Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/784,709 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that claims 1-2, 4, 7, and 14-16 are included in and can be gleaned from claims 1-13 of Application No. 18/784,709.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1 of claim 14, “a mounting framework” should read ---the mounting framework---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8, 11-13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6-7, 11-12, and 16 recites the limitation "the first bracing arm" and “the second bracing arm” in line 2 of claim 6-7 and 11-12, and in lines 3-5 of claim 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 17-18, the phrase "in relation to the second bracing arm beginning with raising the first bracing arm from the second transport unit via the vehicle crane" in lines 21-22 of claim 17 and lines 25-26 of claim 18 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the method limitation involves the steps of transporting the second bracing arm or the first bracing arm. For the purposes of examination, "in relation to the second bracing arm beginning with raising the first bracing arm from the second transport unit via the vehicle crane" is being interpreted as ---in relation to the second bracing arm beginning with raising the second bracing arm from the second transport unit via the vehicle crane---, since the method steps of transporting and installing the first bracing arm is already explained in lines 11-20 of claim 17 and lines 11-24 of claim 18.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the base frame” in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 is rejected because it is a dependent of claim 7.
Claims 12-13 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Becker (US4660731A).
Regarding claim 1, Becker discloses a mounting framework (25; 72; Figures 2-9) of a vehicle crane, wherein at least one bracing arm (20, 21) of a bracing apparatus (20, 21, 35) of the vehicle crane can be temporarily stored on the mounting framework (25; 72), wherein the mounting framework (25; 724) comprises: precisely one displaceable sliding frame (34; 75; column 5, lines 16-25, column 6, lines 24-45, lifting strut), wherein a single bracing arm (20, 21) can be “indirectly” temporarily stored on the sliding frame (34; 75).
Regarding claim 2, Becker discloses wherein, starting from a receiving position, the sliding frame (34; 75) can be displaced either in a first direction (raised position, dotted line; Figure 9) or in a second direction (lowered position, solid line) opposite to the first direction and can be displaced back again (Figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 3, Becker discloses wherein the sliding frame (34; 75) can be displaced in a mounting direction (vertical displacement) and can be displaced back again, and wherein the sliding frame (34; 75) can be displaced in a mounting direction that extends orthogonally to a longitudinal direction of the mounting framework (25; 72; Figure 9).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Becker discloses wherein the mounting framework (34; 75) comprises a base frame (bottom beam portion of frame 25; Figure 2), an intermediate frame (top plate portion of frame 25) and the sliding frame (34; 75), and wherein the intermediate frame is arranged on the base frame and the sliding frame (34; 75) is arranged in a displaceable manner (in the vertical direction) on the intermediate frame.
Regarding claim 14, Becker discloses wherein the vehicle crane comprises a lower carriage (1; Figure 1) and wherein the mounting framework (34; 75) is fastened to the lower carriage (1) in extension of the lower carriage (1; column 4, line 67 – column 5, line 8; Figures 4 and 9).
Regarding claim 15, Becker discloses wherein the mounting framework (34; 75) is supported on a ground surface via support legs (Figure 3, frame 34;75 includes legs that extend and retract (retracted state shown) at the far right behind the tires of the transport vehicle to support the framework onto the ground surface) at a rear end remote from the lower carriage (1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker in view of Willim (US7686174B2).
Regarding claim 16, Becker discloses wherein the vehicle crane further comprises a superstructure (5; Figures 1-2) and a telescoping jib (26), wherein the telescoping jib (26) comprises a basic box (27) with retractable and extendible inner boxes (28, 29, 30), and wherein the bracing apparatus (20, 21, 35) having the first bracing arm (20, 21) can be attached to the telescoping jib, but fails to teach the second bracing arm can be attached to the telescoping jib and, for attachment purposes, the first bracing arm and the second bracing arm can be placed on the mounting framework one after the other.
