DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/25/2024 and 01/16/2026 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2019/0058517 A1; “Kang”) in view of Xi et al. (US 2021/0159966 A1; “Xi”).
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses: A method, implemented in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising
a method performed by a user equipment in an NR wireless communication system (Kang, para [0056], [0059], [Fig. 23] at element 2335).
Further, Kang discloses: receiving a first message comprising configuration information indicating a plurality of downlink reference signal (DL RS) resources, a set of one or more uplink reference signal (UL RS) resources, and a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting; a UE receives RRC configuration including an NZP CSI-RS resource set containing a plurality of CSI-RS (i.e., “downlink reference signal (DL RS)” as claimed) resources for beam management (Kang, paras [0161]-[0163]; Table 4), an SRS resource set with usage configured as beam management (Kang, paras [0312]-[0317]; Table 9), and
and a CSI-ReportConfig (i.e., “a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting” as claimed) with reportQuantity configured as CRI plus L1-RSRP (Kang, paras [0167]-[0169]; Table 5).
Moreover, Kang discloses: performing one or more measurements on one or more DL RSs; that a terminal (e.g., a UE) to be used for DL and UL transmission/reception, and the BM procedures may include the following procedures and terms. [0188] Beam measurement: An operation of measuring properties (Kang, para [0187]-[0188]) and the UE receives CSI-RS resources via different Tx beams from the base station and performs beam measurement on the received CSI-RS (Kang, para [0269]).
Furthermore, Kang discloses: determining a subset of DL RS resources based on the performed one or more measurements; that the UE may be configured to consider a sub-set of detected beams, and the UE selects the best beam based on beam measurement, where the measurement report includes measurements of X number of best beams (Kang, paras [0195], [0198]). For instance, FIG. 12 (also described at paras [0266]–[0272]) teaches that the flowchart showing the Tx beam determination procedure by the base station, which is the exact flow that maps to the claimed limitation the UE selection of the best beams based on measurement corresponds to determining a subset of DL RS resources, as each selected beam is identified by its CRI within the configured set of CSI-RS resources.”
S1210: UE receives NZP CSI-RS resource set IE with parameter repetition through RRC signaling
S1220: UE receives CSI-RS resources via different Tx beams (repetition set to "OFF")
S1230: UE selects the best beam -- this is the subset determination step
S1240: UE reports ID and quality information (CRI + L1-RSRP) to the base station
Additionally, Kang discloses: transmitting a CSI report comprising first information indicating the determined subset of DL RS resources, wherein the CSI report is based on the CSI reporting setting;
Kang discloses that the UE reports ID and quality information of the selected beam to the base station, including a CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI) and L1-RSRP, where the reportQuantity of CSI-ReportConfig is configured as CRI plus L1-RSRP (Kang, paras [0212]-[0214], [0271]).
With respect to claim 1, Kang does not explicitly disclose the UE deriving spatial domain filters from its own DL RS subset selection, while Kang teaches that a UE determines a Tx beam for an SRS resource based on SRS-SpatialRelationInfo which may reference a CSI-RS (Kang, paras [0322]-[0329]): determining one or more spatial domain filters based on the determined subset of DL RS resources; and
However, Kang in view of Xi teaches determining one or more spatial domain filters based on the determined subset of DL RS resources [Xi, paras [0117] and Xi also discloses that a WTRU may autonomously determine UL TX beams based on beam correspondence and DL beam measurement results, and transmit SRS resources with spatial domain transmission filters corresponding to the DL RX beam directions (Xi, paras [0119]).
Further, Kang does not explicitly disclose transmitting only a subset of configured UL RS resources using the determined spatial domain filters, whereas Kang teaches SRS transmission using spatial domain transmission filters specified by SRS-SpatialRelationInfo (Kang, paras [0322]-[0329]): transmitting a subset of one or more UL RS resources of the set of one or more UL RS resources using the determined one or more spatial domain filters.
