embodiment of the present specification, PLMN A may be selected because the PLMN A to which the terminal has subscribed has a high priority and the connection will be possible after the disaster situation is over. [0287] Upon receiving the registration cancellation request message, the AMF may delete the contents of the corresponding terminal in the context it stores. Furthermore, the contents of the corresponding terminal can be deleted from the context of each node through signaling with each node such as SMF, PCF, and UDM.)
after a first timer expires, deleting, by the terminal, the disaster roaming-related terminal context (Chun, fig.6A-fig11, [0133]-[0181], [0182]-[0264], [0265]-[0306], [0307]-[0387], [0388]-[0443]: [0301] The terminal may start a timer and inform the user of information about the timer. If there is no special action by the user during the time of the timer, the terminal may proceed with the registration cancellation procedure at the same time as the time of the timer expires. [0302] the PLMN B may start a timer separately, and may delete the ID of the terminal from the context at the same time as the timer ends without a request message for deregistration of the terminal. [0301] Upon receiving the registration cancellation request message, the AMF may delete the contents of the corresponding terminal in the context it stores.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Star with Chun to remove UE context that is no longer needed to improve network resource management (Chun, [0364]).
In regards to claim 5, Star teaches the method according to claim 1:
wherein the terminal context comprises a disaster roaming-related configuration parameter, wherein the disaster roaming-related configuration parameter comprises at least one of the following (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: See fig. 2.):
a disaster roaming indication, wherein the disaster roaming indication indicates whether the terminal supports a disaster roaming service;
a first disaster roaming list provided by a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0168] FIG. 2 shows a procedure that a UE may use to select a PLMN to serve the UE during a disaster. It is proposed that, each time the UE forms a list of PLMNs to choose from, the UE uses a rule to prioritize the PLMNs. The rule may be designed such that all UEs that are subject to the disaster condition are not likely to prioritize PLMNs in the same way. Such an approach will decrease the likelihood that a high percentage of the disaster roaming UEs will all attempt to select the same PLMN. For example, the rule maybe be based on an identity of the UE. For example, the rule may be based on several (e.g., 5) LSBs of the UE's IMSI, 5G-GUTI, etc. Furthermore, the list of PLMNs may be ordered in a standardized manner (e.g., based on the several (e.g., 5) LSBs of the PLMN ID) and the UE may determine the order in which it attempts to register with each PLMN based on the several (e.g., 5) LSBs of an identity of the UE. In a different example, the PLMN may be listed in an order (e.g., 1-4) and the UE may determine which PLMN it attempts to Register with first by performing a modulo operation. The modulo operation may be at least a portion of the UE's identity (e.g., a select number of bits from the UE's IMSI) modulo the number of detected Forbidden PLMNs (e.g., 4 detected Forbidden PLMNs). In another example, the detected PLMNs may be listed in priority order (e.g., 1-4) and the UE may determine its own priority by generating a random number (e.g., 1, 2, 3, or 4). [0177] the AUSF does not belong to the UE's HPLMN, but belongs to the PLMN that the UE is attempting to register with.);
a second disaster roaming list provided by a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN);
a disaster roaming wait range; or
a disaster return wait range.
In regards to claim 6, Star teaches the method according to claim 1:
wherein the terminal configuration update message comprises third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates at least one of the following (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: See fig. 2.):
disaster roaming not allowed;
disaster roaming network unavailable (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0177] During the Registration procedure, the AUSF may indicate to the UE that the AUSF does not belong to the UE's HPLMN, but belongs to the PLMN that the UE is attempting to register with. The AUSF will send this indication to the UE in situations where the PLMN cannot communicate with the AUSF of the HPLMN (e.g., because of the disaster). [0190] the Registration Reject message may provide the UE a rejection cause code that indicates that the UE's registration is being rejected because non-3GPP access to the UE's HPLMN or an EHPLMN of the UE may be available in the UE's current location.);
network unavailable; or
service not allowed;
wherein the third indication information comprises one cause value (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0105] a set of cell priorities that include cells of the PLMNs that can serve the UE during the disaster; and/or a back-off timer value in case the UE is not able to initially connect to the Forbidden PLMN. The Back-off timer may indicate how long the UE needs to wait before attempting to access the same PLMN.).
In regards to claim 7, Star teaches the method according to claim 1:
wherein the terminal configuration update message comprises an empty second disaster roaming list provided by the VPLMN (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0177] During the Registration procedure, the AUSF may indicate to the UE that the AUSF does not belong to the UE's HPLMN, but belongs to the PLMN that the UE is attempting to register with. The AUSF will send this indication to the UE in situations where the PLMN cannot communicate with the AUSF of the HPLMN (e.g., because of the disaster). [0190] the Registration Reject message may provide the UE a rejection cause code that indicates that the UE's registration is being rejected because non-3GPP access to the UE's HPLMN or an EHPLMN of the UE may be available in the UE's current location.).
In regards to claim 8, Star teaches the method according to claim 1:
wherein the receiving first indication information comprises any one of the following (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: [0084] In cases where the UE is already connected to the network and the network can at least send control plane messages to the UE, the network can send a control plane message to the UE with the Disaster Information. The control plane message may be an RRC message from a RAN node or an NAS message from an AMF. In addition, the network may send a list of possible PLMNs that the UE can switch to during the disaster condition. Each PLMN in the list may be associated with a precedence number to imply the preference.):
receiving, by the terminal, the first indication information by using user equipment parameter update (UPU) information; or
receiving, by the terminal, the first indication information by using steering of roaming (SOR) information (Star, fig. 1-2, fig. 5-6, [0057]-[0103], [0104]-[0165], [0166]-[0212], [0213]-[0297], [0298]-[0321]: See paragraph [0084]. [0206] Instead of de-registering from the network, the message may additionally indicate that the UE that the network is steering the UE to hand over to a cell that is in an Allowable PLMN. When this approach is used, the network can gradually move (e.g., handover) UEs to Allowable PLMNs of the UE, thus avoiding a situation where many UE's attempt to leave one network and connect to another network at the same time.).
Conclusion
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468