Willim teaches a similar mounting framework and further teaches the second bracing arm (second guy 6; Figures 1 and 4) can be attached to the telescoping jib and, for attachment purposes, the first bracing arm (first guy 6) and the second bracing arm (second guy 6) can be placed on the mounting framework (9, 10; 34 of Becker) one after the other. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting framework of Becker to include the mounting framework as taught by Willim in order allow to for additional storage locations for multiple parts of the crane for further teardown and improve efficiency of assembly/disassembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5 and 10 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing wherein the intermediate frame and the sliding frame can be jointly detached from the base frame and, after a rotation, can then be fastened to the base frame such that, starting from a fully retracted receiving position, the sliding frame can be displaced only in a second direction opposite to the first direction and can be displaced back again.
Becker is the closest prior art and further teaches wherein the intermediate frame and the sliding frame form a structural unit, but fails to teach wherein the intermediate frame and the sliding frame can be jointly detached from the base frame and, after a rotation, can then be fastened to the base frame such that, starting from a fully retracted receiving position, the sliding frame can be displaced only in a second direction opposite to the first direction and can be displaced back again.
Claim 7 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing wherein a first storage location for the first bracing arm and a second storage location for the second bracing arm are arranged on the sliding frame.
Becker is the closest prior art and further teaches wherein a first storage location for the first bracing arm is arranged on the sliding frame. Willim teaches a second storage location (second support 9; Figure 4) for the second bracing arm (second guy 6) arranged on the mounting framework (9, 10), however, both Becker and Willim fail to teach wherein a first storage location for the first bracing arm and a second storage location for the second bracing arm are arranged on the sliding frame.
Claims 17 and 18 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing providing a second transport unit having a bracing apparatus, which is received thereon and includes a first bracing arm and a second bracing arm, in the region of the vehicle crane; raising the first bracing arm from the second transport unit by means of the vehicle crane; detaching the intermediate frame and the sliding frame jointly as a structural unit from the base frame, rotating the structural unit and fastening it to the base frame such that, starting from a fully retracted receiving position, the sliding frame can be displaced only in a second direction opposite to the first direction and can be displaced back again; repeating the aforementioned steps in relation to the second bracing arm beginning with raising the [first] second bracing arm from the second transport unit via the vehicle crane and in relation to a second storage location on the sliding frame and a second direction.
Becker teaches a method for mounting a bracing apparatus on a telescoping jib of a vehicle crane, comprising: providing a first transport unit having a mounting framework, received thereon, in the region of the vehicle crane; positioning the mounting framework in extension of a lower carriage of the vehicle crane; fastening the mounting framework to the lower carriage and detaching the vehicle crane from the mounting framework; lowering the first bracing arm of the bracing apparatus onto a sliding frame of the mounting framework at a first storage location via the vehicle crane; displacing the sliding frame in a first direction from a receiving position to a laterally extended lowering position; displacing the sliding frame in the mounting direction and in the direction opposite to the first direction from its lowering position to a central fastening position, in which a fastening frame of the telescoping jib abuts against a basic box of the telescoping jib. Dieleman (US9919637B1) teaches a similar mounting framework and further teaches raising the mounting framework (28; Figure 34) from the first transport unit (800; Figure 23) via the vehicle crane (500). Backes (US11161722B2) teaches a similar method for mounting a bracing apparatus (9; Figure 1) and further teaches raising the mounting framework (10, 17; Figure 4) from the first transport unit (8) via the vehicle crane (1; Figure 3); luffing the telescoping jib down next to the first bracing arm (3); fastening the first bracing arm (11) with its fastening frame (10) to the basic box (4). However, the prior art fails to teach providing a second transport unit having a bracing apparatus, which is received thereon and includes a first bracing arm and a second bracing arm, in the region of the vehicle crane; raising the first bracing arm from the second transport unit by means of the vehicle crane; detaching the intermediate frame and the sliding frame jointly as a structural unit from the base frame, rotating the structural unit and fastening it to the base frame such that, starting from a fully retracted receiving position, the sliding frame can be displaced only in a second direction opposite to the first direction and can be displaced back again; repeating the aforementioned steps in relation to the second bracing arm beginning with raising the [first] second bracing arm from the second transport unit via the vehicle crane and in relation to a second storage location on the sliding frame and a second direction.
Claim 6 would be allowable because it is a dependent of claim 5.
Claim 8 would be allowable because it is a dependent of claim 7.
Claims 11-13 would be allowable because they are dependents of claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3654