However, Kang in view of Xi teaches transmitting a subset of one or more UL RS resources using the determined spatial domain filters. Xi discloses that the WTRU may transmit only on those SRS resources configured with SRS-SpatialRelationInfo and may not transmit on other SRS resources not so configured, thereby transmitting from a subset of WTRU transmit beams based on beam correspondence (Xi, para [0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam management method of Kang, which configures CSI-RS and SRS resources and reports CRI-based beam selection in a CSI report, with the teachings of Xi, which enable the WTRU to autonomously determine UL spatial domain transmission filters based on DL beam measurement and to transmit only a subset of SRS resources corresponding to the determined filters.
Doing so would have predictably reduced uplink beam sweeping overhead and latency by leveraging DL beam measurement results to narrow the SRS resources transmitted for beam management, as recognized by Xi.
Regarding claim 2, Kang discloses: The method of claim 1, comprising: receiving a downlink control information (DCI) comprising second information indicating a trigger for CSI reporting, and the transmitting the CSI report is triggered by the DCI. Kang discloses that aperiodic CSI reporting is performed on a PUSCH and triggered by DCI (Kang, para [0409]).
Regarding claim 3, Kang does not explicitly disclose DCI triggering transmission of the subset of UL RS resources, while Kang teaches that aperiodic SRS transmission is triggered by DCI via the aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger field (Kang, paras [0312]-[0317]; Table 9): The method of claim 1 comprising: receiving a DCI comprising third information indicating a trigger for transmission of the subset of one or more UL RS resources, and the transmitting the subset of one or more UL RS resources is triggered by the DCI.
However, Kang in view of Xi teaches the claimed limitation. Xi discloses that dynamic signaling such as DCI may be transmitted to a WTRU to activate one or a subset of the configured SRS sets for the WTRU to perform UL beam management (Xi, para [0126]).
Regarding claim 4, Kang discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the CSI report comprises fourth information indicating one or more results of the one or more measurements on the one or more DL RSs. Kang discloses that the CSI report includes L1-RSRP corresponding to the reported CRI (Kang, para [0271]).
Regarding claim 5, Kang discloses: The method of claim 1 comprising: receiving a DCI comprising scheduling information of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource for transmission of the CSI report; and transmitting the CSI report on the scheduled PUSCH resource. Kang discloses that aperiodic CSI reporting is performed on a PUSCH triggered by DCI, where the DCI schedules the PUSCH resource for CSI transmission (Kang, para [0409]).
Regarding claim 6, Kang does not explicitly disclose determining UL RS transmission times by adding time offsets to the PUSCH transmission time, while Kang teaches that SRS resources are configured with a slot offset for aperiodic SRS transmission (Kang, paras [0312]-[0317]; Table 9): The method of claim 5, wherein the set of one or more UL RS resources are respectively associated with one or more time offsets, and wherein the scheduling information comprises a PUSCH transmission time corresponding to the scheduled PUSCH resource, the method comprising: determining, based on the one or more time offsets, one or more UL RS transmission times respectively associated with the subset of one or more UL RS resources, wherein determining the one or more UL RS transmission times comprises adding the one or more time offsets to the PUSCH transmission time; and
However, Kang in view of Xi teaches determining UL RS transmission times based on time offsets added to a PUSCH transmission time. Kang discloses that SRS resource sets are configured with a slot offset parameter (Kang, para [0313]; Table 9), and Xi discloses that the WTRU determines SRS transmission timing relative to network signaling so the network can decode relevant information before SRS reception (Xi, para [0128]).
Moreover, Kang in view of Xi teaches: transmitting the subset of one or more UL RS resources in the determined respectively one or more UL RS transmission times using the determined spatial domain filters. Xi discloses that the WTRU transmits SRS resources using the determined spatial domain transmission filters (Xi, paras [0117], [0128]).
Accordingly, the rationale to combine Kang with Xi is the same as described in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Kang discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein performing the one or more measurements comprises performing any of a DL RS received power (DL RSRP) measurement, and signal to interference and noise power ratio (SINR) on the one or more DL RSs. Kang discloses that the UE performs measurements including RSRP and SINR on the detected beams (Kang, paras [0194], [0198]).
Regarding claim 8, Kang does not explicitly disclose that the configuration information indicates an association between the CSI reporting setting and the set of UL RS resources, although Kang teaches separate configuration of CSI-ReportConfig and SRS resource sets (Kang, paras [0167]-[0169], [0312]-[0317]): The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information further indicates an association between the CSI reporting setting and the set of UL RS resources, the method comprising: transmitting the CSI report comprising first information indicating the determined subset of DL RS, wherein the CSI report is based on the associated CSI reporting setting;
However, Kang in view of Xi teaches the claimed association. Xi discloses that the WTRU receives configuration that associates one or more SRS with one or more CSI reporting settings, and that SRS spatial references may be updated based on CSI reports corresponding to the associated CSI reporting setting (Xi, paras [0117], [0119]).
Furthermore, Kang in view of Xi teaches: determining the one or more spatial domain filters based on the determined subset of DL RS resources; and transmitting the subset of one or more UL RS resources of the set of the associated one or more UL RS using the determined one or more spatial domain filters. Xi discloses that the WTRU determines spatial domain transmission filters from the DL beam measurement results and transmits SRS resources of the associated set using those filters (Xi, paras [0117], [0119], [0128]).
Accordingly, the rationale to combine Kang with Xi is the same as described in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, Kang does not explicitly disclose determining the UL RS subset based on the DL RS subset, whereas Kang teaches separate DL beam selection and UL beam configuration (Kang, paras [0195], [0198], [0322]-[0329]): The method of claim 1, comprising determining the subset of one or more UL RS resources based on the determined subset of DL RS resources.
However, Kang in view of Xi teaches the claimed limitation. Xi discloses that the WTRU determines which SRS resources to transmit based on beam correspondence with the DL RX beams, such that the SRS resources correspond to the selected DL RS beams (Xi, paras [0117], [0119]).
Regarding claim 10, Kang does not explicitly disclose determining the UL RS subset based on the spatial domain filters, while Kang teaches SRS transmission using configured spatial domain transmission filters (Kang, paras [0322]-[0329]): The method of claim 1, comprising determining the subset of one or more UL RS resources based on the determined one or more spatial domain filters.
However, Kang in view of Xi teaches the claimed limitation. Xi discloses that the WTRU may determine the transmission subset of SRS such that each SRS in the subset corresponds to different UL TX beams, thereby selecting the UL RS subset based on the determined spatial domain filters (Xi, para [0128]).
Regarding claim 11, Kang discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the UL RS resources are sounding reference signal (SRS) resources. Kang discloses that UL beam management uses SRS resources configured with SRS-SetUse as beam management (Kang, paras [0312]-[0317]; Table 9).
Regarding claim 12, Kang discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the DL RS resources are channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources. Kang discloses that DL beam management uses CSI-RS resources configured in NZP CSI-RS resource sets (Kang, paras [0161]-[0162]).
Regarding claim 13, Kang discloses: A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor, a transmitter, a receiver and a memory, configured to: Kang in view of Xi discloses a WTRU comprising a processor, a transceiver functioning as a transmitter and receiver, and memory (Xi, para [0052]).
Further, Kang discloses: receive a first message comprising configuration information indicating a plurality of downlink reference signal (DL RS) resources, a set of one or more uplink reference signal (UL RS) resources, and a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting; as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, Kang discloses that the UE receives RRC configuration including NZP CSI-RS resources, SRS resources with beam management usage, and a CSI-ReportConfig with CRI plus L1-RSRP (Kang, paras [0167]-[0169], [0161]-[0162], [0312]-[0317]).
Moreover, Kang discloses: perform one or more measurements on one or more DL RSs; as discussed in claim 1, Kang teaches the UE performs beam measurement on received CSI-RS (Kang, para [0269], Fig.12).
Furthermore, Kang discloses: determine a subset of DL RS resources based on the performed one or more measurements; as discussed in claim 1, Kang teaches the UE selects a sub-set of detected beams including X best beams (Kang, paras [0195], [0198]).
Additionally, Kang discloses: transmit a CSI report comprising first information indicating the determined subset of DL RS resources, wherein the CSI report is based on the CSI reporting setting; as discussed in claim 1, Kang teaches the UE reports CRI and L1-RSRP per the CSI-ReportConfig (Kang, paras [0212]-[0214], [0271]).
Besides, Kang does not explicitly disclose the UE deriving spatial domain filters from the DL RS subset and transmitting only a subset of UL RS using those filters, while Kang teaches SRS spatial relation referencing CSI-RS (Kang, paras [0322]-[0329]): determine one or more spatial domain filters based on the determined subset of DL RS resources; and transmit a subset of one or more UL RS resources of the set of one or more UL RS resources using the determined one or more spatial domain filters.
However, Kang in view of Xi teaches the claimed limitations. As discussed in the rejection of claim 1, Xi discloses that the WTRU autonomously determines UL TX beams from DL beam measurement under beam correspondence (Xi, paras [0117], [0119]) and transmits only on SRS resources configured with SRS-SpatialRelationInfo while not transmitting on others (Xi, para [0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UE apparatus of Kang with the teachings of Xi for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above.
Doing so would have predictably reduced uplink beam sweeping overhead and latency by leveraging DL beam measurement results to narrow the SRS resources transmitted, as recognized by Xi.
Regarding claim 14, The WTRU of claim 13 configured to receive a downlink control information (DCI) comprising second information indicating a trigger for CSI reporting, and the transmitting the CSI report is triggered by the DCI. Claim 14 is analogous to claim 2 and therefore Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason set forth.
Regarding claim 15, The WTRU of claim 13 configured to receive a DCI comprising third information indicating a trigger for transmission of the subset of one or more UL RS resources, and the transmitting the subset of one or more UL RS resources is triggered by the DCI. Claim 15 is analogous to claim 3 and therefore Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason set forth.
Regarding claim 16, The WTRU of claim 13, wherein the CSI report comprises fourth information indicating one or more results of the one or more measurements on the one or more DL RSs. Claim 16 is analogous to claim 4 and therefore Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason set forth.
Regarding claim 17, The WTRU of claim 13 configured to: receive a DCI comprising scheduling information of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource for transmission of the CSI report; and transmit the CSI report on the scheduled PUSCH resource. Claim 17 is analogous to claim 5 and therefore Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason set forth.
Regarding claim 18, The WTRU of claim 17, wherein the set of one or more UL RS resources are respectively associated with one or more time offsets, and wherein the scheduling information comprises a PUSCH transmission time corresponding to the scheduled PUSCH resource, configured to: determine, based on the one or more time offsets, one or more UL RS transmission times respectively associated with the subset of one or more UL RS resources, wherein determining the one or more UL RS transmission times comprises adding the one or more time offsets to the PUSCH transmission time; and transmit the subset of one or more UL RS resources in the determined respectively one or more UL RS transmission times using the determined spatial domain filters. Claim 18 is analogous to claim 6 and therefore Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason set forth.
Regarding claim 19, The WTRU of claim 13, wherein performing the one or more measurements comprises performing any of a DL RS received power (DL RSRP) measurement, and signal to interference and noise power ratio (SINR) on the one or more DL RSs. Claim 19 is analogous to claim 7 and therefore Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason set forth.
Regarding claim 20, The WTRU of claim 13, wherein the configuration information further indicates an association between the CSI reporting setting and the set of UL RS resources, configured to: transmit the CSI report comprising first information indicating the determined subset of DL RS, wherein the CSI report is based on the associated CSI reporting setting; determine the one or more spatial domain filters based on the determined subset of DL RS resources; and transmit the subset of one or more UL RS resources of the set of the associated one or more UL RS using the determined one or more spatial domain filters. Claim 20 is analogous to claim 8 and therefore Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason set forth.
Regarding claim 21, The WTRU of claim 13 configured to determine the subset of one or more UL RS resources based on the determined subset of DL RS resources. Claim 21 is analogous to claim 9 and therefore Claim 21 is rejected for the same reason set forth.
Regarding claim 22, The WTRU of claim 13 configured to determine the subset of one or more UL RS resources based on the determined one or more spatial domain filters. Claim 22 is analogous to claim 10 and therefore Claim 22 is rejected for the same reason set forth.
Regarding claim 23, The WTRU of claim 13, wherein the UL RS resources are sounding reference signal (SRS) resources. Claim 23 is analogous to claim 11 and therefore Claim 23 is rejected for the same reason set forth.
Regarding claim 24, The WTRU of claim 13, wherein the DL RS resources are channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources. Claim 24 is analogous to claim 12 and therefore Claim 24 is rejected for the same reason set forth.
Conclusion
/CHONGSUH PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478